أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف ستشكل الاحتجاجات الانتخابات الرئاسية الجزائرية


متاح أيضاً في English

27 شباط/فبراير 2019

في 10 شباط/فبراير، أعلن الرئيس الجزائري عبد العزيز بوتفليقة رسميًا أنه سيسعى إلى الترشّح من جديد للرئاسة خلال الانتخابات المقبلة التي من المزمع أن تجري في 18 نيسان/أبريل. ويحكم بوتفليقة البلاد منذ عام 1999 على الرغم من تنامي القلق حيال صحته بعدما تعرّض لجلطة دماغية في عام 2013 حدّت بشكل كبير من ظهوره إلى العلن. فمن جهة، لم يمثّل إعلان ترشّحه تطورًا مفاجئًا بالنسبة لمؤيديه ودائرته المقربة نظرًا إلى الحملة التي أُطلقت منذ أشهر لحضّ بوتفليقة على الترشح لولاية جديدة، لا سيما من الأحزاب الثلاثة التي يتشكّل منها التحالف الرئاسي في الجزائر. ومن جهة أخرى، رفضت المعارضة على نطاق واسع ترشّح بوتفليقة، معبّرةً عن قلقها من أن ولايةً خامسة مبالغ فيها أو تطرح حتى تهديدًا وجوديًا على الدولة الجزائرية.  

وفي كِلا الحالتين، يمثّل إعلان الترشّح حدثُا مهمًا على الساحة السياسية الجزائرية التي عانت حتى فترة ليست ببعيدة ركودًا وغموضًا أججتهما الشائعات التي سبقت هذا الإعلان بشأن إرجاء الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة. واليوم، إنّ إصرار النظام السياسي على تأييد بوتفليقة لولاية خامسة والرفض المتزايد لهذا الترشّح من أطراف أشمل من المجتمع الجزائري قد دفعا بالجزائريين العاديين إلى النزول إلى الشارع، ما يشير إلى أن تغييرًا سياسيًا فعليًا ربما يلوح في الأفق.  

بوتفليقة: المرشح "التوافقي"

من أجل معرفة الأسباب الكامنة وراء الاحتجاجات الحالية، من المهم فهم الظروف التي وصل بموجبها بوتفليقة إلى الحكم في المقام الأول، وكيف أن رئاسته التي دامت لعقود من الزمن حدّدت منذ ذلك الحين معالم السياسة الجزائرية. فمنذ استلامه دفة الحكم في عام 1999 وسط اضطرابات سياسية حادة وحرب أهلية، لطالما اعتُبر عبد العزيز بوتفليقة رجل التوافق السياسي. فخلال ولايته الأولى، نجح في الحفاظ على التوازن بين مختلف أصحاب النفوذ في الجزائر – أي الجيش والرئاسة والإسلاميون ومجتمع الأعمال.  وقد سمحت له هذه القدرة أيضًا باكتساب دعم واسع النطاق نسبيًا من المجتمع الجزائري، لا سيما وسط انتهاء الحرب الأهلية التي أودت بحياة نحو 200 ألف شخص في عهده.    

وعليه، وبالنسبة إلى عدد كبير من الجزائريين غير المسيّسين، عُرف بوتفليقة في الأساس بأنه الرجل الذي أعاد السلام إلى بلدهم المدمّر والذي ترأس عملية إعادة إعمار وإعادة تأهيل ضخمة. ويمكن القول إن ولاية بوتفليقة الأولى لم تتسبب بالكثير من الجدل إذ مثّل الرجل حينها شخصيةً شبه "إلهية"، شخصية مخلّص الجزائر.  

وفي حين بدأ بوتفليقة يواجه معارضةً عندما بانت نواياه في البقاء في السلطة خلال نهاية ولايته الأولى، بقيت تلك المعارضة ضعيفةً إلى حدّ كبير إلى حين صدور قراره بتعديل الدستور في عام 2008 من أجل السماح له بالترشّح لولاية ثالثة عام 2009. وبالنسبة للكثيرين، شكّلت هذه الخطوة المفاجئة انتهاكًا صارخًا للمعايير الدستورية، غير أن رئاسته استمرت لولاية رابعة من خمس سنوات.  وعلى الرغم من أن العديد من الشخصيات السياسية البارزة في المعارضة قد رفضت التعديل الدستوري، إلا أن غياب التعبئة الجدية والوعي السياسي داخل المجتمع الجزائري، بالإضافة إلى الحالة الصحية الجيدة نسبيا لبوتفليقة حينذاك، أدى إلى ردود فعل شعبية ضعيفة لهذا التعديل.

