أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

روسيا تبحث عن شراكات استراتيجية مع دول شمال إفريقيا: التوازن بين الجزائر والمغرب


متاح أيضاً في English

19 شباط/فبراير 2019

دار في الآونة الأخيرة الكثير من الجدل حول طبيعة الدور الروسي في منطقة شمال إفريقيا وخاصة بعد نجاح الاستراتيجية الروسية في إدارة الصراع في سوريا. هذا النجاح العسكري والدبلوماسي النسبي، فتح المجال للروس مجددا للتفكير في إعادة لعبة التوازنات الاستراتيجية والاهتمام مجددا بمنطقة شمال إفريقيا لبسط نفوذ موسكو على القارة الأفريقية ومنافسة الاتحاد الأوربي والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والصين في اكتساب شراكات جديدة في القارة.  ومع ذلك، تعمل روسيا على إعادة إحياء نزعتها القديمة التي تتمثل في استغلال الفراغات والتراجعات الغربية عن دعم دول شمال إفريقيا بشكل خاص.

وعلى الرغم من محاولة روسيا ممارسة نفوذها في شمال إفريقيا لعدة عقود من الزمن، إلا أن قوتها الناعمة تراجعت بشكل ملحوظ هناك وفى أماكن أخرى أيضا.  فمع انتهاء الحرب الباردة فقدت روسيا قدرتها على توفير الدعم الاقتصادي للقوى الإقليمية. لكن في العقد الأخير، ومع صعود فلاديمير بوتين إلى مسرح الأحداث، بدأنا نشهد عودة الدفء تدريجيا للعلاقات الروسية -الإفريقية.

وتأتي مصر في مقدمة الدول التي تهتم بها روسيا في منطقة شمال إفريقيا، ويعزى ذلك إلى العلاقات الثنائية القوية بين البلدين خلال الحقبة الناصرية، إضافة إلى دور مصر التاريخي في قلب العالم العربي. ومؤخرًا، عملت روسيا على دعم علاقتها مع القاهرة من خلال إبرام عقود وصفقات أسلحة مع القاهرة وإنشاء مفاعلات نووية ودعم العلاقات الثنائية على الصعد العسكرية والاقتصادية والثقافية وغيرها. كما تتشارك كلا من موسكو والقاهرة الرأي حول عدد من القضايا الإقليمية، أهمها المسألة السورية. وتعتبر موسكو القاهرة البوابة الحقيقية لتمدد النفوذ الروسي نحو إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء وخاصة نحو السودان، من خلال الرغبة الروسية في الحصول على صفقات التنقيب عن المواد الخام والثروات الطبيعية.

ومع ذلك، يجب ألا يحجب إبراز اهتمام روسيا بمصر جهود الأولى وسعيها لتقوية علاقاتها مع دول شمال أفريقيا الأخرى، فالتبادلات الدبلوماسية العديدة بين روسيا والمنطقة - بما في ذلك زيارة وزير الخارجية الروسي سيرغي لافروف الأخيرة إلى تونس والجزائر والمغرب في أواخر كانون الثاني /يناير 2019 – هي بمثابة مؤشر واضح على اهتمام روسيا بالتقارب مع هذه الدول. كما يؤكد ذلك استمرار النهج الروسي الذي يؤمن بملأ الفراغات الاستراتيجية ويحاول استغلال التردد الأمريكي في ما يتعلق بدورها في المنطقة.

