أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

نصف الإماراتيين يوافقون على السياسات المحلية للحكومة، لكن 20 في المائة فقط يرغبون في إقامة علاقات مع إسرائيل


متاح أيضاً في English

20 تموز/يوليو 2020

تكشف بيانات لاستطلاع رأي أُجري حديثًا في المنطقة أن الإماراتيين مهتمون بمسائل السياسة المحلية أكثر من تلك الخاصة بالسياسة الخارجية – رغم أن أغلبية منهم تعتبر أن الحكومة تقوم "بالكثير" من أجل ضمان الصحة العامة في هذه الأيام، ما يعكس على الأرجح بعض الاستياء بسبب الحجر الذي يفرضه فيروس كورونا. وعلى الصعيد الدولي، لا يزال حوالي نصف الإماراتيين يعتبرون أن العلاقات الجيدة مع الولايات المتحدة مهمة، أي النسبة نفسها تقريبًا التي تحصدها الآن العلاقات مع الصين. ويبدو أن انخراط الإمارات العربية المتحدة في النزاع الليبي المتصاعد ينعكس في مواقف متناقضة حيال القوتين العظمتين اللتين تتدخلان في البلاد، أي روسيا وتركيا.

تعتبر أغلبية الإماراتيين (73 في المائة) أنه على الحكومة إيلاء أهمية أكبر إلى الإصلاحات الداخلية بدلًا من أي مسألة خاصة بالسياسة الخارجية، وهو ما يتماشى مع نتائج استطلاعات السنوات العديدة الماضية. وفي هذا السياق، تحصل الحكومة الإماراتية عمومًا على علامات مرتفعة نسبيًا بشأن أدائها على صعيد عدد من المسائل المحلية. فأكثر من نصف الشعب الإماراتي راضٍ على أداء الحكومة وقدرتها على الحفاظ على القانون والنظام في الأماكن العامة ومنع التطرف. مع ذلك، تشكّك نصف الأصوات تقريبًا فيما إذا كانت الحكومة تولي ما يكفي من الاهتمام بالرأي العام حيال سياساتها.


وعمومًا، يميل الشعب الإماراتي نحو الرضا أكثر منه نحو الاحتجاج. ولدى سؤالهم عن رأيهم في الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة في العراق ولبنان، أجاب ما يقرب من النصف أن هذا الأمر سيكون له تداعيات سلبية على المنطقة. كما يقول حوالي النصف أيضًا إنه "من الجيد أننا لا نواجه مظاهرات كبيرة في الشوارع هنا الآن، كما يحدث في بعض الدول العربية الأخرى". كما تتفق أغلبية كبيرة من الإماراتيين (67 في المائة) على النقطة التالية: "حين أفكر فيما يجري في اليمن أو سوريا، أشعر أن وضعنا ليس سيئًا".

عندما أفكر في ما يحدث في اليمن أو سوريا ، أشعر أن وضعنا هنا ليس سيئًا للغاية

الجدل بشأن فيروس كورونا: إجراءات الإغلاق ونظريات المؤامرة

أما بخصوص أزمة فيروس كورونا على وجه التحديد، وفيما تعيد الإمارات فتح البلاد في وقت ترتفع فيه أعداد الإصابات، ينقسم الشعب الإماراتي بشأن المساعي التي يتعين على الحكومة أن تبذلها في سبيل الصحة العامة. ولدى الطلب منهم تقييم هذه المسألة، اعتبرت أكثرية من الإماراتيين (40 في المائة) أن حكومتها تقوم "بالكثير" في هذا الخصوص. وفي الوقت عينه، وبشكل ملحوظ، يميل هذا الجمهور الذي يُفترض أنه جمهور متطور إلى تبنى نظريات المؤامرة في تفسير تفشي فيروس كورونا المفاجئ، حيث تقول نسبة 70 في المائة تقريبًا إن فيروس كورونا "هو شيء بدأه أعداؤنا الأجانب عن عمد". ومن بين الشعوب المستطلعة (السعوديون، الأردنيون، المصريون، الإماراتيون والفلسطينيون)، كان الشعب السعودي الوحيد الذي تجاوز النسبة المسجلة في الإمارات. 



