أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الشباب العربي يقاطع الانتخابات الإسرائيلية: "احتجاج مزدوج" على الحكومة والقادة العرب


متاح أيضاً في English

30 آب/أغسطس 2019

اختار حوالى نصف المواطنين العرب في إسرائيل عدم ممارسة الحق في التصويت في الانتخابات البرلمانية الأخيرة في إسرائيل في شهر نيسان/ أبريل وأثّر ذلك بشكل هائل في نتائج الانتخابات وعكس في الوقت عينه بعض الاتجاهات الأساسية الفعالة في المجتمع العربي في إسرائيل. وبالرغم من أن نسبة التصويت التي بلغت 49 في المئة قد تجاوزت النسبة المتوقعة نظرًا للمخاوف من مقاطعة المواطنين العرب في إسرائيل الانتخابات على نطاق واسع، إلا أنها أظهرت تراجعًا في المشاركة العربية في اللعبة الديمقراطية. ومع اقتراب الانتخابات المقبلة، يبقى السؤال حول استمرار هذه المقاطعة أحد أهم التساؤلات التي تحيط بالانتخابات التي ستجري في أيلول/ سبتمبر 2019. ويُعتبر إدراك المخاوف الاجتماعية والسياسية الكامنة خلف هذه المقاطعة أمرًا أساسيًا لقلب هذا الاتجاه السائد في السياسة الإسرائيلية.

شكّلت مقاطعة الانتخابات الأخيرة آخر تجليات عملية تستمر منذ أكثر من عشرين عامًا وتشهد ازديادًا في أعداد العرب الذين يدعون إلى المقاطعة، إلا أن انتخابات عام 2001 شذّت عن القاعدة عندما لم يصوّت العرب الإسرائيليون سوى بنسبة 18 في المئة فقط في أعقاب احتجاجات تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2000. ولكن في الانتخابات الأخيرة، مارس الجيل الشاب في المجتمع العربي نفوذًا نسبيًا كان في غاية الأهمية. وتعدّ هذه الشريحة من المجتمع كتلة ديموغرافية كبيرة وتضمّ أغلبية المقاطعين، وقد يُعزى ذلك جزئيًا إلى علاقتها مع كلّ من الحكومة الإسرائيلية والقادة السياسيين العرب في إسرائيل.

وفي الوقت الحالي، لا يرى معظم الشباب العربي الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و30 سنة جدوى من التصويت، ويعود ذلك في المقام الأول إلى اعتقادهم بأنهم غير قادرين على التأثير في النظام السياسي أو تشكيله. ولكن هذا لا يعني أن الشباب العربي غير مكترث بما يجري من حوله، بالرغم من هذه الصورة التي يرسمها البعض في الأوساط السياسية والإعلامية والأكاديمية. وبالمقابل، تعتمد مشاركة هذه الفئة مستقبلًا في السياسة والانتخابات على رضاها تجاه الحكومة والنظام السياسي، كما تعتمد على قدرة الأطراف السياسية على حل المشاكل الاجتماعية والاقتصادية التي تواجهها هذه الأجيال الصاعدة.

يثير نمط سلوك الشباب العربي في الانتخابات الأخيرة تساؤلات أساسية متعددة يجب أخذها في الاعتبار في الانتخابات المستقبلية، بما في ذلك مكامن القيمة في التمثيل السياسي وحس التأييد أو انعدامه في النظام السياسي وما يمكن تغييره في النظام السياسي الحالي لزيادة المشاركة.

تثبت الصورة الاجتماعية لأبناء هذا الجيل أنهم لا يشبهون الأجيال السابقة، فقد بلغ الكثيرون منهم سن الرشد في فترة الأحكام العرفية في إسرائيل وشكّلتهم الأحداث الجوهرية في الحملات العسكرية (1948، 1967، 1973، 1982) والتوترات الصادمة بين المواطنين العرب والدولة (مثل مذبحة كفر قاسم في عام 1956 ويوم الأرض الفلسطيني في عام 1976). وبالمقابل، يتأثر جيل الشباب بشدة بالمشاكل الاقتصادية والاجتماعية ويتمتع بوعي سياسي عميق. ويعبّر الكثيرون منهم عن مواقف واضحة ومترابطة بشأن مسائل أساسية تعني المجتمع العربي في إسرائيل. ويشعرون بشكل خاص بالقلق إزاء ارتفاع معدلات الجريمة وأزمة الإسكان والأراضي "وقانون الدولة القومية لليهود في إسرائيل" والقانون المعروف "بقانون كامينتس" لبناء المدن والقرى العربية.

