أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

خطة سلام بديلة


متاح أيضاً في English

2 آذار/مارس 2020

سلّط الردّ السلبي المخيب للآمال للكثير من دول العالم العربي إزاء اقتراح السلام الذي أعلن عنه مؤخرًا الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب الضوء على الحاجة الملحة إلى رؤى بديلة لأطروحة السلام، وبخاصة من الجانب الفلسطيني. وكمجتمع دولي، علينا زعزعة أسس هذا الصراع لإحلال السلام. فالمصالحة والسلام التاليان سيغيران العلاقات بين شعوبنا المتصارعة: جزء كبير من المخاوف التي نجدها ملحة في أوقات النزاعات ستصبح أقل إلحاحًا أو حتى ستتبدد في أوقات السلم.

كما أن السعي لإيجاد بديل هو أمر ضروري نظرًا إلى أن استمرار الوضع القائم في الأراضي الفلسطينية (الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة) هو سبب لصراع لا ينتهي، ناهيك عن انه وضع لا يمكن له أن يستمر. وفي حين أن مخاطر هذا الوضع القائم ربما تهدد الفلسطينيين بشكل أكبر، يجدر أيضًا بالإسرائيليين أن يفهموا أن الأوضاع لن تبقى على ما هي عليه من دون أن تتدهور: فعدم اعتراف إسرائيل بالسيادة الفلسطينية على أراضيها وحق الشعب الفلسطيني في تقرير مصيره ينتهك القانون الدولي وسيقوّض تدريجيًا مكانة دولة إسرائيل في الساحة العالمية، ويؤجج المشاعر المعادية للسامية عالميًا.   

وعليه، أقترح خطة سلام بديلة مصممة لتكون حقًا عادلة ومنصفة للطرفين. أما خطة السلام هذه، التي صاغها فرد وحددت معالمها سنوات من الخبرة، فليست مصممة لتكون بديلًا شاملًا عن المفاوضات السابقة؛ بل إنها مصممة لتقديم حلول عادلة وجدية للقضايا الأكثر جدلًا في الصراع. وهي تقرّ بالتاريخ المعقد للقضايا الأساسية التي تغذي الصراع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني، بما في ذلك وضع اللاجئين، والقدس، والحدود، وحق الفلسطينيين واليهود بالسيادة وتقرير المصير في هذه الأرض المقدسة. وهي تقترح بعد ذلك سبيلًا لحل هذه القضايا يقرّ ويأخذ في الحسبان مخاوف الطرفين وتطلعاتهم المستقبلية.

الاعتراف المتبادل: الدولة والحدود

يتمثل المبدأ الأساسي لهذه الاتفاقية البديلة في أن إعلان دولة لكل شعب هو نقطة انطلاق ضرورية. فستقام دولة فلسطينية سيادية ومستقلة وعلمانية في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة بجوار دولة إسرائيلية سيادية ومستقلة ويهودية. ومن شأن إقامة دولة رسمية أن تضع حدًا لعلاقة الاحتلال-المحتل بين شعبيْ فلسطين وإسرائيل.

وفي حين سيتمّ الاعتراف والإقرار بهاتين الدولتين بشكل متبادل، على الطرفين أيضًا الإقرار بالروابط التاريخية العميقة المتبادلة بالأرض التي يتنازع عليها الطرفان بشدة. وستعترف إسرائيل بأن الأرض المقدسة هي أرض الشعب الفلسطيني، وبدورها ستقرّ فلسطين بأن الأرض المقدسة هي أيضًا أرض الشعب اليهودي. كما سيحترم الفلسطينيون السيادة الوطنية وحق تقرير المصير للشعب اليهودي في أرض الأجداد، بما يضع حدًا لأكثر من 1900 عام من المنفى والشتات والاضطهاد. أما الإسرائيليون، فسيقرون بالسيادة الوطنية وحق تقرير المصير للشعب الفلسطيني في أرض الأجداد القائمة على أساس قرار الأمم المتحدة رقم 181 والمعروف أيضًا باسم خطة تقسيم فلسطين الصادرة عن الأمم المتحدة في العام 1947.

