أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الشعب المصري يدعم تسوية إسرائيلية-فلسطينية ويرغب بعلاقات جيدة مع الولايات المتحدة


متاح أيضاً في English

31 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020

في ظل استعداد القاهرة لاستضافة اجتماع طارئ لـ"جامعة الدول العربية" نهاية الأسبوع، الذي تمّت الدعوة إليه من أجل تناول خطة السلام الإسرائيلية-الفلسطينية الجديدة التي طرحتها الولايات المتحدة، تُظهر نتائج استطلاع نادر للرأي العام المصري أُجري في الآونة الأخيرة أن ثلثيْ الشعب يؤيد "تقديم محفزات إلى الطرفين لاتخاذ مواقف أكثر اعتدالًا". وتعتبر أغلبية أصغر بكثير، وهي من بين الأعلى في أي دولة عربية مستطلعة، أيضًا أن العلاقات الجيدة مع الولايات المتحدة مهمة بالنسبة لبلدها. ولم تتغير هاتان النتيجتان كثيرًا خلال العام الماضي. وتتعارض هذه النتائج، الصادرة عن مستطلعين تجاريين محترفين مستقلين وموثوقين إلى حدّ كبير، بشدّة مع المفاهيم النمطية للرأي العام المصري باعتبارها مناهضة لأمريكا وإسرائيل على نحو كبير. 


  
ويتماشى هذا الدعم الشعبي المصري لنوع من التسوية الفلسطينية-الإسرائيلية – ولو ليس لتلك المعلن عنها بالتحديد في واشنطن هذا الأسبوع – مع مواقفهم إزاء حركة "حماس" الفلسطينية التي ترفض السلام مع إسرائيل. فنسبة 71 في المائة من المصريين لا تؤيد "حماس"، في ارتفاع عن 63 في المائة قبل عام مضى. كما يتماشى مع رغبة الشعب المصري الكبيرة بتجنب التورط بنزاعات أجنبية. وتوافق نسبة 84 في المائة على هذا البيان: "في الوقت الراهن، يكتسي الإصلاح السياسي والاقتصادي الداخلي أهمية أكبر بالنسبة لبلادنا من أي مسألة سياسة خارجية، لذا علينا ألا نتدخل بأي حروب خارج حدودنا".


  
ومقارنةً بدول أخرى، يقدّر الشعب المصري نسبيًا الولايات المتحدة. وتعتبر نسبة 54 في المائة أن العلاقات الجيدة مع واشنطن مهمة بالنسبة لمصر، في حين أن 40 في المائة فقط تقول الشيء نفسه بالنسبة لروسيا. ولم تتغير هذه الأرقام من الناحية الإحصائية منذ أواخر 2018. وفي ما يتعلق بدولتين عربيتين رئيسيتين أخريين، تقدّر نسب أقل حتى من المصريين علاقات ثنائية جيدة معهما: 33 في المائة بالنسبة للعراق و20 في المائة فقط لسوريا.



وعند سؤالهم عما يفضلونه تحديدًا في سياسة الولايات المتحدة، تاريخيًا تصدّر التوسط لإبرام اتفاق إسرائيلي-فلسطيني القائمة في أوساط الرأي العام المصري. وفي استطلاع تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018، اختارت أكثرية (33 في المائة) من المصريين هذا الخيار، ليأتي قبل محاربة "داعش" وإيران والحوثيين في اليمن أو ببساطة "تقليص تدخلها في المنطقة". لكن في أحدث استطلاع، حين تمّ حذف خيار الرد الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني عمدًا من القائمة، أفاد نصف المصريين أنه على الولايات المتحدة تقليص وتيرة أو حتى الحدّ نهائيًا من تدخلها في المنطقة.
   
غير أن كل ذلك لا يشير إلى أن المصريين يوافقون على سياسات الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب بشكل عام، أو أنهم يتطلعون إلى علاقات أعمق مع جيرانهم اليهود. في المقابل؛ 6 في المائة فقط، وهي نسبة لم تتغير عمليًا منذ العام الفائت، تعبّر عن خيار يميل لصالح سياسات ترامب. (بينما تحصد سياسات الرئيس الصيني تأييد حوالي 30 في المائة من المستطلعين، رغم أن ارتفاعًا غير مسبوق وصل إلى 15 في المائة من المستطلعين يقرّون بأنهم لا يعرفون ما يكفي حوله). هذا وتوافق نسبة ضئيلة قدرها 4 في المائة على هذا التأكيد: "يجب أن نظهر احترامًا أكبر لليهود حول العالم ونحسّن علاقاتنا معهم".
  
