أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الأقليّة العربيّة في إسرائيل وانتخابات الكنيست


متاح أيضاً في English

9 نيسان/أبريل 2019

تجري في التاسع من نيسان 2019 الانتخابات البرلمانيّة في إسرائيل، وهي الانتخابات البرلمانية الحادية والعشرين في تاريخ البلاد. يصل عدد من لديهم حق التصويت 6.3مليون مواطن، منهم أبناء الأقليّة العربيّة في إسرائيل الذين يشكّلون خمس مجمل مواطني إسرائيل. وخلال انتخابات الكنيست العشرين التي جرت في آذار/مارس 2015، مثّل الأقليّة العربيّة تحالف واسع لأربعة أحزاب عربيّة أو أحزاب عربية - يهودية مشتركة، خاض الانتخابات تحت اسم "القائمة المشتركة" (The Joint List)، وقد حاز هذا التحالف على ثلاثة عشر مقعداً من أصل 120 في الكنيست، وهو أعلى مستوى تمثيل للعرب منذ قيام إسرائيل، رغم أن نسبة التصويت وصلت %63.7 فقط ممن لديهم حق التصويت في المجتمع العربي، مقارنة بالنسبة القطريّة التي وصلت %72.3 وحوالي %76 في المجتمع اليهودي. ومن المتوقع في انتخابات الكنيست المقبلة أن تتنافس عدة قوائم على التمثيل العربي في الكنيست، لكن حسب جميع استطلاعات الرأي فإن التمثيل العربي سينحصر في إطار الأحزاب التي مثلت العرب في الدورات السابقة. ومع ذلك، فإن التصدع الذي أصاب القائمة المشتركة والاهتمام المتزايد بمقاطعة الانتخابات يوحي بأن التمثيل العربي في انتخابات الكنيست المقبلة سوف يتقلص على الأرجح.

مع إعلان تقديم موعد الانتخابات التي كان من المفروض إجرائها في تشرين الثاني 2019، حدث انشقاق داخل صفوف "القائمة المشتركة"، حيث انسحبت الحركة العربيّة للتغيير من القائمة، وبائت جميع المحاولات لرأب الشرخ بالفشل، وأدّى ذلك إلى تفكك القائمة المشتركة إلى قائمتين تضم كل منهما حزبين من الأحزاب الأربعة التي شكّلت القائمة المشتركة. القائمة الأولى تضم حزب "الجبهة الديمقراطيّة للسلام والمساواة"، القائم على أسس الحزب الشيوعي الإسرائيلي، وحزب "الحركة العربيّة للتغيير"، والمتميز بشخص رئيس الحزب ذي الشعبيّة والكاريزما، الدكتور أحمد الطيبي – الذي كان مستشار لرئيس السلطة الفلسطينيّة السابق، ياسر عرفات.

أمّا القائمة الثانية فتتكون من "القائمة العربيّة الموحّدة" – الجناح السياسي للحركة الإسلاميّة الجنوبيّة (الحركة الإسلاميّة الشماليّة معرّفة في إسرائيل على أنها خارجة عن القانون منذ عام 2015)، وحزب "التجمّع الوطني الديمقراطي"، والذي يمثّل التيّار القوميّ والعلمانيّ في المجتمع العربيّ، والذي يطالب بأن تصبح إسرائيل دولة كلّ مواطنيها وليس فقط دولة يهوديّة - كتعرفيها في وثيقة الاستقلال - أو دولة الشعب اليهودي كما هي مُعرّفة في قانون أساس: إسرائيل الدولة القومية للشعب اليهودي" (Basic Law: Israel as the Nation-State of the Jewish People) والمعروف باسم "قانون القوميّة" الذي تمّت المصادقة عليه في تموز العام الماضي.

رغم تفرّقها في الانتخابات على مرّ السنين، باستثناء الفترة ما بين 2015-2018، إلّا أن الأحزاب العربيّة تناضل من أجل ذات القضايا الّتي يعاني منها المواطنون العرب منذ عقود: تقسيم غير عادل للميزانيّات (مشكلة تعاني منها قطاعات مختلفة في إسرائيل، أبرزها الأقليّة العربيّة)، إقصاء العرب في مجالات عديدة في الحيّز العام الإسرائيليّ (مثل قضية التمثيل في القطاع الحكومي بحيث يتناسب مع نسبة من السكان). وفى هذا الإطار، يجب أن تتعامل هذه الأحزاب أيضًا مع حقيقة أن أعضاء الكنيست الذين ينتمون إليها لا يُعتبرون شركاء طبيعيين أو شرعيين في الائتلافات الحاكمة، وذلك على الرغم من وجود بعض النماذج من السياسيين العرب الذين تم انتخابهم للكنيست كأعضاء في كلا من حزب الليكود والعمل.