وسيطال هذا الاعتراف الأقليات أيضًا في الدولتين: فسيقبل الفلسطينيون بشرعية الحقوق التاريخية لليهود في فلسطين وسيقبلون بأقلية يهودية تعيش في دولة فلسطين المستقلة وتتمتع بكافة حقوقها المدنية أسوةً بالأغلبية العربية. من جهتها، ستتمتع الأقلية العربية في إسرائيل بكافة حقوقها المدنية أسوة بالأغلبية اليهودية. وسيُمنح الفلسطينيون اليهود في دولة فلسطين والإسرائيليون العرب في دولة إسرائيل خيار حمل جنسيتين. وسيساهم هذا الاعتراف المتبادل إلى حدّ كبير في وضع حدّ للكراهية والعداوة بين الشعبين.

وما إن يتمّ ترسيخ هذا الاعتراف المتبادل، ستبرز أطر سياسية أساسية بين الدولتين. وسيصوت الإسرائيليون لانتخاب أعضاء الكنيست الإسرائيلي، في حين سيدلي الفلسطينيون بأصواتهم لانتخاب نوابهم في البرلمان الفلسطيني. على نحو مماثل، ستنظر المحاكم في الدعاوى القضائية المقامة في فلسطين وفقًا للقوانين الفلسطينية وستطبق القوانين الإسرائيلية في محاكم إسرائيل. غير أن يهود فلسطين الذين يحملون الجنسية الإسرائيلية سيتمتعون حصرًا بخيار الخضوع لقوانين إسرائيلية، حيث ستحاكمهم المحاكم الإسرائيلية بحسب القانون الإسرائيلي الخاص والجنائي. ومن شأن هذا الترتيب أن يحترم حق اليهود بعدم الخضوع للقوانين الفلسطينية خارج نطاق القانون العام والإداري.     

وعلى الصعيد الأمني، ستكون دولة فلسطين منزوعة السلاح. وتُعتبر حالتا اليابان وألمانيا الغربية بعد الحرب العالمية الثانية خير مثال على كيفية تحويل وجهة استعمال الأموال التي كانت لتخصص للنفقات العسكرية بدلًا من ذلك لتحسين البنية التربوية والاجتماعية وبناء الاقتصاد، مما جعل الدولتين من الدول الأكثر نفوذًا والأكثر نجاحًا اقتصاديًا وصناعيا.

وسيسمح عدم وجود العبئ المالي لجيش نظامي لدولة فلسطين بتحويل مواردها المالية والبشرية المحدودة لتطوير اقتصادها وإمكانياتها العلمية والتكنولوجية. وبهدف ضمان الأمن، ستوقع إسرائيل وفلسطين معاهدة أمن متبادلة تضمن سلامة وأمن الشعبين. كذلك، سيساعد المجتمع الدولي دولة فلسطين على التصدي للتطرف الديني والتهديدات التي تطرحها المنظمات الإرهابية الراديكالية الداخلية والخارجية.  

وستكون الحدود المعترف بها لإسرائيل وفلسطين هي نفسها حدود ما قبل العام 1967 مع تعديلات يتفق عليها الطرفان ومبادلات أراضٍ بالتراضي – وهو مبدأ وافق عليه الطرفان أساسًا. وستكون الأراضي المتبادلة متساوية من حيث الحجم والنوعية. لكن بخلاف نموذج الدولة القومية النموذجية، ستبقى بعض المنافذ قائمة على الحدود بين الدولتين. وفي عالم اليوم، تتضاءل الحاجة إلى ترسيم الحدود.      

وسيُسمح للشتات الفلسطيني، الذي تشرد بفعل حربيْ 1947-1948 و1967، بممارسة حق العودة إلى دولة فلسطين. غير أن مطلب السماح لهؤلاء اللاجئين بالعودة إلى منازلهم الأصلية في دولة اسرائيل لم يعد واقعيًا أو عمليًا نظرًا إلى التطورات العالمية والإقليمية والمحلية التي حصلت منذ العام 1948 وما يتطلبه ذلك حرمانهم من الانتماء لدولتهم ولهويتهم الفلسطينية.

