أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

ارتفاع معدّلات العودة إلى الإجرام في إسرائيل؛ قد يساعد تخصيص موارد إضافية للسجناء الإسرائيليين العرب في معالجة المشكلة


متاح أيضاً في English

23 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020

فيما تستعدّ إسرائيل لإجراء انتخابات وطنية ثالثة غير مسبوقة في آذار/مارس، بقيَتْ السياسة المحلّيّة عالقة في نوعٍ من الركود السياسي لفترة عامٍ تقريبًا منذ الانتخابات الأصليّة التي جرت في نيسان/أبريل 2019. إلّا أن مطالب الإصلاح لم تتوقّف، بما فيها المسألة المثيرة للجدل المتعلّقة بالجريمة والعقاب في إسرائيل. وتجدر الإشارة إلى الاحتجاج العام مؤخّرًا بين الإسرائيليين العرب على مزاعم متعلّقة بالجهود غير المتوازنة والتمييزية لحفظ القانون والنظام في المجتمعات العربيّة.

مع الارتفاع الحادّ في الجرائم العنيفة ضمن المجتمعات العربيّة، طالبَ هؤلاء المواطنون الحكومة الإسرائيلية بالمزيد من الموارد وبزيادة تواجد الشرطة كطريقة لتخفيف حدّة المشكلة، فيما اعتبروا أنّ مجتمعهم تعرّض للإهمال نسبةً إلى المجتمعات اليهودية الإسرائيلية من حيث الجهود المبذولة في سبيل حفظ القانون والنظام.

يثير أيضًا الدفع باتّجاه بذل المزيد من الجهود الشاملة لحفظ القانون والنظام في المجتمعات الإسرائيلية العربية مسألةَ ما الذي يحدث لأولئك الذين يخضعون للنظام الجزائي الإسرائيلي. وفيما تركّز الاحتجاجات على المزيد من الحماية المجتمعيّة، تبرز حاجة حيوية على نحوٍ مماثل – وإن لم تكن معلَنة بالقدر نفسه – لإعادة تأهيل أولئك المحكوم عليهم بجرمٍ أو السجناء السابقين.

وفقًا للتقارير الرسميّة، سجّل عام 2018 234 سجينًا في إسرائيل من أصل 100 ألف ساكنٍ، ما يفوق إلى حدٍّ كبير المعدّل العالمي البالغ حوالى 145 سجينًا من أصل 100 ألف. فتجدر ملاحظة أن المعدّلات التقديرية للأسرى على عدد السكّان الإجمالي في إسرائيل، إلى جانب البحرين والمغرب، هي الأعلى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. ويمكن أن يتوقّع معظم الجناة التواجد في السجن من ثلاثة أشهرٍ إلى ثلاث سنوات بسبب ارتكاب جنحة، فيما يترتّب عن ارتكاب الجناية ما يفوق ثلاث سنوات من الحُكم بالسجن.

عدا عن ارتفاع عدد السجناء نسبيًّا، تفوق نسبة العودة إلى الإجرام في إسرائيل المعدّل، إذ يعود إلى السجن 41 في المئة من إجمالي عدد السكّان ونسبة ملحوظة تبلغ 75 في المئة من الذين لم يتجاوزوا الثامنة عشر من العمر بعد إطلاق سراحهم وفقًا لبيانات عام 2016. ووجدت إحدى الدراسات في العام نفسه أنه إذا استطاعت إسرائيل تخفيض معدّلات العودة إلى الإجرام بنسبة 8 في المئة فحسب، قد يصبح بإمكانها توفير حوالى 3 مليار شيكل (857218800 دولار أمريكي) في السنة. وأدركت وزارة الماليّة الإسرائيلية منذ ذلك الوقت مدى خطورة الوضع فكرّست موارد إضافية لإعادة تأهيل السجناء، لكن ما زالت تُطرَح مسألة إضافية حول إذا ما كانت هذه الموارد متاحة للجميع.