يستمدّ الشباب العربي الإلهام من الاستخدام الكبير للمجال الافتراضي ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ويتمتّع، مثل أقرانه في كل مكان، باطّلاع واسع على الشؤون الدولية. ويعطي أهمية كبيرة لقيم يعتبرها آباؤه وأجداده أقل أهمية مثل تحقيق الذات والتطور المهني وبذل الجهود لإصلاح الأعراف الاجتماعية وهوية جماعية جديدة تركز على تجاربه عبر الأجيال.
وتشكل الآن الشابات العربيات بشكل خاص قوة بارزة جدًا في جميع نواحي الحياة. ويلتحق معظمهن بجامعات إسرائيلية وينخرطن في القوى العاملة بمعدل غير مسبوق. ونظرًا إلى هذه التطورات الاجتماعية، تنشأ فجوات كبيرة بين الشباب ومصادر السلطة كافة المحيطة بهم: مؤسسات الدولة والقيادة السياسية العربية وجيل الآباء.
بناءً عليه، يشعر الشباب العربي بتهميش مزدوج في حياتهم اليومية: من المؤسسة الحاكمة ومن القادة السياسيين العرب. ونتيجة لذلك، تعيش نسبة كبيرة من الشباب العرب حياة تهميش حقيقية ويحيط الغموض بمستقبلها على الرغم من زيادة الوعي السياسي والقيم المجتمعية الواضحة.

إنه وضع مزٍر في ما يتعلق بالمؤسسة الحاكمة الإسرائيلية والمجال العام. ويُظهر الكثير من الشباب العربي، وبخاصة أولئك الذين بلغوا مستويات عالية في التعليم، رغبة في الاندماج الكامل في المجتمع الإسرائيلي على مختلف الصعد، سواء في مكان العمل أو في المجالات الأكاديمية أو الثقافية. ولكنهم يواجهون عراقيل حقيقية، مثل "قانون الدولة القومية لليهود في إسرائيل" والثغرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية بينهم وبين أقرانهم من اليهود. وتولّد هذه العراقيل بدورها شعورًا بالتوتر والخوف واليأس: يواجه المواطنون العرب عقبات كبيرة تعيق مشاركتهم، لا سيّما عندما يظهرون رغبة غير مسبوقة في الاندماج في مختلف نواحي المجتمع.

وفي الوقت عينه، يشعر الشباب بأن الأحزاب السياسية في المجتمع العربي في إسرائيل تهمّشهم، ويشك الكثيرون بقدرتها على معالجة معظم المشاكل العويصة التي يواجهها السكان العرب. وقد أظهرت استطلاعات للرأي العام أجريت قبيل انتخابات نيسان/ أبريل أن معظم المواطنين العرب يتوقعون أن يواجه الأعضاء العرب في الكنيست ارتفاعًا مستمرًا في معدلات الجريمة وتدمير المنازل في المدن العربية. وشكلت خيبة الأمل الجماعية من الأولويات الفعلية للأعضاء العرب في الكنيست أحد أسباب مقاطعة الانتخابات، وبخاصة لدى جيل الشباب. ويتفاقم التهميش نظرًا إلى التمثيل المحدود للشباب في القيادة السياسية في معظم مراكز السلطة، على صعيد الحكومة المحلية والحكومة الوطنية على حد سواء، إذ تبلغ هذه النسبة 10 في المئة فقط. فمن بين ممثلي الأحزاب السياسية العربية الأعضاء في الكنيست والبالغ عددهم عشرة مثلًا، يبلغ عضو واحد فقط من العمر أقل من 40 سنة.

توفر تعليقات الشباب العربي على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي نافذة إلى مزيد من التهميش في الساسية بشكل عام ومن قبل ممثليهم في المجلس النيابي بشكل خاص. ويعكس الخطاب الإعلامي توقًا واسع النطاق للمشاركة في العمليات الديمقراطية كالانتخابات والمطالبة بمؤسسة أو كيان ما يستجيب لرغباتهم ومشكلاتهم (بخاصة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية منها)، ولا سيّما الرغبة في الشعور بالانتماء. ولكن نظرًا لتشكيكهم الكبير أيضًا بقدرتهم على تحسين وضعهم عبر صندوق الاقتراع وبما أن شعورهم بالانتماء متقلقل جدًا، يزخر الخطاب على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي إلى حدّ كبير بدعوات للتركيز على المصالح الشخصية وتجنب المشاركة في اللعبة السياسية الرسمية.