علاوةً على ذلك، اعتبرت شريحة كبيرة من الجزائريين أن بوتفليقة لا يصلح لتولّي سدّة الرئاسة بعد الجلطة الدماغية التي أصابته في عام 2013. وبالتالي، أطلقت ولايته الرابعة المثيرة للجدل إلى حدّ كبير انتقادات من المعارضة الرسمية ومختلف الجهات المدنية الفاعلة الجزائرية، بمن فيها الناشطون والمدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان والصحافيون، وحتى قسم كبير من الجزائريين غير المسيّسين.   

ورغم هذه المعارضة المتنامية لحكم بوتفليقة، قرّر الترشّح لولاية جديدة. وفي حين فاجأ قراره بالترشّح لولاية رابعة بعد تعرضه لجلطة دماغية العديد من الجزائريين وأثار موجةً كبيرةً من الجدل، يشكّل مسعاه للترشّح لولاية خامسة صدمةً أكبر حتى ويزيد الأمور تعقيدًا. عملياً، الرئيس اليوم غائب عن المشهد السياسي للجزائر، والجزائريون لا يريدون أن يمثلهم شخص غائب.

ولم يقتصر رفض ترشح بوتفليقة لولاية خامسة على المعارضة فحسب، بل امتد ليشمل  أيضًا أعداد كبيرة من الجزائريين الذين لم يتوقعوا ترشّحه، خصوصًا في ظلً وضعه الصحي المتدهور.

غير أن هذا المسعى لولاية خامسة قد أوضح أمرًا واحدًا: النظام السياسي الجزائري الحالي عاجز عن التوصل إلى بديل أو حتى تجديد طبقته من النخبة. فواقع أن التحالف الرئاسي كان يسعى لولاية خامسة منذ عدة أشهر يثبت أن بوتفليقة هو الخيار الصالح الوحيد للنظام من أجل الحفاظ على ما تبقى من الإجماع السياسي الذي سمح في المقام الأول لبوتفليقة بتولي السلطة.

معارضة منقسمة وغير منظمة وغير مجدية

اتخذت المعارضة الجزائرية، التي كانت ممثَّلة رسميًا من عدد كبير من الأحزاب السياسية والمعارضين المستقلين، موقفًا متشددًا إزاء احتمال ترشّح بوتفليقة لولاية خامسة حتى قبل الإعلان عن ذلك رسميًا. غير أنها لم تتمكن من إيجاد أرضية مشتركة من شأنها أن تسمح لهذه الأطراف المتباينة بتشكيل جبهة موحّدة في وجه النظام السياسي الحالي.  

وخلال ولاية بوتفليقة الرابعة، التي اتسمت بظهورات علنية نادرة، لم تنجح المعارضة في التوصّل إلى إعداد خارطة طريق واضحة للمستقبل رغم بعض الاجتماعات التي هدفت إلى جمع مختلف أطيافها للمشاركة في محادثات ما بين الأطراف. وبقيت المعارضة الجزائرية منقسمةً حول الخطوط الإيديولوجية، وهو انقسام عمّقه خلافها على كيفية التعامل مع الانتخابات الرئاسية المقبلة.

وفي حين تخطط بعض أحزاب المعارضة – على غرار "التجمع من أجل الثقافة والديمقراطية" (RCD) و"جبهة القوى الاشتراكية" (FFS) و"جيل جديد" الحديث نسبيًا – لمقاطعة الانتخابات المقبلة، قررت أحزاب أخرى وشخصيات مستقلة على غرار "حركة مجتمع السلم" الإسلامية المشاركة. وقد قوّض هذا الانقسام في وجهات النظر في أوساط المعارضة حول انتخابات نيسان/أبريل كافة الجهود الرامية إلى تسمية مرشح مشترك للانتخابات وتسبّب بشرذمة ما تبقى من هذه المعارضة الرسمية.

