أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الأسد ليس حامي الكنيسة


متاح أيضاً في English

17 أيار/مايو 2019

أصبح خطاب الكراهية الذي مررته جماعات تلعب على المشاعر الدينية والفقر والحاجات بمثابة خطر حقيقي لا يتهدد المنطقة فحسب، بل وصل خطره إلى مدن أوروبية وأميركية، حيث باتت أفكار "داعش" الهلامية، قادرة في عصر الإنترنت على اختراق عقول الشاب، بغض النظر عن موقعهم، لتدفعه لتبنى أفكار متطرفة وارتكاب أفظع الجرائم وقتل الأبرياء. ومع ذلك، ما زالت شعوب المنطقة تواجه مجموعة قاتمة من البدائل ليس اقلها هي نجاح " داعش" في كسب أكبر موطئ قدم في سوريا.

كشابة تنتمي إلى أحد الأقليات السورية، وهي جماعة سريانية لها لغتها ودينها وثقافتها المستقلة، انتهى الأمر بنا بأن أصبحنا مجتمعاً نازحاً، بعد أن اجتاحت "داعش" الشمال السوري، ما اضطرنا إلى النزوح من أرضنا خشية التعرض للقتل والاضطهاد.  لقد تحققت تلك المخاوف عندما اختطف “داعش" أكثر من 220 سرياني آشوري وخاصة الفتيات، من منطقتي شمال شرق الحسكة. كان جند الأسد لا يبعدون عن مكان الحادثة سوى بضعة كيلومترات ولم يفعلوا شيئا لأجل هؤلاء الفتيات. كان هذا مثالا واحدا على الإهمال المتعمد من جانب النظام للإرهاب، حيث كان تمدد "داعش" بمثابة الذريعة الأساسية التي أبقت على نظام الأسد، والذي يدعى انه يحمى سوريا فقط عندما يكون هناك تهديد قائم من قبل "داعش".

لقد وصلت إلى الولايات المتحدة الامريكية، بعد أن عشت في عدة مدن غربية من العالم أثر هروبي من الاعتقال الذي ذقته في سجون الأسد. وعلى الرغم من إقامتي في عدد من المواقع المختلفة، إلا أنني أضع أميركا في مكانة مختلفة ومميزة، حيث أننى أؤمن بالقيم الامريكية، وتواجدي هنا أعطاني الأمل في الإنسانية. وأصبح لدى حياه جديدة هنا، حيث يمكنني تجربة المساواة والحرية والفردانية والقدرة على الأبداع وتحمل المسؤولية، وهو ما يستحيل وجوده في سوريا. وربما كنت سأكون إنسان بقدرات شبه معطلة في بلادي سوريا، وهذا ما يدفعني للتفكير دائماً بمصير من تركتهم خلفي وخاصة بعد معرفتي بحجم التأثير الأميركي الكبير والهائل على المنطقة، وقدرة هذا التأثير على دعم القيم الامريكية الحقيقية التي تتسم بالتسامح والتنوع.

وفى حين كان الأسد يشدد قبضته على سوريا ويوجه قواته إلى إدلب، بدأ أنصاره في تدوين قصص جديدة لتبرير حكمه، ونسج روايات مشوهه حول “التسامح الديني" تحت حكمه. ورغم الجرائم التي ارتكبها الأسد في حق شعبه، إلا أن مؤيدوه صاروا يغزلون بعض القصص حول تربيته ونشأته، وذلك للدلالة على "إنسانيته " و "تسامحه" و "انفتاحه على الأخر"، كما ادعوا أن هذه الصفات تعود إلى نشأته وتعليمه، حيث كان الأسد يتردد في شبابه على دير صيدنايا وتربى على أيدي راهبات الدير.

في الواقع، امتلك كل من الأسد الأب والأسد الابن إرث شديد القتامة من حيث مقاربتهما للدين، حيث كانوا يمنعون على المسلم أن يطلق لحيته، أو أن يبدي أي مظهر من مظاهر التدين علانية، فهذا وحده كان كفيل بحشو السجون بالمتدينين، والذي خرجوا فجأة من السجون لينضموا للجماعات المتطرفة مثل تنظيم “داعش"، و "جيش الإسلام"، والنصرة" و "استقم كما أمرت" و "نور الدين الزنكي". وبالتالي، وحتى لو اعتقد المرء أن الأسد هو "صديق للكنيسة"، يجب أن نتذكر أنه كان سعيدًا بإخضاع المتدينين بسبب معتقداتهم، وقمع وجميع السوريين الذين لديهم الرغبة في أن يكونوا أحرارًا.

