أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الشعب السعودي يختلف على بعض السياسات الخارجية الرسمية لكن ليس على الأسس الطائفية


متاح أيضاً في English

10 آب/أغسطس 2020

ملاحظة المحرر: قام ديفيد بولوك الآن بتحديث الاستطلاع الخاص المملكة العربية السعودية اعتبارًا من شهر نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني 2020. لقراءة تحليله وأحدث نتائجه، انقر هنا.

تُظهر بيانات صادرة عن استطلاع نادر إنما موثوق إلى حدّ كبير للرأي العام السعودي، أُجري بتكليف من "معهد واشنطن" في حزيران/يونيو، مزيجًا من المواقف حول مسائل رئيسية خاصة بالسياسة الخارجية: بعض الدعم الشعبي ولكن بعض المعارضة في الوقت نفسه لمواقف الحكومة السعودية. وما يثير الدهشة أن الأقلية الشيعية الصغيرة لا تختلف بالرأي حول معظم المسائل المطروحة في الاستطلاع عن الشريحة الكبيرة من الأغلبية السنّية.  

الربع فقط اختاروا فلسطين لتكون أبرز أولويات التحرك الأمريكي؛ نسبة أقلّ حتى تدعم خطة ترامب

لدى الطلب منهم انتقاء خيارهم الأول من بين أربع أولويات محتملة للسياسة الأمريكية في المنطقة، اختارت نسبة 23 في المائة فقط "الدفع نحو حل الدولتين للصراع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي". أما الأغلبية، فكانت لها خيارات أخرى: "العمل على احتواء نفوذ إيران وأنشطتها" (31 في المائة)؛ "إيجاد حل دبلوماسي للحرب الدائرة في اليمن وليبيا" (22 في المائة)؛ أو "حماية الشعب السوري من أي اعتداءات" (18 في المائة).

وتتماشى الأولوية المنخفضة نسبيًا المعطاة إلى القضية الفلسطينية – ولا سيما مقارنةً بالمواقف الشعبية في مصر والأردن ولبنان المجاورة لإسرائيل، فضلاً عن البيانات السابقة من لبنان، مع نتائج استطلاعات رأى سعودية أجريت خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية. والجدير بالذكر أيضًا أن نصف الشعب السعودي تقريبًا (43 في المائة) يوافق الآن على الاقتراح التالي: "إن اللوم على استمرار الصراع يقع على عاتق الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين على السواء". ومع ذلك، ورغم بعض التقارير الإعلامية السعودية الصادرة مؤخرًا وغيرها من وسائل التواصل مع الإسرائيليين واليهود، تتفق نسبة 9 في المائة فقط من السعوديين اليوم على أن "من يرغب في مزاولة الأعمال أو إقامة علاقات رياضية مع الإسرائيليين يجب السماح له بذلك".

كذلك، ومقابل الترحيب الرسمي الأولي الحذر بخطة السلام التي وضعها الرئيس ترامب، تعتبر نسبة 14 في المائة فقط من المواطنين السعوديين أنه سيكون لهذه الخطة أثر إيجابي. وبشكل مفاجئ، توقعت أقلية أكبر نوعًا ما، 24 في المائة، أن تترتب بعض الانعكاسات الإيجابية على الانتخابات الإسرائيلية التي جرت في مارس/آذار 2020 وأسفرت عن بقاء بنيامين نتنياهو رئيسًا للوزراء مع إضافة بعض الوسطيين إلى ائتلافه الذي يضم أغلبية من معسكر اليمين. غير أن معظم السعوديين (60 في المائة) يرجحون أن يكون لتلك الانتخابات آثار سلبية؛ في حين قالت نسبة 16 في المائة إنها لم تسمع الكثير عنها أو رفضت الإجابة عن السؤال.

الأغلبية تريد مقاطعة سوريا الأسد وليس قطر

لا تزال السعودية، بخلاف الإمارات والعديد من الدول العربية الأخرى، تتباعد عن نظام الأسد في دمشق. على هذا الصعيد، تحظى الحكومة السعودية بوضوح بتأييد شعبي. فنسبة 12 في المائة فحسب من المواطنين السعوديين توافق على المقولة التالية: "علينا تقبل واقع أن بشار الأسد سيبقى في السلطة في سوريا، ويعيد إحياء العلاقات الطيبة مع الحكومة".

