أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الانتخابات الإسرائيلية تعكس مشاعر متناقضة لدى الفلسطينيين


متاح أيضاً في English

27 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019

خلّفت نتائج الانتخابات الإسرائيلية مشاعر متناقضة جمعت ما بين القليل من الإحباط والقليل من الأمل. فمن جهة، يشعر الفلسطينيون مثلي بالإحباط إذ يعتبرون أن الأمر سيّان بشأن عمليات السلام سواء فاز ائتلاف الأحزاب اليمينية المتطرفة بقيادة حزب "الليكود" أو ائتلاف الأحزاب الوسط بقيادة حزب "أزرق أبيض" أو سواء شكّلا كلاهما حكومة وحدة وطنية. اذ لم يطرح أي منهما مفاوضات السلام والتسويات السياسية في برنامجهما السياسي وأيّد كلاهما بسط السيادة الإسرائيلية على غور الأردن والمستعمرات في الضفة الغربية كما أجمعا على أن القدس الموحدة عاصمة إسرائيل كما لم يطرح أي منهما حل الدولتين.

ومع ذلك، يشير الخطاب شديد اللهجة الذي القاه بعض السياسيين الإسرائيليين ضد الناخبين العرب إلى بصيص من الامل في هذه الانتخابات. لم يشكّل الوعد الذي قطعه نتنياهو في اللحظات الأخيرة من حملته الانتخابية للاستيلاء على الأراضي الفلسطينية العصا السحرية لهرولة الناخبين للتصويت له كما توقع، وهو وعد ببسط السيادة الإسرائيلية على غور الأردن والمنطقة الشمالية من البحر الميت، وضم "المستعمرات الاستيطانية كافة" في الضفة الغربية والمعاقل اليهودية في الخليل ومناطق أخرى. فقد واجه هذا الوعد بالمقابل إدانات دولية على نطاق واسع في حين أنه لم ينجح في تعزيز التصويت المؤيد للاستيطان ولا في كسب الأصوات التي يحتاج إليها نتنياهو للحصول على الأغلبية المطلوبة. ولم تؤثر أيضًا تحذيراته بأن إسرائيل بحاجة إلى رئيس قوي قادر على الوقوف في وجه خطة السلام التي صاغتها إدارة ترامب المعروفة بـ"صفقة القرن".

وفي المقابل، تشير نتائج الانتخابات وما تلاها من عملية تشكيل الحكومة إلى أن كلام نتنياهو المعادي للعرب قد أتى بنتائج عكسية. فقد دفعت تصريحاته المزيد من المواطنين العرب إلى صناديق التصويت بدلًا من تشجيع مناصريه على ذلك. ولم تحصل الأحزاب المتشددة التي تدعو إلى تأييد الاستيطان على الدعم الذي توقعته، ولم يكسب الحزب الذي أراد ترحيل الفلسطينيين على أصوات كافية لتأمين مقاعد في الكنيست.

ومع ذلك، استمر الخطاب المعادي للعرب بعد الانتخابات، ولا سيما من جانب نتنياهو. ونسمعه يخطب ردًّا على النتائج: "بما أننا أسسنا الآن الكتلة اليمينية، ليس لدينا سوى خيارين: إما حكومة بقيادتي أو حكومة خطرة معتمدة على الأحزاب العربية". وأضاف: "في هذا الوقت، أكثر من وقت مضى، وبخاصة بوجه التحديات الأمنية والسياسية القائمة، يجب عدم تشكيل حكومة تعتمد على أحزاب عربية معادية للصهيونية. ويجب علينا بذل أقصى الجهود لمنع تشكيل حكومة خطرة من هذا النوع". واستهدف خطاب نتنياهو أيضًا المواطنين العرب، مدونًا على منصة "فيسبوك": "يريد العرب إبادتنا جميعًا من نساء وأطفال ورجال". إنه لتصريح مؤسف ومخيب للآمال فعلًا.

ولا يتوقف نتنياهو عن وصف الأقلية الفلسطينية العربية في إسرئيل بأنها خطر على أمن الدولة وسلامتها، على الرغم من ان هذه الأقلية الاثنية تشكل جزءًا من النسيج الديمقراطي الإسرائيلي ويقتضي الاعتراف بها والتعامل معها على هذا النحو كدولة الديمقراطية. ويشير خطاب نتنياهو الى مزاعم لا أساس لها من الصحة حول التلاعب بالانتخابات في المجتمع العربي. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن المزاعم عن التلاعب في الانتخابات تنجم عادًة عن معارضين سياسيين فاشلين كطريقة لصرف النظر عن نتائجهم الرديئة لا عن أشخاص في سدة الحكم.