شركاء السياسة الخارجية: تعادل الصين والولايات المتحدة تقريبًا؛ بينما لا تحظى إيران بشعبية حتى بين الأقلية الشيعية.

وفي الشأن الخارجي، وفرت أزمة فيروس كورونا على نحو مثير للجدل فرصًا إضافية للتعاون مع الصين، غير أن الإماراتيين منقسمون حيال أهمية مواصلة بناء علاقات معها حيث يعتبر النصف تقريبًا أن العلاقات مع الصين غير مهمة. وفي المقابل، لا تزال نسبة 45 في المائة من الشعب الإماراتي تعتبر أنه من المهم الحفاظ على علاقات جيدة مع الولايات المتحدة. ويُذكر أن هذه النسبة لم تتغير كثيرًا خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية.

وفي ما يخص تدخل الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، ثمة انقسام طائفي بسيط فقط بين المجتمعات ذات الأغلبية السنّية والأقلية الشيعية، ففي أوساط الغالبية السنّية – التي تشكل 85 في المائة من إجمالي عدد السكان الإماراتيين – ترى نسبة 28 في المائة أن أجدى ما يمكن للولايات المتحدة أن تقوم به في المنطقة هو زيادة "معارضتها العملية لنفوذ إيران وأنشطتها" (28 في المائة). وقد حصد بذل الولايات المتحدة مساعي إضافية لحل الصراع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني نسبة إحصائية موازية بفارق نقطة مئوية واحدة (27 في المائة).

   أما في أوساط الأقلية الشيعية، فالأهمية معكوسة بين الخيارين المذكورين أعلاه، إنما ليس بهامش كبير. فالقضية الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية سجلت نسبة أعلى بقليل (29 في المائة) لكن التصدي للنفوذ الإيراني حلّ ثانيًا بفارق ضئيل (24 في المائة). كذلك، اكتست مسألتا اليمن وليبيا أهمية شبه مماثلة كما اتضح من نسبة 23 في المائة التي تصرّ على أن أبرز أولويات الولايات المتحدة يجب أن تتمثل في "بذل المزيد من الجهود لإيجاد حل دبلوماسي للأزمتين في اليمن وليبيا".  على ما يبدو، فإن التركيز الشديد من قبل الولايات المتحدة على سياسة “الضغط الأقصى" ضد إيران، لا يتشارك فيها غالبية الجمهور الإماراتي، سواء كان سنيًا أو شيعيًا.

غير أنه يظهر انقسام طائفي واضح المعالم على صعيد حدث مهم حصل مؤخرًا، فحوالي نصف الإماراتيين السنّة اعتبروا أن اغتيال قاسم سليماني على يد الولايات المتحدة في كانون الثاني/يناير 2020 سيترك آثارًا إيجابية على المنطقة. في المقابل، بلغت نسبة المستطلعين الشيعة الذين يشاطرونهم الرأي 27 في المائة فحسب. وبالمثل، يظهر استطلاع للرأي تم إجراؤه في 20 تشرين الثاني /نوفمبر 2019، أن 6 في المائة فقط من الإماراتيين السنّة قد شعروا بأهمية الاحتفاظ بعلاقات جيدة مع طهران - مقارنة بـ 47٪ بين الأقلية الشيعية في الإمارات.

تشاؤم حول القضايا الفلسطينية -الإسرائيلية رغم المبادرات الرسمية

وعمومًا، اكتست القضية الفلسطينية -الإسرائيلية أهمية محدودة بالنسبة للإماراتيين مؤخرًا، ويعزى ذلك على الأرجح إلى الجدال القائم حيال التطبيع وعملية الضمّ التي قد تنفذها إسرائيل في الضفة الغربية. وكان استطلاع للرأي أجري في وقت سابق في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018 بشأن دور الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة، قد صنّف القضية الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية في أدنى سلّم الأولويات – حيث اعتمدت نسبة 14 في المائة هذا الخيار. واليوم، تضاعفت هذه النسبة، حيث اختار ربع الإماراتيين “الضغط من أجل التوصل إلى حل الدولتين لتسوية لصراع الفلسطيني-الإسرائيلي" باعتباره الأولوية القصوى في إطار جهود الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة.  