لكن في ما يتعلق بقطر، يفضل الشعب السعودي بمعظمه إنهاء القطيعة الرسمية بين البلدين. وتقول الأغلبية الساحقة (62 في المائة) إن "السبيل إلى تسوية خلافاتنا مع قطر هي بتقديم الطرفين تنازلات بغية التوصل إلى اتفاق". وكان هذا الدعم الشعبي الكبير للتقارب مع الدوحة ثابتًا في العديد من الاستطلاعات التي أجريت منذ اندلاع الخلاف بين دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في العام 2017.

السنّة والشيعة السعوديون يتفقون عمومًا على المسائل المطروحة في الاستطلاع – باستثناء قضية قاسم سليماني

صحيح أن الجزء الأكبر من الشعب السعودي من المسلمين السنّة، لكن حوالي 10 في المائة منه من الأقلية الشيعية تتمركز في المنطقة الشرقية الغنية بالنفط. وبشكل ملحوظ وبخلاف الاعتقاد الشائع الخاطئ، ثمة اختلافات بسيطة فحسب في المواقف بين المجموعتين بشأن معظم المسائل التي تناولها الاستطلاع – سواء كانت تتعلق بالسياسة الداخلية أو الخارجية.

لكن في هذا الاستطلاع الأخير، برز استثناء واحد بشأن تداعيات اغتيال الجنرال الإيراني قاسم سليماني بواسطة طائرة أمريكية بدون طيار في كانون الثاني/يناير الماضي على المنطقة. ومن بين السنّة السعوديين، توقعت أكثرية (49 في المائة) أن يكون للحادثة آثار إيجابية. غير أنه في أوساط الشيعة، اتفقت نسبة 22 في المائة فقط على هذا التقييم المؤيد؛ في حين رجح الثلثان بروز آثار سلبية.

لكن هذا الاختلاف يعكس على الأرجح مخاوف أكبر في أوساط الشيعة السعوديين حيال احتمالات رد إيران الانتقامي، بدلًا من التعاطف سواء مع سليماني أو نظامه. وقد أظهرت استطلاعات سابقة أنه في حين يميل الشيعة السعوديون نوعًا ما أكثر من السنّة إلى اعتبار العلاقات الجيدة مع إيران مهمة لبلدهم، إلا أنهم يظهرون دعمًا أكبر بقليل لسياسات إيران وحلفائها في المنطقة على غرار "حزب الله" أو الحوثيين أو آية الله خامنئي شخصيًا.

ملاحظة منهجي

استُخلصت هذه النتائج من أسئلة خلال استطلاع أجرته وجهًا لوجه بتكليف من "معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى" في حزيران/يونيو 2020 شركة تجارية موثوقة للاستطلاعات تتمتع بخبرة واسعة، مع عينة تمثيلية وطنية شملت ألف مواطن سعودي. إن المؤلف على دراية شخصية وثقة كاملة بالوسائل التقنية والإدارة المهنية وضوابط الجودة والضمانات الصارمة شديدة السرية والنزاهة المطلقة لفريق العمل الميداني. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ونتيجة القيود التي تفرضها ظروف تفشي وباء كورونا، يُشرف المؤلف مباشرة على صياغة الأسئلة والترجمة، ومواصفات الترميز، والتعديلات الخاصة بالجدول الزمني، والجوانب الأخرى ذات الصلة بالاستطلاع.

فقد تمّ اختيار المستطلعين بحسب أساليب الأرجحية الجغرافية المعيارية الصارمة. وبالنسبة لعيّنة من هذا الحجم والطبيعة، يوازي هامش الخطأ الإحصائي 3 في المائة (حيث يعتمد الهامش الدقيق على توزيع الإجابات عن أسئلة محددة). ويمكن توفير تفاصيل منهجية إضافية عند الطلب.

 

 

 

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Saudi Public Differs with Some Official Foreign Policies, but not on Sectarian Line


Also available in العربية

August 10, 2020

Editor’s Note: David Pollock now has updated polling on Saudi Arabia from November 2020. To read his analysis of his most recent results, click here.