أما بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يختارون عدم ممارسة حقهم بالعودة إلى دولة فلسطين، فسيحصلون على تعويض بفضل الأصول المخصصة لتطبيق خطة السلام. وسيكون ذلك من خلال اتفاق مشترك بين دولة إسرائيل والدول العربية المنتجة للنفط والمجتمع الدولي من أجل التعويض ماديًا على الفلسطينيين المشردين بفعل الحروب التي اندلعت بعد العام 1947. وستساهم هذه الأصول بشكل أساسي في تسهيل إعادة توطين واستيعاب اللاجئين في موطنهم الطبيعي. وسيحل ذلك محل الخدمات الدولية على غرار "وكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين" ("الأونروا") التي كانت مصممة أساسًا لمساعدة اللاجئين الفلسطينيين. وعلى نحو مماثل، سيحصل اللاجئون اليهود الذين أرغموا على الهرب من الدول العربية أواخر الأربعينيات ومطلع الخمسينيات على تعويضات من هذه الأموال نفسها.    

القدس

تؤدي مناقشة حدود الأراضي والجنسية حتمًا إلى المسألة الشائكة على نحو خاص ألا وهي مدينة القدس. فلا بدّ لتحديد وضع هذه المدينة التاريخية المقدسة التي تجمع الأديان السماوية الثلاثة من أن يستند أيضًا إلى الاحترام المتبادل والإقرار بوضعها الخاص. وينظر كل من اليهود والمسيحيين والمسلمين، وهم محقون بذلك، إلى القدس باعتبارها مدينة قيّمة وعزيزة على قلوبهم، ولا بدّ من الإقرار والاعتراف بهذه الأهمية الدينية الفريدة من نوعها واحترامها في أي اتفاق نهائي.   

كما يجب الاعتراف بالقدس على أنها مدينة "مزدوجة الهوية". فمدينة القدس داخل أسوار البلدة القديمة – التي بناها السلطان العثماني سليمان القانوني منذ أكثر من 500 عام – هي "المدينة الدينية" المذكورة في كافة الكتب المقدسة وتضمّ مواقع تتسم بدرجة عالية من القدسية لكافة الديانات السماوية. وخارج جدران البلدة القديمة تقع "القدس الحديثة" التي تمّ ضمها إلى المفهوم الأشمل للقدس خلال السنوات المئة الماضية. وهذه الأرض التي ضمتها بلدية القدس هي التي يمكن تشاركها كعاصمتين لإسرائيل وفلسطين.   

تجدر الملاحظة أنه ثمة اختلافات جذرية من حيث المعنى والمكانة بين "المدينة القديمة" القيّمة دينيًا و"المدينة البلدية" ذات الثقل الإداري. وعليه، لا بدّ من إخضاعهما لنماذج حوكمة مختلفة. ففي وقت يجب فيه إبقاء المدينة موحدة جغرافيًا – مع عدم استعمال جدران حديثة وأسلاك شائكة، سيتمّ وضع مدينة القدس القديمة تحت سيادة حكم الله – التي تعتبر السلطة المقدسة التي تعترف بها وتحترمها كافة الأطراف. وستتمركز الهيكليتان الحكوميتان الفدراليتان، البرلمان/الكنيست والمحاكم العليا في إسرائيل وفلسطين خارج البلدة القديمة أي المدينة المقدسة، أي في القدس الغربية والقدس الشرقية على التوالي. وستتولى بلدية تمثل كافة سكان القدس إدارة شؤون المدينة ككل على أساس يومي.  

غير أن المواقع الدينية المقدسة في المدينة ستكون مفتوحة أمام الجميع. وحاليًا، يُسمح للمسلمين بزيارة المواقع المقدسة اليهودية والمسيحية، على غرار حائط المبكى وكنيسة القيامة في القدس. وعليه، سيُسمح لغير المسلمين بدخول المواقع المقدسة المسلمة على غرار الحرم الشريف والمسجد الأقصى.   

