أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

استطلاع رأي سعودي: الصين تقود الولايات المتحدة؛ الأغلبية تدعم خطوات مكافحة التطرف الديني وفيروس كورونا


متاح أيضاً في English

31 تموز/يوليو 2020

يكشف استطلاع نادر للغاية - بتكليف من معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى- إنما موثوق إلى حدّ كبير للرأي العام السعودي أجرته وجهًا لوجه شركة تجارية إقليمية في حزيران/يونيو، بعض المفاجآت بشأن مسائل رئيسية خاصة بالسياسة الخارجية – رغم السكون العام بشأن السياسات المحلية التي تبقى محور الاهتمام الشعبي المهيمن. 

فللمرة الأولى منذ انطلاق هذه الاستطلاعات في العام 2014، تخطت الصين بشكل كبير الولايات المتحدة من حيث التأييد الشعبي في السعودية، حيث أن نصف السعوديين (49 في المائة) يقولون الآن إن العلاقات الجيدة مع الصين "مهمة" بالنسبة لبلدهم مقابل 38 في المائة ممن يقولون الأمر نفسه بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة. كما أن النسبة التي حصلت عليها روسيا بحسب الإحصاءات تعادل حاليًا ما حصدته الولايات المتحدة.



وتأتي تركيا خلف هذه الدول إذ تعتبر نسبة 28 في المائة من السعوديين أن العلاقات معها هي مهمة "بعض الشيء" حتى بالنسبة للمملكة. ومع ذلك، وبالنظر إلى التوترات الحادة على المستوى الرسمي بين البلدين، فإن هذا الرقم يمثل أقلية كبيرة من الجمهور السعودي الذي يختلف بشكل خاص مع التوجه الحزبي. سيتم أيضا تحليل التطابق أو التباين بين وجهات النظر الرسمية والشعبية حول مختلف موضوعات السياسة الخارجية الأخرى الهامة بما في ذلك فلسطين وقطر ونظام الأسد السوري وقائد الحرس الثوري الإيراني السابق قاسم سليماني - في ورقة منفصلة في الأيام المقبلة.

غير أن أيًا من هذه العلاقات الخارجية لا يبدو أنه يحتل الأولوية بالنسبة للشعب السعودي الذي ينصب تركيزه كما دائمًا على المسائل الداخلية. فنسبة كبيرة تساوي 84 في المائة (على الأقل "إلى حد ما") تتفق على النقطة التالية: "تكتسي الإصلاحات السياسية والاقتصادية الداخلية حاليًا أهمية أكبر بالنسبة لبلدنا من أي مسألة خاصة بالسياسة الخارجية، لذا علينا البقاء بمنأى عن أي حروب تدور خارج حدودنا". وتشمل هذه الأغلبية الكبيرة 39 في المائة من السعوديين الذين "يشددون" على أن هذا ما "يشعرون به حقًا"، وهي نسبة مرتفعة على نحو غير اعتيادي.   

تتفق الأغلبية على أنه يتعين على الحكومة منع التطرف الديني

من بين المسائل المحلية، يعتبر نصف السعوديين تقريبًا (45 في المائة) أن حكومتهم تبذل "الجهد الكافي" من أجل "الحؤول دون تفشي التطرف الديني في مجتمعنا". لكن نسبة 38 في المائة تقول إن المسؤولين يقومون "بالقليل" في هذا الصدد. ويدلّ هذا المزيج على دعم واسع النطاق للتدابير الآيلة إلى كبح التطرف الديني، إلى جانب بعض المخاوف بشأن مؤشرات على أن هذه النقطة لا تزال تمثّل مشكلة.


جهود مكافحة فيروس كورونا تحصد آراء متباينة؛ الكثيرون يعتبرون الجائحة مؤامرة خارجية 

بالنسبة لجائحة فيروس كورونا، تتباين المواقف أيضًا، ولو بطريقة مختلفة. فنسبة 38 في المائة من السعوديين يعتبرون أن السلطات تبذل ما يكفي من الجهود من أجل "ضمان صحة شعبها وتوفير الرعاية الطبية له". مع ذلك، تصف النسبة نفسها (40 في المائة) هذه التدابير بـ “المبالغ فيها"، ما يشير إلى مقاومة من نوع ما للإغلاق أو غيره من القيود المفروضة. وعلى نحو مفاجئ، تقول نسبة 20 في المائة فقط إن الحكومة لا تقوم بالكثير في هذا الصدد. 



ما يثير الدهشة على نحو مماثل هو العدد الكبير للغاية من السعوديين – 76 في المائة – الذين يعتقدون أن فيروس كورونا "هو فيروس أطلقه أعداؤنا الأجانب عمدًا". فضلًا عن ذلك، يتفق الثلث "بشكل كبير" مع نظرية المؤامرة هذه. إن هذه الأرقام أعلى بكثير من تلك المسجلة في استطلاعات رأي في دول عربية أخرى ردًا على هذا السؤال نفسه منذ شباط/فبراير: سواء مصر أو الأردن أو الإمارات أو الضفة الغربية وغزة. صحيح أن أسباب ذلك غير واضحة، لكن هذه الزيادة المرافقة في الآراء السعودية الإيجابية إزاء العلاقات مع الصين تشير إلى أن هذه الأخيرة غير ملامة إلى حدّ كبير على نشر الفيروس.