في حين أن الإسرائيليين العرب لا يشكّلون سوى 20 في المئة من السكّان الوطنيين، فهم يمثّلون 40 في المئة من السجناء في إسرائيل. إلا أن الأغلبية الساحقة من الموارد المخصصة لإعادة تأهيل السجناء تُكرّي لبرامج تستهدف غالبية السكّان، ما يستنزف الموارد الخاصة بالبرامج المصممة لدعم الإسرائيليين العرب أو يترك هذه البرامج غير مجهَّزة جيّدًا لتوفير الخدمات التي تتمتع بالكفاءة الثقافية إلى السجناء السابقين الذي يبتغون إعادة الانضمام إلى المجتمع.

عند مغادرة السجن، تبقى جهود إعادة التأهيل المتوافرة والمصممة خصيصًا لتلبية حاجات المواطنين الإسرائيليين العرب شحيحة. ويمكن أن يعود توفير الخدمات ذات الكفاءة الثقافية بمنفعة كبيرة من حيث تخفيض معدّلات العودة إلى الإجرام. فعلى الأرجح، يساهم الغياب العام لمراكز إعادة التأهيل التي تستخدم اللغتيْن، أو المنظّمات التي تهدف بشكلٍ خاص إلى دعم الإسرائيليين العرب عند إطلاق سراحهم، في العزل والمزيد من الابعاد.

يُظهِر أحد استثناءات هذه القاعدة – وهو دارٌ لإعادة التأهيل يُدعى "بيت النعمة" ويقع في حيفا – كيف يمكن أن يبدو النظام البديل في إسرائيل. ففي عام 2011، نقّح الكنيست مجموعةً من القوانين الأساسية التي سلّطت الضوء على الحقوق الأساسية. وشملَ جزءٌ من هذه الإصلاحات السماح ببدائل المحاكمة للجناة غير العنيفين، مثل دور إعادة التأهيل.

تساعد "مصلحة السجون الإسرائيلية" على تنظيم هذه المنظّمات، المصممة لإعادة التأهيل وتأمين المأوى للسجناء السابقين الذين أُطلقَ سراحهم باكرًا، أو خضعوا للأحكام البديلة، أو انتقلوا من الحجز إلى العيش خارج السجن. فتعمل "مصلحة السجون الإسرائيلية" مع هذه المؤسسات من خلال التدقيق فيها في إطار المبادئ التوجيهية الصادرة عن نظام العدالة الجنائية لضمان تلبيتها الحاجات الأساسية الخاصة بالأشخاص الذين تخدمهم. ويمكن أن تشكّل دور إعادة التأهيل أيضًا صلة وصلٍ بين الوكالات الحكومية والمنظّمات المجتمعية من أجل ضمان إعادة الدمج الفعّالة للمقيمين فيها داخل المجتمع.

راقبَ المؤلّف مباشرةً جهود "بيت النعمة" فيما كان يعمل هناك في عام 2017. وتشكّل هذه المنظّمة الدار الإسرائيلي الأوّل والوحيد لإعادة تأهيل السجناء العرب الذين حصلوا مؤخّرًا على الإفراج المشروط، ويؤدّي "بيت النعمة" أيضًا كمنظّمة مسيحية عربية دورًا أساسيًّا في تلاقي الهويات والمجموعات داخل إسرائيل. وفي الأصل، كان "بيت النعمة" مفتوحًا لكلٍّ من المواطنين اليهود والعرب حتى عام 2011، حين طلبت الحكومة الإسرائيلية من هذه المنظّمة العمل حصريًّا مع العرب. ويفتخر "بيت النعمة" أيضًا بارتفاع معدّل المقيمين فيه الذين ينجزون بنجاح برنامج إعادة التأهيل الممتد على أشهرٍ إلى 71 في المئة، وقد صُمّم هذا البرنامج لتسهيل الدخول مجددًا إلى المجتمع العام.

