أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

جيل الألفية المغربي والثورة الثقافية الهادئة


متاح أيضاً في English

6 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018

يجد المراقبون السياسيون صعوبةً في قياس كامل تأثير الإنترنت على التغيرات السياسية– وهذه مسألة ظهرت في العالم العربي خلال الربيع العربي. فالثورة الرقمية جاءت بحلم الديمقراطية والحرية الشخصية إلى العالم العربي ولكنها بدّلت أيضًا خصائص أساسية في الثقافة العربية بالرغم من الجذب القوي الذي تمارسه التقاليد والديانات.

وجيل الألفية هو أول جيلٍ ينمو ويترعرع على "الثورة الرقمية" والفسحة التي توفّرها شبكة الإنترنت لممارسة النشاط السياسي والتمكّن من نشر مثاليات العولمة والحرية. وتتمتع مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي بشكل خاص بالقدرة على تحدّي القواعد السابقة المترسخة، فقد انتبه العرب إلى الحركة التي بادر بها جيل الألفية الأمريكي للتضامن مع الفلسطينيين ضد السطوة الإسرائيلية على غزة، وهي خطوة لم يُسمع بها قط في تاريخ السياسة الأمريكية. وفي العالم العربي، نجح جيل الألفية بتحدي الأنظمة الديكتاتورية خلال الربيع العربي بالرغم من رد الفعل السياسي العنيف واستحواذ رموز النظام– وتحديدًا الأحزاب الإسلامية - على هذه الحركة. ومع أن التغيرات الثقافية التي أوجدتها وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لم تلقَ الاهتمام نفسه،إلا أنها تغيرات تدوم لفترة أطول.

بخلاف الربيع العربي الذي وضع عنه المراقبون الغربيون مئات الكتب والمقالات والأفلام الوثائقية، لم تحظَ الثورة الثقافية الأهدأ التي أثارها الإنترنت اهتمامًا يُذكر. والواقع أن هذه الثورة الثقافية تزدهر تحديدًا بسبب قدرتها على البقاء بعيدة نسبيًا عن أنظار المراقبين الخارجيين ورموز الأنظمة الحاكمة على حدٍّ سواء – أقلّه للوقت الراهن.

ويعتبر المغرب حالة ذات أهمية خاصة في هذه الظاهرة. فبخلاف العديد من دول الشرق الأوسط، امتنعت الحكومة المغربية عن تصفية وتنقية استخدام الإنترنت. فجيل الألفية المغربي يستعمل الإنترنت عبر الحواسيب المكتبية والهواتف النقالة (بواسطة خدمة 4G في غالب الأحيان) والأجهزة اللوحية، كما أن غالبية الأماكن العامة كالمقاهي والمطاعم تقدم خدمة إنترنت واي-فاي مجانية نزولاً عند الطلب الكثيف عليها. حتى أن مدينة الجديدة تقدم خدمة إنترنت مجانية ضمن حدود البلدية. والجدير بالذكر هو أن الروابط المتينة القائمة عبر الإنترنت بين الجالية المغربية في فرنسا وأبناء المغرب المقيمين فيه لعبت دورًا خاصًا في رسم معالم التغير الذي طرأ على المعايير والتوقعات. ويحرص الشباب المغربي على تطبيق النظام الليبرالي والديمقراطي الفرنسي في بلادهم بغية الاستفادة من نفس الامتيازات التي تمنحها  الديمقراطية الغربية للمغتربين المغاربة وأبناء المهاجرين. فمبادئ الحرية الشخصية، والعدالة الاجتماعية، وتكافؤ الفرص، والتمثيل السياسي والمحاسبة -أي الديمقراطية الكاملة – جميعها  تبدو متاحة على نحو مغر عبر الإنترنت.