النصف فقط راضٍ على تدابير فرض القانون والنظام؛ الأغلبية ترغب بإيلاء أهمية أكبر للرأي العام

على صعيد مسألة محلية بارزة أخرى، أتت الآراء بشأن "الحفاظ على القانون والنظام في أماكننا العامة" متباينة بدورها. فنحو نصف السعوديين، أي النسبة نفسها تقريبًا المسجلة في الدول المستطلعة الأخرى، يعتبرون أن حكومتهم تقوم بما يكفي في هذا المجال. أما النصف الآخر، فهو منقسم: يرى نحو الربع أن المسؤولين يقومون "بالكثير" من أجل ضمان الهدوء والطمأنينة محليًا؛ في حين يعتبر الربع المتبقي أنهم يقومون "بالقليل".   

غير أنه ثمة مسألة داخلية واحدة ترى أغلبية ضيّقة (58 في المائة) من السعوديين، مقارنةً باستطلاعات أُجريت مؤخرًا في دول عربية أخرى، أن حكومتها لا تبذل الكثير حيالها، وهي: "إيلاء أهمية للرأي العام بشأن سياساتها". إن هذه النسبة المرتفعة نسبيًا هي نفسها تقريبًا المسجلة في ثلاث دول عربية أخرى تمّ استطلاعها. لكن ثمة مفارقة في حالة السعودية في ظل بذل الرياض جهودًا كبيرة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية – من خلال "مركز الملك عبد العزيز للحوار الوطني" وتحليل محتوى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وغيرها من الوسائل – لجسّ نبض شعبها وحتى أخذ آرائهم في الحسبان بشأن مسائل اجتماعية متنوعة.

لكن الربع فقط يرى قيمة في الاحتجاجات الشعبية ومعظمهم يشعر بالرضا نسبيًا

مع ذلك، يشعر الشعب السعودي ككل بالرضا عن الميزات النسبية التي يتمتع بها ويعارض الاحتجاجات العلنية. ويوافق ثلثا الشعب على النقطة التالية "حين أفكر فيما يجري في اليمن أو سوريا، أشعر أن وضعنا ليس سيئًا". ويفترض أن الثلث الآخر من الجمهور السعودي يفهم أيضًا أن الأمور صارت أسوأ بكثير في اليمن أو سوريا، وهذا في الواقع لا يجعلهم يشعرون بتحسن.

كما أن الشعب منقسم بالتساوي بشكل غير متوقع حيال مسألة ذات صلة. فردًا على سؤال "إن كان من الجيد أننا لا نشهد مظاهرات حاشدة في الشوارع هنا الآن كما يحصل في بعض الدول العربية الأخرى"، أتت إجابة 48 في المائة تمامًا مؤيدة و48 في المائة رافضة، حيث أن هذا الشعور ينتاب إما بشكل كبير أو بسيط نسب متساوية من السعوديين. لكن عند سؤال المستطلعين عن أمثلة محددة، وبخاصة "الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة في العراق ولبنان"، تعتقد نسبة 24 في المائة فقط من السعوديين أنها ستخلف تأثيرًا "إيجابيًا بعض الشيء".



ملاحظة منهجية

استُخلصت هذه النتائج من استطلاع أجرته وجهًا لوجه في حزيران/يونيو 2020 شركة تجارية موثوقة للاستطلاعات تتمتع بخبرة واسعة، مع عينة تمثيلية وطنية شملت ألف مواطن سعودي. إن المؤلف على دراية شخصية وثقة كاملة بالوسائل التقنية والإدارة المهنية وضوابط الجودة والضمانات الصارمة شديدة السرية والنزاهة المطلقة لفريق العمل الميداني. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ونتيجة القيود التي تفرضها ظروف تفشى وباء كورونا، يُشرف المؤلف مباشرة على صياغة الأسئلة والترجمة، ومواصفات الترميز، والتعديلات الخاصة بالجدول الزمني، والجوانب الأخرى ذات الصلة بالاستطلاع..

فقد تمّ اختيار المستطلعين بحسب أساليب الأرجحية الجغرافية المعيارية الصارمة. وبالنسبة لعيّنة من هذا الحجم والطبيعة، يوازي هامش الخطأ الإحصائي 3 في المائة (حيث يعتمد الهامش الدقيق على توزيع الإجابات عن أسئلة محددة). ويمكن توفير تفاصيل منهجية إضافية عند الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Saudi Poll: China Leads U.S; Majority Back Curbs on Extremism, Coronavirus


Also available in العربية

July 31, 2020

A very rare but highly reliable Saudi public opinion poll, commissioned by the Washington Institute for Near East Policy and conducted in person by a regional commercial firm in June, reveals some surprises on key foreign policy issues—but general quiescence on domestic policies, which remain the predominant popular concern.