ومن ناحية أخرى، أعلن زعيم المعارضة على غديري عن عزمه في الترشح، لكن من غير المحتمل أن يتمكن من جمع الدعم الكافي كشخصية جديدة في "القيادة التوافقية".  كما أن غديري لا يتمتع بالدعم داخل المؤسسة العسكرية -وقد ظهر ذلك جليا في البيان الأخير الذي أطلقه رئيس أركان الجيش الوطني الشعبي قايد صالح والذي انتقد فيه المرشح غديري. وإذا كانت النخبة السياسية ستقدم مرشحا بديلا، فستكون على الأرجح شخصية أكثر قبولا مثل علي بن فليس، رئيس الحكومة السابق، أو رامتان لامامرا، وزير الخارجية السابق والمستشار الحالي للرئيس.

وقد منعت هذه الهشاشة والخلاف أي حزب رسمي أو شخصيات معارضة فردية معروفة من توفير أي بديل للنظام الذي ترفضه. ويعتبر الناخبون الجزائريون أن هذه الأحزاب والشخصيات ما هي إلا "معارضة مزيفة" منفصلة عن الشعب، وبالتالي فهي غير قادرة على تعبئة الجماهير. ولا شكّ في أن انعدام القدرة هذا على التحرك يُعزى عمومًا إلى افتقار المعارضة إلى استراتيجية أو برنامج واضح تقدمه إلى شعب غير راضٍ أساسًا. كذلك، فقد قادة المعارضة الرسمية ثقة جزء كبير من الشعب الجزائري، ما قوّض بشكل إضافي قدرتهم على أن يكونوا بديلًا فعالًا في السلطة.  

وحتى على ضوء التحرك السياسي الراهن في الجزائر، استمر الانقسام وغياب التنظيم في صفوف المعارضة، ما جعلها عاملًا غير مجدٍ في المشهد السياسي الجزائري. ويلغي هذا الواقع بشكل كبير الدور الذي يجدر بها الاضطلاع به في أي مرحلة انتقالية محتملة بعيدًا عن ولاية خامسة لبوتفليقة.

الاحتجاجات: الاستراتيجية الجديدة "القديمة"

بين عدم رضا الجزائريين عن تولي بوتفليقة ولايةً خامسة وعجز المعارضة عن حشد الشرائح الساخطة من الشعب، يبدو أن الجزائريين اختاروا الاحتجاجات الشعبية بشكل مستقل عن قيادة المعارضة الرسمية كاستراتيجية جديدة. وفي 22 شباط/فبراير، وللمرة الأولى منذ عقود، نزلت أعداد ضخمة من الجزائريين إلى الشارع للتعبير عن سخطها إزاء الوضع السياسي الراهن ورفضها تولي الرئيس ولايةً خامسة. وفي حين غصت عدة مدن جزائرية بآلاف المحتجين، أظهر الجزائريون أن الكيل قد طفح بهم ولم يعودوا قادرين على التزام الصمت كما فعلوا في السنوات السابقة.

ومع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار حقيقة أن الشارع الجزائري لم يشهد مثل هذه الحركة السياسية منذ فترة طويلة، إلا أن تلك الاحتجاجات تمثل لحظة مهمة في التاريخ السياسي الحديث للجزائر. وفي حين كان هناك عدد من الاحتجاجات التي شهدتها الجزائر في السنوات الأخيرة، إلا أن الاحتجاجات الحالية كانت شديدة المحلية. علاوة على ذلك، فإن القمع السياسي لهذه الاحتجاجات السابقة جعلها ضعيفة وغير فعالة.

ما نشهده  اليوم مختلف للغاية، حيث أن الاحتجاجات الحالية تدعو إلى التغيير السياسي بدلاً من معالجة القضايا المحلية. ومن اللافت للنظر أن الاحتجاجات ضد ترشح بوتفليقة ضخمة ومتزامنة ومتنوعة جغرافياً. وبهذا المعنى، يعود الشارع كأداة سياسية.

وفضلًا عن مشاعر السعادة والفخر العابرة التي تعتري الجزائريين حيال التحركات الشعبية التي عكستها وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، يمكن استنتاج عدد من الملاحظات النظرية والعملية من هذه الاحتجاجات.

أولًا، تشكّل هذه الاحتجاجات الحاشدة تحولًا مهمًا في المجتمع والمشهد السياسي في الجزائر؛ فهي تثبت أن ولايةً خامسة لبوتفليقة بعيدة كل البعد عن كونها خيارًا "توافقيًا" في البلاد. فاستعداد الشعب للتعبير عن رفضه للوضع القائم بشكل علني بدلًا من الحفاظ على الوضع "الاستسلامي" الذي طبع الانتخابات السابقة يثير جدلًا واسع النطاق.