وفي الوقت الراهن، صحيح أن القدس موحدة كأرض ولكنها مقسمة ديمغرافيًا وسياسيًا ونفسيًا ودينيًا. ورغم أن الوضع الحالي يعكس هذه الانقسامات وكأنها وضع قائم "بحكم الواقع"، تقترح هذه الخطة فرض وضع متبادل بحكم الواقع وبحكم القانون يقرّ بهذه الانقسامات مع توفير سبيل يكفل ارتباطات الطرفين السياسية والدينية بالمدينة.    

التعاون والتعايش

رغم أن هذه الخطة تقترح إقامة دولة، إلا أنها تقرّ في الوقت نفسه بالترابط الفريد الذي يختبره أساسًا الإسرائيليون والفلسطينيون.

وسيكون للفلسطينيين من الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة حق السفر بحرية والعمل في إسرائيل. كما سيُسمح للإسرائيليين بالتحرك بحرية والعمل في دولة فلسطين المستقلة.

هذا وسيتمّ إنشاء لجنة مشتركة مهمتها تطبيق منهج تربوي للسلام يعلّم المواطنين في الدولتين تاريخ وثقافة الشعبين اليهودي والفلسطيني – إلى جانب معنى وأهمية الأرض المقدسة بالنسبة لكل مجتمع تمهيدًا لتطبيق هذه الخطة. وستشرف هذه اللجنة المشتركة على التعليم بكافة مستوياته بغية ضمان خلوّه من التلقين العقائدي والكراهية والتحريض.   

أما التعاون الاقتصادي بين إسرائيل وفلسطين، فسيهدف إلى ضمان الرفاه والازدهار للشعبين. وعلى غرار قضية اللاجئين الناتجة عن حرب 1948، سيموّل المجتمع الدولي والدول العربية المنتجة للنفط بناء البنى التحتية والاقتصاد في فلسطين بشكل كامل بواسطة الأموال التي كانت مخصصة نظريًا للنفقات العسكرية.   

رسم مسار سلام

سيتمّ تطبيق الأقسام المذكورة أعلاه لخطة السلام على مراحل في إطار جدول زمني يتفق عليه الطرفان، مما يشجعهما على الوفاء بالتزاماتهما ضمن الاتفاقات السابقة ووضع تدابير بناء الثقة الضرورية لأي اتفاق سلام فعال. وستشرف الولايات المتحدة، في إطار دورها التاريخي كطرف ثالث في المفاوضات، على لائحة الخطوات التي يجدر بالطرفين اتخاذها تطبيقًا لهذه الخطة. كما سيضطلع الاتحاد الأوروبي والمجتمع الدولي بدور إيجابي في بناء الروابط بين الشعبين.     

وتحقق خطة السلام المقترحة هذه الحلم الفلسطيني بتقرير حقه في إقامة الدولة الفلسطينية وعاصمتها القدس الشرقية والحلم الصهيوني بتقرير الشعب اليهودي مصيره في دولة إسرائيل وعاصمتها القدس الغربية مغ استمرارية بقاء المدينة موحدة مما ينزع فتيل المظالم الشرعية التي تؤجج كره الفلسطينيين للصهيونية. ومن خلال تحقيق هذا الإنجاز، لن يبقى ترسيم الحدود النهائية بين إسرائيل وفلسطين مسألة مثيرة للجدل بهذا القدر، إذ إن الحدود المقترحة في هذه الخطة تحدد ببساطة أماكن عمل الأجهزة الأمنية الإسرائيلية والفلسطينية – ولا تقيم حاجزًا مدنيًا يمنع الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين من التنقل في أرجاء وطنهم التاريخي.      

ومن الممكن – بواسطة تفكير مبتكر وإبداعي واقتراحات متطورة وخارجة عن المألوف – وارساء الثقة أن ينتهي هذا الصراع. لكن كي يقبل العالم العربي والاسلامي بدولة يهودية وبحق اليهود بتقرير مصيرهم وبمنحهم حقوقًا سكنية في الأرض المقدسة، يجب أن يبادلهم اليهود هذه المبادرة من خلال الاعتراف بالسيادة الفلسطينية في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة والقدس الشرقية.  