تتمسك الاستراتيجية الروسية بالكثير من الواقعية والبرغماتية في التقارب مع دول الشمال الأفريقي دون المساس بالقضايا المصيرية التي تشكل قطب الرحى لسياسات هذه الدول مع أخد المساحة الكافية منها واتباع سياسة الحياد الإيجابي وخاصة بالنسبة لقضية الصحراء التي تشكل نقطة خلاف صدامية بين المغرب والجزائر كانت وما زالت السبب الرئيسي في توتر العلاقات بين البلدين الجارين لفترة امتدت لأكثر من أربعين عاماً. ومع ذلك، ساهمت المفاوضات المباشرة التي عُقدت بين المغرب وجبهة البوليساريو في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018 في جنيف - وهي الأولى من نوعها خلال ست سنوات – إضافة إلى المحادثات القادمة التي ستتم خلال عام 2019، في تسليط الضوء على القضية. كما تبدو روسيا متحمسة لاستغلال تلك التطورات لتقوية علاقاتها مع كلاُ من المغرب والجزائر.

تواصل موسكو تعزيز حلقات التعاون الثنائي مع الجزائر والذي بدأته منذ الخمسينات من القرن الماضي، وتستمر في تزويد النظام الجزائري بصفقات من الأسلحة الروسية المتطورة مع دعم النظام السياسي في البلاد. وعلى الرغم من أن الشراكة الاقتصادية بين موسكو والجزائر مازالت غير ناجعة ودون المستوى المطلوب مقارنة مع شريك اقتصادي للجزائر كفرنسا، إلا أن لافروف قد شدد أثناء زيارته للجزائر لحضور الاجتماع التاسع للجنه الروسية - الجزائرية المشتركة الاقتصادية، على اهتمامه بتعزيز العلاقات الاقتصادية بين البلدين.

تاريخيا، كان الموقف الروسي دائما ما يتقاطع مع نظيره الجزائري بخصوص قضية الصحراء، فإلى جانب علاقة موسكو الراسخة مع الجزائر، هناك أيضا علاقات دافئة بين موسكو و "جبهة البوليساريو" الانفصالية التي  رحب  قيادييها بروسيا  للعب دور الوساطة بين فرقاء النزاع ومسك ورقة ضغط إضافية توظفها إزاء المغرب في التوقيت المناسب.

ومع ذلك، أدرك المغرب مؤخراً أهمية الدور الذي يمكن أن تلعبه روسيا في الوساطة في هذه القضية على المستوى الإقليمي الأوسع، حيث حاولت الحكومة المغربية الاستفادة من لعبة تناقض المصالح بين واشنطن وموسكو، لإحراز المزيد من الدعم الروسي لقضاياه الوطنية بما في ذلك مطالبتها بالسيادة في الصحراء الغربية.

كما ترى الرباط  أنه من المناسب استشعار الموقف الروسي من المفاوضات المباشرة القادمة التي سيرعاها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، وإقناع الطرف الروسي بالموقف المغربي، في حين تحرص موسكو  على الوقوف على الحياد ودعم المسلسل الأممي واستصدار  قرارات متوازنة في صالح كل الأطراف، متماشية مع التصور والقناعات الروسية التي تعتبر  أن الجزائر  والمغرب شريكين استراتيجيين رئيسيين، حيث وقعت معهما موسكو  على التوالي اتفاقيتين للشراكة الاستراتيجية سنتي 2001 و2002.

يعكس التقارب الروسي مع المغرب تحولاً واسعا في الديناميات الإقليمية في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، خاصة مع المواقف المتذبذبة لإدارة دونالد ترامب إزاء المغرب وقضاياها خاصة قضية الصحراء التي جعلت الرباط تأخذ حذرها بشكل غير معهود من السياسة الأمريكية. كما أدى فشل واشنطن في تعيين سفير أمريكي جديد في الرباط، وتعيين جون بولتون، وهو أحد "الصقور" الذي يرى المغرب أن سياسته لا تتوافق   مع رؤيتها في ما يتعلق ببعض القضايا الإقليمية، أدى إلى المزيد من التوتر في العلاقات بين البلدين.