ثانيًا، لا تملك هذه الاحتجاجات أي غطاء سياسي رسمي أو مصدر معروف، بل هي نتاج أثر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي تمكّنت من حشد أولئك الذين شعروا بأن النظام يهمشهم وبأن المعارضة تخلت عنهم.

أخيرًا وليس آخرًا، لجأ الجزائريون من جديد إلى الاحتجاجات في الشارع – وهي أداة كانت لفترة ليست ببعيدة خاضعةً لسيطرة النظام السياسي – كوسيلة أساسية للتعبير. وبعد الابتعاد عنها بشكل كامل منذ عقود منذ أحداث الشغب  التي اندلعت في أكتوبر 1988  ،فالشارع الجزائري  يمثّل اليوم أحد أهم العوامل لأي تغيير محتمل في الجزائر.

النتائج المحتملة

يبدو أن الوضع في الجزائر يتحول بسرعة إلى اضطراب سياسي كبير في ظل تنامي الضغوطات على النظام السياسي. وقد تحول رفض تولي بوتفليقة ولاية خامسة إلى مطلب شعبي يوحّد العديد من الجزائريين من مختلف الإيديولوجيات والأطياف.

غير أن نتيجة هذه الاحتجاجات وقدرتها على توليد تحوّل ملحوظ في السلطة تعتمدان على عاملين مهمين. أولًا، تُعتبر قدرة الحشود المحتجة على الحفاظ على هذه الموجة القوية من التظاهرات المنظمة وفق نمط واضح ومن خلال أطر سياسية عملية أساسيةً لإحداث تغيير سياسي فعلي. ثانيًا، إن أي تحوّل في السلطة يعتمد بشكل كبير على ما إذا كانت الأجهزة العسكرية في الجزائر ستدعم بوتفليقة صراحةً في وجه هذه الحشود أو ستتخذ موقفًا حياديًا، ما سيقوي فعليًا هذه الاحتجاجات، أو حتى ستعتمد موقفًا داعمًا للتغيير من خلال انقلاب ناعم.

في النهاية، من الواضح أن "نظام بوتفليقة" يكافح للبقاء في السلطة. فهذا الرفض الذي عبّر عنه الشعب مؤخرًا هو نتيجة سخط كامن منذ فترة طويلة أصبح أخيرًا حيًا وصريحًا. ولا يمكن لأحد أن يتوقع بالكامل ما سيؤول إليه هذا التحرك السياسي نظرًا إلى عدد العوامل الرئيسية التي لا تزال مجهولة. مع ذلك، ثمة عبرة مهمة يمكن استخلاصها من الآن من الاحتجاجات: يواجه النظام الجزائري جيلًا جديدًا لم يعش الحرب الأهلية وخضع لحكم رجل واحد منذ نحو عشرين عامًا، وهو يرفض الوضع القائم.

وهذا الجيل قادر على كسر الحواجز السياسية السابقة من دون تردد، إذ يشعر أن ليس لديه ما يخشاه. وفي ظل الدعوات إلى المزيد من الاحتجاجات وغيرها من أشكال التحركات السياسية، بما في ذلك العصيان المدني، يمكن للوضع السياسي أن يتطوّر بسرعة وقد يخرج حتى عن السيطرة  في ظل الانقسامات المحتملة داخل مؤسسات الدولة. وبالنسبة لأولئك الذين في السلطة، لن يفضي تحدي هذا السخط الشعبي سوى إلى تصعيد خطير لا يمكن لأحد تحمّل عقباه.

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How Protests are Shaping Algeria’s Presidential Elections


Also available in العربية

February 27, 2019

On February 10th, the Algerian president Abdelaziz Bouteflika formally announced that he would be seeking reelection as head of the state in the upcoming presidential elections set to take place on April 18th. President Bouteflika has been ruling the country since 1999, despite increasing concerns over his health after suffering a stroke in 2013 that has drastically limited his public appearances. On the one hand, his candidacy announcement was an unsurprising development for his supporters and inner circle given the months-long campaign for Bouteflika to run again, especially from the parties that make up Algeria’s presidential alliance. On the other hand, Bouteflika’s candidacy has been widely rejected by the opposition, concerned that a fifth term is too much or even an existential threat to the Algerian state.