تعكس أنشطة الشباب العربي الذين يدرسون في المؤسسات التعليمية الإسرائيلية ومواقفهم صورة مصغرة عن النقاشات المحتدمة في المجتمع العربي بشأن الانتخابات، وبخاصة الدعوات المتزايدة لمقاطعة الانتخابات. وكشفت المحادثات التي أجريت مع طلاب الجامعات قبل الانتخابات الأخيرة عن تأييد شامل للمقاطعة وتوقع امتداد المقاطعة على نطاق واسع. وظهر ذلك جليًا أيضًا في مشاركة فئة الشباب، وبخاصة الطلاب، بنسب غير متكافئة في حملة المقاطعة قبل أشهر من الانتخابات، وشمل ذلك نشر الرسائل ومقاطع الفيديو على نطاق واسع عبر الإنترنت وكذلك عبر اللوحات الإعلانية في المدن العربية. وأظهرت مقاطع الفيديو والصور شبابًا يرتدون قمصانًا تحمل شعار مقاطعة الانتخابات ويعلّقون ملصقات ولوحات إعلانية تحمل الرسالة عينها.

أثمرت هذه الجهود في خلال يوم الانتخابات. اتسمت الاجتماعات السياسية التي أقيمت قبل الانتخابات في المجتمعات العربية بغياب المشاركين الشباب من بين الجمهور، على خلاف السنوات السابقة التي شهدت حضورًا كبيرًا لهم. وفي مدينة باقه الغربية، على سبيل المثال، لم يحضر الشباب مؤتمر "القائمة العربية الموحدة – التجمّع الوطني الديمقراطي" (تحالف بين الحزب الإسلامي والحزب القومي العربي) التي أُجري قبل بضعة أيام من الانتخابات؛ في الماضي، كان هذا النوع من الأحداث يستقطب حشودًا كبيرة من الناخبين الشباب. كان غيابهم ملحوظًا جدًا في يوم الانتخابات. وكما جرى في أيام الانتخابات البرلمانية السابقة، استخدم نشطاء الحزب العربي وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وسيارات مجهزة بمكبرات صوت لحث أفراد المجتمع المحلي على الذهاب للانتخاب، وذلك على مدى ساعتين أو ثلاث ساعات قبل إغلاق مراكز الاقتراع. ولكن بدا أن هذه الجهود المبذولة في اللحظة الأخيرة لم تحضر سوى الناخبين الكبار في السن، في حين لازم الناخبون الشباب جميعًا منازلهم.

ولكن، وعلى الرغم من هذه الصورة القاتمة، لم "يضِع" جيل الشباب في المجتمع العربي. يتمتع شباب اليوم بالكثير من الصفات الشخصية الحسنة ويرغبون في الاندماج في عملية سياسية تمثلهم والمشاركة فيها. ولكنهم يكافحون لإيجاد الطرق المناسبة للمشاركة وإحداث فرق، ما يفاقم شعورهم بالتهميش ويدفعهم إلى الاحتجاج على مصادر السلطة من حولهم.
وحرصًا على عدم هدر قدرات هؤلاء الشباب وعلى إمكانية إقناعهم بالاعتراف بالعملية الانتخابية والتصويت باعتبراها طريقة فعالة لإحداث تغيير، يجب على الحكومة تحمل المسؤولية واتخاذ خطوات مهمة تتمحور حول الشباب، قبل بلوغهم سن الاقتراع وبعده. وإلى جانب الحكومة، يتعيّن على الأحزاب السياسية الإسرائلية العمل على دمج الشباب العربي من الإناث والذكور في عمليات صنع القرار نظرًا لتأثير هذا الجيل في المجتمع العربي. وما إن تظهر سبل التمثيل إلى العلن، من الضروري إلهام الشباب العربي لمعرفة أهمية دوره في حماية الديمقراطية وسيادة القانون. 