وتثبت هذه التصريحات والاتهامات أيضًا أن نتنياهو لم يتعلم من التداعيات السلبية لخطابه السابق في انتخابات عام 2015 من ان العري يهرولون للتصويت مما دفع العرب إلى التصويت بأعداد غير متوقعة. كما لم يتعلم من تجربة السياسيين الأمريكيين في السياسة الامريكية من امثال جورج والاس الذي عارض بشدة باعتباره الحاكم الديمقراطي لولاية ألاباما إلغاء الفصل العنصري ولكنه أجبر لاحقًا في حياته على الاعتذار من المجتمع الأفريقي الأمريكي عن موقفه العنصري. وفي حين أن المرء يبدي الاحترام للنظام القضائي كونه يحقق في قضايا مخالفة للقانون تتعلق برئيس الوزراء، الا أنه من الصعب فهم أولئك الناخبين الذين استمروا بتأييد سياسي يُحاكم بتهم فساد متعددة.

وعلى الرغم من (أو بسبب) هذا الخطاب العنصري، اختار الكثيرون من العرب المشاركة في الانتخابات بدلًا من مقاطعتها. وأصبح ائتلاف "اللائحة المشتركة" الحزب الثالث الأكبر في الكنيست بحصوله على ثلاثة عشر مقعدًا، وهو ائتلاف من أكبر أربع أحزاب سياسية تتألف بغالبيتها من العرب. ومن المتوقع أن يمكن هذا الوضع "اللائحة المشتركة" من تأدية دور بارز في إضافة مطلبين أساسيين إلى الأجندة الإسرائيلية: الأول، تجديد عملية السلام بين الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين، والثاني، تحسين الأحوال المعيشية للمجتمع العربي في إسرائيل.

أكدت الانتخابات الأخيرة أن المسار الذي يسلكه ائتلاف "اللائحة المشتركة" لتوحيد جبهته والمشاركة في الانتخابات هو القرار الصحيح وأن قرار الحركة الإسلامية لمقاطعة الانتخابات هو المسار الخطأ. وقد ارتفع عدد الناخبين بين الإسرائيليين العرب بنسبة كبيرة مقارنةً بالانتخابات السابقة، وأظهر الدور الذي أداه ائتلاف "اللائحة المشتركة" بعد ذلك انه رقم صعب في تشكيل الحكومة وأن التعاون لا المواجهة والمقاطعة هو الطريق إلى حصول المواطنين العرب في إسرائيل مستقبلًا على حقوقهم كمواطنين في النظام السياسي الإسرائيلي.

ولكن لا يزال الفلسطينيون يتطلعون إلى مستقبل انتخابات تدعو فيها الأحزاب الإسرائيلية إلى إنهاء الاحتلاء وحلّ الدولتين. قد يعترف المرء بأن المتشددين الفلسطينيين ساهموا في دفع السياسة الإسرائيلية إلى التطرف. ولكن يجب على المعتدلين الفلسطينيين إعادة دفة الحوار إلى الوسط بمواصلة الحوار مع المعتدلين الإسرائيليين لاستئناف مفاوضات السلام.

ولكن إلى أن تصبح هذه الحوارات جزءًا من الخطاب السياسي في الحملات الانتخابية، ستبقى الأقلية الداعية للسلام إلى حدّ ما مهمشة في العملية الديمقراطية. لم ترسخ نتائج الانتخابات الاسرائيلية الآراء السياسية لدى الفلسطينيين ولم تخفف من حدتها؛ فمنذ البداية، لم يتوقع الفلسطينيون أن تحدث النتائج الانتخابية أي تغييرات على مسيرة السلام. والى ذلك الحين، سيتعيّن على حل الدولتين انتظار انتخابات مستقبلية يبرز فيها زعيم إسرائيلي شجاع وملهم يسعى إلى تحقيق السلام العادل والشامل.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Israeli Elections Produce Mixed Feelings for Palestinians


Also available in العربية

September 27, 2019

The results of the Israeli elections have created mixed feelings, bringing a bit of despair along with a bit of hope as well. On the one hand, for Palestinians such as myself, there is a despair that there was little difference in terms of the peace process whether the right-wing coalition led by the Likud party wins, the centrist coalition led by the Blue and White party wins, or a unity government is formed by both of them. Neither alliance had peace negotiations on their political platform, both supported extending Israeli sovereignty over the Jordan Valley and the settlements in the West Bank, and both support united Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

