أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

فهم انخراط مصر المحدود في الحملة ضد إيران


متاح أيضاً في English

21 آذار/مارس 2019

بعد زيارة مايك بومبيو، وزير الخارجية الأمريكي الأخيرة للشرق الأوسط، حاولت القاهرة مجددا تبنى خطاب يؤكد على توافقها مع سياسة دول الخليج في مواجهة النفوذ الإيراني. وربما كانت مشاركة مصر في قمة وارسو المناهضة لإيران - التي أعلن عنها بومبيو قبل شهر في القاهرة - تهدف إلى التأكيد على أن مصر ليست معارضة للحملة الإقليمية والدولية ضد إيران. ومع ذلك، كان عزوف مصر عن المشاركة بعمق في تلك القمة واضحا، حيث صرح وزير الخارجية البولندي ياتسيك تشابوتوفيتش عن احتمال قيام مصر بإرسال نائب وزير، وذلك على عكس مشاركة وزراء معظم الدول العربية. وبالطبع، كان ذلك مجرد إشارة من عدة إشارات توحي بوجود تضارب نسبي في موقف القاهرة بشأن الحملة الدولية الحالية ضد إيران.

وفي الواقع، القاهرة أبعد ما يكون للعب دور مؤثر تجاه الحملة الدولية ضد إيران، بل على العكس بدأت القاهرة في اتخاذ خطوات جدية للتقرب أكثر لإيران التي ينظر إليها العديد من القادة العرب على أنها التهديد الأكبر في المنطقة، فقبل أيام من انعقاد قمة "وارسو"، شاركت القاهرة بشكل رسمي في احتفالات مكتب رعاية المصالح الإيرانية في القاهرة وذلك  بمناسبة مرور ٤٠ عاما على الثورة الإيرانية، حيث أوفدت وزارة الخارجية المصرية، نائب وزير الخارجية المصري للشؤون الأسيوية السفير خالد ثروت للمشاركة في احتفالات الثورة الإيرانية، في خطوة زادت التكهنات حول مستقبل العلاقات بين البلدين.

شهدت العلاقات المصرية-الإيران تقلبًا كبيرًا على مر السنين، حيث بدأت بعلاقة مصاهرة بين الأسرتين الحاكمتين في كلا البلدين، وذلك بعد زواج شقيقة الملك فاروق من محمد رضا بهلوي، ولى عهد إيران في عام 1939. ومع ذلك، أدى اندلاع الثورة الإيرانية إلى توتر العلاقات بين البلدين بشكل كبير، حيث كانت مصر من أوائل الدول التي ناصبت الثورة الإيرانية العداء بشكل صريح منذ اليوم الأول لها، وذلك في الوقت الذي كان التردد من النظام الجديد في طهران يسود المجتمع الدولي، لاسيما في الأيام الأولى للثورة. كما هاجم الرئيس المصري وقتها محمد أنور السادات، الثورة الإيرانية بضراوة، واستقبلت مصر شاه إيران المعزول محمد رضا بهلوي، واسرته ووفرت لهما المأوى والحماية. وحتى بعد وفاة الشاه عام 1980 نظمت القاهرة جنازة عسكرية مهيبة، شارك فيها الرئيس المصري وعدد من قادة العالم، في توديع الشاه إلى مثواه الأخير في القاهرة.

وبعد توقيع مصر اتفاقية كامب ديفيد مع إسرائيل، اتبعت طهران سياسة المكايدة السياسية مع مصر حيث أطلقت بلدية طهران اسم الإرهابي خالد الإسلامبولي المتورط باغتيال الرئيس الراحل أنور السادات، على أكبر شوارعها. ومنذ ذلك الحين والعلاقات الدبلوماسية مقطوعة تقريبا بين البلدين طيلة الأربعين عاما الماضية، هي عمر الثورة الإيرانية، اللهم إلا مكتبي لرعاية المصالح المصرية والإيرانية في عاصمتي الدولتين.