لكن لدى سؤالهم عن خطة السلام التي طرحتها إدارة ترامب مؤخرًا، اعتبرت نسبة 12 في المائة فقط أنها قد تترك أثرًا إيجابيًا على المنطقة- وهو ما يختلف بشكل ملحوظ عن الترحيب الحذر من قبل المسؤولين بالمقترح الأمريكي.  كما لم يبدِ الإماراتيون تفاؤلًا كبيرًا حيال الحكومة الإسرائيلية الجديدة المنتخبة في فصل الربيع الفائت، حيث ذكرت نسبة 66 في المائة أن الانتخابات ستخلّف تداعيات سلبية على المنطقة.

أما بالنسبة للعلاقات مع الإسرائيليين أنفسهم، فلا يوافق نحو 80 في المائة من الإماراتيين على مقولة "أن من يرغب من الشعب في أن تربطه علاقات عمل أو روابط رياضية مع الإسرائيليين يجب أن يُسمح له بذلك". ومرة أخرى، تباينت الآراء ما بين الغالبية الشعبية وبين السياسة الرسمية الإماراتية الحالية. غير أن هذه الأغلبية أصغر من النسب المسجلة في السعودية والأردن ومصر التي ترفض بدورها أي علاقات مع الإسرائيليين. ويوافق 40 في المائة من الإماراتيين -وهي نسبة أكثر من الدول الأخرى التي تم استطلاعها للتو - على أن "الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين هم المسؤولون عن استمرار الصراع".

دعم الجمهور لسياسة تركيا، إنما ليس إزاء قطر أو سوريا

وردًا على تصاعد أعمال العنف في ليبيا، يبدو أن الشعب يعكس دعم حكومته للقائد المتحالف مع روسيا خليفة حفتر في صراعه المستمر ضد الحكومة الليبية التي ترعاها الأمم المتحدة وتدعمها تركيا. ولا ترى أغلبية كبيرة من الإماراتيين (70 في المائة) أن العلاقات مع تركيا مهمة؛ في حين تؤيد نسبة 50 في المائة تقريبًا الحفاظ على علاقات جيدة مع روسيا.



وفى ما يتعلق بقضيتين إقليميتين جديرتين بالملاحظة، يختلف معظم مواطني دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مع نهج حكومتهم، ففي حين شكّل شهر حزيران/يونيو الذكرى السنوية الثالثة للخلاف بين دول "مجلس التعاون الخليجي"، من دون أي أمل بالتوصل إلى حلّ في المستقبل القريب، لا تزال أغلبية ضيقّة من الإماراتيين (56 في المائة) توافق على المقولة التالية: "لحلّ خلافاتنا مع قطر، يجب على الطرفين تقديم تنازلات من أجل التوصل إلى اتفاق".



وعلى النقيض من ذلك، فإن المواقف الشعبية نحو سوريا كانت أقل تصالحية بشكل حاد من سياسة حكومة الإمارات الحالية، التي قامت باستئناف العلاقات مع نظام الأسد. وفى هذا الصدد، يوافق 8 في المائة فقط من الإماراتيين على الاقتراح التالي: "يجب أن نقبل بحقيقة بقاء بشار الأسد في السلطة في سوريا، وان نعمل على استعادة العلاقات الكاملة مع حكومته"، بينما يرى 16 % من الإماراتيين إن الأولوية القصوى لسياسة الولايات المتحدة يجب ألا تكون إيران أو فلسطين أو اليمن أو ليبيا، بل "حماية الشعب السوري" من هجمات نظام الأسد وحلفائه.

بشكل عام، واستنادًا إلى هذه النتائج، تتمتع حكومة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بفرصة شعبية كبيرة في بعض القضايا الداخلية الرئيسية، والتي تمثل الشغل الشاغل للجمهور في السياسة الخارجية. ومع ذلك، فإن العديد من المبادرات الرسمية الأخيرة - بشأن خطة ترامب للسلام، والتطبيع مع إسرائيل، والتقارب مع سوريا، والتعنت تجاه قطر – جميعها تتعارض بشكل عام مع المشاعر والتوجهات الشعبية. ومع ذلك، واستنادا لنتائج هذا الاستطلاع، فمن غير المرجح أن يؤدى هذا التباين في الآراء إلى اندلاع احتجاجات عامة، لكنه قد يساعد في تفسير لماذا يقول نصف المواطنين الإماراتيين الآن أن حكومتهم "لا تولي سوى القليل من الاهتمام للرأي العام بشأن سياساتها".