تحدّي المنظومة السياسية القائمة

لطالما خدمت وسائل الإعلام الحكومية مصالح المؤسسات السياسية والدينية، متذللةً في تبجيلها للنظام الملكي المحافظ المطلق وفي إشادتها بالإسلام التقليدي المتشدد الذي يأبى التكيف مع واقع الزمن الحديث. وإذا بشباب المغرب الذي يشكل 40 في المائة من إجمالي السكان يسأم من امتناع هذا الإعلام بشكل شبه تام عن تناول المواضيع التي تهمّه، فأوجد عالمًا موازيًا على الإنترنت، عالمًا يرفض الإذعان للقواعد الاجتماعية والسياسية القائمة في المجتمع المغربي.
لكن دستور العام 2011، شأنه شأن كافة الوثائق الدستورية السابقة، ينصّ بوضوح على وجوب احترام شخص الملك وتنزيهه عن كافة أشكال الانتقاد. وبذلك، تجد كافة الأحزاب السياسية – اليسارية منها واليمينية – ملتزمةً بهذا القانون فتحصر انتقاداتها بالمؤسسات الحكومية كالبرلمان، المفهوم عنها أنها تشكل وسيلة مهذبة وغير مباشرة للتشكيك في قرارات الحكم الصادرة عن الملك.

وهذا الشك في التقاليد الذي يعتبر مفرطًا في الخنوع يعكس في الوقت نفسه تهكمًا إزاء احترام الأقدمية الراسخ في الثقافة المغربية. إذ يتعلم المغاربة في صغرهم التزام الصمت والإصغاء لكبار السن الذين يملكون خبرة أكبر. لكن الخطاب المتداول عبر الإنترنت يخضع لصوت جيل الألفية، والآراء المعبَّر عنها على هذه المنصة تشكل أسلوبًا مختلفًا من الخطاب السياسي.

هناك يلفت جيل الألفية إلى أن منظومة الحكم الملكي خلفت بوعدها بإرساء نظام ديمقراطي وانتقال السلطة تدريجيًا منذ العام 2011. وفيما يواصل الشباب الالتزام بالحكم الملكي باعتباره رمزًا للاستقرار بفعل شرعيته التاريخية والدينية، إلا أن جيل الألفية مستعد أيضًا للانتقاد بشكل أكثر علنيةً المصالح المخلّدة والفساد والمحسوبية المتفشية بين الأحزاب السياسية في المغرب.

زد إلى ذلك أن الشباب يدحضون علنًا العلاقة التقليدية بين الدولة والمجتمع المدعوة "المخزن" باعتبارها قديمة الطراز. ومن هذا المنطلق، يرفضون "البيعة"–وهو حفل تقليدي يعلَن فيه الولاء للملك في اليوم التالي لعيد العرش الذي يقام خلال تموز/يوليو، حيث يجتمع آلاف الموظفين الحكوميين والنخب والممثلين عن الجهات المحلية والوطنية مرتدين جلابيات بيضاء وينحنون للملك الممتطي حصانه. ويعود هذا الطقس إلى بدايات النظام الملكي في المغرب منذ ثلاثة عشر قرنًا خلى، ولكن الشباب يعتبر أن هذا التقليد يرسّخ مفهوم "الأتباع" لا "المواطنة"، فهو يتوقع من علاقته بالدولة أن تتضمن واجبات وحقوق بدل أن تكون مجرد التزام حصري تجاه الدولة.

تحدّي المنظومة الاجتماعية

حرية المرأة: منذ إقرار ما يعرف بمدوّنة الأسرة المغربية عام 2004، نالت المرأة المغربية حريات أكثر من السابق. إذ بات بوسعها الزواج بدون إذن من الوصي على العائلة، ورفض اقتران زوجها بنساء أخريات، والتنعم بمساواة أكبر في الميراث.

لكن القدرة على التواصل مع الآخرين عبر الإنترنت خارج الحدود التقليدية للمساحات الخاضعة للتمييز بين الجنسين دفعت جيل الألفية إلى إخراج المحرمات الجنسية المستمدة من المبادئ الدينية من إطار قيودها التي لا تزال قوية. وبات الرجال والنساء اليوم يواعدون أشخاصًا داخل البلاد وخارجها ويتزوجون من غير المسلمين وينخرطون في علاقات تعتبر حرام. على سبيل المثال، بينما يحق للرجل المسلم الزواج من امرأة غير مسلمة، يحظّر الدين العكس إلا في حال اعتناق الرجل الدين الإسلامي. غير أن  الشابات المغربيات يتجاهلن هذا الحظر.

