أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

مصــر والأسد: الحسابات البرجماتية والأخلاقية


متاح أيضاً في English

25 تموز/يوليو 2018

على مدار السنوات السبع الماضية، اختارت القاهرة أن تنأي بنفسها عن الدخول مباشرة في الصراع السوري، تارة بسبب مشاكلها الداخلية، وتارة أخرى بسبب تعقيد الملف السوري، لاسيما مع انتشار قوات روسية وأمريكية وأوربية وإيرانية وتركية داخل سوريا. ومع ذلك، هناك بعض الدلائل التي تشير إلى أن القاهرة قد تسعى إلى توسيع دورها في سوريا وذلك بدافع عدائها للجماعات الإسلامية، حيث تخشى من أن يؤدي سقوط النظام السوري إلى تمكين هذه الجماعات من الاستيلاء على السلطة. ومن ثم، تدعم القاهرة الآن وبشكل نشط الرئيس السوري بشار الأسد، وذلك رداً على محاولات نظام الإخوان المسلمين لتقويض الحكومة المصرية. وللأسف، والى جانب كونه غير أخلاقي، فإن دعم القاهرة للأسد ليس بقرار حكيم من الناحية الاستراتيجية.

وفى شهر حزيران/يونيو 2013، وقبل فترة وجيزة من انتهاء ولايته القصيرة، قام الرئيس المصري محمد مرسي المنتمي لجماعة الإخوان، بإعلان الجهاد ضد نظام الأسد في سوريا، حيث أعلن عن خطة لإرسال مقاتلين متطوعين إلى سوريا وحاول إقناع المسؤولين السعوديين والإيرانيين والأتراك بالمشاركة في الحوار. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من الجهود التي بذلها في هذا الصدد، فشل مرسي في إقناع المجتمع الدولي بأن يأخذ تصريحاته ومقترحاته حول سوريا على محمل الجد.

وفى أعقاب الإطاحة بنظام الإخوان المسلمين في حزيران /يونيو 2013، تغير الموقف المصري بشكل جذري، حيث أكدت مصر على مبدأ وحدة الأراضي السورية، ومبدأ دعم الدولة السورية ومؤسساتها، ومبدأ الحل السياسي للأزمة، مع استبعاد الجماعات الإرهابية من الحل والسماح لقوى المعارضة المعتدلة بالمشاركة في الحوار. كما أيدت القاهرة علنا التدخل العسكري الروسي لدعم النظام والجيش السوري ضد المعارضة.

مؤخراً، ظهرت مصر كلاعب رئيسي في سوريا للمرة الأولى، حيث قامت في تموز/يوليو الماضي برعاية المفاوضات بين الميليشيات المتمردة والنظام في الغوطة الشرقية (شرق دمشق) والأحياء الشمالية في مدينة حمص، وتلك المناطق كانت جزء من مناطق "تخفيف التصعيد" التي وافقت عليها روسيا وتركيا وإيران في مايو 2017.

علاوة على ذلك، يبدو أن المجتمع الدولي قد رحب بمشاركة مصر في الأزمة السورية المستمرة، حيث استقبل الرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي في وقت مبكر الشهر الماضي في القاهرة، ستيفان دى ميستورا، المبعوث الخاص للأمم المتحدة لسوريا، قادما من إيران، وذلك قبل أن يتوجه المبعوث الأُممي لزيارة موسكو وبروكسل. ويأمل المبعوث الأممي من زيارته إلى دفع القاهرة لاستخدام نفوذها واتصالاتها لدفع الأطراف المعنية داخل سوريا بالجلوس على مائدة المفوضات والبدء في العملية السياسية.

وفي هذا السياق، من المهم ملاحظة أنه على الرغم من أن نطاق تدخل مصر في سوريا قد تغير، إلا أن موقفها تجاه النظام السوري لم يتغير، فالقاهرة تخشى من النمو المحتمل للجماعات الإسلامية في سوريا، وتأثيرها المحتمل على حركات التمرد المحلية في مصر. ومن ثم، تحالفت القاهرة مع الحكومة السورية التي تقدم نفسها كبديل وحيد لتلك الجماعات.

ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من مخاوف القاهرة بشأن تمدد الميليشيات الإسلامية، إلا أن تبني القاهرة لمقاربة الدعم العلني لنظام الأسد في الحقيقة لا يوجد ما يبررها على الجانب البرجماتي أو حتى الأخلاقي، فمن الناحية الأخلاقية يجب على القاهرة إلا تستمر في دعم نظام الأسد الذي اقترف كل أنواع الجرائم ضد شعبه ابتداء بإطلاق النار على المتظاهرين العزل ونهاية بهجمات كيماوية ضد نساء وأطفال ومدنيين.

وقد شكل موقف مصر من نظام الأسد تهديدا حقيقا للعلاقات بينها وبين حلفائها الخليجيين الذين يطمحون في تقويض النظام السوري بسبب علاقاته مع إيران. وقد برزت بوادر التوترات بين مصر ودول الخليج على خلفية الأزمة السورية في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2016،عندما صوتت مصر لصالح قرار روسي -تعارضه السعودية- في مجلس الأمن، مما تسبب في حالة غضب عارمة لدى المملكة التي وصف مندوبها في مجلس الأمن القرار على بانه "مؤلم." وردت السعودية بوقف إمداداتها من النفط الرخيص إلى مصر، الأمر الذي أجبر القاهرة على شراء إمداداتها النفطية من مصادر أخرى بأسعار السوق، مما أضر أينما ضرر بالموازنة المصرية وهي التي تعاني أصلا من عجزا قياسيا متناميا منذ عام 2011. لذلك، فإن دعم القاهرة للأسد يمثل تهديدا للعلاقات بين مصر وبين تلك الحكومات التي مدت يد العون لمصر للإطاحة بحُكم الإخوان المسلمين، ومن ثم، ساهمت في دعم الاستقرار في مصر في أعقاب 30يونيو 2013.