يجب على القادة أيضًا معالجة انعدام ثقة الشباب العربي بالنظام السياسي الحالي - بالحكومة بشكل عام وبالأحزاب السياسية – لا سيّما الشعور بأن القادة السياسيين لا يتذكرونهم سوى قبل الانتخابات. يبحث هؤلاء الناخبون المحتملون عن حزب يهتم بحاجاتهم وتحدياتهم الفريدة ويلهمهم في النهاية للمشاركة في العملية السياسية. وفي الانتخابات الأخيرة، اتضح أن الأحزاب السياسية، ومن ضمنها الأحزاب العربية والقادة السياسيون، فقدوا الاتصال مع هذه الشريحة السكانية الأساسية. وسيستمر الشباب بالتالي بعدم المشاركة لشعورهم بأنهم ليسوا سوى أصول انتخابية مؤقتة طالما أن الأحزاب السياسية تواصل تجاهل المشاكل الأساسية المرتبطة بهذه الفئة.

ولكن من الضروري أيضًا القيام بتغييرات مجتمعية جذرية. فعلى سبيل المثال، يركز المنهاج التعليمي في النظام المدرسي العربي في إسرائيل بشكل عام على المعرفة القائمة بين الشباب وفهمهم للسياسة ليس إلا. ويجب على المنهاج التعليمي أيضًا تعزيز الثقة الجماعية بالنظام السياسي وقدرته على التأثير في التغيير عبر المشاركة. وقد تقتضي الضرورة إذًا النظر في برامج التربية المدنية المعتمدة في المدارس وتقييم مدى تشجيعها على النشاط الديمقراطي لدى أجيال المستقبل.

وخارج النظم المدرسية، يجب على المؤسسات السياسية زيادة برامج التدخل في صفوف الشباب الذين لا يحصلون على فرصة المشاركة في أنشطة ومنصات تبادل المعرفة لتشجيعهم على المشاركة في المؤسسات الديمقراطية. وفي عام 2018، أطلقت وزارة الداخلية ووزارة التعليم حملة مشتركة تحث الشباب على التصويت في الانتخابات الحكومية المحلية، ما شدّد للطلاب على أهمية التصويت. ولا بدّ أيضًا من بذل هذه الجهود التعليمية قبل الانتخابات النيابية.

وفي عشية الانتخابات المقررة في شهر أيلول/ سبتمبر، يجب على القيادة الإسرائيلية أن تستفيق على واقع المجتمع العربي بشكل عام ووضع الشباب بشكل خاص. لا تزال النية الواضحة بالاندماج في المؤسسات السياسية والمجتمع قائمة، ولكن يزداد معها خطر تنامي الشعور المفهوم بالإحباط، ويؤدي ذلك إلى المزيد من التهميش والاحتكاك بين الحكومة والمواطنين العرب في البلاد. لا تزال الجهات الفاعلة الأساسية كافة في الحلبة السياسية الإسرائيلية تتمتع بالجرأة للاستجابة لدعوة الشباب العربي. وفي السنوات التالية، يجب على الأحزاب العربية تعيين أفراد من جيل الشباب في مناصب ملائمة. وفي هذه الأثناء، يجب على الأحزاب اليهودية إيجاد طريقة لفتح صفوفها بهدف منح ممثلي المجتمع العربي، وبخاصة فئة الشباب، مناصب واقعية والبدء بخطاب المساواة مع هذه الفئة من المجتمع الإسرائيلي.

لا يرغب الشباب العربي في إسرائيل من جهته في البقاء كأداة سياسية من دون تمثيل حقيقي، سواء بسبب أفعال الحكومة أو بسبب سياسات القادة العرب. ومن دون إقرار شامل بمشاكل الشباب العرب والاستجابة لها، سيضطر إلى البحث عن بدائل لتمثيله على الصعيد السياسي الرسمي والمشاركة في حركة سياسية خارج إطار الحكومة الرسمية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Young Arabs’ Boycott of the Israeli Elections: A"Double Protest"—against the Government and the Arab Leadership


Also available in العربية

August 30, 2019

The choice of about half of Israel’s Arab citizens not to exercise the right to vote in Israel’s last parliamentary election in April dramatically affected election results, while also reflecting some powerful basic trends in Israel’s Arab society. While the voting rate—49 percent—was higher than expected due to concerns over an extensive election boycott by Israel’s Arab citizens, it was nonetheless a low point in Arab participation in the democratic game. With the upcoming election, the question of whether this boycott will be sustained is one of the major questions surrounding the voting in September 2019. Understanding the social and political frustrations behind this boycott is key to reversing an ongoing trend in Israeli politics.  

