أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

في مصر، لا يزال ثلث الشعب يميل إلى جماعة "الإخوان المسلمين" ونصفه يصف العلاقات مع الولايات المتحدة بأنها "مهمة"


متاح أيضاً في English

10 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، 2018

كشفت نتائج جديدة لاستطلاع  رأي حصري موثوق عن مواقف شديدة  التباين سواء حيال توجه البلاد المحلّي أو حيال شركائه الخارجيين. لكن المصريين يتفقون عمومًا مع حكومتهم على عدّة قضايا رئيسية تتعلّق بالسياسة الخارجية. فنسبة 12 في المائة فقط تريد علاقات جيدة مع إيران, ونسبة أدنى حتى، أي 5 بالمئة فقط، لديها نظرة إيجابية حيال "حزب الله". وفي تناقض صارخ، تريد أغلبية ساحقة (71 في المئة) أن تضطلع الدول العربية بدور بنّاء في تعزيز الاتفاق الإسرائيلي – الفلسطيني.

وتشير نقطة البيانات التي تسترعي الاهتمام الأكبر في هذا الاستطلاع إلى أن 33 في المائة من المصريين المسلمين لا يزالون يعربون عن رأي "إيجابي نوعًا ما" حيال "الإخوان المسلمين" (بمن فيهم 6 في المائة لديهم "رأي إيجابي جدًّا" حيالها) وتبقى هذه هي الحال حتى رغم حظر الجماعة باعتبارها منظمة "إرهابية" وخضعت للذم المستمرّ من وسائل الإعلام خلال السنوات الخمس الماضية. ولم تتغير النسبة تقريبًا منذ الاستطلاعين السابقين في 2015 و2017.

علاوةً على ذلك, تتبنى النسبة نفسها من مسلمي مصر، أي الثلث، موقفًا إيجابيًا حيال حركة "حماس" التي تعتبر على نطاق واسع كفرع "الإخوان" الفلسطيني. وتساهم هذه النتائج، التي تختلف إلى حدّ كبير عن السياسات الرسمية، في شرح انشغال الحكومة المصرية بالاستقرار الداخلي وضبط الوضع فوق كل اعتبار. في الوقت نفسه، تشير إلى أن المعارضة الإسلامية العلنية لنظام الرئيس السيسي لن تحظى بدعم أغلبية الشعب.

لكن نسبة أكبر حتى من المصريين، حوالى النصف منهم، تعبر عن عدم رضاها عن السياسات الرسمية بشأن مجموعة من المسائل الداخلية الأخرى. فتقول 49 في المائة إن حكومتها لا تبذل جهدًا كافيًا لـ"خفض مستوى الفساد في حياتنا الاقتصادية والسياسية". وينطبق الأمر نفسه على "مشاركة أعباء الضرائب وغيرها من الموجبات تجاه الحكومة بطريقة عادلة"، حيث أن نسبة 48 في المائة ترى أن الجهد الرسمي المبذول غير مناسب. وتقول نسبة موازية تقريبًا، 43 في المئة، إن القاهرة مقصرة لجهة "حماية الحريات وخصوصية المواطنين".

وعلى نطاق أوسع، فإن الأغلبية الأكبر، أي 84 في المائة، توافق على أنه "في الوقت الراهن يعتبر الإصلاح الداخلي السياسي والاقتصادي أهم لبلدنا من أي قضية سياسة خارجية". وقد بقيت هذه النسبة على حالها مقارنة مع الاستطلاع السابق قبل عام. وتجلى الانعكاس على السياسة في أن استقرار مصر السياسي يعتمد أكثر على التطورات الداخلية أكثر من الخارجية، حتى إن كانت هذه الأخيرة تميل إلى الحصول على المزيد من تغطية وسائل الإعلام الخارجية وربما أيضًا على اهتمام رسمي.

وإنّ السؤال الوحيد المماثل المطروح حيث تقول الأكثرية (47 في المائة) إن السياسات الحكومية "تبدو صائبة" يتعلّق "بتعزيز الفرص والمساواة للنساء". في هذا الخصوص, يعتقد أكثر من ثلث المصريين بقليل، من المسلمين والمسيحيين على السواء، أن حكومتهم تبذل فعليًا "الكثير". وبشكل عام، تشير هذه النتائج إلى استياء شعبي ملحوظ من الادارة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والسياسية الداخلية. لكن مرة أخرى، يبقى عدم الرضا الشفهي أو المعارضة الصريحة  دون مستوى الأغلبية.