وسيكون هذا الاعتراف المتبادل بالسيادة وحق تقرير المصير في الأرض المقدسة مقدمة لليهود والفلسطينيين ليؤمنوا مجددًا بإمكانية التسوية والسلام والتعايش.

ومن شأن القبول بخطة السلام هذه أن يشكّل تقدمًا في عملية إقامة علاقات بين إسرائيل والفلسطينيين والعرب وكذلك العالم الاسلامي.

هذه خطة سلام ربح-ربح تعود بالفائدة على الشعبين.

ملاحظة المحرر: نظرًا إلى أن هذا المقال هو خطة سلام بديلة، لا بدّ من تسليط الضوء على عدة نقاط رئيسية مشتركة ومتعارضة مع الاقتراح الحالي الذي قدمته إدارة ترامب. فمن جهة، توافق خطة الدجاني على جانبًا مثيرًا للجدل لخطة السلام الأخيرة، وهو الاعتراف بإسرائيل كدولة يهودية. وفي المقابل، تعدل هذه الخطة البديلة ما تضمنته خطة ترامب بشأن القدس واقتراحات الحدود الراهنة التي دعت لها صفقة القرن، لتقدم عوضًا عن ذلك فهمًا مختلفًا جوهريًا لحدود الدولة والبلديات – بما يتواءم بشكل أكبر مع نموذج الاتحاد الأوروبي. وبخلاف الخطة الأمريكية المقترحة للسلام التي تنادي بإقامة دولة فلسطينية في نهاية المطاف، فإن خطة الدجاني تدعو الى إقامة الدولة الفلسطينية في باكورة المسيرة السلمية، كشرط مسبق ضروري للدخول في المزيد من المفاوضات.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

An Alternative Peace Plan


Also available in العربية

March 2, 2020

The disenchanted response of much of the Arab world to U.S. President Trump’s recently announced Peace Proposal has highlighted the serious need for alternative visions of a peace process, especially from Palestinians. And as an international community, we need to shake the foundations of this conflict to find peace. The reconciliation and peace that will follow will change relations between our conflicting peoples: so many of our concerns that we find pressing in times of conflict will become less pressing or even ameliorated in peace times.

An alternative is also vital due to the reality that continuing the status quo in the Palestinian Territories (West Bank and Gaza Strip) is a recipe for ceaseless conflict, not to mention an unsustainable condition. While the dangers of the status-quo may be more obvious to Palestinians, Israelis should also come to understand that things will not continue as they are without deterioration: Israel's denial of Palestinian sovereignty and self-determination violates international law and will gradually undermine the status of the state of Israel in the global arena, fueling anti-Semitism globally.

Thus, I am proposing an alternative peace plan, designed with every intention of being truly just and equitable to both parties. This peace plan, written by an individual and shaped by years of experience, is not designed to be a comprehensive alternative to previous negotiations. Rather, it is designed to put forth just and serious solutions to the most contentious issues of the conflict. It acknowledges the complex history of the basic issues underpinning the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, including the status of refugees, Jerusalem, borders, and the sovereignty and self-determination rights of Palestinians and Jews throughout the Holy Land. It then suggests a way forward on these issues that are respectful and knowledgeable of both sides’ concerns.

Mutual Recognition: Statehood and Borders

The underlying principle of this alternative agreement is that statehood for both populations is a required starting point. A sovereign, independent, and secular State of Palestine will be established in the West Bank and Gaza Strip next to a sovereign, independent, and Jewish state of Israel. Formal statehood will end the occupier-occupied relationship between the two peoples of Palestine and Israel.

While these two states will be mutually recognized and acknowledged, both sides must also recognize the mutual deep historical ties to the land so contested by both parties. Israel will recognize the Holy Land as the homeland of the Palestinian people, and Palestine will recognize the Holy Land as the homeland of the Jewish people. The Palestinians will acknowledge national sovereignty and self-determination of the Jewish people in their ancestral homeland as putting an end to over 1900 years of exile, dispersion and persecution. The Israelis will acknowledge national sovereignty and self-determination of the Palestinian people in their ancestral homeland formulated on the basis of UN Resolution 181, also known as the UN Partition Plan of 1947.