ملاحظة منهجية
استُخلصت هذه النتائج من استطلاع أجرته وجهًا لوجه في حزيران/يونيو 2020 شركة تجارية موثوقة للاستطلاعات تتمتع بمؤهلات وخبرة واسعة، مع عينة تمثيلية وطنية شملت ألف مواطن إماراتي. وقد تضمنت منهجية الاستطلاع اختيار المشاركين وفقًا للتقنيات النموذجية للاختيار الجغرافي العشوائي، مع هامش خطأ إحصائي 3 في المائة. كما أن المؤلف على دراية شخصية وثقة كاملة بالكفاءة التقنية والنزاهة المهنية والضمانات الصارمة شديدة السرية التي يوفرها مديرو الاستقصاء وفريق العمل الميداني. ويمكن توفير تفاصيل منهجية إضافية عند الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Half of Emiratis Approve Domestic Policies, But Just 20% Want Israeli Ties


Also available in العربية

July 20, 2020

Fresh polling data from a June 2020 survey reveals that Emiratis are more concerned with domestic than foreign policy issues—though a plurality say their government is doing “too much” to ensure public health these days, presumably reflecting some resentment over Coronavirus lockdowns. Internationally, around half of Emiratis continue to view good ties with the United States as important, now about the same as those who see relations with China as important. The UAE’s involvement in the escalating Libyan conflict seems to be reflected in contrasting attitudes toward Russia and Turkey, the major intervening powers there.

The majority (73%) of Emiratis say that their government should focus more on internal reforms over any foreign policy issue, which is consistent with polling results from the past several years. In this context, the Emirati government generally receives relatively high marks for its performance on a number of domestic issues. Over half of the Emirati public is satisfied with the government’s ability to maintain law and order in public places and to prevent extremism. Nevertheless, approximately half voice some concern as to whether the government is paying enough attention to public opinion about its policies.

Overall, the Emirati public is about as inclined toward complacence as toward dissent. When asked about the anti-government protests in Iraq and Lebanon, around half say this will have negative consequences for the region. Around half also say “it’s a good thing we don’t have big street demonstrations here, as in some other Arab countries.” And a solid majority of Emiratis (67%) also agree with the notion: “When I think about what’s happening in Yemen or Syria, I feel that our own situation is not so bad.” 

Coronavirus Controversies: Lockdowns and Conspiracy Theories

On the Coronavirus crisis specifically, as the UAE starts to reopen and infections climb, the Emirati public is split about how much the government should be doing about public health. When asked to evaluate this, a plurality (40%) of Emiratis say their government is doing “too much” in this regard. At the same time, remarkably, this supposedly sophisticated public inclines toward conspiracy theories on the sudden pandemic: around 70% of Emiratis say that Coronavirus is “something our foreign enemies deliberately started.” Out of the publics surveyed (Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Egypt, the UAE, and the Palestinians), Saudi Arabia was the only one that exceeded the UAE’s proportion.

Foreign Policy Partners: China and the United States Roughly Tied; Iran Unpopular Even with Shia Minority

On the foreign front, the Coronavirus crisis has arguably created additional opportunities for cooperation with China, but the Emirati public is divided on the importance of continuing to build ties there. Approximately half of Emiratis say that relations with China are not important. By comparison, 45% of the Emirati public still say it is important to maintain good relations with the United States. This latter figure has remained little changed over the past three years.

Regarding U.S. involvement in the region, there is only a slight sectarian divide between the majority Sunni and minority Shia communities. Among the Sunni majority—which make up 85% of the total Emirati population—28% believe the most useful thing the United States could do in the region is increase its “practical opposition to Iran’s influence and activities” (28%). Statistically equal, with only a one-point difference, is for the United States to push harder to resolve the Israeli-Palestinian conflict (27%).