لسوء الحظ ، عززت كل من الولايات المتحدة ودول الغرب في البداية رواية النظام حول "التسامح" ، حيث لعب الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية دورا كبيرا في ترسيخ حكم الأسد، حيث باركت تولى الشاب الأسد لمنصب رئيس الجمهوري السورية خلفا لأبيه في عام 2000، وأرسلت مادلين أولبرايت، وزيرة الخارجية للمشاركة في عملية التنصيب، إذ قالت مادلين أولبرايت أبان تنصيبه أنها متفائلة بشاب "عصر الأنترنت". وتم الترويج للأسد في الولايات المتحدة على انه متسامح وتقدمي، ما مكنه من أن يصبح وريثاً شرعياً لأبيه في دولة حكمها جمهوري. كما نجح الأسد أيضا بحملته حول التسامح في جلب (جون كيري) وكان وزيراً للخارجية إلى سوريا، وكان الأسد ماض ومتحمس لهذه النقلة الغربية، وإعجابهم بالرئيس السوري (المودرن) الذي أخذ الصحفيون الفرنسيون يأخذون الصور الرومانسية له ولزوجته في أحياء باريس.

وعلى الرغم من استمرار من محاولات الأسد لتحسين صورته بعد اندلاع الثورة السورية ومحاولته إقناع الغرب بان الإرهاب والتطرف سيكون البديل لحكمه اذا ما تمت الإطاحة به ، إلا أن الصورة النمطية التي حاول الأسد ترويجها  حول تسامحه وتقدميته في الغرب  لم تدم طويلاً، فمع اندلاع الثورة السورية في عام 2011، وبعد فشل النظام السوري في السيطرة على حراك الشارع، واستخدام  الأسلحة الكيماوية ضد شعبه، أعلنت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أنها تساند ثورة الشعب السوري وطالبت برحيل الأسد، وقررت  تقديم الدعم للجيش الحر في الشمال السوري لاحتوائه عسكريا وماليا.

ما أسهل وأكثر تهم التطرف التي تلقى اليوم في منطقتنا، بينما الحل للمنطقة يكمن في تيقن الحكومات الغربية خطورة الحلول الترقيعية التي هجرت المسيحيين في بلد الأسد الذي بات مؤيديه يطلقون عليه (حامي الأقليات). لذلك، بإمكان الولايات المتحدة أن تؤمن بأن القمع ليس حلاً لمكافحة التطرف، لأن التطرف يصبح في خدمة المستبد (الأسد) حين لا يجد حلول أمام شعبه حين يبدأ بالتفكير بحقوقه.

لجاء نظام الأسد الأب سابقا إلى استخدام الأدوات الدينية المتطرفة والمدمرة، حيث استغل الدين محلياً لتعزيز الترهيب والقمع، بينما يستخدم الأسد الابن الكنائس كستار للتخفي، والاختباء بجرائمه ضد الشعب السوري خلف الصلبان. ومع القليل من العناية والتأمل في وجوه الشباب ضحايا الاضطهاد، ومع القليل من الاعتبار لماضيهم، ستجدهم مؤمنين بقيم الحرية الفردية والشخصية وحرية التعبير والإبداع والسعي لتحقيق السعادة، والنجاح والسلام والاعتراف بالشعوب المختلفة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Assad Is Not a Protector of the Church


Also available in العربية

May 17, 2019

The hate speech of groups that play on religious sentiments, poverty, and need has become a real threat not only to the region but also to European and American cities. In the age of the internet, ISIS’s gelatinous ideas are able to penetrate the minds of young people regardless of location–motivating them to adopt radical thinking and to perpetrate the most horrendous crimes. Nevertheless, the peoples of the region face a grim selection of governance alternatives, not least where ISIS gained its largest foothold—Syria.

As a young woman who belongs to a Syrian minority group—a Syriac group with an independent language, religion, and culture—I ended up as part of a community of displaced persons when ISIS invaded northern Syria. We were forced to vacate our land for fear of killing and persecution. These fears were realized when ISIS abducted over 220 Syriac-Assyrians, especially girls, from my region of northeastern Al-Hasaka,.. Assad's soldiers were only a few kilometers from the scene; they did nothing to help these girls. This was just one instance of the regime’s intentional neglect of terrorism—the expansion of ISIS was the fundamental pretext upholding the Assad regime. Only while the ISIS threat existed could Assad claim he protected against it.

