أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

ماذا يعني أن تكون شيعيًا في لبنان اليوم؟


Hizballah leader Hassan Nasrallah and bodyguards

متاح أيضاً في English فارسی

12 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019

يحصل تحولان رئيسيان ضمن النظرة الجماعية للمجتمع في أوساط الشيعة في لبنان. أولاً، تتحول الهوية الشيعية اللبنانية من هوية طائفية إلى هوية وطنية، بسبب التكاليف التي تحملّها المجتمع الشيعي خلال العقد الماضي. وثانيًا، ثمّة تحوّل متزايد عن سرد المقاومة، الذي يُنظَر إليه أكثر فأكثر باعتباره سردًا للحرب والتلقين الإسلامي.

لا تزال أفكار المقاومة والعداء تجاه إسرائيل متجذّرة في الهوية الشيعية اللبنانية. ومع ذلك، فإن مشاعر الاستياء المتنامية حيال الحرب وجهود "حزب الله" لمواصلة عسكرة الطائفة الشيعية أثبتت أنها أقوى. واليوم، أصبحت حقيقة الهوية ذات الطابع العسكري والمتعطشة إلى الحرب موضعًا للتحدي بسبب رغبة أفراد المجتمع في تحسين مستويات المعيشة، والاستقرار المالي، والأمن. ومن هذا المنطلق، فإن الهوية الوطنية - والرغبة الشديدة في الانتماء إلى الشعب اللبناني ككل - أصبحت أكثر أهمية من الهويات الطائفية التي لطالما اعتُبرت مهيمنة على السياسة اللبنانية.

لقد حدثت هذه التحولات على امتداد سنوات عدة، ولكنها غالبا ما تكون معقدة جدًا وتدريجية وبطيئة. فهي تبرز وتضمحل حسب الظروف السياسية والاقتصادية. وعلى الرغم من أن مسار التغيير ثابت، إلاّ أنه ليس من السهل على الشيعة ككل أن يعبّروا عن آرائهم خلال عملية لم تكتمل أو تتحقق بعد.

إجراء استطلاع في المجتمع الشيعي

اليوم، أكثر من أي وقت مضى في تاريخ لبنان الحديث، بات من الواضح أنّه لا وجود لمجتمع شيعي متماسك وموحّد. في الواقع، إن العناصر المكوّنة للمجتمع تمر بموجات متعاقبة من التحولات في الهوية والصراعات الداخلية التي تمنح المجتمع طبقات متعددة من الهوية، وكثيرًا ما تتداخل ضمن الفرد الواحد، ما يجعل من تصنيف هذا المجتمع مسألة معقدة.

والأمر الواضح هنا هو أن المشهد الذي يعبّر فيه الأفراد الشيعة عن استيائهم واختلافهم مع "حزب الله"، إما بالانضمام إلى الاحتجاجات في لبنان، أو عن طريق نشر تسجيلات ضد "حزب الله" عبر تطبيق الواتساب، أو حتى من خلال سرقة لحظات سريعة على شاشات التلفزيون للمساءلة، هو مشهد أصبح مألوفًا. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن هذه الأحداث تبيّن واقعًا مخفيًا و أكثر عمقًا تمكّن من التسلل من خلال تصدّعات طبقات الهوية نفسها التي تم حجبها في الماضي.

فضلاً عن ذلك، فإن لحظات الاحتجاج الناشئة هذه تُعقّد الواجهة الداعمة لحزب الله حتى الآن التي يظهرها الشيعة للخارج. وفي استطلاع حديث نشره منتدى فكرة، يظهر أنه في أوساط السكان الشيعة في لبنان اليوم، تقول نسبة 75 في المائة من المستجيبين إن موقفها لا يزال "إيجابيًا للغاية" تجاه "حزب الله" – أي إنها في تراجع بسيط عن نسبة 83 في المائة المسجلة أواخر العام 2017 و77 في المائة أواخر 2018.