وبينما كان المجتمع المغربي يتقبّل المثليين طالما أن هذه الثقافة أبقيت سرية، بات مثليو الجنس من الذكور والإناث يظهرون على العلن بفضل الثورة الرقمية ويعلنون عن هويتهم الجنسية على الإنترنت بدون الشعور بالدرجة نفسها من الخوف من العقاب. حتى أن المغاربة باتوا يكتبون بصراحة عن هويتهم الجنسية على غرار الكاتب المغربي الفرنسي عبدالله الطايع الذي نشر كتابًا يتحدث فيه عن ميوله الجنسية.

بيد أن الإنترنت فتح المجال أيضًا أمام ازدياد نسبة الاستغلال الجنسي. فالكثير من النساء المغربيات يبحثن عبر الإنترنت عن عمل في مجال الدعارة في دول الخليج، ويحكى عن عائلات وآباء يشجعون فتياتهم على الهجرة إلى دول الخليج للعمل في الدعارة.وفي المقابل، أصبح رجال الخليج يقصدون مدن المغرب كالرباط والدار البيضاء ومراكش وأكادير لممارسة السياحة الجنسية.

وقد بدأ السكان الأكبر سنًّا بالتصدي لهذا التغير في القواعد والمعايير. ففي العام 2013، قام شابٌ وشابة من مدينة الناظور الشمالية المحافظة بتبادل القبل في العلن بعد خروجهما من المدرسة، وانتشر فيديو عناقهما على موقع يوتيوب، وجاءت ردود الفعل متضاربة ما بين مهلّلٍ مطالِبٍ بتعزيز الحرية الشخصية، وما بين شخصيات دينية تطالب الدولة بمعاقبة الشاب الذي افتُرض أنه عالق في اللاوعي تحت تأثيرالإعلام الغربي.

ومع أن الدولة عمدت بالفعل إلى توقيف الثنائي، إلا أن هذا العمل أدى إلى نشوب حملة عالمية لإطلاق سراحهما كما وإلى إقامة "اعتصام تقبيل" أمام مقر البرلمان بالرباط في ما شكّل تحديًا للنزعة الدينية المحافظة. فما كان من الحكومة أمام هذه الضغوط إلا أن أفرجت عن الولدين وأسقطت التهم.

صياغة خطاب ثقافي بديل

منذ إحياء القومية الأمازيغية في شمال أفريقيا والناشطون الأمازيغ في المغرب ينادون برواية تاريخية مخالفة عن النظرة السائدة للتاريخ المغربي الأولي. إذ يعتبر هؤلاء أن الجيوش العربية غزت شمال أفريقيا خلال القرن السابع وسيطرت عليها بحدّ السيف وليس نتيجة اعتناق سكانها الإسلام سلميًا في ما يسمّى بالفتوحات.

والواقع أن هذه الفكرة تتعارض بشدّة مع المفهوم العربي الأوسع بشأن نواحٍ رئيسية معينة من الهوية المغربية، وبالتحديد يعتبر القوميون الوجود الإسلامي في المنطقة أسوأ أشكال الاستعمار التي مرّت على أمازيغ المنطقة. وقد ساعد الإنترنت في الدعوة إلى إقرار اللغة الأمازيغية (تامازيغت) لغةً رسمية مكرسة رسميًا في الدستور الصادر عام 2011. ولكن أكثر خطواتهم فظاظةً كانت المناداة بالصداقة مع إسرائيل حيث قاموا بإنشاء جمعيات إسرائيلية أمازيغية مجادلين بأنه يوجد العديد من الأمازيغ اليهود الذين ساهموا بشكل ملحوظ في الثقافة وأن إسرائيل – على غرار الأمازيغ – هي ضحية النزعة الإسلامية والعربية الشمولية. بيد أن الكثير من القوميين العرب المغاربة يجدون في هذه الحجج ما يقارب الخيانة للمغرب والإسلام ويعتبرون أن أصحابها يستحقون الاعتقال. ولكن الإنترنت سمح بنشر أفكار الثقافة المضادة هذه، وثمة جيلٌ جديد من القوميين الأمازيغ يطوّر عبر منتديات الإنترنت ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هذه الرواية المضادة التي تزداد تماسكًا يومًا بعد يوم.