ونتيجة لذلك، لم يعد المغرب مقتنعا بعدم رغبة الولايات المتحدة في التعامل بحيادية مع قضية الصحراء، ما يدفع الدبلوماسية المغربية للعب بورقة الشريك الروسي الذي يملك بدوره بعضا من مفاتيح ومخرجات الصراع المفتعل حول الصحراء. وبالمقابل، يحاول الطرف الروسي الدفع بعجلة العلاقات الاقتصادية بين البلدين، بداية من صفقات السلاح الروسية، فضلا عن تنويع الصادرات والواردات من وإلى الأسواق الروسية.

لا شك أن لدى موسكو العديد من الدوافع والمحركات الداعمة التي تحركها صوب شمال إفريقيا، والتي تمثل جزء من استراتيجيتها الكبرى للمنافسة على مناطق نفوذ وأسواق اقتصادية جديدة. فالإدارة الروسية تتخوف من التهميش والإقصاء من قبل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وأوروبا، وذلك جراء سياساتها في منطقة البلقان وقضية أوكرانيا واحتلالها جزيرة القرم، وأيضا دورها الحاسم في الأزمة السورية، وهذا ما يدفع موسكو للبحث عن شركاء وتحالفات جديدة مع الدول الإفريقية، على الأقل لكسب أصواتها في الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة وتمديد سياسة التقارب الناجحة مع العالم العربي.  ويبدو أن هذا الجدل البراغماتي يعززه أيضا حنين روسيا إلى دورها المفقود في منطقة شمال إفريقيا والاعتراف بالسياسات الفعالة للقوى الأخرى.

ومن الجدير بالذكر هنا أن روسيا لا تستطيع التنافس مع الصين في مجال توفير السلع والمنتجات لدول شمال إفريقيا، لكنها بالمقابل تستطيع تزويدها بالأسلحة مقابل الحصول على صفقات وعقود التنقيب عن النفط والمعادن وبناء المفاعلات النووية المدنية في المغرب والجزائر وقبل ذلك في مصر. وترغب موسكو أيضا في مأسسة استراتيجية اقتصادية تمكنها من فتح أسواق جديدة لبيع المنتجات الروسية خاصة الأسلحة وتوفير الاستثمارات للقطاع الخاص الروسي.

كما أن الرسائل التي تحاول روسيا تعميمها عسكريا ودبلوماسيا، تتجاوز مجرد التعبير عن العودة كقوة مؤثرة لمنطقة شمال إفريقيا، لتصل إلى الكشف عن نوايا موسكو الصريحة لمنافسة الاتحاد الأوربي من خلال إطلاق الوعود باستثمارات مغرية، إنجاز مشاريع الطاقة، وإبرام عقود وصفقات الأسلحة التي ارتفعت في الفترة الأخيرة، وبناء المفاعلات النووية وتنويع الصادرات والواردات نحو هذه الدول وإنشاء قواعد عسكرية روسية تراقب منطقة جنوب المتوسط.

وبالرغم من تسارع وتيرة الدور الروسي في شمال إفريقيا وفي القارة الإفريقية عموما، ليس من الراجح التسليم أن روسيا استرجعت دور القوة الكبرى في القارة السمراء، بل ربما يقتصر دورها حاليا على منافسة الدول الغربية لإيجاد موقع جيوسياسي فاعل، كما أن السياسة الخارجية الروسية مازالت تضع على الهامش منطقة شمال إفريقيا مقارنة مع الحرص على نفوذها في دول أوربا الشرقية سابقا واَسيا الوسطى.

ومع ذلك، تواجه روسيا بعض العراقيل التي تحول دون تحقيق طموحاتها الاستراتيجية في شمال إفريقيا، فعلى الرغم من الجهود التي تبذلها روسيا للتأثير على صنع السياسة الخارجية على نطاق عالمي، إلا أن الغرب ما زال يعتبرها مجرد لاعب إقليمي ولا يصل إلى مستوى القوة الكبرى. وبما أن سياستها الحالية في شمال إفريقيا تعتمد على استغلال حالة عدم اليقين التي تشوب التحالفات القائمة بين دول شمال إفريقيا والقوى الغربية في أعقاب الربيع العربي، فإن إعادة تركيز الولايات المتحدة على شمال إفريقيا يمكن أن يؤدى إلى عرقلة الجهود الروسية في هذا الصدد. وبالتالي، لا يزال من السابق لأوانه التنبؤ بتداعيات الوجود الروسي المتزايد في شمال أفريقيا، ومن المرجح أن يتطور الوضع في عام 2019.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Russia’s Search for Strategic Partnerships in North Africa: Balancing Algeria and Morocco