Even so, the response to Israeli politicians’ more extreme rhetoric against Arab voters suggests some positive elements of the elections. Netanyahu’s last-minute land grab campaign pledge to extend Israeli sovereignty to the Jordan Valley and the northern Dead Sea area—annexing “all the settlements” in the West Bank, and Jewish enclaves in Hebron and the other regions—was not the political silver bullet he believed it to be. Instead, this pledge was met with widespread condemnations internationally while failing to bolster pro-settlement vote and earn him the votes he needed to obtain a majority. Nor did his warning that Israel needed a leader capable of standing up against the Trump administration’s “Deal of the Century” peace plan hold water.

On the contrary, the election results and subsequent unity government formation process suggests that Netanyahu’s most recent anti-Arab remarks backfired. Instead of motivating more of his supporters to vote, his statements pushed more Arab citizens to vote instead. Extremists parties campaigning on a pro-settlement platform did not earn the backing they expected, and the party that wanted to deport Palestinians didn’t receive enough votes to have seats in the Knesset.

Even so, anti-Arab rhetoric has continued after the elections, in particular from Netanyahu. In response to the results, he claimed: “Now that we have established the right-wing bloc, there are only two options: A government led by me, or a dangerous government that relies on the Arab parties.” He has further stated: “At this time, more than ever, especially in the face of the huge security and political challenges at stake, a government that relies on the anti-Zionist Arab parties must not be established. Every effort must be made to prevent such a dangerous government.” Netanyahu’s rhetoric has also targeted Arab citizens, writing on Facebook that “the Arabs want to annihilate us all—women, children, and men.” This attitude is sad and discouraging indeed.

Despite Netanyahu’s continuing references to Israel’s Arab Palestinian minority as dangerous to the security and welfare of the state, this minority group is part of the Israeli democratic fabric and must be recognized as such. Netanyahu’s rhetoric and unsubstantiated allegations of voter fraud in the Arab community suggest that this community easily becomes the target of the frustration of a slipping politician.  It is interesting to note that such claims of voter fraud in Arab communities are usually made by political opposition potentially as a way to explain away their poor results rather than those in power.

These statements and accusations also demonstrate that Netanyahu has failed to learn from the negative repercussions of his infamous speech in the 2015 elections that the Arabs are rushing to the polls in droves. Nor did he learn from the political experience of American politicians such as George Wallace, who as the Democratic Governor of Alabama strongly opposed desegregation but later in life felt compelled to apologize to the African-American community for his racist stance. Even so, while one should hold admiration for the judicial system prosecuting a prime minister, I find it challenging to understand the psyche of those voters who continued to support a politician facing prosecution for multiple corruption charges.

And despite (or because of) this racist rhetoric, many Arab voters chose to participate in the elections rather than boycott them. The accomplishment of the Joint List—a coalition of the four largest Arab-majority parties—of receiving thirteen seats made it the third-largest party in the Knesset. This status should empower it to play a prominent role in placing on the Israeli agenda two key Arab demands; first, to renew the peace process between Israel and the Palestinians; and second, to improve living conditions for the Arab community in Israel.

The most recent elections confirmed that the path taken by the Joint List to unify its front and take part in the elections was the right decision and that the Islamic Movement’s decision to boycott the elections was the wrong track. Voter turnout among Arab Israelis has risen significantly compared to previous elections, and the subsequent role that the Joint List has played in government formation has made it clear that cooperation and not confrontation is the way for the future participation of Arab citizens of Israel in the Israeli democracy.

However, Palestinians are still looking towards the future for an election in which Israeli parties call for an end of the occupation and a two-state solution. One may admit that the Palestinian extremists have contributed to moving Israeli politics to the right. But the role of Palestinian moderates should be to push the conversation back towards the center by continuing to engage in dialogue with moderate Israelis to restart the peace negotiations.

But until such conversations become part of the national campaign rhetoric during the elections, this minority will remain somewhat removed from the democratic process. The results of the elections have neither hardened nor softened the political views among Palestinians, as from the start, this minority did not expect that the results would make any changes to the peace process. Until then, the two-state solution will have to wait for future elections to bring a courageous, visionary, and peace-oriented Israeli leader.

Customize your RSS Feed