وعلى الرغم من أن الأرقام لا تكذب، إلا أنها تستطيع أن تحجب الحقائق المتغيّرة على الأرض التي يصعب تحديدها في بيانات الاقتراع. فتتطلب فهم طبقات الهوية الشيعية أكثر من مجرد توجيه أسئلة مباشرة من قِبَل أطراف خارجية حول رأي المستجيبين في "حزب الله" وإيران. فإن تحديد المواقف الحقيقية للشيعة ينطوي على فهم هذه الطبقات والنظر في قضايا أبعد من "حزب الله" وإيران، مثل الحرب والسلام في لبنان، وحلفاء "حزب الله" في الداخل، وأهمية المحور الشيعي في النجف في العراق - حيث يمثل آية الله السيستاني تحديًا ملحوظاً لنموذج إيران للمجتمع الشيعي المتمثّل بولاية الفقيه.

كما يتطلب كشف ما تمثّله هذه المؤسسات بالنسبة إلى شيعة لبنان. فـ"حزب الله" قد يعني مقاومةً للبعض، وحمايةً للبعض الآخر. وقد تعني إيران الشعور بالقوة للبعض، في حين أنها قد تعني دعمًا ماليًا للآخرين. ولا يزال عدد كبير من الشيعة ينظرون إلى "حزب الله" باعتباره شخصية أبوية ويشعرون بالتزام أو واجب في حماية الجماعة من اللامنتمين إلى المجتمع. ولكن هذا لا يعني أن "حزب الله" هو الشخصية الأبوية التي يتطلع اليها الشيعة داخليًا.

وفي ضوء هذه العوامل، فإن محاولة تصنيف هذه الجماعة غالبًا ما تمنعنا من القراءة ما بين السطور. والأهم من ذلك أن هذا التصنيف قد يخدم "حزب الله" ـ وغيره من الزعماء الطائفيين - الذين يفضلون إخفاء الفوارق الدقيقة وطبقات الهوية والحقيقة التي تكمن في ما بينها لصالح كيان موحّد - فالسرد الرئيسي لـ"حزب الله" هو أنه يمثل أغلبية الشيعة في لبنان، على الرغم من أنه يدرك جيدًا أن هذا الادعاء غير دقيق. وإلاّ، فإنه ما كان ليقمع المدن الشيعية خلال الاحتجاجات التي امتدت طيلة الشهرين الماضيين بمثل هذا العنف.

طبقات الشخص الشيعي

من حركة "أمل" التي أسسها موسى الصدر إلى سيطرة "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" على جنوب لبنان حتى عام 1982، ومرورًا بالحرب الأهلية والحركات اليسارية التي اعتمدت على الشيعة في حروبها، ووصولاً مؤخرًا إلى الهيمنة الإيرانية على والهوية الشيعية، أصبح لدى الكثير من الشيعة هويات وطبقات متعددة ردًا على هذه القوى المختلفة. فقد يكون الشيعي مؤيدًا لفلسطين ومناهضًا لها، ومواليًا للمقاومة ومعاديًا لها، ومواليًا لفكرة لبنان ككيان مستقل ومناهضًا لها، وكل ذلك في آنٍ واحد. وعلى الرغم من أنّ هذه الاختلافات المخفية آخذة في الظهور الآن، إلاّ أنها قائمة منذ فترة طويلة.

وينطبق ذلك أيضًا على أفراد المجتمع المؤيدين لـ"حزب الله". فقد وصف كل مناصر أو مقاتل من "حزب الله" تحدثتُ معه التنقل عبر هذه الهويات. فهم سئموا من الحروب والإيديولوجيات، ولكنهم راسخون في هوية تمجّد انتصارات الماضي. وهم أيضًا في صراع بين أمرين، فكرة تحرير يسارية قديمة - تستند إلى حركة المقاومة الوطنية التي سبقت "حزب الله" - ومقاومة إيديولوجية فرضها "حزب الله" من خلال الاستحواذ الثقافي الدقيق والخدمات التي يقدمها إلى مجتمع عانى من الفساد لعقود من الزمان.