في المقابل, وفي ما يتعلّق بمسائل السياسة الخارجية المختارة، فالرأي العام يجد أن أداء الحكومة المصرية أفضل. فيعتبر نصف المصريين أن العلاقات الجيدة مع الولايات المتحدة "مهمة" لبلدهم. مع ذلك فإن رأي 7 في المائة فقط جيد إزاء الرئيس ترامب. وأقلية فقط، أي 18 في المائة، تقول إنها تفضل "أن تقلّص الولايات المتدة تدخلها في المنطقة".

على سبيل المقارنة، تقول نسبة أقل إلى حدٍّ ما (38 في المائة) إنّه من المهم أن يكون لمصر علاقات جيدة مع روسيا. وتعبّر نسبة 8 في المائة فقط عن نظرة إيجابية إزاء الرئيس بوتين، رغم الاتفاقات والاجتماعات الرفيعة المستوى. فضلاً عن ذلك، وبالنسبة إلى إيران، تتفق آراء الشعب مع موقف الحكومة العدائي: فقط 12 في المائة من المصريين يعتبرون أنه من "المهم إلى حدٍّ ما" أن يحافظ البلدان على روابط جيدة. ونسبة أقل هي 5 في المائة فحسب تعبّر عن ميل إلى "حزب الله" حليف إيران.

وعلى صعيد القضية العربية–الاسرائيلية، لا تزال الأغلبية الساحقة من المصريين تعبّر عن آراء تتماشى مع دعم القاهرة المتحفظ لعملية صنع السلام. وترى نسبة 72 في المائة، وهي نسبة لم تتغير بالمقارنة مع العام الماضي، أنه "يجدر بالدول العربية أن تلعب دورًا جديدًا في محادثات السلام الفلسطينية–الاسرائيلية مع تقديم محفزات للجانبين لتبني مواقف أكثر اعتدالاً". ولكن إلى حين تحقيق المزيد من التقدم، تريد أقلية فقط من العرب أن "يتعاونوا مع اسرائيل في قضايا أخرى على غرار التكنولوجيا ومكافحة الإرهاب واحتواء إيران": 25 في المائة، وهي نسبة تناهز تلك المسجلة العام الماضي.

ولا يزال قلق الشعب المصري حيال القضية الفلسطينية، رغم أنها لا تحتل سلّم أولوياته عمومًا، أكبر مما هو عليه في أوساط الشعوب العربية الأخرى الأبعد، لاسيما في الخليج. وعند سؤالهم عن أولوياتهم القصوى على صعيد السياسة الأمريكية في المنطقة اختارت أكثرية (33 في المائة) من المصريين "بذل جهود أكبر في الصراع الفلسطيني-الاسرائيلي". وفي المرتبة الثانية، أي 22 في المائة، أتت "قضية زيادة المساعدة الأمريكية في مواجهة الإرهاب الجهادي", تلتها بفارق كبير مسألة بذل جهد أكبر لحل الحرب الأهلية اليمينية أو للتصدي للنفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة.

هذه النتائج هي من استطلاع تجاري أجرته شركة متخصصة إقليمية في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر من خلال إجراء مقابلات وجهًا لوجه مع عينة تمثيلية على الصعيد الوطني ضمت ألف مصري. واستخدم الاستطلاع تقنيات أخذ عينات متعددة الاحتمالات الجغرافية مع هامش خطأ إحصائي يبلغ نحو 3 في المائة. إن البيانات غير مرجحة وقد شملت العينة الإجمالية 94 في المائة من المسلمين و6 في المائة من الأقباط المسيحيين. يمكن الوصول إلى التفاصيل المنهجية الكاملة عند الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

In Egypt, One-Third Still Like the Muslim Brotherhood; Half Call U.S. Ties "Important"


Also available in العربية

December 10, 2018

New findings from a reliable Egyptian public opinion poll reveal very divided popular attitudes, both on the country’s domestic direction and about its outside partners. Yet Egyptians mostly agree with their government on several key foreign policy issues. A mere 12% want good relations with Iran; even fewer, just 5%, have a positive view of Hezbollah. In sharp contrast, a solid majority (71%) want Arab states to play a constructive role in promoting an Israeli-Palestinian agreement.