وتعزز مصداقية هذه الإجابات المحصلة التي تشير إلى أن العديد من المصريين المستطلعين يرغبون في معارضة الخط الرسمي بشأن بعض المسائل المحلية الحساسة للغاية. ويقول النصف أو أكثر إن الحكومة لا تبذل "الكثير" في سبيل كل من المجالات التالية: خفض مستوى الفساد في حياتنا الاقتصادية والسياسية، والتعامل مع مشاكلنا الاقتصادية المتنامية والمشقات اليومية التي يعيشها الشعب، ومشاركة عبء الضرائب وغيرها من الموجبات المستحقة للحكومة بطريقة عادلة.



وما يثير الجدل على نحو أكبر، هو أن نظرة 30 في المائة تقريبًا من الشعب إيجابية إزاء "الإخوان المسلمين" المحظورة باعتبارها "منظمة إرهابية" من قبل حكومة مصر نفسها. وعلى الرغم من نداء الحكومة لإجراء إصلاحات دينية، يوافق خمس المصريين فقط على هذا الاقتراح: "يجب أن نصغي لأولئك الذين يحاولون تفسير الإسلام بطريقة أكثر اعتدالاً وتسامحًا وحداثة". وهذه الأرقام أيضًأ لم تتغير كثيرًا خلال السنة الماضية.

في الوقت نفسه، ثمة مجموعة من المسائل التي لا يزال الشعب المصري يتفق بشأنها وبصدق مع موقف الحكومة: معارضة إيران ووكلائها في المنطقة. وتعتبر نسبة 87 في المائة أنه من غير المهم لمصر أن تربطها علاقات جيدة مع إيران. كما أن نظرة 90 في المائة سلبية إزاء المرشد الأعلى الإيراني آية الله خامنئي. وتعبر النسبة المئوية نفسها المرتفعة بشكل استثنائي عن وجهة نظر غير مؤاتية إزاء "حزب الله"، أبرز حليف لإيران في لبنان والمنطقة.

وأكثر من ذلك حتى، عبّرت نسبة 94 في المائة عن وجهة نظر سلبية إزاء حليف إيران في اليمن، أي الحوثيين، حين طُرح عليها هذا السؤال آخر مرة في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018. وتشير هذه الأرقام إلى أن التعاون المصري-الأمريكي ضدّ نفوذ إيران في المنطقة قائم على أساس متين من التأييد الشعبي داخل مصر وكذلك كافة الدول العربية الأخرى المستطلعة باستثناء لبنان.
   
هذه النتائج هي حصيلة دراسة استقصائية أجرتها وجهًا لوجه شركة تجارية إقليمية محترمة على نطاق واسع ومحترفة على عيّنة وطنية تمثّل 1000 مواطن مصري في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر2019. وتمّ اختيار المستطلعين عشوائيًا وفق تقنيات العينات العشوائية الجغرافية المعيارية، مع ضوابط جودة وضمانات شديدة للسرية. فقد سافر الكاتب شخصيًا إلى المنطقة للتشاور مع مدراء مشاريع خلال مسار العمل الميداني، بغية ضمان أعلى معايير ممكنة من النزاهة المهنية والموضوعية. ويشار إلى أنه يمكن الحصول على أي تفاصيل منهجية إضافية، بما فيها التقسيمات الديموغرافية وكامل الاستبيان والنتائج الهامشية إضافةً إلى بروتوكولات وإجراءات أخذ العينات، بناءً على الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Egypt’s Public Backs Israeli-Palestinian Compromise, Wants Good Ties with United States


Also available in العربية

January 31, 2020

As Cairo prepares to host an urgent Arab League meeting this weekend, called to address the new U.S. Israeli-Palestinian peace plan, results from a rare new Egyptian public opinion poll show two-thirds support “incentives for both sides [Israelis and Palestinians] to take more moderate positions.” And a narrower majority, among the highest in any Arab state surveyed, also say that good relations with the United States are important for their country. Both numbers are have changed little over the past year. These findings, from an independent and highly credible professional commercial pollster, are sharply at odds with the stereotypes of Egyptian public opinion as overwhelmingly anti-American and anti-Israeli.