قد تحظى فلسطين بتأييد الشيعة - كقضية - ولكنهم قد ينظرون أيضًا إلى اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في لبنان كعبء أو كمجتمع أقل شأنًا من حيث الحقوق والحريات. فقد يرغب الشيعة في عودة "حزب الله" إلى مهمته الأصلية ألا وهي المقاومة، وقد ينتقدون "حزب الله" لتخليه عنها، إلا أنهم في الوقت نفسه قد يخشون المقاومة، لأن المقاومة تعني حربًا أخرى. وقد يرغب الشيعة أيضًا في مكافحة الظلم مع الإقرار بأن حلفاء "حزب الله" هم أكثر الشخصيات السياسية فسادًا في لبنان.

يشعر الكثير من الشيعة بالإحباط إزاء حروب "حزب الله" في المنطقة وعزله للمجتمع، فضلاً عن فساده وإخفاقاته المتزايدة. إلا أنهم يخشون أيضًا أن يفقدوا شخصية الأب التي يمثلها "حزب الله" وأن يتعرضوا للتمييز الطائفي والمزيد من العزلة. فلا يؤمن الشيعة كلهم بإيديولوجية ولاية الفقيه. وفي الواقع، أصبح كثيرون - معظمهم ينحدر من الأحزاب اليسارية والتقدمية - من أنصار "حزب الله" فقط بسبب تبني "حزب الله" لسردية المقاومة وليس نتيجة أي شكل من أشكال النداءات القائمة على الدين و الايديولوجيا.

المخاوف والمعضلات

تعتبر المحظورات التي تحول دون التعبير العلني عن هذه الشكوك قوية، ولكنّ الخوف أقوى. فكيف يمكن للمرء أن يعبّر بحرية أو وضوح عن أفكاره ورغباته داخل المجتمع الشيعي - حتى من دون الكشف عن هويته - عندما تطرق مخابرات "حزب الله" أبواب المتظاهرين الشيعة كل يوم في الأسابيع القليلة الماضية للاستفسار عن أماكن تواجدهم اليومية والتحقق من هواتفهم المحمولة الشخصية؟ ويعلم الشيعة أنه إذا صادف وجود أحدهم أو احداهن في إحدى ساحات الاحتجاج، فستبدأ التحقيقات ولن تنتهي أبدًا. هذا وتتعرض أسر بأكملها للمضايقة، وقد تم القبض على الكثير منهم.

وخلافًا للشيعة في العراق، الذين يتمتعون بمؤسسة دينية داخلية تدعم الاحتجاجات في البلاد ضمنًا، لا يملك شيعة لبنان أي نجف يلجؤون إليه. ولن يجدوا أي مكان يلوذون به في حال فشلت الاحتجاجات وعادت كل طائفة إلى زعيمها. وهذا من شأنه أن يضع شيعة لبنان أمام معضلة حقيقية: فكثيرون منهم عالقون بين رغبتهم في أن يصبحوا مواطنين لبنانيين وبين خوفهم من أن يصبحوا من دون غطاء، إذا ما ابتعدوا عن النموذج الطائفي التقليدي.

ولعل الشيعة الذين يعيشون في خوف أو إذلال لا يدركون احتياجاتهم وتطلعاتهم. وقد يعبّرون عن معضلاتهم بطرق قد يسيء الآخرون قراءتها أو يتغافلون عنها. لذا، ما يهم حقًا هو ليس رأيهم بإيران أو "حزب الله". فما يهم هو السياق: كيف ومتى ينزلون إلى الشوارع، وما هو العلم الذي يختارون رفعه، والأهم من ذلك إذا ما تمكنوا من تحدي قواعد "حزب الله" وخطوطه الحمراء الثقافية والاجتماعية، وليس السياسية.

ومن المهم الإقرار بأنّ الناس رقصوا في النبطية، وأن النسوة خلعن الحجاب في وسط الميدان في بعلبك. فلا عجب في أن يشعر "حزب الله" بالتهديد الكافي جراء هذه الأفعال لكي يتخذ إجراءات قمعية بحق المحتجين الشيعة. ففي لبنان، لطالما كان الجانب الثقافي والمجتمعي يؤدي إلى الطريق السياسي، ولا سيّما في المجتمع الشيعي. ولهذا السبب شعر "حزب الله" بالتهديد، ولهذا السبب فان عصيان المحتجين الشيعة مهمًا.