This recognition would also extend to minorities in both states: Palestinians would accept the legitimacy of Jewish historical rights in Palestine and accept a Jewish minority residing in an independent State of Palestine, enjoying full civil rights equal to those of the Arab majority. The Arab minority of Israel will enjoy also full civil rights equal to those of the Jewish majority. Jewish Palestinians in the State of Palestine and Arab Israelis in the State of Israel will be given the option to hold dual citizenship. This mutual recognition will do much to help end the hatred and enmity between both peoples.

Once this mutual recognition is established, basic political parameters between the two states will be established. Israelis will vote for the Israeli Knesset and Palestinians will vote for the Palestinian parliament. Similarly, court cases in Palestine will be judged according to Palestinian laws and court cases in Israel will be judged according to Israeli laws. However, Jews in Palestine holding Israeli citizenship will individually have the option of being extraterritorial, subject to Israeli laws, with Israeli courts trying them according to Israeli private and criminal law. This arrangement would respect the right of Jews not to be subject to Palestinian laws outside the field of public and administrative law.

From a security perspective, the State of Palestine will be de-militarized. The cases of Japan and West Germany after the Second World War demonstrate how the funds that would have otherwise been allocated to military expenditures were instead channeled into building both states’ economies, building both nations into two of the most economically powerful and industrially successful countries.

A lack of a standing army will allow the State of Palestine to divert its limited financial and human resources to the development of its economic, scientific, and technological potential. In order to guarantee its security, Israel and Palestine will sign a mutual security pact designed to ensure the safety and security of both peoples. The international community would also assist the State of Palestine to confront religious radicalism, as well as threats from internal and external radical terrorist organizations.

The recognized borders of Israel and Palestine will be equivalent to pre-1967 borders with mutually agreed-upon adjustments and consensual land swaps—a principle both sides have already accepted. Said land-swaps would be equal in size and quality. However, unlike the standard nation-state model, the borders between the two states will be permeable and porous. In today’s world, there is a diminishing necessity for borders.

The Palestinian Diaspora, displaced by the 1947-48 and 1967 wars, will be allowed to exercise their right of return to the State of Palestine. However, the demand that these refugees would be allowed to return to their original homes is no longer realistic or practical, given the global, regional, and local developments that have occurred since 1948, which deprived them of their state and Palestinian identity.

For those who choose not to exercise their right to return to a Palestinian state, compensation would be offered, facilitated by the assets allocated for the implementation of peace. This would be facilitated by a joint-agreement between the State of Israel, the Arab oil-producing countries, and the international community to monetarily compensate Palestinians displaced in wars after 1947. These assets will primarily help facilitate the resettlement and absorption of the refugees in their natural national habitat. This would replace international services such as UNRWA originally designated to help Palestinian refugees. Jewish refugees forced to flee Arab states in the late 1940s and early 1950s will be similarly compensated from the same fund.

Jerusalem

Discussing territorial boundaries and citizenship inevitably lead to the particularly thorny question of the city of Jerusalem. Deciding the status of this ancient holy city to which the three Abrahamic religions are attached, must also be based on mutual respect and the recognition of its unique status. Jews, Christians, and Muslims alike rightfully view Jerusalem as their treasured and cherished city, and this unique religious importance must be recognized, acknowledged and respected in any final agreement.

Jerusalem must also be recognized as a city with a ‘dual identity.’ Jerusalem’s Old City is the ‘religious city’ mentioned in holy scriptures and with deeply holy sites to all Abrahamic religions. Outside the walls of the Old City—built by the Ottoman sultan Suleiman the Lawmaker more than five hundred years ago—is the ‘municipal city’ that has been annexed into the broader concept of Jerusalem over the last hundred years. It is this municipal territory that can be shared as two capitals for Israel and Palestine.

The religiously-weighted ‘old city’ and the more administratively heavy ‘municipal city’ are radically different in meaning and status. As such, they must be placed under different models of governance. While keeping the city geographically unified—and without the use of modern walls and barbed wire, the Old City of Jerusalem will be placed under the sovereignty of God—the sacred authority all sides acknowledge and respect.