This Egyptian popular support for some kind of Palestinian-Israeli compromise—if not for the specific one outlined in Washington this week—tracks with their attitudes toward the Palestinian Hamas movement, which rejects peace with Israel. Seventy-one percent of Egyptians voice a negative opinion of Hamas, up from 63% a year ago. It is also in line with the Egyptian public’s overwhelming desire to avoid entanglement in foreign conflicts. Eight-four percent agree with this statement: “Right now internal political and economic reform is more important for our country than any foreign policy issue, so we should stay out of any wars outside our borders.”

By comparison with other countries, the United States stands out as relatively valued by the Egyptian public. Fifty-four percent of respondents say good ties with Washington are important to Egypt, whereas just 40% say the same about Russia. Both numbers are statistically unchanged since late 2018. And regarding two major Arab countries, even lower proportions of Egyptians value good bilateral relations: 33% for Iraq and a mere 20% for Syria.

Asked about specific preferences for U.S. policy, brokering an Israeli-Palestinian deal has historically led the list in Egyptian public opinion. In the November 2018 poll, a plurality (33%) of Egyptians picked that option, ahead of countering Daesh, Iran, the Houthis in Yemen, or simply “reducing its interference in the region.” But in the latest poll, when the Israeli-Palestinian response option was deliberately omitted from the list, half of Egyptians said the U.S. should lower or even end its regional engagement. 

However, all this does not imply that Egyptians approve of U.S. President Trump’s policies overall, or that they aspire to warmer relations with their Jewish neighbors. On the contrary; a mere 6%, virtually unchanged over the past year, express a favorable opinion of Trump’s policies. (In contrast, 30% voice some approval for Chinese President Xi’s policies, although an atypically high 15% admit they don’t know enough about him.) And a truly minuscule proportion, 4%, agree with this assertion: “We should show more respect to the world’s Jews, and improve our relations with them.”

The credibility of these responses is enhanced by the finding that many Egyptian surveyed are willing to oppose the official line on some very sensitive domestic issues. Half or more say their government is doing “too little” in each one of the following areas: reducing the level of corruption in our economic and political life, dealing with our growing economic problems and people’s daily hardships, and sharing the burden of taxes and other obligations to the government in a fair manner.

Even more controversial, nearly 30% of the public voice a positive view of the Muslim Brotherhood, which is outlawed as a “terrorist organization” by Egypt’s own government. And despite that government’s appeal for religious reform, only one-fifth of Egyptians agree with this proposition: “We should listen to those among us who are trying to interpret Islam in a more moderate, tolerant, and modern direction.” These numbers, too, remain unchanged over the past year.

At the same time, there is one set of issues on which the Egyptian public continues to agree wholeheartedly with its government’s position: opposition to Iran, and to its proxies in the region. Eighty-seven percent say it is not important for Egypt to have good relations with Iran. Ninety percent have a negative opinion of Iran’s Ayatollah Khamenei. And the same extraordinarily high percentage express an unfavorable view of Hezbollah, Iran’s major ally in Lebanon and around the region.

Even more, 94%, voiced a negative view of Iran’s ally in Yemen, the Houthis, when that question was last asked in November 2018. These figures suggest that Egyptian-U.S. cooperation against Iran’s regional influence stands on a very firm ground of popular approval inside Egypt, as in all other Arab countries polled except Lebanon.

These findings are from a face-to-face interview survey, conducted by a widely respected and experienced regional commercial firm, among a representative national sample of 1,000 Egyptian citizens in November 2019. Respondents were selected at random according to standard geographic probability sampling methods, with strict quality controls and assurances of confidentiality. The author personally traveled to the region to consult with the project managers during the fieldwork period, in order to maintain the highest possible standards of professional integrity and objectivity. Additional methodological details, including demographics, full questionnaire and marginal results, and sampling protocols and procedures, are readily available on request.

Customize your RSS Feed