Either way, Bouteflika’s candidacy announcement represents a major event in the Algerian political scene, which has until recently suffered from stagnation and ambiguity fueled by  rumors preceding this announcement that the upcoming presidential elections would be postponed. Now, the persistence of the political system in advocating for a fifth term of Bouteflika and the increasing rejection of his candidacy from wider parties of Algerian society have pushed regular Algerians to the streets, suggesting that real political change may be on the horizon.

Bouteflika, the ‘Consensus’ Candidate

To grasp the crux of the current protests, it is important to understand the conditions under which Bouteflika originally came to power, and how his decades-long presidency has since shaped Algerian politics. Since his arrival to power in 1999 in the midst of severe political turmoil and civil war, Abdelaziz Bouteflika has been often viewed as a man of political consensus. In his first term, he managed to maintain a balance between Algeria’s different power brokers—the military, the presidency, the Islamists, the business community and political parties. This ability also allowed him to gain relatively broad support from Algerian society—especially as the civil war that took the lives of approximately 200,000 people officially came to an end under his tenure.

As a result, Bouteflika was originally known to many non-politicized Algerians as the man who brought peace back to their devastated country and who spearheaded a process of mass reconstruction and rehabilitation. It is safe to say that Bouteflika’s first term in office did not spark much controversy, as the man then represented an almost “providential” figure, a savior for Algeria.

While Bouteflika began to face opposition when his intention to remain in power became clear at the end of his first time, said opposition remained considerably weak until 2008 when he sought to amend the constitution in order to permit a run for a third term in 2009. This surprising move constituted, for many, an outrageous violation of constitutional standards, yet his career has continued into a fourth five-year term. Though many prominent political figures of the opposition rejected this constitutional amendment, the lack of serious mobilization and political consciousness within the Algerian society, in addition to the Bouteflika’s relatively good health condition at the time, led to the weak popular response of this amendment.

Furthermore, a wider spectrum of Algerians have considered Bouteflika unfit for office after his stroke in 2013. Thus, his highly controversial fourth term sparked criticism from both the formal opposition and various Algerian civil actors—including activists, human rights defenders, journalists, and even large sections of non-politicized Algerians.

It is in spite of this growing opposition to Bouteflika’s rule that he has decided to run for office yet again. While Bouteflika’s decision to run for a fourth term after his stroke surprised many Algerians and stirred up much controversy, his bid for a fifth term is even more shocking and perplexing. The president today is practically absent from Algeria’s political scene, and Algerians do not want to be represented by an absent figure. Not only the opposition, but large numbers of Algerians who had not expected his candidacy have been pushed into action, especially in light of the president’s degrading health condition.

However, Bouteflika’s bid for a fifth term has made one thing clear: the current Algerian political system has been unable to propose an alternative for the presidency or even renew its elite. The fact that the presidential alliance has been pushing for a fifth term for many months demonstrates that Bouteflika is the only viable option for the regime to safeguard whatever is left of the political consensus that initially allowed Bouteflika to step into power.

A Divided, Unorganized, Irrelevant Opposition

The Algerian opposition, formally represented by several political parties and independent opponents, had taken a radical stance against the potential of a fifth term for Bouteflika even before the official announcement. Nevertheless, they have been unable to find common ground that would allow these disparate parties to form a united front against the current political system.

Throughout Bouteflika’s fourth term, characterized by his rare public appearances, the opposition has been unsuccessful to come forward with a clear roadmap for the future, despite holding a few meetings that attempted to gather its various parties to take part in inter-party discussions. The Algerian opposition has remained divided along ideological lines—a division that is further exacerbated with its disagreement over how to handle the upcoming presidential elections.

While some opposition parties—such as the Rally for Culture and Democracy (RCD), the Socialist Forces Front (FFS), and the relatively new Jil Jadid (New Generation) party—plan to boycott the upcoming elections, other parties and independent figures—such as the Islamist Movement of Society for Peace party—decided to participate. This division of the opposition’s views on April’s elections has weakened all efforts to designate a common candidate for the elections and has fragmented whatever is left of this formal opposition.

