أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الاستفتاء الفلسطيني الجديد يكشف وجهة نظر "التريّث والترقّب" لخطة السلام الخاصة بترامب


متاح أيضاً في English

29 تموز/يوليو 2019

يُظهر استفتاءٌ جديد قام به "المركز الفلسطيني لاستطلاع الرأي" في 27 حزيران/يونيو-19 تموز/يوليو أن أغلبية الفلسطينيين في الضفة الغربية وغزة يعارضون رفض قياداتهم الاستباقي لخطة السلام الخاصة بإدارة ترامب – رغم الاستنكار الشعبي الواسع الانتشار للرئيس الأمريكي الحالي. وتُظهر الدراسة الاستقصائية أيضًا ارتفاعًا هائلًا في نسبة الأشخاص الذين يؤيّدون تعزيز الدور في عملية صنع السلام للدول العربية. لكن على وجه التحديد، لا تُعرِب إلا أقلية من الأشخاص عن موقفٍ إيجابي تجاه ورشة العمل الاقتصادية الإقليمية التي جرت في حزيران/يونيو في البحرين، ويقول الكثيرون إنهم لم يسمعوا أو يقرؤوا عنها بشكلٍ كافٍ.

 

ما يثير الدهشة، نظرًا إلى التعليقات الفلسطينية الرسمية والإعلامية السلبية جدًّا على خطة السلام الخاصة بترامب، هو أن ثلث عامة الشعب فحسب سواء في الضفة الغربية أو غزة يوافقون على أن "السلطة الفلسطينية" "يجب أن ترفضها الآن". وبالأحرى، تدافع نسبة أكبر منهم عن وجوب اتخاذ موقف مدروس أكثر: فيقول حوالى الربع في كل إقليم إن "’السلطة الفلسطينية‘ يجب ألا ترفض الخطة، حتى لا تكون إسرائيل قادرة على الاستفادة" من ذلك؛ ويقول ربعٌ آخر إن "’السلطة الفلسطينية‘ يجب أن تنظر في الخطة عندما تصدر رسميًّا، قبل اتخاذ أي موقف إزاءها". وفي الضفة الغربية، يقرّ 23 في المئة أنهم أيضًا "لم يسمعوا أو يقرؤوا كفاية" عن خطة السلام للتجرّؤ على إبداء رأيٍ بشأنها. وبين الغزّاويين، يبلغ هذا الرقم 12 في المئة فحسب.

علاوةً على ذلك، في ما يخص المسألة ذات الصلة المتعلقة بالدفع الأمريكي تجاه توسيع نطاق الدور العربي في عملية صنع السلام الإقليمية، أظهر الرأي العام الفلسطيني تحوّلًا إيجابيًّا حادًّا منذ الاستفتاء السابق في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018. فاليوم، يوافق 61 في المئة من سكّان الضفة الغربية، بالإضافة إلى نسبة مذهلة من الغزّاويين تبلغ 86 في المئة، على أن "الدول العربية يجب أن تتخذ دورًا ناشطًا أكثر في عملية صنع السلام الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية، مع تقديم حافز إلى كلا الطرفيْن من أجل اتخاذ مواقف أكثر اعتدالًا". وفي العام الماضي، لم يوافق سوى حوالى نصف الفلسطينيين على تلك الفكرة.

مع ذلك، في ما يخص السؤال المحدد المتعلق بورشة العمل الاقتصادية الإقليمية التي جرت في 25-27 حزيران/يونيو في البحرين، يسيطر الرأي السلبي إزاءها على آراء عامة الشعب الفلسطيني. فلا يظن سوى 30 في المئة من الغزّاويين، ومجرّد 14 في المئة من سكّان الضفة الغربية، أن التجمع كان "فكرة جيّدة". ويدعوها نصف عدد السكان تقريبًا في كل إقليم "فكرة سيّئة". لكن تقول نسبة مرتفعة بشكلٍ مدهش من سكّان الضفة الغربية تبلغ 40 في المئة، و19 في المئة من الغزّاويين، إنهم لم يسمعوا أو يقرؤوا كفاية عن ورشة عمل البحرين لتقديم رأيٍ بشأنها – ربما، على الأقل في بعض الحالات، لأنهم يمتنعون عن مناقضة المعارضة الرسمية التي تُبديها "السلطة الفلسطينية" وحركة "حماس" إزاءها.

 

في ما يتعلق بالمسألة الأوسع نطاقًا حول العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة، تدعم أغلبية صغيرة فحسب (56 في المئة) من سكّان الضفة الغربية مقاطعة "السلطة الفلسطينية" بشكلٍ رسمي لإدارة ترامب. وهذا الرقم أدنى بعد لدى الغزّاويين، إذ يبلغ 40 في المئة. كذلك، عندما سؤِل الناس عن لائحة من الأولويات المحتملة لسياسة الولايات المتحدة، لم يختر سوى 32 في المئة من سكان الضفة الغربية، ومجرّد 12 في المئة من الغزّاويين، "البقاء بعيدًا عن شؤون الفلسطينيين وشؤون الشرق الأوسط معًا".

