أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

العراق بحاجة إلى رئيس وزراء جديد


متاح أيضاً في English

23 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020

اتسمت المظاهرات التي اندلعت في العراق في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر 2019 بالعفوية والجماهيرية والتميز في التعبير عن المطالب، وغياب كامل للأحزاب السياسية، حيث ساهم في تحريكها ناشطون مدنيون يستخدمون وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للتعبير عن رأيهم ومطالبهم الشعبية بلا توجيه من أي أحزاب سياسية.

ومع ذلك، واجهت الحكومة العراقية تلك الاحتجاجات بالقمع والقتل والاختطاف والاختفاء القسري، وقامت بقطع وسائل الاتصال والأنترنت والتعتيم الإعلامي بشكل دوري، كما استهدفت القوات المدعومة من قبل إيران الصحفيين على وجه الخصوص بعد نشرهم تقارير تغطى الاحتجاجات. 

ونتيجة العنف المتزايد، سقط ما يعادل 500 قتيل عراقي وآلاف الجرحى، مما دفع عبد المهدى إلى تقديم استقالته في التاسع والعشرون من تشرين الثاني /نوفمبر الماضي. والآن، أصبح العراق عالق في مأزق سياسي، وقد زاد هذا المشهد تعقيدًا بعد مقتل قاسم سليماني في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر. ويبدو أن سليماني كان يسعى للبحث عن وجوه جديدة تكون ذات قبول جماهيري وذات ولاء لإيران وأجندتها المستقبلية في المنطقة. وبالطبع، لا تمثل استقالة عبد المهدى الحل النهائي للازمة ولا تلبي مطالب المحتجين في العراق. ومع بداية التصعيد الأخير في العراق بين إيران والولايات المتحدة، برزت أهمية القيادة السياسة في العراق.

وفى حين انتهى دور عبد المهدي من الناحية العملية، إلا انه يحاول حاليًا دعوة الأحزاب السياسية السنية والكردية في العراق لدعم تمديد فترة ولايته. وفى ظل هذه الظروف، سعى البرلمان العراقي لإيجاد مرشحين جدد لشغل منصب رئيس الوزراء دون جدوى، وهو ما قد يدعم إعادة انتخاب المهدي كرئيس للوزراء مرة أخرى، وذلك رغم من استقالته قبل شهرين تقريبًا.

وليس من المستغرب أن تتخلى النخب السياسية العراقية عن البحث عن قائد جديد، حيث أن تشكيل حكومة جديدة في العراق خلال العقدين الماضيين قد أظهر أنه واحد من أصعب المهام التي يمكن القيام بها هناك. فعلى سبيل المثال، دامت عملية تشكيل الحكومة في عام 2010 حوالي ثمانية أشهر حتى جاء اتفاق أربيل والذي تمخض عنه حكومة جديدة. وبالنظر إلى مستوى الخلاف الكبير بين التيارات السياسية العراقية، فمن المستبعد جداً أن تتمكن الفصائل السياسية خلال تلك الفترة من التوصل إلى اتفاق بشأن انتخاب رئيس وزراء جديد، وهو ما قد يودي بالبلاد إلى حالة من الفراغ الدستوري.

أن المخرج الحالي المتاح للعراق هو تكليف شخصية وطنية تتمتع بقبول جماهيري وغير منتمية لأي حزب سياسي، بتشكيل حكومة انتقالية تعمل على إضعاف النفوذ الإيراني هناك. وبالطبع يتطلب ذلك الأخذ بمبادئ الشفافية والكشف عن الأعمال التي تقوم بها المليشيات التابعة لإيران وفضحها.

إن حقيقة استمرار الاحتجاجات في العراق لا تظهر أي علامات على التراجع، بل على العكس، تدل على ضرورة استمرار عملية الإصلاح السياسي في العراق بدلاً من السماح للأحداث الدولية بالضغط من أجل الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن والإبقاء على النظام السياسي في العراق. تصاعدت الاحتجاجات في العراق خلال الأسبوعين الماضيين بعد أن أدرك المحتجين أن مطالبهم بإجراء إصلاحات سياسية حقيقية بحلول 19 كانون الثاني/ يناير لم تسفر عن أي نتائج ملموسة. ومع ذلك، فتح عام 2020 الباب أمام احتمال زيادة حالة عدم الاستقرار السياسي في العراق.