Also available in العربية

February 19, 2019

There has recently been a great deal of controversy surrounding the question of what role Russia will play in North Africa, especially after the apparent success of the Russian strategy in managing the Syrian conflict. This relative military and diplomatic success has opened the way for Russia to rethink its role in the regional balance of power and rekindle its interest in North Africa as part of a broader effort to extend Moscow’s influence in the African continent. Russia seeks to compete with the similar efforts from the European Union, the United States, and China in gaining key new strategic partnerships on the continent. Yet Russia is also reviving its longstanding tendency to exploit gaps and dips to take advantage of a perceived waning of Western support for North African countries specifically.

Though Russia has attempted to exert influence in North Africa for decades, its soft power declined significantly there—as elsewhere—with the end of the Cold War and the subsequent loss of its ability to provide economic incentives to regional powers. However, Vladimir Putin has directed a gradual warming of relations between Russia and Africa in the past decade.

Egypt is perhaps the most visible focal point for Russia’s interest in the North African region, given the relative strength of their bilateral relations during the Nasserist period and Egypt’s historic role at the heart of the Arab world. Russia has recently promoted strategic, military, economic, and cultural partnerships with Cairo, focusing on contracts and weapons deals with Cairo, building nuclear reactors, and supporting bilateral treaties. Moscow and Cairo also share positions on a number of regional issues, most importantly the Syrian question. Moreover, Moscow sees Cairo as a gateway for extending Russian influence towards sub-Saharan Africa, especially Sudan, and hopes to arrange deals for extraction of this region’s raw materials and natural resources through Egypt.

Yet the visibility of Russia’s interest in Egypt should not mask its efforts to increase its relationships with other North African countries. The many diplomatic exchanges with this region—including Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov’s recent visit to Tunisia, Algeria, and Morocco in late January 2019—are one clear indicator of Russia’s interest in rapprochement with these countries. They also reaffirm the Russian approach of filling strategic vacuums; recent Russian attitudes appear designed to exploit American indecision as to its role in the region.

Consequently, the Russian strategy involves a great deal of pragmatism. In particular, Russia maintains a policy of ‘positive neutrality’ on key issues for North African states, especially in regards to the issue of Western Sahara. This issue of disputed sovereignty has constituted a flashpoint between Morocco and Algeria and has constituted the main reason for tension between the two countries for over forty years. Yet direct negotiations between Morocco and the Polisario Front held in December 2018 in Geneva—the first in six years—and the promise upcoming talks in 2019 have put a new spotlight on the issue, and Russia appears eager to use potential movement to strengthen its relationship with both Morocco and Algeria.

On the one hand, Moscow has continued to promote its bilateral cooperation sessions with Algeria, which began in the 1950s; Russia is Algerian’s main supplier of weaponry and consistently expresses support for the Algerian regime. And while an economic partnership between Moscow and Algeria is still rocky and has not reached the desired level compared to Algeria’s other economic partners, such as France, Lavrov emphasized an interest in strengthening economic ties through that month's ninth annual Algerian-Russian Joint Economic Commission during his recent visit to Algeria.

Thus, the Russian position on the Western Sahara issue has historically been in line with Algeria. In addition to its longstanding relations with Algeria, Moscow enjoys warm relations with the Polisario Front, which has welcomed Moscow’s role in mediating between the different parties in the conflict and in holding additional leverage against Morocco if necessary.

