أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

استطلاع جديد حول لبنان: رغم الاحتجاجات، لا يزال معظم الشيعة يدعمون "حزب الله"، في حين أن موقف السنّة والمسيحيين كان أكثر سلبية


متاح أيضاً في English

4 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2019

يُظهر استطلاع جديد موثوق للرأي العام اللبناني أُجري في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر أن نظرة أغلبية ساحقة من الشيعة في البلاد لا تزال إيجابية تجاه كل من "حزب الله" ودولة إيران الراعية له – حتى في وقت ضمّت فيه احتجاجات كبيرة مناهضة للحكومة العديد من المشاركين الشيعة للمرة الأولى. ويثير هذا الواقع تساؤلات حيال تكهنات بشأن إمكانية أن يواجه الحزب فجأة خطر خسارة قاعدته الانتخابية الرئيسية.  ومع ذلك، هناك احتمال أن يتردد بعض المستجيبين من الشيعة  في إعطاء إجابات دقيقة ومحددة  لتلك الأسئلة الصريحة والمباشرة والتي  تتعلق بموضوعات شديدة الحساسية، ويحتمل أيضا أن تكون خطرة.

وفي أوساط السكان الشيعة في لبنان اليوم، تقول نسبة 75 في المائة إن موقفها لا يزال "إيجابيًا للغاية" تجاه "حزب الله" – في تراجع بسيط عن نسبة 83 في المائة المسجلة أواخر العام 2017 و77 في المائة أواخر 2018. وتمنح نسبة 15 في المائة إضافية الآن الحزب تصنيفًا "إيجابيًا بعض الشيء". يُذكر أن هذه النسبة الإيجابية عمومًا البالغة 90 في المائة في أوساط الشيعة لم تتغير كثيرًا خلال السنتين الماضيتين.


 
فضلًا عن ذلك، لا تزال نسبة 70 في المائة من شيعة لبنان تعتقد أنه من "المهم للغاية" الحفاظ على علاقات جيدة مع إيران، في تراجع بسيط جدًا عن عام 2017 أو 2018. وتقول نسبة 22 في المائة إضافية الآن إن هذه العلاقات "مهمة إلى حدّ ما". ولدى 73 في المائة رأي "إيجابي للغاية" بشأن آية الله خامنئي الشيعي في إيران إلى جانب 17 في المائة إضافية برأي "إيجابي نوعًا ما" حياله.

وفي تناقض صارخ، إن رأي مسلمي لبنان من السنّة سلبي للغاية حيال تلك الشخصيات الشيعية الثلاث حيث تعبّر نسبة 51 في المائة عن موقف "سلبي للغاية" إزاء "حزب الله" – في زيادة بنسبة 10 نقاط عن العام الفائت – فضلًا عن 38 في المائة إضافية ذات رأي "سلبي بعض الشيء". في المقابل، خُمس اللبنانيين السنّة فقط تعتبر أن الحفاظ على علاقات جيدة مع إيران "مهم إلى حدّ ما". وتعبّر الأغلبية الضئيلة نفسها فقط عن موقف "إيجابي بعض الشيء" إزاء آية الله خامنئي.

أما المسيحيون في لبنان، الذين يشكلون ثالث أكبر شريحة سكانية في البلاد، فهم في الوسط كما كانت عليه الحال مؤخرًا. لكن نظرتهم حيال "حزب الله" قد تبدّلت بشكل كبير نحو الأسوأ في العام الفائت. فأصبحت نسبة 33 في المائة فقط الآن تعبّر أقلّه عن "نظرة إيجابية بعض الشيء" حيال ذلك الحزب مقابل نسبة عالية بلغت 82 في المائة أواخر العام 2018. على نحو مماثل، تعتبر 33 في المائة فقط أن العلاقات الجيدة مع إيران مهمة. وبالكاد تعبّر نسبة 17 في المائة عن رأي إيجابي حيال آية الله خامنئي.



من جهته، يُعتبر الرئيس التركي أيضًا شخصية مستقطبة في أوساط المذاهب اللبنانية، ولو بالاتجاه المعاكس. فحوالي ثلثيْ السنّة يعربون عن نظرة إيجابيه تجاهه؛ لكن في أوساط الشيعة تنخفض هذه النسبة إلى 4 في المائة فقط. ومجددًا، يقف المسيحيون في الوسط إلا أنهم يميلون أكثر إلى شركائهم في الوطن من السنّة: حيث أن نظرة 47 في المائة منهم إيجابية حيال أردوغان.