نتيجة الصدمة التي خلّفها الفشل الظاهري للربيع العربي، غفل الكثيرون عن التغيرات المتزايدة التي أحدثها الإنترنت في المجتمع المغربي، فيما لا يزال ردّ رموز النظام مجهولاً – وخصوصًا تلك الشخصيات الدينية التي قد تختار ما يكييف تعاليم الإسلام مع القواعد الاجتماعية الجديدة لجيل الألفية أم مضاعفة مطالباتها بإرساء نظام اجتماعي محافظ تحت سيطرة الدولة. مع ذلك، وبصرف النظر عن المستقبل السياسي في المغرب والعالم العربي، فالثورة الثقافية موجودة. جيل الألفية المغربي يريد مستقبلاً على هواه يلبي احتياجاته ولا يستوفي التطلعات التي تفرضها ديانة أو ثقافة ما. وبفضل الإنترنت، وجد هذا الجيل منصةً للتعبير عن هذه الاحتياجات، والأرجح أنه سوف يواصل رسم العالم الحقيقي من حوله.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Moroccan Millennials and the Quiet Cultural Revolution


Also available in العربية

November 6, 2018

Political observers are struggling to measure the full impacts of the internet on political change—an issue that initially came to the attention of the Arab world during the Arab Spring. The digital revolution has brought the dream of democracy and personal freedom to the Arab world, but it is also shifting major features of Arab culture, in spite of the strong tug of tradition and religion.

Millennials are the first generation to grow up with the “digital revolution,” an online arena for political activism and ability to spread the ideals of globalization and freedom. Social media in particular has the ability to challenge previously entrenched norms: Arabs have taken note of the movement of American millennials expressing solidarity with Palestinians against Israeli onslaught on Gaza, a move unheard of in the annals of American politics. In the Arab World, millennials successfully challenged dictatorships during the Arab Spring, despite the political backlash and co-opting of this movement by establishment figures—namely Islamist parties. However, the cultural shifts that social media have engendered are both less recognized and more lasting.

Unlike the Arab Spring, on which Western observers have produced hundreds of books, articles, and documentaries, there is little attention being paid to the quieter cultural revolution that the internet has engendered. In fact, this cultural revolution is thriving because of its ability to remain relatively unnoticed both by outside observers and establishment figures—at least for the time being.

Morocco is a particularly important case of this phenomenon. Unlike many Middle Eastern countries, the government has refrained from placing filters on internet usage. Moroccan millennials access the internet through PCs, smart phones (often with 4G connections), and tablets. Most public places, including cafes and restaurants, now providing free Wi-Fi in response to a massive demand. The city of El Jadida is even offering free internet services within the municipality limits. The strong online connections between the Moroccan Diaspora community in France with those who remain in the country have particularly driven a shift in norms and expectations within Morocco. Moroccan youth are eager to apply the French liberal and democratic system to their own country in order to benefit from the same privileges this Western democracy allows its Moroccan expatriates and offspring of migrants. Personal freedom, social justice, equal opportunity, and political representation and accountability—in other words, full democracy—all appear temptingly accessible online.

Challenging the Political Establishment

State media has always served the interests of the political and religious establishments, obsequiously glorifying the conservative monarchy and chanting the praise of a traditional and austere Islam that refuses to adapt to the realities of modern times. Sick of the fact that this media hardly ever touches on subjects relevant to them, the youth (almost 40 percent of Morocco’s total population) is creating a parallel world online that refuses to comply with the extant social and political rules of Moroccan society.

The 2011 constitution, as in all previous constitutional documents, clearly states that the person of the king is to be respected and is above any form of criticism. As such, all political parties, either from the left or right, adhere to this law and limit criticism to government institutions such as parliament, understood as an indirect and polite way of questioning governance decisions made by the king.

Here, millennials point out that the monarchical establishment is reneging on its promise of incremental democracy and incremental devolution of power from 2011. Youth continue to adhere to the monarchy as a symbol of stability due to its historical and religious legitimacy, yet millennials are also willing to more openly criticize the self-perpetuating interests, corruption, and nepotism of Morocco’s political parties.

Youth also openly reject the traditional relationship between state and society known as Makhzen as obsolete. As such, they reject the bay’a—the traditional expression of allegiance that takes place on the second day of the Throne Day in July, whereby thousands of state employees, elites, and local and national representatives dressed in white djellabas bow to the king on his horse. This ritual dates to the initial establishment of a monarchy in Morocco thirteen centuries prior, yet in the eyes of the youth this tradition also entrenches the concept of subject rather than citizen. They expect their relationship to the state to include both obligations and rights, rather than an exclusive commitment to the former.

