أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

ردود الفعل العراقية على اغتيال سليماني


متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

3 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020

بعد ثبوت خبر مقتل قاسم سليماني، انتشرت على تويتر مقاطع فيديو لمتظاهرين عراقيين يتوجهون بالهتافات إلى ساحة التحرير في بغداد للاحتفال بموت الرجل الذي كان منخرطًا حتى الآونة الأخيرة انخراطًا عميقًا في السياسة العراقية. ولكن بغض النظر عما تكشفه التظاهرات الشعبية، يبقى الواقع شبه المؤكد أن الشعب العراقي منقسم انقسامًا حادًا حول هذه الحادثة المثيرة للمشاعر.

لا شك في أن بعض العراقيين، ولا سيما المنتمين إلى ميليشيات "الحشد الشعبي" الشيعية، كانوا موالين فعلاً لسليماني ويشعرون اليوم بالغضب والتوق إلى الانتقام. وثمة آخرون – حتى وإن لم يكونوا من الأحزاب الموالية لإيران - مستاؤون، وعن وجه حق، من تصعيد الولايات المتحدة للخلاف القائم بينها وبين إيران على الأراضي العراقية، خصوصًا بهذه الطريقة السافرة والخطيرة في استفزازها. لهذه الأسباب، أحسنت وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية في حثها المواطنين الأمريكيين على مغادرة العراق مباشرةً في أعقاب الأحداث الأخيرة.

ولكن في الوقت نفسه، ازداد استياء عراقيين كثر من التدخل الإيراني في البلاد – ولذا من المحتمل ألا يكونوا غاضبين من اغتيال سليماني. ويكمن الدليل على هذا القول بالدرجة الكبرى في الاحتجاجات الشعبية المتنامية ضد إيران والتي شهدت العام المنصرم على الإحراق المتكرر للقنصلية الإيرانية في معقلَي النجف والبصرة الشيعيين.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، أثبتت استطلاعات الرأي المتكررة والموثوقة التي أجراها المستطلع المستقل الرائد في العراق منقذ داغر، وبشكل قاطع، أن غالبية الشعب العراقي – بما فيه غالبية شريحته الشيعية – انقلبت بشكل حاد ضد إيران خلال العامين أو الأعوام الثلاثة الماضية. تشديدًا على هذه النقطة، يجب على واشنطن أن تذكّر العراقيين وغيرهم أن وجود قاسم سليماني نفسه داخل العراق يشكل انتهاكًا للقانون الدولي وتحديدًا القرارات السابقة الصادرة عن مجلس الأمن التي تفرض حظر سفر دولي عليه بسبب أنشطته الخبيثة وغير الشرعية.

ولكن إذا كان الكثير من العراقيين قد لا يعتبرون مقتل سليماني مأساةً، فهذا لا يعطي المسؤولين الأمريكيين سببًا لمواصلة التبجّح بوفاة سليماني أو الإشارة إلى العراقيين الذين يرقصون في الشوارع احتفالاً بمقتله. بل على العكس، ثمة طريقة أفضل بكثير لإثبات التزام الولايات المتحدة باستقلالية العراق، وهي التأكيد على "الالتزام الأمريكي بفك التصعيد" في العراق، كما فعل وزير الخارجية بومبيو لتوّه. فهذا هو بالتأكيد ما يريده معظم العراقيين من كافة الأطياف السياسية.

وبالفعل هذه رغبة عبّر عنها الرئيس العراقي برهم صالح في بيانه الأول الحذر الذي أصدره ردًّا على مقتل سليماني – وحتى في البيان الصادر عن الشخصية السياسية النافذة في العراق مقتضى الصدر. فمن مصلحة كل المعنيين التوجه نحو مسار فك التصعيد بالرغم من صعوبته. ولا بد للولايات المتحدة أن تقوم بخطوة صعبة إنما ضرورية وهي تفادي أي أعمال عنف إضافية في العراق – حتى إذا أقدمت إيران أو وكلاؤها المحليين على أعمال انتقامية ضد أهداف أمريكية هناك. ففك التصعيد من الجانب الأمريكي يساهم في تمكين العراقيين والأمريكيين والإيرانيين من التعايش معًا على الأراضي العراقية مهما كان ذلك صعبًا.

ولكن، إذا مارس بعض العراقيين اليوم ضغوطًا أكبر داخل البرلمان وفي الشارع لطرد الأمريكيين من بلادهم، ستجد الولايات المتحدة نفسها أمام معضلة جديدة. وهذه إمكانية واقعية، لا سيما وأن الضربة الأمريكية الأخيرة على مواقع تابعة لـ"كتائب حزب الله" التي جاءت ردًّا على قتلها مقاولاً أمريكيًا كانت قد استحثت مطالبات بخروج القوات الأمريكية في وقت سابق من هذا الأسبوع. وكان كبار المسؤولين العراقيين قد طمأنوا سابقًا نظراءهم الأمريكيين إلى أنهم سيعارضون أي تصويت برلماني على هذه المسألة، ولكن ثمة احتمال بأن تكون هذه الحسابات السياسية الداخلية قد تغيرت الآن. وفي حال ازدادت الضغوط المناهضة لبقاء القوات الأمريكية في العراق، سيكون أمام أمريكا خيار احتياطي يستحق الأخذ به بجدية أكبر في المرحلة التالية.