ومن المرجح أن تؤدي حالة عدم الاستقرار السياسي هذه إلى استمرار الاحتجاجات التي قد تواجهها الحكومة بمستوى اعلى من العنف مرة أخرى. وفى حين عبرت الجماعات السنية في العراق إلى حد كبير عن تضامنها مع الاحتجاجات وفضلت البقاء خارج الشوارع حتى لا توصم الاحتجاجات بانها "سنية"، إلا أن حالة الإحباط المتزايد في أوساط السنة في العراق قد يدفعهم للانضمام للمحتجين والتركيز بشكل خاص على مواجهة الوكلاء المدعومون من قبل إيران في العراق. وفي نهاية المطاف، قد تصطدم العشائر والجماعات السنية في العراق بشكل مباشر مع المليشيات الموالية لإيران والموجودة على أراضيها. وفى حال حدوث هذا السيناريو ونجح المحتجين في تنظيم وتوحيد صفوفهم، لن يقوى النظام على هذه المواجهة وبالتالي سيتداعى ويسقط.

لذلك، إذا لم يتبني المحتجين خطة سياسية وطنية واضحة للإصلاح تحظى بدعم كل فئات الشعب العراقي، فمن المتوقع أن تختطف ثورتهم. ولنا في ثورات الربيع العربي عبرة، حيث نجحت الثورات في إسقاط الأنظمة، لكنها اختطفت من قبل المؤسسة العسكرية.

والان، وبعد مقتل سليماني، يبدو أن إيران قد خسرت شعبيتها وأصبحت قدرتها على إعادة هيكلة الحكومة العراقية حسب رغبتها غير مؤكدة. ومن ثم، وفي حالة استمرار الاحتجاجات، قد تسعى القوى السياسية إلى التنسيق مع عسكرين فاسدين لإجراء انقلاب شكلي يحافظ على النظام السياسي الحالي ويجري بعض التعديلات الشكلية، وهو سيناريو محتمل في ظل وجود قيادات عسكرية فسادة، وجيش مخترق من قبل الأحزاب الإسلامية الموالية لإيران.

تثير تلك التحديات التي تواجه العراق تساؤلات حول ما يمكن أن تفعله الولايات المتحدة لضمان عودة العراق للمسار الديمقراطي الصحيح الذي كان مخطط له في الأصل. وقد تم اتخاذ العديد من الإجراءات المتعلقة بالتواجد الأمريكي المستمر في العراق، خاصة بعد  التصويت غير الملزم الذي قام به البرلمان العراقي لإنهاء الوجود الأمريكي في العراق. وفى هذا الصدد، لعبت الولايات المتحدة دوراً عميقاً في تشكيل النظام السياسي الحالي للعراق، حيث سعت لتغير النظام الدكتاتوري وتشكيل نظام ديمقراطي، لكن محاولاتها لتحقيق ذلك قد باءت بالفشل، لذلك، يجب أن تعمل الولايات المتحدة على تصحيح تلك الإخفاقات.

وحتى يتسنى للولايات المتحدة القيام بدورها في العراق على أكمل وجه، يجب عليها أن تدرك أنها تتشارك قضية واحدة وأهداف مشتركة مع المحتجين العراقيين، وفي مقدمتها تحجيم النفوذ الإيراني في العراق. وكما ذكرنا أعلاه، تشكل القوات العسكرية المدعومة من قبل إيران أحد أكبر التهديدات التي تواجه حركة الاحتجاجات، ولذا يتعين على الولايات المتحدة العمل على تأمين شراكتها مع القوات العراقية الوطنية. وفى الوقت الذي تسعى فيه إيران إلى طرد القوات الأمريكية بشكل كامل من العراق من خلال وكلائها، يجب على الولايات المتحدة ألا تنحني لتلك الضغوط التي تبدو وكأنها ضغوط عراقية إلا أنها في حقيقة الأمر محاولات إيرانية لتأمين هيمنتها على دولة مستقلة مثل العراق. وفى هذا الصدد يجب أن تدرك واشنطن أن القضاء على النفوذ الإيراني وإضعاف وكلائها في المنطقة لن يتأتى إذا ما نجحت إيران في بسط سيطرتها على العراق واتخاذه قاعدة لزعزعة الاستقرار في المنطقة

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Iraq Needs a New Prime Minister


Also available in العربية

January 23, 2020

One of the remarkable things about the spontaneous mass protests in Iraq that initially erupted in October 2019 was the fact that these protesters articulated their demands without any input from or involvement of Iraq’s political parties. Instead, civil activists used social media to express opinions and expectations without directives from political leadership.

In fact, the involvement of Iraq’s political elite has been characterized by attempts to stifle the protests through killing, kidnapping, and ‘disappearing’ protesters. Aside from physical repression, the government has also periodically imposed media and internet blackouts, and Iraqi reporters in particular have been targeted by Iranian-backed proxy forces for reporting on the protests.