This suspicion of traditions seen as overly subservient also reflects a skepticism of the respect for seniority traditionally embedded in Moroccan culture. Younger Moroccans are taught to keep silent and listen to the elders who have more experience. However, online discourse is dominated by the millennial voice, and the opinions aired therein present a quite different style of political discourse.

Challenging the Social Establishment

Since the adoption of a new family code in Morocco known as Moudawana in 2004, Moroccan women enjoy greater freedoms than in the past. They are able to be married without the permission of a family guardian, refuse polygamy for their husbands, and have more equal access to inheritance.

Yet the ability to connect with others through the internet outside of the traditional confines of gendered space has also led to millennials pushing the still strong boundaries of religiously inspired sexual taboos offline as well. Men and women are now openly dating partners inside and outside the country, marrying non-Muslims, and entering into relationships otherwise classified as haram. For example, while it is permitted for Muslim men to marry non-Muslim women, the reverse is religiously prohibited unless the man were to convert. Yet younger Moroccan women are nevertheless ignoring this proscription.

And while gay culture was always tolerated by Moroccan society so long as it was kept secret, gay and lesbian Moroccans are coming out of the closet and openly displaying their sexual identity online without the same level of fear of retribution thanks to the digital revolution. Moroccans are even writing openly about their sexual identities, such as the Moroccan-French writer Abdellah Taia, who published a book on his sexual orientation.

Yet the internet has ultimately allowed for increased sexual exploitation as well. Many Moroccan women are seeking work in the Gulf States as sex workers through the internet, with reports of fathers and families encouraging their daughters to migrate to the Gulf countries to make money as prostitutes. Moreover, this cycle has also driven men from the Gulf to participate in sexual tourism in such cities as Rabat, Casablanca, Marrakesh, and Agadir.

Moreover, the older population has begun pushing back against these shifting norms. In 2013, two youths from the conservative northern city of Nador publicly kissed after leaving school, and the video of their embrace spread on YouTube. Reactions were mixed: some applauded the act and asked for the strengthening of personal freedom, while certain religious figures asked the state to punish the kids, who had supposedly been trapped by the subliminal influence of the western media.

While the state did in fact arrest the couple, this act triggered a worldwide campaign for their release and prompted a “kiss-in” in front of the parliament in Rabat, in defiance of religious conservatism. Under this pressure, the government released the youths and dropped charges.

Building an Alternate Cultural Narrative

Since the revival of the Amazigh nationalism in North Africa, Amazigh activists in Morocco have advocated a historical narrative counter to the prevalent view of early Moroccan history. They argue that Arab armies conquered North Africa by the sword in the 7th century and not by the act of peaceful conversion of the population to Islam known as futuHat.

This narrative that deeply challenges the broader Arab understanding of certain major aspects of Moroccan identity. In particular, the nationalists view the Islamic presence in the area as the worst form of colonialism experienced by the Amazigh people of this region. The internet aided in the call for Tamazight to become an official language, which became officially enshrined in the 2011 constitution. However, their most abrasive move is to call for friendship with Israel by setting up Israeli-Amazigh associations, arguing that there are many Jewish Amazigh individuals who have made a notable contribution to the culture and that Israel, like the Amazigh, are victims of pan-Islamism and pan-Arabism. For many Moroccan Arab nationalists, these arguments border on traitorous to Morocco and Islam and warrant arrest. Yet the internet allows for the dissemination of these counter-cultural views, and a new generation of Amazigh nationalists is developing this increasingly coherent counter-narrative through online forums and social media.

The shock of the Arab Spring’s apparent failure has left many blind to the more incremental changes that the internet has brought about in Moroccan society. What remains to be seen is the response of establishment figures—particularly those religious figures who may either adapt the teachings of Islam to the new social norms of millennials or double down on demands for state-controlled social conservatism. Regardless of the political outlook of Morocco and the greater Arab world, the cultural revolution is here. Moroccan millennials want to create a future of their own liking that responds to their needs rather than the imposed expectations of a religion or a culture. With the internet, these millennials have found a platform to express these needs, and will in all likelihood continue to shape the real world around them.

Customize your RSS Feed