Data from a rare yet highly reliable Saudi public opinion poll—commissioned by the Washington Institute and conducted in June—shows a mix of attitudes on key foreign policy issues, with both popular support and opposition expressed towards the Saudi government’s stances. On most issues polled, surprisingly, the country’s small Shia minority does not differ much from the Sunni majority.

Just One-Fourth Pick Palestine as Top Priority for U.S. Action; Even Fewer Back Trump Plan

When asked to pick their first choice from four possible priorities for American policy in the region, a mere 23% select “pushing for a two-state solution to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.” The majority opt for other choices: “working to contain Iran’s influence and activities” (31%) “finding a diplomatic settlement for the wars in Yemen and Libya” (22%); or “protecting the Syrian people against any attacks” (18%).

This relatively low priority accorded to the Palestinian cause—especially by comparison with polling responses from Israel’s neighbors in Egypt and Jordan, as well as past data from Lebanon. These responses are, however, consistent with Saudi polls from previous years. Remarkably, too, nearly half (43%) of the Saudi public now agree with this proposition: “The Palestinians and the Israelis are both to blame for their continuing conflict.” Nevertheless, despite some recent Saudi media outreach to Israelis and Jews, a mere 9% of Saudis today agree that “people who want to have business or sports contacts with Israelis should be allowed to do so.”

Additionally, in contrast to the initial, cautious official welcome for President Trump’s peace plan, just 14% of Saudi citizens had a this plan will have a positive effect. Surprisingly, a somewhat larger minority (24%) foresee some positive impact from the March 2020 Israeli election, which kept Benjamin Netanyahu as prime minister but added some centrists to his largely right-wing coalition. Even so, a majority (60%) of Saudis predict a negative effect from that election; 16% said they had not heard much about it or refused to answer this question.

Majorities Want to Boycott Syria’s Assad, but not Qatar

Saudi Arabia, unlike the UAE and several other Arab states, continues to shun the Assad regime in Damascus. On this issue, the Saudi government clearly enjoys popular support. Just 12% of Saudi citizens agree with the following proposition: “We should accept the reality that Bashar al-Assad will stay in power in Syria, and restore full relations with his government.”

But in regard to Qatar, the Saudi public mostly prefers to mend the official estrangement between the two countries. The solid majority (62%) say that “the way to solve our differences with Qatar is for both sides to compromise in order to reach an agreement.” This high level of popular support for rapprochement with Doha has been consistent in several surveys taken ever since the intra-GCC feud erupted in 2017.

Saudi Sunnis and Shia Largely Agree on Issues Polled—Except on Qassem Soleimani

The Saudi population is overwhelmingly Sunni Muslim, but there is a roughly ten percent Shia minority concentrated in the oil-rich Eastern Province. Significantly, and contrary to common misconception, there are only small differences in attitudes between the two groups on most issues polled—whether on domestic or foreign policies.

One notable exception in this latest survey concerns what effect on the region the killing of Iran’s General Qassem Soleimani by an American drone last January will have. Among Saudi Sunnis, a plurality (49%) predicted a positive impact. Yet among Shia, just 22% shared that favorable assessment, while two-thirds anticipated negative effects.

However, this difference probably reflects greater concern among Saudi Shia over the prospects of Iranian retaliation rather than sympathy for either Soleimani or his regime. Previous surveys have shown that while Saudi Shia are somewhat more inclined than their Sunni compatriots to say that good relations with Iran are important for their own country, they are only slightly more supportive of Iran’s policies, its regional allies like Hezbollah or the Houthis, or of Ayatollah Khamenei personally.

Methodological Note

These findings are from questions commissioned by the Washington Institute for Near East Policy in a face-to-face opinion poll among a representative national sample of 1,000 Saudi citizens, conducted by an experienced and highly reputable commercial survey firm in June 2020. The author is personally well familiar with, and fully confident in, the technical methods, professional management, quality controls, credible assurances of confidentiality, and overall integrity of the fieldwork team. In addition, the author directly supervised the question wording and translation, coding specifications, scheduling adjustments due to Coronavirus constraints, and other relevant aspects of the survey.

The sample was selected according to strict, standard geographic probability procedures. For a sample of this size and nature, the statistical margin of error for the total is approximately 3% (with the precise margin depending upon the distribution of responses for particular questions). Additional methodological details are readily available upon request.

 

 

 

Customize your RSS Feed