كما تناضل الأحزاب السياسية أيضا ضد المستوى المتدنّي للخدمات العامة في البلدات العربيّة، نقص الأراضي المتاحة للبناء ومشكلة البيوت غير المرخصة والمهددة بالهدم في البلدات العربيّة لعدم وجود خرائط تخطيط هيكليّ للكثير من البلدات العربيّة، بالإضافة إلى مأساة العنف والجريمة المنظّمة وانتشار السلاح غير المرخّص في المجتمع العربيّ على ضوء ظاهرة عدم تصدّي الشرطة والحكومة في إسرائيل لهذه الظاهرة في حين هناك ظاهرة في استخدام زائد للقوة من قبل الشرطة (Over-Policing) تجاه المواطنين العرب. جُلّ جهود النّواب العرب تتّجه لمعالجة مشاكل وتحديّات المجتمع العربيّ المذكورة وغيرها.

رغم ذلك، فإنّ نسبة المشاركة العربيّة في انتخابات الكنيست في العقدين الأخيرين أقلّ بشكل واضح، أحياناً بنسبة من المشاركة في المجتمع اليهودي، وأقلّ بحوالي %25 من نسبة مشاركة المواطنين العرب أنفسهم في انتخابات المجالس المحليّة والبلديّات. فخلال الانتخابات المحليّة الأخيرة التي جرت في تشرين الأول 2018، أدلى أكثر من أربعة أخماس العرب في معظم القوائم الانتخابية بأصواتهم، بينما من المتوقع حسب دراسات واستطلاعات عديدة نشرت في الشهر الأخير أن تكون نسبة المشاركة في انتخابات الكنيست القريبة حوالي %50 فقط في صفوف الجماهير العربيّة.

إثر الإعلان عن نسبة التّصويت المنخفضة المتوقّعة خلال الانتخابات المقبلة، والحديث المتزايد حول مقاطعة الانتخابات، وانطلاق حملة في البلدان العربيّة تنادي بالمقاطعة، جاءت ردّة فعل الأحزاب العربيّة المتأخرة لمحاولة تشجيع المواطنين العرب على التّصويت دون أن تقرّ هذه الأحزاب بمسؤوليتها عن تدنّي مستوى ثقة الجمهور بها ودون الاعتذار عن أخطائها.

ينقسم المقاطعون للعملية الانتخابية إلى أربعة أقسام: القسم الأول، وهم المبدئيون أو العقائديّون، وهؤلاء هم المنتمون لحركة أبناء البلد بالإضافة إلى الحركة الإسلاميّة الشماليّة والمتبنين لفكر الحركتين والمتعاطفين معهما. تُقدّر نسبة كلّ هؤلاء بحوالي ربع الناخبين من عرب إسرائيل. كلا الحركتين ترفضان الواقع الإسرائيلي والاندماج فيه وتدعوان إلى عدم المشاركة في انتخابات الكنيست، مع تأييد المشاركة في الانتخابات المحليّة. الحركة الإسلاميّة الشماليّة تمّ حظرها في تشرين الثاني 2015، ويرجع ذلك جزئيًا إلى رأي الحكومة بأن الحركة كانت تقف خلف تأجيج الاحتجاجات وأعمال العنف في المسجد الأقصى آنذاك.

يضم القسم الثاني من المقاطعين هؤلاء الّذين خابت آمالهم من الأحزاب العربيّة وأعضائها. تنبع خيبة الأمل هذه من سوء أداء النواب العرب بنظر الجمهور العربي، حيث تشير دراسة نشرت في جامعة تل أبيب أواخر آذار 2019 أن %42 من المستطلعين العرب في الدراسة يرون أن أداء النواب العرب سيء، %24 منهم يرونهم سيء جداً.