وفي ضوء كل هذه العوامل، لربّما يكون من غير العادل أن نسأل من هو الشيعي في لبنان اليوم. ولكن هذا السؤال ذاته، بكل ما يحمل في طياته من تحيزات وتعقيدات، أضحى الآن أكثر ضرورة من أي وقت مضى. ويجب أن تتناول إجابات هذا السؤال كل الهويات والمخاوف والحقائق غير المعلنة الكامنة خلف ما هو سائد و ظاهر في أوساط المجتمع الشيعي اللبناني.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

What Does It Mean to Be a Shia in Lebanon Today?


Hizballah leader Hassan Nasrallah and bodyguards

Also available in العربية

December 12, 2019

Among the Shia in Lebanon, two major shifts are taking place within the collective perception of the community. One, Lebanese Shia identity is moving from a sectarian identity to a national one, caused by the costs endured by the Shia community over the past decade. And two, there is a widening departure from the resistance narrative, which is increasingly seen as a narrative of war and Islamic indoctrination.

The ideas of resistance and the antagonism towards Israel are still deep-seated facets of Lebanese Shia identity. Yet growing feelings of resentment towards war and Hezbollah’s efforts to continue militarizing the community are proving to be stronger. Today, the reality of a militarized and war-thirsty identity is being challenged by the desire of members of the community for better living standards, financial stability, and security. In this sense, national identity—and an eagerness to be part of the Lebanese people as a whole—is becoming more significant than the sectarian identities that have long been seen as dominating Lebanese politics.

These shifts have been taking place over a number of years, but such changes are very complex, gradual, and slow. They rise and fade depending on the political and economic circumstances, and while the course of change is steady, it is still uneasy for the Shia as a communal whole to express their opinions during a process that hasn’t yet been completed or realized.

Surveying the Shia

Today—more than any time in the modern history of the Lebanon—it has become evident that a cohesive and monolithic Shia community does not exist. Rather, the constitutive elements of the community have been going through successive waves of identity shifts and internal conflicts that give the community multiple layers of identity, often overlapping within an individual. This makes categorizing this community a complicated matter. 

What is clear is that Shia individuals expressing discontent and disagreement with Hezbollah by either joining the protests in Lebanon, disseminating a WhatsApp recording against Hezbollah, or even stealing a quick moment on TV to complain are no longer unusual occurrences. Moreover, these events are illustrative of a deeper hidden reality that is managing to escape through the cracks of the very same layers that had previously masked the visibility of its development.

Moreover, these nascent moments of protest complicate the still supportive façade Shia present to outsiders. A recent poll published by Fikra Forum shows that among Lebanon’s Shia population today, 75% of respondents say they hold a “very positive” attitude toward Hezbollah—which is down only slightly from 83% in late 2017 and 77% in late 2018.

Although numbers do not lie, they can mask shifting realities on the ground that are difficult to capture in polling data. Unpacking the layers of Shia identity requires much more than blunt questions from outsiders about their opinion on Hezbollah and Iran. Identifying the real attitudes of Shia involves understanding these layers and looking into issues beyond Hezbollah and Iran, such as war and peace in Lebanon, Hezbollah’s domestic allies, and the significance of the Shia center of Najaf in Iraq—where Ayatollah Sistani presents a notable challenge to the Iranian model of Shia community through wilayet e-faqih.

It also requires unpacking what these institutions represent to Lebanese Shia. Hezbollah could mean resistance for some; for others, it could mean protection. Iran, for some, can mean empowerment; while for others, it could mean financial support. Many Shia still see Hezbollah as a paternal figure and feel an obligation or a duty to protect the group from outsiders. However, this doesn’t mean that Hezbollah is a father figure these Shia look up to internally.