However, it is imperative to remember that there are alternative ways of living. After detention in Assad’s prisons, I escaped and traveled to a number of Western cities, finally arriving in America. And despite living in a number of different locations, I attach a distinct status to the United States. I believe in America’s ideals—being here has given me hope for humanity. I have a new life here, where I can experience equality, freedom, and individuality in ways that were impossible in Syria. There, my potential would have been lost. This reality motivates me to reflect on the fate of those I left behind, especially given my current knowledge of the magnitude of American influence on the region and its potential to encourage the true American values of tolerance and diversity.

As Assad tightens his grip on Syria and directs his troops to Idlib, his supporters have begun to spin new stories to justify the regime, presenting a distorted narrative of ‘religious tolerance’ under his rule. Despite the crimes he has committed against his people, his supporters are now expounding on his ‘tolerance’ and ‘openness to the other,’ and claim that these traits date back to his upbringing and education. According to these stories, Assad frequented the Saidnaya Monastery as a youth and was educated by the nuns of the monastery.

In fact, both Assad the father and Assad the son have had a much darker legacy in terms of their approach to religion. Both barred Muslims from letting their beards grow or from showing any public manifestation of religiosity. This ban guaranteed that Syria’s prisons were filled with religious people, jailed for expressing their beliefs. Ironically, prisons were a point of radicalization, and some who were unexpectedly released during the war joined extremist groups such as ISIS, Jaysh al-Islam, Nusra, Fastaqim Kama Umirt Union, and Nour al-Din al-Zenki. Thus, even if one believes that Assad is a ‘friend of the church,’ it must be remembered that he has been happy to subjugate religious people for their beliefs and all Syrians for their desire to be free.

Unfortunately, the regime’s narrative of ‘tolerance’ was initially bolstered by U.S. and Western legitimation. The U.S. government played a major role in consolidating Bashar Assad’s rule when it blessed the younger Assad’s succession after his father’s death in 2000. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright participated in the inauguration ceremony, where she said that she was optimistic about Assad the younger in the “age of the internet.” Back in the United States, the new Syrian ruler was promoted as being tolerant and progressive, which helped solidify his image as legitimate heir to his father and the republic. Assad succeeded in drawing Secretary of State John Kerry to Syria, was keen and enthusiastic about this Western attention and his image as a “modern” Syrian president, with French photographers taking romantic photos of him and his wife in Paris neighborhoods.

Since the outbreak of the Syrian revolution, Assad has consistently attempted to improve his image in the West, arguing that terrorism and extremism would be the only alternative to his rule while attempting to project an image of tolerance. Of course, the regime’s failure to control the protests against it and its use of chemical weapons against its own people should have decisively condemned that narrative, and yet it continues to gain traction in some circles. And the United States recognized this reality, announcing its support for the Syrian people’s revolution, demanding Assad’s ouster, and supporting the Free Syrian Army in northern Syria militarily and financially to contain Assad.

How much easier and more frequent it is today to hurl charges of extremism in our region. In fact, the solution to extremism lies in part in convincing Western governments of the danger of patchwork solutions that expel Christians from the country of Bashar, whose supporters call him the “protector of minorities.” It is imperative that the United States operates on the understanding that repression is not a solution to combating extremism. Rather, extremism is now in the service of the tyrant, Assad, and will become a tool for him to fall back on when he cannot find solutions for his people when they once again ask for their rights.

Assad the father resorted to the use of extremist and destructive religious tools, exploiting religion locally to promote intimidation and repression. Assad the son is now using Syrian churches as a veil to disguise and conceal behind crosses his crimes against the Syrian people. With a little care and contemplation of the faces of the young victims of this oppression, and a little consideration of their past, you will find them believers in the values of individual and personal freedom, freedom of expression, creativity, the pursuit of happiness, success, peace, and recognition of different peoples.

It is thus the powerful and creative aspects of his country that are Assad’s ultimate enemy. How much is contained in the sayings of Jesus Christ about what is happening in our days in the name of his religion, which originally gave precedence to the enemy over the friend, the poor over to the rich, and the weak over the strong: “My house is a house of prayer, and you have made it a den of thieves!”

Customize your RSS Feed