أما القسم الثالث، فهو يضم المقاطعون الذين لا يؤمنون بقدرة النواب العرب على تمثيلهم وتحصيل حقوقهم لانعدام قدرتهم على التأثير على عمليّة صنع القرارات ووضع السياسات في الدولة، لكونهم مهمّشين سياسياً وبلا أمل للانضمام والمشاركة بأي ائتلاف حكوميّ يتشكل بعد الانتخابات. ومع ذلك، تشارك الغالبيّة الساحقة من هؤلاء ومن المجموعتين الأخريين تشارك في انتخابات السلطات المحليّة باعتبارها مكوّنة من أعضاء محليين معروفين للناخبين بشكل شخصيّ بعكس غالبيّة المرشحين لانتخابات الكنيست، بالإضافة إلى كون السلطات المحليّة العربيّة هي المزوّد الأساسيّ للخدمات للمواطن العربيّ في إسرائيل وأحد المشغّلين البارزين في المجتمع العربيّ.

يشمل القسم الأخير من المقاطعون هؤلاء الّذين لا يثقون أن نيّة النوّاب العرب هي خدمة مصالح المواطنين العرب، بل يرون أنهم يسعون وراء خدمة مصالح شخصيّة وحزبيّة. نسبة المنتمين إلى هذه المجموعة ازدادت بشكل ملحوظ خلال العامين الأخيرين، على ضوء صراعات بين مكوّنات القائمة المشتركة على التناوب بين أعضاءها، وذلك في أعقاب استقالة النائب باسل غطاس من التّجمع الوطني الدّيمقراطيّ، إثر إدانته في قضية أمنيّة. أزمة التّناوب أدّت إلى تعطيل اتفاق التناوب الّذي كان متّفقاً قبل انتخابات 2015 لأكثر من عام وسبّبت ضرراً كبيراً لعمل القائمة ووقفت وراء انشقاقها قبيل انتخابات 2019. تلك الانشقاقات أدت إلى انخفاض مستوى الثّقة الجماهيريّة بالأحزاب وقياداتها ونوّابها، كما أدت إلى ارتفاع نسبة العازمين على مقاطعة التصويت كنوع من العقوبة لنّواب الأحزاب العربيّة..

وبالنظر إلى الميل المتزايد إلى مقاطعة الانتخابات، تشير استطلاعات الرأي الأخيرة إلى أن عدد مقاعد الكنيست التي يشغلها سياسيون عرب سوف يتأثر نتيجة هذه المقاطعة، فحسب نتائج الاستطلاعات الأسبوعيّة لإحدى عشرة وسيلة إعلام إسرائيليّة في الأشهر الثلاثة الأخيرة، من المرجح أن تفوز الأحزاب العربية بما بين 10 إلى 11 مقعدًا في الدورة الحادية والعشرين للكنيست، وذلك المقارنة بالثلاثة عشر مقعدًا التي حصلت عليها سابقًا ما يعني تراجع بنسبة من التمثيل العربيّ.

وتشير الاستطلاعات إلى أنّ تحالف الجبهة الديمقراطيّة للسلام والمساواة والجبهة العربيّة للتغيير سيتجاوز العتبة الانتخابيّة (نسبة الحسم The Electoral Threshold) البالغة %3.25 من مجمل الأصوات، ما سيمكنه من الحصول على تمثيل في الكنيست، حيث تتوقع معظم الاستطلاعات حصول هذا التحالف على 7-8 مقاعد. أمّا تحالف القائمة الموحّدة، فإنّه ما زال في دائرة خطر عدم تجاوز العتبة الانتخابيّة، ما يشير إلى احتمال (ضئيل إلا أنه موجود) لمزيد من انخفاض بعدد النواب العرب في الكنيست.

إنّ وجود الأقليّة العربيّة على هامش الحيّز العام في إسرائيل لا يضرّ فقط بمصالح الأقليّة العربيّة، إنّما يضرّ كذلك بمصالح إسرائيل كدولة ومجتمع. فاندماج مواطنيها العرب في شتى مجالات الحياة سيعود بفوائد سياسيّة، دبلوماسيّة واقتصاديّة وفوائد أخرى كثيرة، لأنّ الأقليّة العربيّة في إسرائيل الّتي يعرف أبنائها الثقافتين العربيّة والإسرائيليّة قادرة على أن تكون جسراً في تسوية الصراع الإسرائيليّ-الفلسطينيّ وفي تنمية علاقات إسرائيل مع دول الجوار، ما سيساهم في تعزيز العمليّة السلميّة في الشرق الأوسط، ويعزّز من مكانة إسرائيل إقليمياً ودولياً، على الصّعيد السّياسيّ-الدبلوماسيّ وعلى الصّعيد الاقتصاديّ.