The boycott of the last election was but the latest manifestation of an ongoing process of more than two decades that has seen more and more Arabs call for a boycott—though the 2001 elections were an outlier, when in the wake of the October 2000 protests only 18 percent of Israeli Arabs voted. However, in the most recent elections, the relative weight of the younger generation of Arab society was especially important. This demographic is both a considerable demographic bloc and made up the majority of boycotters, which can be explained in part by its relationship both with the Israeli government and Arab political leadership in Israel.

At present, most young Arabs between 18 and 30 see little point in voting, in large part because they do not believe that they have the ability affect or shape the political system. But that is not to say that young Arabs are indifferent to what is going on around them, despite this portrayal by some in politics, the media, and in academia. Instead, segment’s future participation in politics and elections depends on its satisfaction with the government and the political system, as well as on political parties’ ability to resolve the socioeconomic challenges faced by this younger generation.

The pattern of behavior of young Arabs in the last election raises several key questions that must be considered in future elections, including what is valued in political representation, a sense of buy-in or lack thereof In the political system, and what could change in the current political system to increase participation.

A social profile of this generation demonstrates that they do not resemble earlier generations, many of whom came of age during the period of martial law in Israel and were shaped by the formative events of the military campaigns (1948, 1967, 1973, 1982) and the traumatic tensions between the Arab citizens and the state, such as the Kafr Qassem massacre in 1956 and Land Day in 1976. In comparison, the younger generation is highly sensitive to economic and social issues and possesses a profound political awareness. Many possess clear, coherent stances on the core issues of interest to Arab society in Israel. In particular, they are concerned about the rise in criminality, the housing and land crisis, the “Basic Law: Israel as the Nation-State of the Jewish People,” and the so-called Kamenetz Law regarding construction in Arab towns and villages.

Inspired by the expanded use of the virtual sphere and social media, young Arabs—like their peers elsewhere—are well informed of international affairs. They attribute a great deal of importance to values less important to their parents and grandparents, such as self-realization, career development, efforts to reform social conventions, and a new collective identity focused on their generational experiences.

In particular, young Arab women are now an especially prominent force in all aspects of life. They are a majority of undergraduate students at Israeli universities and are integrating into the labor force at an unprecedented rate. Given these social developments, significant gaps between the young and all the sources of authority surrounding them are emerging: state institutions, the Arab political leadership, and their parents’ generation.

In consequence, young Arabs feel doubly alienated in their daily lives: both from the governing establishment and from the Arab political leadership. Consequently, despite an increased political awareness and clear societal values, a significant portion of young Arabs live a life of fundamental alienation and have little clarity regarding their future.

The situation is particularly dire in relation to the Israeli governing establishment and the public sphere. Many young Arabs, especially those with high levels of education, display a desire to integrate more fully into the various levels of Israeli society, be it the workplace, academia, or the cultural sphere. However, they encounter serious obstacles such as the “Basic Law: Israel as the Nation-State of the Jewish People” and socioeconomic gaps between themselves and their Jewish peers. These obstacles in turn create feelings of tension, frustration, and despair: precisely when they are showing an unprecedented desire to integrate into various aspects of society, Arab citizens are facing major barriers to participation.

At the same time, young Arabs also feel alienated from the political parties of Arab society in Israel, and many doubt its ability to address the most acute problems of the Arab population. Public opinion surveys done just before the April election showed that most Arab citizens expect Arab members of Knesset to confront a steady rise in crime and house demolitions in Arab towns. The collective disappointment with the Arab MKs’ actual priorities was one major reason for the election boycott, especially by the younger generation. Alienation is exacerbated given a limited representation of youth among political leadership in most positions of influence, both at the local and national government level, at around only 10 percent. Of the ten MKs from the Arab political parties, for example, only one is under 40.

Posts by young Arabs on social media provide a window into an increasing alienation with politics in general and their parliamentary representatives in particular. The media discourse reflects widespread longing for participation in democratic processes such as elections, a demand for some institution or entity that will respond to their wishes and troubles (especially socioeconomic), and especially a desire for a sense of belonging. But because they are also deeply skeptical about their ability to improve their situation via the ballot box and since their sense of belonging is so disrupted, social media discourse is particularly rife with calls to focus on personal interests and avoid taking part in the official political game.