The two federal government structures, their Parliament/Knesset, and Supreme Courts of Israel and Palestine will both be seated outside the Old City, in West Jerusalem and East Jerusalem respectively. The affairs of the overall city would be run on a day-to-day basis by a municipality that represents all Jerusalemites.

The city’s religious sacred sites, however, should be open to all. Currently, Muslims are freely allowed to visit Jewish and Christian Holy sites such as the Western Wall and the Church of the Holy Sepulcher in Jerusalem. As such, non-Muslims would be permitted to enter Muslim Holy sites such as Al-Haram al-Sheriff and Al-Aqsa Mosque.

At present, Jerusalem is physically united but is divided demographically, politically, psychologically, and religiously. And though the present situation reflects these divisions in a ‘de-facto’ status, this plan proposes granting a mutual de-facto and de-jure status that acknowledges these divisions while providing a way to satisfy both sides’ political attachments to the city.

Cooperation and Coexistence

Though this plan proposes statehood, it also acknowledges the unique entwinement already experienced by Israelis and Palestinians.

Palestinians from the West Bank and Gaza Strip will have the right to travel freely and to work in Israel. Israelis will be allowed to move freely and work in the independent Palestinian state.

A joint-commission will be created with the task of implementing a peace education curriculum educating people in both states about the history and culture of both Jews and Palestinians—together with the meaning and importance of the Holy Land to each community in preparation for the implementation of this plan. Learning at all levels will be supervised by this joint commission in order to ensure that it is void of indoctrination, hatred, and incitement.

Economic cooperation between Israel and Palestine will aim at securing the welfare and prosperity of both peoples. Similar to the issue of refugees created by the war in 1948, the international community and Arab oil-producing countries would finance the bottom-up building of Palestinian infrastructures and the economy along with funds diverted from any theoretical military spending.

Shaping a Pathway to Peace

The above sections of the peace plan would be implemented in stages during a mutually-agreed timetable, encouraging both parties to honor previous agreement commitments and building the trust and confidence-building measures vital to any effective peace agreement. The United States, as part of its historical role as a third-party in the negotiations, would supervise the list of steps the two sides should take in the implementation of this plan. The European Union and the international community will also play a positive role in people-to-people engagements.

This proposed alternative peace plan fulfills the Palestinian dream to self-determination in establishing a Palestinian state with East Jerusalem as its capital. It also fulfills the Israeli dream of Jewish self-determination in Eretz Israel while keeping Jerusalem united to defuse the legitimate grievances that fuel Palestinian hatred of Zionism. By accomplishing these feats, the drawing of final borders between Israel and Palestine will be far less contentious, as the borders proposed in this plan merely designate where Israeli and Palestinian security services operate—not a civil barrier preventing Israelis or Palestinians from moving throughout their historical homeland.

It is possible—with creative thinking, trust building, as well as fresh, out-of-the-box proposals—for this conflict to come to an end. But for the Arab and the Muslim world to come to accept a Jewish state, Jewish self-determination, and residential rights in the Holy Land, Zionists must reciprocate by recognizing Palestinian sovereignty in the West Bank, Gaza Strip, and East Jerusalem.

This reciprocal recognition of sovereignty and self-determination rights in the Holy Land is the premise for Jews and Palestinians to believe once again in compromise, peace, and coexistence.

Accepting this peace plan would constitute a breakthrough in the process of forging relations between Israel, the Palestinians, and the Arab as well as the Muslim world.

This is a win-win Peace Plan.

Editor’s Note: Given that this article is presented as an alternative peace plan, it is worth noting several major points of agreement with and divergence from the Trump Administration’s current proposal. On the one hand, Dajani’s plan accepts a controversial aspect of the recent Peace Plan: the recognition of Israel as a Jewish state. Conversely, the alternative plan rejects Trump’s plan for Jerusalem and the proposed borders, presenting instead a fundamentally different understanding of how state and municipal borders should function—more along the lines of a European Union model. In contrast to the proposed U.S. peace plan, the Dajani plan also calls for the establishment of a Palestinian state at the start of the peace process as a necessary precondition for further negotiations.

Customize your RSS Feed