من أجل ذلك، من الحريّ بالقيادة الإسرائيليّة التوقّف عن تهميش العرب، والبدء بذلك في الحيّز السّياسي. وبغض النظر عن نتائج الانتخابات، يتوجب على قيادات الأقليّة العربيّة في إسرائيل المطالبة بالاندماج السّياسيّ، والسّعي من خلال ذلك لتحسين ظروف المواطنين العرب في إسرائيل، بالإضافة إلى طرح أنفسهم كجزء من الحل لا كجزء من الصراع بين إسرائيل - الدولة التي هم مواطنوها - والشعب الفلسطيني - الّذين هم جزء منه. من الأفضل للقيادات والجماهير العربيّة المشاركة الفعّالة والاندماج. هذا جزء أساسي من حل مشاكلهم، والأفضل أن يكونوا جزءً من الحلّ على أن يكونوا جزءً من المشكلة.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Arab Minority in Israel and the Knesset Elections


Also available in العربية

April 9, 2019

Israel is holding its elections for the Knesset on April 9, the 21st parliamentary poll in the country’s history. Of an estimated 5.8 million citizens with voting rights, 16 percent are from Israel’s Arab minority, which makes up around a fifth of Israel’s total population. During the previous Knesset elections in March 2015, a broad alliance of four Arab or joint Arab-Jewish parties, the Joint List, became the primary representation of this minority. This alliance won 13 out of the Knesset’s 120 seats, one of the highest levels of Arab representation in Israel’s history, even with Arab turnout at 63.7 percent compared to the national average of 72.3 percent (some 76 percent of eligible Israeli Jews voted). This time around, several lists are competing to represent Arabs in the Knesset, but all signs indicate that Arab representation will be limited to the same parties that have represented them in previous parliaments. However, the fracturing of the Joint List and a growing interest in boycotting the elections suggest that upcoming Arab representation in the Knesset will likely shrink.

The announcement of early elections ahead of the expected timeline of November 2019 triggered a split within the Joint List. The Arab Movement for Renewal withdrew, and all attempts at reconciliation failed. This led to the alliance splitting into two lists, each comprising of two of the original list’s four parties. The first list includes the Democratic Front for Peace and Equality, which follows the ideals of the Israeli Communist Party, and the Arab Movement for Renewal,. The latter is led by charismatic and well-known Arab Israeli politician Ahmad Tibi, a former advisor to late Palestinian leader Yasser Arafat.

The second list comprises the United Arab List, the political wing of the Southern Islamic Movement (the movement’s northern branch being outlawed in late 2015), and the National Democratic Assembly, which represents Arab Israeli nationalists and secularists. It wants Israel to become a country of all its citizens, rather the state of the Jews, as per the country’s declaration of independence, or the nation-state of the Jewish people, as enshrined in the Nation State Law, formally known as Basic Law: Israel as the Nation-State of the Jewish People, which was passed in July last year.

Despite their electoral divisions over the years, with the exception of the period between 2015 and 2018, Arab parties have fought for the same causes and struggled against the same issues that have beset Arab citizens for decades. These include unfair budget allocations (a problem affecting several sectors of Israeli society but most prominently its Arab minority), the exclusion of Arabs from various areas of public life (including representation in government in keeping with their numbers). These parties must also contend with the fact that the members of the Knesset (MKs) who belong to them are not considered natural or legitimate partners in governing coalitions—though there have been cases of individual Arab politicians elected to the Knesset as members of both Likud and Labor.

Political parties have also struggled against poor provision of services to Arab-majority municipalities, a shortage of land allocated for development, and the demolition of houses built without governmental permission due to the fact that Arab-majority municipalities often lack urban master plans. On top of this, they have worked to tackle violence, organized crime, and the prevalence of unlicensed guns in Arab communities. This is an issue that the Israeli police and governments have done little to solve, despite over-policing and the use of undue force against Arab citizens. Arab deputies have put every effort into tackling these problems and others faced by Israel’s Arab citizens.

Yet in spite of these efforts, the level of Arab participation in Knesset elections has fallen markedly over the past two decades, sometimes falling 10 percent short of Jewish turnout and approximately 25 percent short of Arab turnout for local and municipal councils. During the last local elections in October 2018, over four-fifths of Arabs on most electoral rolls cast a vote. However, according to several polls published in the last month, Arab turnout in the forthcoming Knesset elections is only expected to reach around 50 percent.