For the first time since these polls began in 2014, China has clearly passed the United States in Saudi popular preferences. Half (49%) of Saudis now say that good ties with China are “important” for their country, compared with 37% who say the same about the United States. Russia is currently statistically tied with America.

On this issue, Turkey lags behind, with just 28% saying relations with that country are even “somewhat” important for Saudi Arabia. Even so, considering the acute tensions at the official level between the two countries, that figure represents a substantial minority of the Saudi public who privately differ with the party line. The congruence or incongruence between official and popular views on various other timely foreign policy topics—including Palestine, Qatar, Syria’s Assad regime, and Iran’s former IRGC commander Qassem Soleimani—will be analyzed in a future separate paper.

None of these foreign ties, however, appears to be a top priority for the Saudi public, which as in the past is more focused on internal matters. A resounding 84% agree (at least “somewhat”) with this statement: “Right now, internal political and economic reform is more important for our country than any foreign policy issue, so we should stay out of any wars outside our borders.” This solid majority includes 39 percent of Saudis, an unusually high proportion, who say they feel “strongly” that way. 

Majority Agree Government Should Prevent Religious Extremism 

On domestic issues, nearly half (45%) of Saudis say their government is doing “about the right amount” to prevent “religious extremism in our society.” However, 38% say officials are doing “too little.” This mix of answers suggests broad support for measures to curb religious extremism, along with some concern over signs that it remains a problem.

Coronavirus Efforts Get Mixed Reviews; Many See Foreign Conspiracy

Regarding the coronavirus pandemic, attitudes are also mixed, though in a different manner. 38% of Saudis say the authorities are doing about the right amount to “ensure people’s health and medical care.” Yet about the same proportion (40%) call those measures “too much,” signaling some resistance to lockdowns or other restrictions. Surprisingly, a mere 20% say the government is doing too little in this area.

 

Equally striking is the very large number of Saudis—76%—who think the coronavirus “is something our foreign enemies deliberately started.” Moreover, a third “strongly” agree with this conspiracy theory. These figures are significantly higher than in the other Arab publics polled on this question since February: including Egypt, Jordan, the UAE, the West Bank, and Gaza. The reasons for this result are unclear, but the concomitant increase in positive Saudi views of relations with China suggests that it is not widely blamed for spreading the virus.

Just Half Satisfied with Law and Order Measures; Majority Want More Heed to Public Opinion 

On another salient domestic issue, “maintaining law and order in our public places,” views are also mixed. About half of Saudis, roughly the same proportion as in the other countries polled, say their government is doing about the right amount in this domain. The other half are split: around one quarter say officials are doing “too much” to ensure domestic tranquility, while the remaining quarter say “too little.”

There is one internal issue, though, on which the narrow majority (58%) of Saudis, as in comparable recent Arab surveys elsewhere, seem to agree their government is doing too little: “paying attention to public opinion about its policies.” This resembles the comparatively high proportion in the other three Arab countries just polled. In the Saudi case it is somewhat ironic, as Riyadh has made substantial efforts in recent years—through the King Abdul Aziz Center for National Dialogue, social media content analysis, and other methods—to take the pulse of its own public and even take its views into account on various social issues. 

But Only One-Quarter See Value in Popular Protests, and Most Feel Relatively Content

Nevertheless, the Saudi populace as a whole takes comfort in its relative advantages, leaning against overt protests. Two-thirds agree that “when I think about what’s happening in Yemen or Syria, I feel that our situation here in not so bad.” The other third of the Saudi public presumably also understand that things are much worse in Yemen or Syria, but that doesn’t make them feel any better. 

The public is unexpectedly evenly divided about a related question. Asked if “it’s a good thing we aren’t having big street demonstrations here now, the way they do in some other Arab countries,” exactly 48%agree and 48% disagree, with equal portions feeling either strongly or simply somewhat that way. But when asked further about specific examples, namely “the anti-government protests in Iraq and Lebanon,” a mere 24% of Saudis believe those protests will have even a “somewhat positive” effect.

Methodological Note

These findings are from a face-to-face opinion poll among a representative national sample of 1,000 Saudi citizens, conducted by an experienced and highly reputable commercial survey firm in June 2020.The author is personally well familiar with, and fully confident in, the technical methods, professional management, quality controls, credible assurances of confidentiality, and overall integrity of the fieldwork team.In addition, the author directly supervised the question wording and translation, coding specifications, scheduling adjustments due to coronavirus constraints, and other relevant aspects of the survey. 

The sample was selected according to strict, standard geographic probability procedures. For a sample of this size and nature, the statistical margin of error for the total is approximately 3% (with the precise margin depending upon the distribution of responses for particular questions). Additional methodological details are readily available upon request.

Customize your RSS Feed