The activities and attitudes of young Arabs studying at Israeli academic institutions reflect a microcosm of the heated debates in Arab society about the election, especially the increasing calls for an election boycott. Conversations held with college and university students before the last election revealed extensive support for the boycott and an expectation that the boycott would be widespread. This was also evident in the young people’s—especially students’—disproportionately large presence in the boycott campaign in the months leading up to the election, which included both widespread dissemination of messages and videos online as well as billboards in Arab towns. The videos and photos showed young people wearing T-shirts with the election boycott slogan hanging posters and billboards with the same message.

These efforts bore fruit during election day. Political meetings held before the election in Arab communities were marked by the absence of young participants in the audience, a departure from previous years when they were a visible presence. In the town of Baka al-Gharbiyya, for example, there were no young people at the Ra’am-Balad’s (a coalition between Islamic party and Arab nationalist party) convention held just a few days before the election; in the past, this type of event would have drawn masses of young voters. Their absence was especially notable on election day itself. As done on previous parliamentary election days, Arab party activists urged the community to go vote through social media and vehicles equipped with loudspeakers two to three hours before the polling stations closed. However, these last minute efforts appeared to only bring older voters—younger voters by and large stayed home.

However, despite the bleak picture, the young generation in Arab society is not “lost.” The young people of today have many fine personal qualities and possess a desire to integrate and participate in a political process where they feel represented. But they are struggling to find appropriate ways to participate and make a difference, which exacerbates their feelings of alienation and pushes them to protest the sources of authority around them.

To make sure that the potential of these young people is not wasted and that they can be convinced to recognize the election process and voting as effective means of making a change, the government must assume responsibility and undertake meaningful steps focused on youth, both before and after they reach voting age. Israel’s political parties, as well as the government, must work to include young Arab men and women in their decision-making processes to the impact of this generation in Arab society. And once avenues for representation are publicly visible, is important to inspire young Arabs to understand the importance of their role in safeguarding democracy and the rule of law.

Leaders must also address young Arabs’ lack of trust in the current political system—both the government overall and the Arab political parties—and in particular the feeling that the political leadership only calls on them before elections. These potential voters are looking for a party that will address their unique needs and challenges and, ultimately, inspire them to identify with the political process. In the last election, it was clear that the political parties, including the Arab parties and political leaders, had lost touch with this key demographic. So long as political parties continue to ignore the major issues relevant to this group, youth will continue to disengage due to the sense that they are no more than a temporary electoral asset.

However, deeper societal changes are also in order. The educational curricula in the Arab school system in Israel, for example, generally focuses only on existing knowledge among the young and their understanding of politics. Educational curricula must also strengthen collective trust in the political system and its potential to affect change through participation. It may therefore be necessary to examine existing civics programs in schools and assess the extent to which they encourage the democratic activity of future generations.

Outside of the school systems, political institutions should expand intervention programs among young people who lack access to knowledge sharing activities and platforms to encourage their participation in democratic institutions. In 2018, the Ministry of the Interior and the Ministry of Education launched a joint campaign urging young people to vote in the local government elections, which emphasized to students the importance of voting. Such educational efforts would be appropriate before parliamentary elections as well.

On the eve of the election called for September, Israel’s leadership must wake up to the reality of Arab society in general and the situation of the young in particular. The will to integrate into the political institutions and society writ large still exists, but so does the risk that this understandable frustration will worsen, leading to further alienation and increasing friction between the government and the country’s Arab citizens. All the major players in Israel’s political arena still have the muscle to respond to the call of young Arabs. In the following years, the Arab parties must place members of the young generation in appropriate positions. Meanwhile, Jewish parties must find a way to open their ranks to provide representatives of Arab society–especially its youth–realistic places and begin a discourse of equals with this segment of Israeli society.

For their part, Young Arabs in Israel are unwilling to continue as a political tool without real representation, whether because of government action or because of the Arab leadership’s own policies. Without a comprehensive acknowledgement of and response to young Arabs’ problems, they will be forced to search for alternatives to representation at the official political level and engage in political activism outside of the official government.

Customize your RSS Feed