In response to reports predicting low turnout in the elections along with growing talk of a boycott—encouraged by campaigns in Arab countries—the Arab parties have belatedly made efforts to encourage Arab citizens to vote. They have not, however, admitted responsibility for the low level of public trust in them or apologized for their mistakes.

Those calling for a boycott do so for four main reasons. Some do so on principle or due to ideological beliefs. Among these are members of and sympathizers with the Abnaa el-Balad (Sons of the Land) movement and the northern branch of the Islamic Movement in Israel. They make up around a quarter of Arab Israeli voters. Both movements reject Israel’s existence and call on Arabs to resist integration and boycott Knesset elections, although their followers do take part in local elections. Furthermore, the northern Islamic Movement was banned by the government in November 2015, partly due to the government’s view that the group had incited demonstrations and violence centered on Jerusalem’s flashpoint—the Al-Aqsa mosque compound.

Also supporting a boycott are Arab Israelis who are disaffected with the performance of Arab parties and their MKs. In a study published by Tel Aviv University in late March, 42 percent of Arab Israelis polled thought Arab MKs had performed badly, with a further 24 percent rating their performance as “very bad.”

A third group believes that Arab MKs cannot represent or secure Arab rights because these deputies are unable to influence the governmental decision-making process and how state policy is made. They see Arab MKs as politically marginalized, with little hope of joining or taking part in any governing coalition formed after elections. The vast majority of voters from these first three groups are still likely to take part in local elections, as the candidates tend to be personally known to voters—unlike most of those politicians running for Knesset seats. Furthermore, local Arab-run authorities are the primary provider of services to Arab citizens of Israel and important actors in Arab Israeli society.

However, a final group that supports a boycott is made up of those who doubt that Arab Israeli politicians truly aim to serve the interests of Arab citizens, instead representing personal or party interests. This view has grown markedly over the past two years in light of disputes between the parties that made up the Joint List over rotation of their members after Balad MK Basel Ghattas was removed from office after being indicted over a security scandal, and leads its proponents to boycott all elections, both national and local.The crisis of rotation led to a postponement of the rotation agreement, which had been agreed upon before the 2015 elections, for more than a year. It also caused serious damage to the work of the Joint List and led to its split prior to the 2019 elections. In turn, the fragmentation crisis has decreased public confidence in political parties and their deputies and is expected to increase the number of people who intend to boycott the elections as a way of punishing Arab parties.

Given the increased inclination to boycott elections, recent polls suggest that the amount of Knesset seats held by Arab politicians will suffer accordingly. According to weekly polls conducted by eleven Israeli news outlets over the past three months, Arab parties are likely to win between ten and eleven seats in the 21st Knesset, down from the thirteen seats they won previously and representing a 15 percent drop in Arab representation. For the two lists, polls show that the Democratic Front for Peace and Equality/Arab Movement for Renewal alliance should pass the electoral threshold of 3.25%, with most predictions expecting the list to receive around seven or eight seats. Though the latest polls published before the elections indicate that the United Arab List/Balad has received only four to five seats. It may not pass the electoral threshold at all, pointing to a more limited involvement of Arab MKs in the Knesset overall.

The Arab minority’s marginalization in Israeli public life is damaging not only to the minority itself, but also to the interests of Israel as a state and to broader Israeli society. The integration of Arabs into all areas of life would offer political, diplomatic, and economic benefits. As well as helping to improve the Arab minority’s situation in Israel, Israel’s Arabs, who are familiar with both Arab and Israeli culture, could act as a bridge for reconciliation between Israelis and Palestinians. They could also help nurture Israel’s relations with neighboring states, strengthening peace in the Middle East and bolstering Israel’s position in the region and across the world, politically, diplomatically and economically.

To this end, the Israeli leadership should stop marginalizing Arabs, beginning with their marginalization in political life. Regardless of the election results, the minority’s leadership should demand political integration and use it to push for better conditions for Arab citizens of Israel, as well as presenting themselves as part of the solution rather than part of the struggle between Israel (the country of which they are citizens) and the Palestinian people (of which they are a part). The Arab leadership and public should also integrate and play a more influential role. This political integration is a fundamental step towards solving the problems of their constituencies. It is better for them to be part of the solution than part of the problem.

Customize your RSS Feed