هذه الآراء المعتدلة بشكلٍ غير متوقّع إزاء السياسة الأمريكية الحالية لا تقابلها مواقف إيجابية إزاء الرئيس ترامب شخصيًّا. ففي الواقع، لا يُبدي إلا 8 في المئة من سكان الضفة الغربية، و11 في المئة من الغزّاويين، رأيًا "جيدًا كفاية" بشأنه. وبالمقارنة، يحصل ولي العهد السعودي الأمير محمد بن سلمان على تصنيفٍ جيّد من 22 في المئة من سكان الضفة الغربية و38 في المئة من الغزاويين. ويتقدّم الرئيس التركي أردوغان حتى الآن على المجموعة: فيمنحه جزءٌ ملحوظٌ من عامة الناس الفلسطينيين يبلغ ثلاثة أرباعهم في كلا الضفة الغربية وغزة تصنيفًا إيجابيًّا.

 

تم التوصل إلى هذه النتائج من خلال دراسة استقصائية قائمة على المقابلة الشخصية لعيّنات تمثيلية تتألف من 500 شخص من سكّان الضفة الغربية و500 من سكّان غزّة، وقد أُجريَت الدراسة باستخدام تقنيات الاحتمال الجغرافي المعيارية في كل إقليم. وتُوظّف شركة الاستفتاء الفلسطينية محترفين محليين يتمتعون بمستوًى عالٍ من التدريب والخبرة، مع ضوابط جودة متقدمة تستخدم مُدخِلات استجابة محوسبة في الوقت الفعلي مع رصد دقيق من "النظام العالمي لتحديد المواقع"، وضمانات صارمة للسرّيّة. وسبق أن أشرف الكاتب شخصيًّا على تصميم العيّنات والعمل الميداني وطرق معالجة البيانات لديهم وأقرّها. ويبلغ هامش الخطأ الإحصائي في كل إقليم تقريبًا أربعة في المئة. أما التفاصيل المنهجية الإضافية فهي جاهزة ومُتاحة عند الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

New Palestinian Poll Reveals “Wait and See” View of Trump Peace Plan


Also available in العربية

July 29, 2019

A new poll by the Palestine Center for Public Opinion, taken June 27-July 19, indicates that the majority of Palestinians in the West Bank and Gaza oppose their leaderships’ preemptive rejection of the Trump administration’s peace plan—despite widespread popular disapproval of the current U.S. president. The survey also shows a dramatic rise in the proportion supporting an enhanced role in peacemaking for the Arab states. More specifically, however, only a minority voice a favorable attitude toward the June regional economic workshop in Bahrain, with many saying they have not heard or read enough about it.

Surprisingly, given the very negative Palestinian official and media commentary on the Trump peace plan, only one-third of respondents in either the West Bank or Gaza agree that the Palestinian Authority “should reject it now.” Instead, a larger percentage advocate a more measured position: around one-quarter in each territory say “the PA should not reject the plan, so Israel won’t be able to take advantage” of that; and an additional one-quarter say “the PA should look at the plan when it is officially released, before taking any position on it.” In the West Bank, 23% admit they too “haven’t heard or read enough” about the peace plan to venture an opinion about it. Among Gazans, the comparable figure is just 12%.

Moreover, on the related issue of the U.S. push for a broader Arab role in regional peacemaking, Palestinian public opinion has taken a sharply positive turn since the previous poll in October 2018. Today, 61% of West Bank respondents, and an astonishing 86% of those in Gaza, agree that “Arab states should take a more active role in Palestinian-Israeli peacemaking, offering both sides incentive to take more moderate positions.” Last year, only about half agreed with that idea.

Nevertheless, on the specific question of the June 25-27 regional economic workshop in Bahrain, the Palestinian public seems to have a predominantly unfavorable view. Just 30% of respondents in Gaza, and a mere 14% in the West Bank, think that gathering was “a good idea.” Around half in each territory call it “a bad idea.” But an extraordinarily high 40% of West Bankers, and 19% of Gazans, say they haven’t heard or read enough about the Bahrain workshop to offer an opinion about it—perhaps, at least in some cases, because they are reluctant to contradict the official PA and Hamas opposition to it.

On the broader question of relations with the United States, only a narrow majority (56%) of West Bank respondents support the PA’s official boycott of the Trump administration. Among Gazans, that figure is even lower, at 40%. Similarly, when asked about a list of possible priorities for U.S. policy, just 32% of West Bankers and a mere 12% of Gazans pick “stay out of Palestinian and Middle East affairs altogether.”

These unexpectedly moderate views of current U.S. policy are not matched by favorable attitudes toward President Trump personally. In fact, only 8% of West Bank respondents and 11% of Gazans express even a “fairly good” opinion of him. By comparison, Saudi Arabia’s Crown Prince Muhammed bin Salman gets a good rating from 22% of West Bankers and 38% of Gazans. And Turkey’s President Recep Tayyip Erdogan leads the pack by far: a remarkable three-quarters of Palestinian respondents in both territories credit him with a favorable rating.

METHODOLOGY

These findings are from a personal interview survey with representative samples of 500 West Bankers and 500 Gazans, conducted using standard geographic probability techniques in each territory. The Palestinian polling company employs highly trained and experienced local professionals, with advanced quality controls using computerized real-time response inputs with precise GPS monitoring, and strict assurances of confidentiality. Previously, their sample design, fieldwork, and data processing methods have been personally supervised and approved by the author. The statistical margin of error in each territory is approximately 4%. Additional methodological details are readily available on request.

Customize your RSS Feed