Among the Shia minority, the top two choices are flipped in importance, yet not by a large margin. The Israeli-Palestinian issue ranked slightly higher (29%) but countering Iranian influence came in as a close second (24%). Yemen and Libya were nearly as salient, as evidenced by the 23% who maintain that the top American priority should be to “do more to find a diplomatic solution to the crises in Yemen and Libya.” Apparently, the heavy U.S. focus on “maximum pressure” against Iran is not shared by the majority of the Emirati public, whether Sunni or Shia.

On one dramatic related issue, however, a sectarian divide is clearly apparent. Around half of Emirati Sunnis responded that the U.S. killing of Qassem Soleimani in January 2020 will have positive effects on the region. In contrast, the number among Shia respondents who felt the same was just 27%. Similarly, in a November 2019 survey, only 6% of Sunni Emiratis felt it important to maintain good ties with Tehran—compared with 47% among the UAE’s Shiite minority.

Pessimism on Palestinian-Israeli Issues, Despite Official Initiatives

In general, the Israeli-Palestinian issue has risen modestly in salience to Emiratis lately, probably because of the ongoing debate over normalization and possible Israeli annexation in the West Bank. In polling conducted in October 2018, a mere 14% ranked the Israeli-Palestinian conflict first on a list of possible priorities for U.S. regional policy. Today, that percentage has doubled: 28% pick “pushing for a two-state solution to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict” as their top priority for U.S. attention in the region.

Yet when asked about the Trump administration’s recent peace plan, only 12% foresaw it as potentially having a positive impact on the region—a notable difference from the official cautious welcome for this American proposal. Emiratis also express little optimism about the new Israeli government elected last spring, with 66% saying that the election would have negative consequences for the region.

On relations with Israelis themselves, approximately 80% of Emiratis disagree with this statement: “people who want to have business or sports contacts with Israelis should be allowed to do so.” Here, too, the popular majority differs from current official UAE policy. However, this majority is smaller than the comparable proportions in Saudi Arabia, Jordan, and Egypt, who also disapprove of contacts with Israelis. And 40 percent of Emiratis, more than in the other countries just polled, agree that “the Palestinians and Israelis are both to blame for their continuing conflict.”

Public Backs Policy on Turkey, But Not on Qatar or Syria

In response to the escalating violence in Libya, the people seem to reflect their government’s support of the Russian-aligned leader, Khalifa Haftar, in his ongoing conflict against the UN-installed Libyan government backed by Turkey. A significant majority of Emiratis (70%) do not see relations with Turkey as important while about 50% support maintaining good relations with Russia. 

On two other noteworthy regional issues, however, most citizens of the UAE differ with their government’s approach. While June marked the three-year anniversary of the intra-GCC feud, with little hope for a resolution in the near future, a narrow majority (56%) of Emiratis continue to agree with the statement: “The way to solve our disputes with Qatar is for both sides to compromise in order to reach an agreement.”

Popular attitudes about Syria, in sharp contrast, are sharply less conciliatory than current UAE government policy, which has moved to resume ties with the Assad regime. A mere 8% of Emiratis agree with the following proposition: “We should accept the reality that Bashar Al-Assad will stay in power in Syria, and restore full relations with his government.” And 16% of Emiratis say that the highest priority for U.S. policy should be not Iran, Palestine, Yemen, or Libya, but “protecting the Syrian people” against attacks by the Assad regime and its allies.

Overall, based on these findings, the UAE government has considerable popular leeway on some major internal issues that appear to be the public’s primary preoccupation. In foreign policy, however, several recent official initiatives—on the Trump peace plan, normalization with Israel, rapprochement with Syria, and intransigence toward Qatar—are broadly at odds with popular sentiment. While this discrepancy is unlikely, based on the same survey results, to spark much public protest, it may help explain why half of Emirati citizens now say their government is “paying too little attention to public opinion about its policies.”

Methodological Note

These findings are from a highly credible, face-to-face survey among a representative national sample of 1,000 UAE citizens, conducted in June 2020 by a reputable, experienced regional commercial firm.  The sampling methodology involved a standard geographic probability procedure, yielding a statistical margin of error of approximately 3%. The author is personally fully familiar with and confident about the technical proficiency, professional integrity, and strict assurances of confidentiality afforded by the survey managers and fieldwork team. Additional methodological details are readily available on request.

Customize your RSS Feed