However, Morocco has also recently recognized the role Russia can play both in mediating this issue and on a broader level regionally. In response, the monarchy has recently attempted to play off the conflicting interests between Washington and Moscow in order to gain greater support from Russia for issues of national importance, including for its claim of sovereignty in the Western Sahara.

Rabat believes that it is in its interests to get a sense of the Russian position for the direct negotiations under the auspices of the UN Secretary-General, and to convince the Russian side of the Moroccan position. Meanwhile, Moscow wishes to remain neutral and support the UN actions and decisions that balance the interests of all sides of the conflict. This is consistent with Russia’s beliefs that both Algeria and Morocco can serve as key strategic partners, and with whom Moscow has signed consecutive agreements for strategic partnerships.

The Russian rapprochement with Morocco is reflective of a broader shift in the regional dynamics at play in the Middle East and North Africa. Specifically, the fluctuating positions of the Trump’s administration on both the Sahara conflict and relations with Morocco writ large has left Rabat uncharacteristically wary of American policy. The United States’ failure to appoint a new ambassador to Rabat along with the appointment of John Bolton to head the US National Security Council—seen by Moroccan policy circles as a ‘hawk’ not in line with Moroccan views on regional issues—have only added to tensions in the relationship.

As a result, Morocco is no longer convinced that the United States will deal with the Western Sahara issue in a neutral manner, which is what has led Morocco diplomats to consider a Russian partnership that could offer some openings and ways out of the artificial conflict over Western Sahara. In return, the Russian side is pushing to expand the economic relationship between the two countries quickly, with a focus on Russian arms deals and a diversification of imports and exports between the two markets.

There is no doubt that Moscow has a number of larger driving forces pushing it towards North Africa as part of what appears to be a grand strategy to compete over spheres of influence and new economic markets. Russia can sidestep exclusion by the United States and Europe due to its policies in the Balkan region and its decisive role in the Syria conflict by looking for new partnerships and alliances with African countries, or at least to gain votes in the UN General Assembly and extend its successful policy of rapprochement with the Arab world. These pragmatic arguments also appear to be bolstered by a nostalgia for Russia’s lost role in the North African region and a recognition of the effective investment policies of other powers.

Russia cannot compete with China when it comes to providing commodities and products to North African countries. On the other hand, Russia can provide weapons in exchange for contracts and deals for oil drilling, resource extraction, and building civilian nuclear reactors in Morocco, Algeria, and especially Egypt. Moscow also wants to institutionalize an economic strategy that would allow Russia to open markets for selling Russian products, especially arms, and offering investments in the Russian private sector.

There are also messages that Russia has tried to give to North African leaders that go beyond expressing a return to being regional force in North Africa. These messages reveal Moscow’s explicit intentions to compete with the EU in promising attractive investment options, carrying out energy projects, and signing an increasing number of contracts and arms deals, as well as building nuclear reactors, diversifying imports and exports from North Africa, and establishing Russian military bases to monitor the southern Mediterranean region.

Despite its ambitions, Russia’s current role may perhaps be limited to competing with Western powers to carve out an assertive geostrategic position. Moreover, within the grand scope of Russian foreign policy, North Africa remains a marginal issue relative to its recent interest in expanding influence in Eastern Europe and in Central Asia.

Moreover, Russia has encountered obstacles that have impeded its ambitions and strategies in North Africa and may face more depending on whether regional dynamics shift. Western powers continue to treat Russia as a regional actor rather than a major world power, despite Russia’s efforts to influence foreign policy-making on a global scale. And since its current policy in North Africa relies on exploiting uncertainty in existing alliances among North African countries and Western powers in the aftermath of the Arab Spring, focused U.S. reengagement with North Africa could significantly hamper Russia’s efforts. Thus, it is still too early to predict the ramifications of an increased Russian presence in North Africa, and the situation is likely to evolve in 2019.

Customize your RSS Feed