غير أنه على صعيد المشاكل الداخلية التي كانت السبب خلف الاحتجاجات الشعبية الراهنة، فإن مطالب الطوائف الثلاث الرئيسية موحدة عمليًا. فنسبة 90 في المائة أو أكثر حتى من كل مجموعة تقول إن الحكومة مقصرة بشكل كبير في حل المشاكل التالية: خفض مستوى الفساد في الحياة الاقتصادية والسياسية؛ التعامل مع المشاكل الاقتصادية المتنامية ومشقات الحياة اليومية للناس؛ ومشاركة أعباء الضرائب وغيرها من الموجبات تجاه الحكومة بطريقة عادلة.

ويُعتبر التطلّع إلى إقامة علاقات أفضل مع المسيحيين مجالًا آخر للتوافق بين الطوائف: فنسبة 85 في المائة من السنّة والشيعة على السواء و100 في المائة من اللبنانيين المسيحيين تتفق على أنه "يجب إظهار احترام أكبر لمسيحيي العالم وتحسين العلاقات معهم". لكن في تناقض صارخ، فإن نسبة 22 في المائة فقط من سنّة لبنان و18 في المائة من مسيحييه و2 في المائة فحسب من شيعته، تقول الشيء نفسه حيال تحسين العلاقات مع اليهود.

كذلك، تراجعت المواقف المؤيدة للولايات المتحدة نوعًا ما خلال السنتين الماضيتين. فنسبة 43 في المائة من السنّة ترى أن العلاقات الجيدة مع واشنطن "مهمة بعض الشيء" على الأقل، في انخفاض بنحو 10 نقاط منذ أواخر 2017. وفي أوساط المسيحيين، انخفضت هذه النسبة أيضًا بحوالي 10 نقاط لتبلغ 37 في المائة في يومنا هذا. وتتشارك 17 في المائة فقط من شيعة لبنان الرأي نفسه. في المقابل، تقول نسب أعلى بكثير في كل طائفة إنه من المهم إقامة علاقات جيدة مع روسيا – أو حتى مع سوريا. 

وعلى طول خطوط مشابهة، يحظى الرئيس الروسي بوتين بتأييد في أوساط كافة الطوائف الرئيسية الثلاث في لبنان يتخطى إلى حدّ كبير نظيره الأمريكي ترامب. وحين طُلب من المستطلعين الاختيار بشكل خاص بين الأولويات الأربع لسياسة الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، كان الخيار الأبرز في كل طائفة "عدم التدخل في المنطقة على الإطلاق أو أقلّه الانسحاب من معظمها". وصوّتت نسبة 71 في المائة من شيعة لبنان لهذا الخيار و48 في المائة من السنّة ونسبة كبيرة من المسيحيين في البلاد وصلت إلى 43 في المائة. 

   

استُخلصت هذه النتائج كلها من استطلاع أجرته في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر شركة تجارية محلية لأبحاث السوق تتمتع بمؤهلات وخبرة واسعة وهي غير سياسية بالكامل، مع عينة تمثيلية وطنية شملت ألف مواطن لبناني مع ضمانات شديدة للسرية. فقد سافر الكاتب شخصيًا إلى المنطقة للتشاور مع مدراء مشاريع لبنانيين خلال مسار العمل الميداني. وأجري هذا الاستطلاع على شكل مقابلات شخصية مع مستطلعين مختارين بحسب أساليب الأرجحية الجغرافية المعيارية، ما أسفر عن عيّنة إجمالية تتناسب مع التوزع السكاني: 305 من السنّة، و301 من الشيعة، و346 من المسيحيين، و48 من الدروز. ويناهز هامش الخطأ الإحصائي للعينة الإجمالية 3 في المائة؛ وللعينات الثانوية الرئيسية الثلاث حوالي 5.5 في المائة. ويشار إلى أنه يمكن الحصول على أي تفاصيل إضافية متعلقة بالمنهجية، بما فيها بروتوكولات أخذ العيّنات والتقسيمات الديموغرافية الأخرى وأداة الاستطلاع باللغة العربية كاملةً من الكاتب عند الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

New Lebanon Poll: Despite Protests, Most Shiites Still Back Hezbollah, while Sunnis and Christians Turn More Negative


Also available in العربية

December 4, 2019

A reliable new Lebanese public opinion poll, conducted in November, shows that a large majority of the country’s Shiites retain positive views of both Hezbollah and its Iranian patrons—even as major anti-government protests include many Shiite participants for the first time. This surprising finding casts doubt on speculation that Hezbollah might suddenly be in danger of losing its core constituency. However, it is important to note that some Shiite respondents are likely reluctant to voice more nuanced answers to such blunt, direct questions from a total stranger about these very sensitive and even potentially dangerous subjects.