ومع ذلك، أدى مجيء الإخوان المسلمين للسلطة بعد ثورة عام 2011 في مصر إلى إحداث تقارب تاريخي على مستوى العلاقات بين البلدين، حيث شهدت العاصمة الإيرانية طهران للمرة الأولى في أغسطس 2012 زيارة الرئيس المصري محمد مرسي، أعقبها زيارة للرئيس الإيراني احمدي نجاد إلى مصر. وبالرغم من الاختلافات الفكرية العميقة بين الطرفين، إلا انهما كانوا يمثلان وجهان لعملة واحدة من التطرف الإسلامي. ففي أعقاب الإطاحة بمرسي، هاجمت إيران النظام الجديد في مصر واعتبرته امتدادا لنظامي مبارك والسادات.

ومع ذلك، كانت استجابة الحكومة الجديدة في القاهرة صامتة، حيث اكتفت مصر بإصدار بعض التصريحات التي تدين التدخل في شؤونها الداخلية. ومنذ ذلك الحين لم تفعل القاهرة سوى القليل نسبيًا لمجابهة النفوذ الإيراني، بينما استحضر الإعلام الإيراني لغة جديدة تنادى بتطبيع العلاقات بين البلدين.

أثارت نبرة مصر تجاه إيران الدهشة بشكل خاص، وذلك في ضوء الخطاب الخليجي المناهض للجمهورية الإسلامية. ومع ذلك، يبدوا أن هاجس الأنظمة الخليجية من صعود الإخوان المسلمين للحكم، وعلاقاتهم مع إيران، لاسيما بعد الزيارة التاريخية للرئيس السابق محمد مرسى لطهران، قد وفر للنظام المصري بعض المساحات للتقارب مع إيران. لذلك، وقفت العواصم الخليجية بقوة لدعم القاهرة على المستوى السياسي والاقتصادي عقب الإطاحة بنظام الإخوان المسلمين في مصر في ٣٠ يونيو٢٠١٣، لتجذب القاهرة إلى المحيط الخليجي مرة أخرى، ولإحداث التوازن الجيوسياسي المفقود بين إيران والخليج.

ونتيجة لتلك الديناميات، تعلم الحكومة المصرية الحالية أن موقعها كحليف خليجي آمن نسبياً، حيث إنها تمثل العمق الاستراتيجي للخليج برمته، وأن الخليج بدونها يبدو مكشوفا، أكثر مما يجب، لاسيما مع خطط تقليص الدور الأمريكي في المنطقة. ونتيجة لذلك، كانت مصر حريصة نسبيًا في مشاركاتها في المبادرات الخليجية، حيث كان هدفها الرئيسي هو تحقيق منافع استراتيجية واضحة. فقد كانت مشاركة مصر في تحالف دعم الشرعية الذي تقوده السعودية والإمارات في اليمن بمثابة خطوة رمزية أكثر من كونها فعلية. ويذكر أنها رفضت سابقا إرسال قوات برية للمشاركة في العملية العسكرية السعودية ضد الحوثيين في اليمن، لكنها اكتفت بالمشاركة على مستوى المستشارين العسكريين، في تنسيق عمليات التحالف في اليمن.

وعلى الرغم من أن مواجهة إيران تمثل إحدى الأولويات القصوى لدول الخليج، يبدو أن المسؤولين قد قبلوا مشاركة مصر المحدودة في الحملة الموجهة ضد إيران. ويبدو أن هذا الترتيب هو الأمثل بالنسبة للقاهرة، ففي الوقت الذي ستبقى فيه مصر حليفة لدول الخليج، فإنها ستكون أيضا قادرة على تبنى مواقف تعكس المصالح الاستراتيجية المشتركة بينها وبين طهران. وفضلا عن هذا وذاك فالقاهرة وطهران يبدو أن لهما تفاهمات في الملفات الإقليمية الكبرى مثل "دعم نظام الأسد في سوريا" وضرورة إخضاع البرنامج النووي الإسرائيلي للرقابة الدولية.