The most striking data point from this poll is that 33% of Egyptian Muslims still voice at least a “somewhat positive” opinion of the Muslim Brotherhood (including 6% with a “very positive” view). This remains the case even though the Brotherhood has been officially outlawed as a “terrorist” organization and subjected to continual media vilification over the past five years. The proportion is virtually unchanged since the previous two polls, conducted in 2015 and 2017.

Moreover, exactly the same percentage of Egypt’s Muslims, one-third, also have a positive attitude toward Hamas—widely viewed as the Brotherhood’s Palestinian branch. These findings, so much at variance with official policies, help explain the Egyptian government’s preoccupation with internal stability and control above all. At the same time, they suggest that overt Islamist opposition to President Sisi’s regime would not enjoy majority popular backing.

But an even larger percentage of Egyptians, around half, express dissatisfaction with official policies on a series of other internal issues. For example, 49% say their government is doing too little in “reducing the level of corruption in our economic and political life.” The same holds for “sharing the burden of taxes and other obligations to the government in a fair manner,” where 48% see inadequate official effort. And almost as many, 43%, say Cairo is also doing too little in “protecting the freedoms and privacy of individual citizens.”

More broadly, the overwhelming majority, 84%, agree that “right now internal political and economic reform is more important for our country than any foreign policy issue.” That high proportion is virtually unchanged from previous polling a year ago. The policy implication is that Egypt’s political stability depends more on internal than on external developments, even if the latter tend to receive more outside media and perhaps also official attention.

The only such question asked where a plurality (47%) say government policies are “about right” concerns “promoting opportunity and equality for women.” On that issue, a bit over one-third of Egyptians, Muslim and Christian alike, believe their government is actually doing “too much.” Overall, these findings indicate considerable popular discontent with official economic, social, and internal political management. Yet once again, vocal dissatisfaction or outright opposition remains below the majority level.

On selected foreign policy issues, in contrast, Egypt’s government fares better in terms of public opinion. Half of Egyptians consider good ties with the United States to be “important” for their country, even though a mere 7% have a good opinion of President Trump. Only a small minority, 18%, say they would prefer the United States to “reduce its interference in the region.”

By comparison, somewhat fewer (38%) say it is important for Egypt to have good relations with Russia—and just 8% voice a positive view of President Putin, despite recent high-profile deals and meetings. Furthermore, regarding Iran, the public agrees with its government’s adversarial posture: only 12% of Egyptians consider it even “somewhat important” for the two countries to maintain good ties. Even fewer, just 5%, have a favorable view of Iran’s ally Hezbollah.

On the Arab-Israeli issue, a solid majority of Egyptians continue to express views in line with Cairo’s reserved support for peacemaking—72%, unchanged from last year, agree that “Arab states should play a new role in Palestinian-Israeli peace talks, offering both sides incentive to take more moderate positions.” Nevertheless, until more progress is achieved, only a minority want the Arabs to “work with Israel on other issues like technology, counterterrorism, and containing Iran”—25%, about the same as last year.

Egyptian popular concern with the Palestinian issue, while not the highest priority overall, continues to be higher than among other Arab publics further away, such as in the Gulf. Asked about their top priority for U.S. policy in the region, a plurality (33%) of Egyptians pick “push harder to resolve the Palestinian-Israeli conflict.” In second place, at 22%, is more American help against jihadi terrorism, followed distantly by greater effort to settle the Yemen civil war or to resist Iranian influence in the region.

These findings are from a commercial survey by a professional regional firm, conducted in November, with face-to-face interviews among a representative national sample of 1,000 Egyptians. The survey used standard geographic probability sampling techniques, yielding a statistical margin of error of approximately 3%. The data are not weighted; the total sample comprised 94% Muslims and 6% Coptic Christians. Full methodological details are available on request.

Customize your RSS Feed