وهذا الخيار الاحتياطي هو مواصلة توسيع الوجود الأمريكي بهدوء في "إقليم كردستان" المستقل شمال العراق، حتى إذا كانت الولايات المتحدة تعمل في الوقت نفسه على سحب بعضٍ من قواتها أو كل قواتها من الجنوب. ذلك أن "حكومة إقليم كردستان" تتمتع بدرجة أكبر من الوحدة، سواء في صداقتها مع الولايات المتحدة أو احتراسها من إيران، ولذا قد توافق على هذه الترتيبات غير التقليدية إنما المفيدة للطرفين. أضف إلى ذلك أن "حكومة إقليم كردستان" تملك السلطة القانونية والدستورية اللازمة لإقامة "علاقات تمثيلية وروابط مع الدول الخارجية" وهي لا تزال تحت السيادة العراقية. ومع أن هذه النتيجة ليست مثالية، ولكنها كفيلة بالحفاظ على الوجود الأمني المهم في العراق وفي المنطقة ككل وقد تسهم في تخفيف حدة التوتر مع كل من بغداد وطهران في أعقاب أزمة سليماني الراهنة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Iraqi Reactions to Soleimani’s Assassination


Also available in العربية فارسی

January 3, 2020

After reports of Qassem Soleimani’s death were confirmed, Twitter videos emerged depicting cheering Iraqi protesters heading to Baghdad’s Tahrir Square to celebrate the death of a man who had until recently been deeply involved in Iraqi politics. However, whatever the public demonstrations suggest, the reality is that the Iraqi public is almost certainly deeply divided over this sensational incident.

Surely there are some Iraqis, particularly among the Shia Popular Mobilization Forces militias, who were truly loyal to Soleimani and are now angry and eager for revenge. And there are others who, even if not pro-Iran partisans, understandably resent this American escalation of its own feud with Iran on Iraqi soil, especially in so blatant and dangerously provocative a fashion. For these reasons, it was prudent for the U.S. State Department to urge American citizens to depart Iraq immediately in the aftermath of the latest events.

At the same time, however, many Iraqis have lately become increasingly bitter at Iran’s interference in their country—and so they may not be furious about Soleimani’s assassination. The evidence for this assertion lies, first of all, in the growing mass protests against Iran, which have featured the repeated torching of Iranian consulates in the Shia strongholds of Najaf and Basra over the past year.

Moreover, repeated, credible public opinion surveys by Iraq’s leading independent pollster, Munqith Dagher, have demonstrated unequivocally that the majority of Iraq’s public—including the majority of its Shia population—have turned sharply against Iran during the past two or three years. To reinforce that point, Washington should remind Iraqis and others that Soleimani’s very presence inside Iraq violated international law, in the form of previous formal UN Security Council resolutions imposing a foreign travel ban on him for his illegal and malign activity.

Yet the fact that many Iraqis may not see the death of Soleimani as a tragedy is no reason for American officials to continue gloating over his demise, or to point to Iraqis dancing in the streets to celebrate his end. On the contrary, a far better course to demonstrate American commitment to an independent Iraq is to emphasize, as Secretary of State Mike Pompeo just did, the American “commitment to de-escalation” in Iraq. That is surely what most Iraqis of whatever political stripe desire.

Indeed, President Barham Salih’s initial cautious statement in response to Soleimani’s killing—and even the statement issued by key Iraqi political figure Muqtada al-Sadr—echoed that desire. It would serve the interests of all involved to move in the direction of de-escalation, difficult though that will be. A tough but necessary first step would be for the United States to avoid further violent actions inside Iraq—even if Iran or its local agents take some retaliatory actions against American targets there. De-escalation on the American side would help enable Iraqis, Americans, and Iranians to keep coexisting, however uneasily, on Iraqi territory.

If, however, some Iraqis now put greater pressure within parliament and in the streets to expel Americans from their country, the United States will be faced with a new dilemma. This is a realistic possibility, especially since the United States’ recent strike on Kataib Hezbollah positions in response to their killing of a U.S. contractor already spurred calls for the removal of U.S. forces. Previously, senior Iraqi officials had assured their American counterparts that they would block a parliamentary vote on this question, but this internal political calculus may now have changed. In case pressures against maintaining an American presence in Iraq do increase, there is also a fallback American option to consider more seriously going forward.

This fallback position would be to keep expanding, quietly, the U.S. military footprint inside the northern Iraqi autonomous Kurdistan Region, even while withdrawing some or all troops further south. The Kurdistan Regional Government is much more united both in its friendship toward the United States and wariness toward Iran, so it might well acquiesce to this unorthodox yet mutually beneficial arrangement. It also has the legal and constitutional authority, while still under Iraqi sovereignty, to “conduct its own representation and relations with foreign nations.” Such an outcome, though not ideal, would maintain an important security presence in Iraq and the region as a whole, even as it might help defuse the tensions with both Baghdad and Tehran in the wake of the current Soleimani crisis.

Customize your RSS Feed