وفى ما يتعلق بموقف البلدين في الشأن السوري، فالوضع مختلف تماما، حيث يسود التفاهم التام بين المصريين والإيرانيين، حتى على حساب حلفائها الخليجيين، فالقاهرة تدعم الأسد بشكل صريح، وهو حليف طهران التاريخي. فعلى عكس التوقعات، صوتت مصر في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016، لصالح قرار روسي يتعلق بسوريا، وتدعمه إيران، وتعارضه السعودية- في مجلس الأمن، مما تسبب في حالة غضب عارمة لدى المملكة. ومع ذلك، لم تتعرض القاهرة لأي ضغوطات لدفعها لاتخاذ موقف أكثر قوة ضد النظام الإيراني. ومن ثم، واستنادا لتلك المؤشرات وغيرها، يبدو أن الطرفين ليس لديهما نية الصدام في المستقبل القريب.

أن أولويات القاهرة منذ اليوم الأول لمجيء السيسي للسلطة، كانت وما زالت تتمحور حول مواجهة خطر الإسلاميين الراديكاليين سواء داخل مصر أو خارجها. فالقاهرة دعمت الأسد في حربه ضد الجماعات الإسلامية المتطرفة.، كما أنها في الوقت الراهن، تخوض حربا إقليمية شرسة مع تركيا وقطر، الذين يدعمان مشروع جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في المنطقة. ومن ثم، تتراجع أولوية مواجهة الخطر الإيراني بالنسبة لمصر،فبالسبة للقاهرة، يمثل المشروع الإخواني المدعوم من قبل أنقرة والدوحة  خطرا وجوديا يتطلب مواجهة حاسمة وسريعة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Understanding Egypt’s Limited Involvement in the Campaign Against Iran


Also available in العربية

March 21, 2019

After U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo’s last visit to the Middle East, Cairo has attempted to appear aligned with Gulf States’ efforts against the Iranian regime, at least rhetorically. Egypt’s participation in the Warsaw summit against Iran—which Pompeo had publicly announced in Cairo one month earlier—was perhaps intended to emphasize that Egypt is not opposed to the regional and international tide against Iran. However, Egypt’s apparent reluctance to becoming deeply involved was highlighted by the Polish Foreign Minister Jacek Czaputowicz’s announcement that Egypt was likely to send a vice-minister in contrast to the participation of ministers from most other participating Arab states. This is just one of several signals that suggest a relative ambivalence in Cairo over the current international campaign against Iran.

Indeed, regarding practical measures, Cairo is far from playing an influential role in this campaign. On the contrary, Cairo has actually begun to take steps to draw closer to the country seen by many Arab leaders as the foremost threat in the region. Just days before the Warsaw Conference, Cairo officially participated—perhaps for the first time—in the celebrations of the Office of the Iranian Interests Section in Cairo on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the Iranian revolution. The Egyptian Foreign Affairs Ministry sent the deputy foreign ministry for Asian Affairs, Ambassador Khalid Tharwat, to participate in the celebrations of the Iranian revolution, in a step that increased speculation about the future of relations between the two countries.

The state of Egyptian-Iranian relations has fluctuated greatly over the years; initially, relations between Egypt and the Shah’s government were quite warm, peaking after the marriage of King Farouk’s sister to the then-Crown Prince Muhammad Reza Pahlavi in 1939. However, the Iranian Revolution shifted the nature of these ties dramatically: at a time when there was some hesitance from the international community towards the new regime in Tehran, Egypt was one of the first countries to show open hostility towards the Iranian Revolution. Then-President Anwar Sadat fiercely attacked the Iranian revolution, with Cairo offering the deposed Iranian Shah Muhammad Reza Pahlavi and his family refuge and protection. Even with the death of the Shah in 1980, he was laid to rest in Cairo with an impressive military funeral in which Sadat and a number of world leaders participated.

The Islamic Republic responded in kind, especially after Egypt signed the Camp David Accords with Israel. After Sadat’s assassination, for example, the municipality of Tehran renamed one of its major streets in honor of Khalid Islambouli, the terrorist who had been implicated in the assassination. For the past several decades, diplomatic relations had been nearly entirely cut off between the two countries, limited to Interests Section offices located in the capitals of the two countries. 