But this violence has backfired, and the approximately 500 Iraqi protesters killed, and the thousands more injured, forced Abdul-Mahdi to submit his resignation on November 29, 2019. Now, Iraq is caught in a political deadlock. This has been further complicated by the U.S. killing of Qassem Soleimani earlier this month, as it appeared that Qasem Soleimani was attempting to find new candidates for the position of prime minister loyal to Iran who would have been capable of winning popular approval in Iraq while continuing to support Iran’s future agenda for the region. Of course, Abdul-Mahdi’s resignation is not the ultimate end to the crisis, nor does his departure adequately address the protesters’ demands. And with the recent escalation in Iraq between Iran and the United States, the importance of leadership in Iraq has only become more clear.

And while Adel Abdul-Mahdi’s political role is technically ending, he is currently trying to appeal to Iraq’s Sunni and Kurdish political parties to support the extension of his tenure. Meanwhile, the Iraqi parliament has struggled to find a suitable successor, making it possible that Abdul-Mahdi will be re-elected into the role of Prime Minister despite his resignation almost two months ago.

It is not surprising that political elites are shying away from a new leader. The country’s great difficulties in forming a new government in the past two decades show just how difficult attempts at political reform have been in Iraq. For example, it took eight months of political deadlock in 2010 until the Erbil Agreement was reached, which finally resulted in a new government. Given the major divergences between different political currents in Iraq today, it would be very challenging for these disparate political elements to come to an agreement about the new prime minister in such a short period. But failing to find a new prime minister could plunge the country into a constitutional vacuum.

Moreover, Iraq is urgently in need of a new prime minister: someone who is popularly acceptable and who can guide Iraq through a period of transition where the Iranian role in Iraq is weakened. Much of this work requires a turn to transparency—revealing and publicizing the actions of Iranian–backed militia and their corrupt leaders inside of Iraq. 

The fact that the protests in Iraq show no signs of abating demonstrates the importance of continuing political reform in Iraq rather than allowing international events to push for maintaining the status quo of Iraq’s political system. In the past two weeks, protests have actually escalated as protesters’ demands for concrete reforms by January 19 have failed to produce results. However, 2020 has also opened the door to a new potential for increased political instability in Iraq.

For example, the protests could reach the point where the government again exercises major levels of violence against them. And while Sunni groups in Iraq have by and large expressed solidarity with the protests while remaining off of the streets in order prevent the protests from being characterized as a ‘Sunni’ effort, Sunnis may become increasingly frustrated and join the protesters, focusing specifically on the Iranian-backed proxies. There is ultimately the potential for Iraq’s Sunni tribes and groups to clash directly with the militia forces in their territory, which may allow the current protesters and new allies to succeed in unifying and organizing themselves. It would be unlikely that the current government could handle such a challenge and would instead crumble.

Yet if the protesters do not articulate a clear national political program for reforms that reach all sectors of Iraqi society, it is very possible for the revolution to be hijacked. The revolutions of the Arab Spring offer a cautionary tale in how revolutions can succeed in overthrowing the regime, and yet later be hijacked by the military.

Now that Iran has lost popularity, and with the death of Soleimani, Iran’s ability to restructure the Iraqi government to its liking is less assured. Even so, if the protests continue, political forces may try to coordinate with corrupt military institutions in order to carry out a bloodless coup that would allow the current political regime to maintain power by making some cosmetic changes. This scenario made more likely by the corrupt nature of most of Iraq’s military leadership and because Islamist parties loyal to Iran have penetrated the Iraqi army. 

These challenges facing Iraq raise the question of what the United States can do to ensure that Iraq returns to the original vision of a democratic Iraq. Much has been made of the United States’ continuing presence in Iraq, especially after the parliament’s non-binding vote to remove U.S. forces from the country, but America has played a deep role in shaping Iraq’s current political system as well. The United States’ overthrow of a dictatorial political system in Iraq and its attempts to create a democracy has led to numerous failures in the creation of a democratic state, and these failures must be corrected.

In order to do its part, the United States should recognize that it shares a common goal with Iraqi protesters in the reduction of Iranian influence inside Iraq. As mentioned above, one of the largest threats to the protest movement are military forces loyal to Iran, and so the United States must work to secure its partnership with nationalist Iraqi forces. Iran would like nothing better than for its proxies to push the United States out of Iraq entirely, and so the United States must not bow to this pressure, which while under the guise of Iraqis is really an Iranian attempt to secure its hegemony over another independent state. Washington must shape its commitment to Iraq with the understanding that eliminating Iranian influence and weakening its proxies in the region cannot happen if Iran succeeds in extending their control over Iraq.

Customize your RSS Feed