Among Lebanon’s Shiite population today, 75% say they hold a “very positive” attitude toward Hezbollah—down only slightly from 83% in late 2017 and 77% in late 2018. An additional 15% now give Hezbollah “somewhat positive” ratings. This 90% overall positive rating among Shiites has barely changed over the past two years.

Moreover, 70% of Lebanese Shiites still think it “very important” to maintain good relations with Iran, down only marginally compared to 2017 or 2018. An additional 22% now say those relations are “somewhat important.” And 73% voice a “very positive” opinion of Iran’s Shiite Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, plus 17% more with a “somewhat positive” opinion of him.

In sharp contrast, Lebanon’s Sunni Muslims have solidly negative views of all three of these Shiite figures. A full 51% voice a “very negative” attitude toward Hezbollah—a ten-point increase over the past year—plus 38% more with a “somewhat negative” view. Only one-fifth of Lebanese Sunnis say good relations with Iran are even “somewhat important.” And only the same small minority express even a “somewhat positive” view of Ayatollah Khamenei.

Lebanese Christians, the third major group in the country, are in the middle, as usual lately. But their views of Hezbollah have taken a dramatic turn for the worse in the past year. Just 33% now have at least a “somewhat positive view” of that organization, compared with a remarkable 82% in late 2018. Similarly, just 33% say good relations with Iran are important. And a mere 17% voice a favorable opinion of Ayatollah Khamenei.

Turkish president Recep Tayyip Erdogan is also a polarizing figure among Lebanese sects, although in the opposite direction. Nearly two-thirds of Sunnis express a favorable view of him, but among Shiites that number plummets to just 4%. Lebanese Christians, again, are somewhere in the middle but close to their Sunni compatriots: 47% voice a positive opinion toward Erdogan.

On the internal issues behind the current mass protests, however, Lebanon’s three major communities are practically united. At least 90% or more in every group say their government is doing too little about each one of the following problems: reducing the level of corruption in economic and political life; dealing with growing economic problems and people’s daily hardships; and sharing the burden of taxes and other obligations to the government in a fair manner

Aspiring to better relations with Christians is another area of consensual sects: 85% of both Sunnis and Shiites and 100% of Christians agree that “we should show more respect to the world’s Christians, and improve our relations with them.” In stark contrast, however, a mere 22% of Sunnis, 18% of Christians, and just 2% of Shiites say the same about improving relations with Jews.

Attitudes toward the United States have soured somewhat over the past two years. Among Sunnis, 43% say good relations with Washington are at least “somewhat important,” down about ten points since late 2017. Among Christians, that figure is also down about ten points, to 37% today. And a mere 14% of Shiites say the same. By comparison, much higher proportions in each community say it is important to have good relations with Russia—or even with Syria.

  

Along similar lines, Russian president Vladimir Putin far outscores President Trump in approval ratings across all three major Lebanese communities. And asked more specifically to choose among four priorities for U.S. policy in the region, the most popular selection in each community is “stay out of our region altogether, or at least withdraw from most of it.” That option was picked by 71% of Shiites, 48% of Sunnis, and a remarkable 43% of Christians in the country.

These findings are from a survey conducted in November by a highly qualified, experienced, and completely apolitical local commercial market research firm, among a representative national sample of 1,000 Lebanese citizens, with strict assurances of confidentiality. The author personally traveled to the region to consult with the Lebanese project managers during the course of fieldwork. Interviews were done face-to-face, with respondents selected by standard geographical probability methods, yielding a total sample approximately proportional to population distribution: 305 Sunnis, 301 Shiites, 346 Christians, and 48 Druze. The statistical margin of error for the total sample is approximately 3%; for the three major subsamples, approximately 5.5%. Additional methodological details, including sampling protocols, other demographic breaks, and full Arabic survey instrument, are readily available from the author on request.

Customize your RSS Feed