Given these factors, attempting to label this community often restrains us from reading between the lines. And most importantly, this classification could also serve Hezbollah—and other sectarian leaders—who prefer to hide the nuances, the layers of identity, and the reality that lies in-between in favor of one monolithic entity. Hezbollah’s main narrative is that it represents the majority of the Shia in Lebanon, despite knowing very well that this claim is inaccurate. Otherwise, they wouldn’t have cracked down on Shia cities for the past two months of protests with such violence.

The Layers of a Shia

From Musa Al-Sadr’s Amal movement to the PLO domination of the south of Lebanon until 1982, all through the civil war and the leftist movements that relied on Shia for its wars, and recently the Iranian hegemony of the Shia agency and identity, many Shia have developed multiple identities and layers in response to these different forces. A Shia could be pro-Palestine and anti-Palestine, pro-resistance and anti-resistance, and pro-Lebanese and anti-Lebanese, all at the same time. These concealed differences are on their way out to the surface, but have existed for a long time.

That also applies to members of the community who are Hezbollah’s supporters. Every Hezbollah supporter or fighter I have talked to during my adult life has also described navigating these layers. They are tired of wars and ideologies, yet they are deeply rooted in an identity that glorifies bygone victories. They are torn between a lifeless leftist idea of liberation—based on the national resistance movement that predated Hezbollah—and an ideological resistance that Hezbollah enforced through its meticulous cultural appropriation and services to a community that has suffered from deprivation for decades.

A Shia can be pro-Palestine—as a cause—but also look down on the Palestinian refugees in Lebanon as a burden and a lesser community in terms of rights and freedoms. A Shia can want Hezbollah to return to its original mandate of resistance, and can be critical of Hezbollah for abandoning it, yet he or she can also be scared of resistance, because resistance means another war. A Shia can want to fight injustice while recognizing that Hezbollah’s allies are the most corrupt political figures in Lebanon. 

Many Shia are frustrated with Hezbollah’s wars in the region, its isolation of the community, and with its increased corruption and failures. However, they are also afraid to lose the father-figure that Hezbollah represents and be exposed to sectarian discrimination, and further isolation, in the process. Not all Shia believe in absolute wilayat e-faqih ideology. Many—mainly those who are descended from the leftist and progressive parties—became Hezbollah supporters only because of Hezbollah’s adoption of the resistance narrative rather than through any religious appeal.

Fears and Dilemmas

The taboos preventing the overt expressions of these doubts are strong, but the fear is even stronger. Among the Shia community, how can one freely or clearly express his or her ideas and desires—even anonymously—when Hezbollah intelligence have knocked on Shia protesters’ doors every day in the past few weeks to inquire about their daily whereabouts and check their personal cellphones? Shia know that if one happens to be spotted in one of the protests squares, the interrogations start and will never end. Entire families are harassed, and many have been arrested.

In contrast to the Iraqi Shia, who have an internal religious establishment that is actually tacitly supporting the country’s protests, the Lebanese Shia do not have a Najaf to turn to. They have no place to go if the protests fail and each sect goes back to its leader. This pushes the Lebanese Shia into a real dilemma: many are trapped between their desire to become Lebanese citizens and their fear of becoming exposed without protection were they to move away from the traditional sectarian model.

The Shia who live in fear or humiliation might not be aware of their own needs and longings. They might express their dilemmas in ways that others might misread or overlook. Therefore, what really matters is not what they think of Iran or Hezbollah. What matters is the context: of how and when they take to the streets, what flag they choose to raise, and, most importantly, if they manage to defy Hezbollah’s cultural and social—rather than political—rules and red lines.

What is important to recognize is that people danced in Nabatiyeh, and that women took off their veils in the middle of the square in Baalbek. It is not strange that Hezbollah felt threatened enough by these actions to crack down on Shia protesters. In Lebanon, the cultural and social has always been the pathway to the political—and this has especially been the case within the Shia community. This is why Hezbollah felt the threat, and this is why the protesters’ defiance is significant.

Given all these factors, it is probably unfair to ask the question of who is a Lebanese Shia today. But this very same question, with all its biases and complications, is more necessary now more than ever. The answers to this question need to address all the layers, the fears, and the unspoken truths lying behind the visible among the Lebanese Shia community.

Customize your RSS Feed