The Muslim Brotherhood’s rise to power in Egypt after the 2011 revolution shifted this dynamic once again, leading to a historic rapprochement between the two countries. In August 2012, the Iranian capital welcomed Egyptian president Mohamed Morsi—the first time a sitting Egyptian president had traveled to Iran since the 1980s. Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad soon reciprocated with a visit to Egypt. In spite of the deep ideological differences between the two parties, they represented two sides of the same coin of Islamic extremism. Unsurprisingly, Iran attacked the new regime in Egypt after Morsi’s ouster, presenting it as an extension of the Sadat and Mubarak regimes.

Yet the new Cairene government’s response to these attacks was muted. Egypt limited itself to statements condemning intervention in its affairs during this period, and has since done comparatively little by way of combating Iranian influence. Iranian media has since also invoked language advocating for the normalization of ties between the two countries.

Egypt’s tone towards Iran is particularly surprising given the Gulf’s increasingly intense rhetoric against the Islamic Republic. Paradoxically, it seems that the Gulf States’ deep concern over the Muslim Brotherhood—in particular its relationship with Iran—has given the current Egyptian regime some leeway in its approach to Iran. The Muslim Brotherhood regime in Cairo was a source of deep concern for the Gulf regimes, all the more so after the historic visit of former President Morsi to Tehran. Thus, the Gulf capitals put the full weight of their economic and political force behind the ouster of the Muslim Brotherhood regime on June 30, 2013 to realign Egypt with the Gulf and reestablish the geopolitical balance between Iran and the Gulf.

Due to this dynamic, the current Egyptian government knows that its position as a Gulf ally is relatively secure, as this arrangement represents strategic depth for the Gulf as a whole. The Gulf without Egypt and its military appears more vulnerable, especially given U.S. plans to reduce its involvement in the region. Consequently, Egypt has been relatively cautious in involving itself in Gulf initiatives without clear strategic benefit to Egypt. In particular, Egypt’s participation in the Coalition to Support Legitimacy in Yemen, led by Saudi Arabia and the UAE, was essentially symbolic. Egypt refused to send ground forces to participate in Saudi military operations against the Houthis in Yemen, limiting itself instead to providing military advisers to help coordinate coalition operations.

Thus, though combating Iran is one of the Gulf States’ top priorities, officials seem to have accepted Egypt’s lackluster involvement in these efforts. For Cairo, this arrangement seems to be the best of both worlds: while remaining a Gulf ally, Egypt is able to preserve an attitude towards Iran’s actions in the region that reflects some of Cairo and Tehran’s shared strategic interests. The two states have similar perspectives on major regional issues such as support for Syria’s Bashar al-Assad and the need to subject the Israeli nuclear program to international oversight.

The position of the two countries on the Syrian issue is notably aligned—even at the expense of Egypt’s Gulf allies. Cairo openly supports Assad, Tehran’s traditional ally. And against expectations, Egypt voted in the Security Council in favor of the Russian decision on Syria in October 2016—supported by Iran and opposed by Saudi Arabia—a decision that infuriated Saudi Arabia. Nevertheless, Egypt has not been pushed towards a significantly more bellicose position by its Gulf allies, and continues to limit itself to activities like its participation in the Warsaw Conference. Based on these and other indicators, it seems that Egypt and Iran have no intention of seriously clashing in the near future.

Cairo’s perceived hierarchy of needs explains this inaction. Cairo’s priorities since Abdul Fattah al-Sisi took power have consistently centered around countering the danger of radical Islamism, both in Egypt and abroad. Cairo’s support of Assad in his war against extremist Islamist groups is an outgrowth of this concern. Cairo is likewise currently fighting a fierce regional battle with Turkey and Qatar, who support the Muslim Brotherhood in the region. Relative to these challenges, countering the Iranian threat is a lower priority for Egypt. The Muslim Brotherhood, with support from Ankara and Doha, is seen as an existential threat; Iran is not.

Customize your RSS Feed