ويمكن لمصر في هذا الصدد أن تتبنى سياسة أكثر برجماتية وأخلاقية في ذات الوقت، وذلك بالحفاظ على قنوات اتصالاتها مفتوحة مع كل الأطراف. كما يجب أن تنظر مصر بعين الاعتبار للتهديدات الإيرانية في المنطقة، وان تعمل جنبا إلى جنب مع حلفائها الخلجيين والولايات المتحدة لمواجهة تلك التهديدات ووضع حد للنفوذ الإيراني في المنطقة. وإما عن خطر صعود الجماعات المتطرفة في سوريا الذي يقلق المصريين فهذا أمر يمكن احتوائه وجرى احتوائه بالفعل عن طريق الحملة الدولية ضد تنظيم "داعش" هناك. كما يجب ألا يؤثر تخوف القاهرة من التمدد الإرهابي على سياستها الخارجية في سوريا، حيث أن هناك منافذ أخرى وحلفاء أخرين يعملون من اجل إحلال السلام الداخلي في سوريا.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Egypt and Assad: Calculations, Pragmatism, and Morality


Also available in العربية

July 25, 2018

For the past seven years, Egypt, guided by domestic considerations and deterred by the presence of U.S., Iranian, Turkish, Russian, and other European forces, has largely kept clear of the conflict in Syria. Nonetheless, there are signs that Cairo, motivated by animosity towards Islamist groups and by fear that the fall of the Syrian government would enable such groups to rise to power, might actually be seeking to expand its role in Syria. Partially as a reaction to the Muslim Brotherhood regime’s attempts to undermine the Egyptian government, Cairo now actively supports Syrian President Bashar al-Assad. Unfortunately, this support of Assad is not only immoral, but also strategically unwise.    

In June 2013, not long before the end of his short term as Egypt’s president, Mohamed Morsi of the Muslim Brotherhood declared jihad on Assad’s regime in Syria. In practical terms, Morsi announced a plan to send volunteer fighters to Syria and attempted to convince Saudi, Iranian, and Turkish officials to participate in mutual dialogue. However, despite his efforts, Morsi failed to convince the international community to take his statements and suggestions seriously.

After the Egyptian Armed Forces removed Morsi from power and assumed control over the Egyptian government in July 2013, Cairo’s stance on the emerging Syrian crisis changed radically. Following the coup, Cairo expressed its support for Syrian government institutions and called for a political solution that would exclude terrorist organizations while allowing moderate opposition groups to participate in negotiations. Cairo also openly supported Russia’s military intervention, whose purpose is to bolster Assad’s regime against rebel forces.

Nevertheless, it was not until recently that Egypt became an important player in Syria. Last July, for example, Egypt oversaw negotiations between rebel militias and the regime. Cairo succeeded in securing a ceasefire agreement in Eastern Ghouta and the northern neighborhoods of Homs, which are located in the “de-escalation zones” agreed upon in May 2017 by Russia, Turkey, and Iran. Furthermore, it appears that the international community welcomes Egypt’s involvement in the continuing crisis: Early last month, Egyptian President Abdelfattah al-Sisi hosted UN Special Envoy for Syria Staffan de Mistura, who had just been to Iran and was headed to Moscow and Brussels. The purpose of De Mistura’s visit was to engage Cairo in efforts to promote negotiations in Syria and usher in the beginning of a political process there.

Given this context, it is important to note that while the scope of Egypt’s involvement in Syria has changed, it stance concerning the regime has not. Fearing the potential growth and strengthening of Islamist groups in Syria and their potential impact on Egypt’s domestic insurgency concerns, Cairo has aligned itself with the Syrian government because it presents itself as the only alternative to these groups.

However, despite Cairo’s concerns regarding Islamist militias, Egypt’s decision to openly support the Syrian government is unjustifiable on both pragmatic and moral grounds. Indeed, from a moral standpoint, Cairo should not ally itself with a regime that has committed well-documented crimes against its own people, from firing at unarmed demonstrators to launching chemical attacks on women, children, and civilians.

Furthermore, Cairo’s support of Assad could actually jeopardize Egyptian interests by alienating the Gulf States, which are among Egypt’s most important allies and whose governments aspire to undermine the Syrian government because of its ties to Iran. Tensions between Egypt and the Gulf states over the Syrian crisis became evident in October 2016, when Egypt voted in favor of a draft resolution on Syria submitted to the UN Security Council by Russia. Egypt’s decision to vote for the Russian draft resolution angered Saudi Arabia, whose representative to the United Nations depicted the Egyptian vote as “painful.” In response to the vote, Riyadh halted cheap oil shipments to Egypt, forcing Cairo to purchase oil at market prices from other vendors. This move was a serious economic blow to Egypt, which is suffering from an unprecedented an budget deficit that has grown steadily since 2011. In this manner, Cairo’s support of Assad is risking Egypt’s relationship with the governments who had helped the Egyptian Armed Forces oust the Muslim Brotherhood and whose support contributed significantly to stability in Egypt.

Thus, it is necessary for Egypt to adopt a more pragmatic approach by keeping channels of communication open with all sides. When making decisions, Cairo should take the Iranian threat to the region into consideration and support the efforts of the Gulf and the United States to limit Iranian influence. Meanwhile, the threat of terrorist organizations rising to power in Syria—Egypt’s main concern—can be and in fact has been contained through the international campaign against the Islamic State. For Egypt, concern over terrorism should not unduly influence foreign policy towards Syria: there are other outlets and other allies for domestic peace.

Customize your RSS Feed