Although Ali Ghediri, the opposition figure, has announced his intention to run, it is unlikely that he will be able to gather support as a new figure of ‘consensus leadership’. Ghediri does not enjoy support within the military institution— as demonstrated by army head Gaid Salah’s recent statement castigating the candidate. If the political elites were to offer an alternative candidate, it would likely be a more accepted figure such as Ali Benflis, former head of government, or Ramtane Lamamra, the former Minister of Foreign Affairs and current advisor of the president.

This fragility and disaccord has led to the incapacity of either formal party or well-known individual opposition figures to provide any alternative to the system it rejects. For Algerian constituents, these parties and figures are seen as practicing a sort of “fake opposition” that is disconnected from the population and is, therefore unable to mobilize the masses. Of course, this inability to act is due in large to the opposition’s lack of a clear strategy or program to offer to an already dissatisfied population. Moreover, formal opposition leaders have lost the trust of much of the Algerian population, further eroding their ability to serve as a viable alternative in power.

Even in light of Algeria’s current political movement, the opposition has sustained its divided and unorganized status making it an irrelevant factor in the Algerian political scene. This reality significantly erodes the role it should be playing in any possible transition away from a fifth term for Bouteflika.

Protests: the New “Old” Strategy

Between the dissatisfaction of Algerians with the fifth term of Bouteflika and the inability of the opposition to mobilize the outraged segments of the population, Algerians seem to be opting for popular protests independent of formal opposition leadership as a new strategy. On February 22nd, for the first time in decades, huge numbers of Algerians went into the streets to express their frustration with the current political situation and reject Bouteflika’s candidacy for a fifth term. With thousands of protestors across multiple cities of the country, Algerians have shown that they can no longer afford continuing the silence of earlier years.

Taking into consideration the fact that Algerian streets have not seen such a political movement in a long time, these protests represent a major moment in the modern political history of Algeria. While there have been a number of protests in Algeria in recent years, those earlier protests were highly localized. Furthermore, the political repression of these past protests has left protests weak and ineffective.

What we are seeing today is very different; the protests are calling for a political change rather than tackling local issues. Remarkably, recent protests against Bouteflika are huge, simultaneous, and geographically diverse. In that sense, the streets are back as a political tool.

However, in addition to Algerians’ momentary feelings of happiness and pride on the mass movements reflected on social media, a number of theoretical and practical observations may be drawn out of these protests.

First, these massive protests mark an important transformation in Algerian society and the political scene; they prove that a fifth term of Bouteflika is so controversial that people are willing to publicly demonstrate their rejection instead of maintaining the “passive” status that has characterized earlier elections.

Second, these protests do not have any formal political cover or known source. Rather, they are the product of the impact of social media, which has been able to mobilize those who felt excluded by the system and left out by the opposition.

Third, Algerians have been able to convert their verbal and psychological dissatisfaction with the political situation into actions on the ground while also maintaining a peaceful framework.

Last but not least, these Algerians have brought back street protests—until recently a tool under the control of the political system—as a lively tool of expression. After being totally ignored for decades since the riots of October 1988, the streets today constitute one of the most important factors in impacting the whole country simultaneously.

Potential Outcomes

The situation in Algeria is quickly developing into major political turmoil as the pressure increases on the political system. The rejection of the fifth term has turned into a popular demand uniting many Algerians from different ideologies and spectrums.

However, the outcome of these protests and their ability to result in a significant shift of power depend on two important factors. First, the ability of the protesting masses to maintain this strong wave of organized demonstrations in clear pattern and through practical political frameworks is key to actual political change. Second, a shift of power is largely conditional upon whether Algeria’s military corpus will unreservedly support Bouteflika in face of these masses or take a neutral position, effectively strengthening the protests, or even a adopt a pro-change position through a soft coup.

In the end, it is clear that the “Bouteflika regime” is struggling to remain in power. This recent popular rejection is the result of a long-hidden outrage that has finally become vivid and explicit. No one can fully predict how this political movement will end given the number of key factors that remain unknown. Still, there is one important lesson that can already be taken from the protests: the Algerian system is dealing with a new generation who did not live through the civil war and has been ruled by one man for almost twenty years, and they are rejecting the status quo.

This generation can break down previous political barriers without hesitation, as it feels it has nothing to fear. With the calls for further protests and other forms of political action including civil disobedience, the political situation could develop rapidly and may even become uncontrollable due to potential divisions within the state’s institutions. For those in power, challenging this popular outrage will only lead to a dangerous escalation that no one can afford.

 

Customize your RSS Feed