مع ذلك، أعرب رئيس المنظّمة غالبًا عن القلق الشديد بشأن التضارب بين العدد الكبير من المواطنين الإسرائيليين العرب في السجن وقدْر المساعدة التي يستطيع أن يوفّرها "بيت النعمة" واقعيًّا، نظرًا إلى امتلاك هذا الدار خمسة عشر سريرًا فحسب. كما جاهد "بيت النعمة" لمكافحة التهديدات بإيقاف تمويله كلّيًّا. ففي عام 2015، حاولت "هيئة إعادة تأهيل السجناء" إنهاء ارتباطها بـ"بيت النعمة" بسبب الاقتطاع من الميزانية داخل هذه الدائرة. وتم العدول عن هذا القرار في وجه انتشار الغضب المجتمعي، لكنّ الحادثة أثبتت ما صنّفه د. وليد حداد – وهو مشرفٌ في "هيئة مكافحة المخدّرات" في المجتمع العربي – كعجزٍ عن إدراك "أهمية الحساسية الاجتماعية" حين يتعلّق الأمر بالخدمات المصممة للمواطنين الإسرائيليين العرب.

في خلال العام الماضي، كافح نظام السجون في إسرائيل أيضًا بسبب غياب القيادة، الذي أدّت إليه التحديات الخاصة بالقسم الرقابي مع القانون. فأُجبر وزير العمل والرفاهية والخدمات الاجتماعية السابق حاييم كاتس على الاستقالة في آب/أغسطس الماضي بسبب تهم الفساد. وتخلّى خلفه أيضًا – أي رئيس الوزراء بنيامين نتنياهو عن واجباته الوزارية بسبب تهمه الخاصة. وتبوّأت وزيرة جديدة – هي يفعاط ساشا-بيتون – هذا المنصب في 5 كانون الثاني/يناير، إلا أن هذا التعيين قد يتبدّل في غضون عدة أشهرٍ إذا استقدمت الانتخابات في آذار/مارس أخيرًا رئيس وزراءٍ جديدًا. وبسبب هذه الحالة المطوّلة من الركود السياسي، قد يتخوّف الكثيرون الآن من قيام الحكومة مجددًا رغم كل شيء بفسخ عقدها مع "بيت النعمة"، وهذه المرّة بشكلٍ دائم.

مع ذلك، طالما يبقى "بيت النعمة" موجودًا، يوحي نجاحه في تخفيض معدلات العودة إلى الإجرام بين المقيمين فيه بطريقة أخرى للمضي قدمًا في السياسات الإسرائيلية إزاء الذين سبق أن سُجنوا. فيشكّل المزيد من التشديد على الإشراك وإعادة الدمج سبيلًا لتحقيق القيم الديمقراطية الإسرائيلية، ويساعد في الوقت نفسه على ضمان الاستقرار المحلّي. و"بيت النعمة" هو حاليًّا مؤسسة فريدة، لكنّه يمثّل نموذجًا مثبَتًا يمكن تطبيقه بمساعدة التمويل في أماكن أخرى، ما يساعد إسرائيل على تخفيض معدلات العودة إلى الإجرام فيها وما يُظهر اهتمامًا بالمجتمع الإسرائيلي العربي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Israeli Recidivism Rates are High; More Resources for Arab Israeli Prisoners Could Help


Also available in العربية

January 23, 2020

With Israel preparing for an unprecedented third national election in March, domestic politics have been trapped in a kind of political stasis for almost a year since the original elections in April 2019. But demands for reform have not stopped, including the contentious question of crime and punishment in Israel. Notably, there has recently been a public outcry among Arab Israelis over claims of unbalanced and discriminatory policing efforts in Arab communities.

With a sharp spike in violent crimes in Arab communities, Arab citizens have petitioned the Israeli government for more resources and a larger police presence as a way to alleviate the problem, while arguing that their community has been neglected relative to Israeli Jewish communities in terms of policing efforts.

The push for more comprehensive policing efforts in Arab Israeli communities also raises the question of what happens to those who fall under Israel’s penal system. While the protests are focusing on greater community protection, there is a similarly vital—if less publicized—need for rehabilitation of those convicted of a crime or former prisoners.

According to official reports, Israel had 234 incarcerated persons per 100,000 of the total population in 2018, well above the global average of an estimated 145 incarcerated persons per 100,000. Notably Israel, along with Bahrain and Morocco, have the highest estimated rates of prisoners to general population in the Middle East and North Africa region. Most offenders can expect to be in jail anywhere from three months to three years for a misdemeanor, while a felony offence is likely to net over three years of prison sentence.

Aside from its relatively large prison population, Israel has an above-average rate of recidivism, with 41 percent overall and a remarkable 75 percent of people under the age of 18 returning to prison after release according to 2016 data. That same year, a study found that if Israel could reduce recidivism rates by just 8 percent, it could potentially save around 3 billion shekels (857,218,800 USD) a year. The Israeli finance ministry has since recognized the gravity of the situation and devoted additional resources to prisoner rehabilitation service, but there is the additional question of whether these resources are accessible to all.

While Arab Israelis constitute only 20 percent of the national population, they represent 40 percent of Israel’s prison population. Yet the large majority of resources earmarked for prisoner rehabilitation are funneled into programs targeting the majority population, leaving programs designed to support Arab Israelis drained of resources or ill-equipped to provide culturally-competent services to former prisoners seeking to rejoin society.

Once leaving prison, the available rehabilitation efforts tailored to the needs of Arab Israeli citizens are sparse. Providing culturally competent services can be of major benefit to reducing rates of recidivism. The general absence of bilingual rehabilitation centers, or organizations that specifically aim to support Arab Israelis upon release, is likely to contribute to isolation and further alienation.

The exception to this rule—a halfway house called the House of Grace located in Haifa—demonstrates what an alternative system in Israel could look like. In 2011, the Knesset edited a series of basic laws that emphasized fundamental rights. Part of these reforms, included allowing for alternatives to sentencing for nonviolent offenders, such as halfway houses.

The Israeli Prison Service (IPS) helps regulate these organizations, which are designed to rehabilitate and provide housing to former inmates with early release, alternative sentences, or who are transitioning from incarceration to life outside prison. The Israeli Prison service works with these institutions by inspecting them within the criminal justice system’s guidelines to ensure they meet the basic needs of the people they serve. The halfway houses can also act as a liaison between government agencies and community organizations in order to ensure their inhabitants effectively reintegrate into society.

The author observed the efforts of House of Grace firsthand while working there during 2017. The organization is Israel's first and only halfway house for recently paroled Arab prisoners, and as an Arab Christian organization, the House of Grace also plays a key role in the intersection of identities and groups within Israel. Originally, the House of Grace was open to both Jewish and Arab citizens up until 2011, when the Israeli government required the organization to work exclusively with Arabs. House of Grace also boasts a high rate of its inhabitants successfully completing their months-long rehabilitation program at 71 percent, which is designed to facilitate reentry into general society.

However, the head of the organization often expressed great concern over the discrepancy between the large number of Arab Israeli citizens in the prison system and the amount of assistance House of Grace could realistically provide, given that the house has just fifteen beds. The House of Grace has also struggled with threats to cut their funding entirely. In 2015, the Prisoner Rehabilitation Authority attempted to end its association with the House of Grace because of budget cuts within the department. The decision was reversed in the face of widespread community outrage, but the incident demonstrated what Dr. Walid Hadad—a supervisor in the Anti-Drug Authority in the Arab community—classified as a failure to recognize the “the importance of social sensitivity” when it comes to services designed for Arab Israeli citizens.

Over the past year, the prison system in Israel has also struggled due to a lack of leadership, brought on by the supervising department’s own challenges with the law. The former Labor, Welfare, and Social Services Minister Haim Katz was forced to resign last August due to corruption charges. His successor—Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu—has now also relinquished his ministerial duties due to his own indictment. A new minister—Yifat Shasha-Biton—began her position on January 5, but this appointment may well change in several months if the March elections finally bring in a new Prime Minister. Due to this prolonged state of political stagnation, many now fear that the government will yet again cancel its contract with House of Grace, this time permanently.

However, as long as House of Grace exists, its success in reducing recidivism rates among its inhabitants suggests another way forward in Israel’s policy towards previously incarcerated persons. A greater emphasis on engagement and reintegration serves both as a way to live up to Israel’s democratic values while helping to ensure domestic stability. The House of Grace is currently a unique institution, but it represents a proven model that, with funding, could be implemented elsewhere, helping Israel to reduce its rates of recidivism and demonstrating concern for the Arab Israeli community.

Customize your RSS Feed