أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

عرض فلسطيني للمشاركة في القدس


متاح أيضاً في English

17 /يناير 2018

17 يناير/كانون الثاني 2018

لا تزال عملية السلام العربية-الإسرائيلية متعثرةً أو حتى مشلولةً بحيث تستدعي رعايةً شديدة وشاملة على الفور من قبل الولايات المتحدة كونها وسيطها الوحيد. فقد فاجأ الرئيس ترامب جميع الأوساط بإعلان القدس عاصمةً لإسرائيل، منتهكًا بذلك الشرعية الدولية وقرارات الأمم المتحدة التي كانت الولايات المتحدة ترعاها وتدعمها حتى الآونة الأخيرة.

والجدير بالذكر أنّه لدي العرب قول مأثور "صديقك من صدَقَك وليس من صدَّقك"، بمعنى أنّ صديقك الحقيقي هو من كان صادقًا معك ونصحك ونبّهك على زلاّتك وليس من أثنى على رأيك أو أفعالك ولو كنت على خطأ. وأنا آمل شخصيًا ألّا تضل عملية السلام طريقها، فمن الحكمة اليوم تحويل عملية السلام غير المثمرة إلى عملية ناجحة ومثمرة بدلًا من إفشالها. وبصراحة تامة، أؤمن شخصيًا بأن الجهود الصادقة قد تحوّل هذه المشكلة إلى فرصة لتمهيد الطريق أمام الأطراف للدخول في مفاوضات جدية مع صلاحيات واضحة المعالم وإطار زمني محدد في الميزانية.

وفي هذا السياق، وتحديدًا في ما يتعلق بالقدس، أؤيد وأنا مرتاح الضمير وثيقة 17 كانون الثاني/يناير 2000 التي تتضمن مجموعةً من المبادئ، حيث كنت شخصيًا وبصفة فردية، الطرف الأساسي في التفاوض عليها على مدى عامين تحت إشراف "مؤسسة روكفلر" مع مجموعة من الأكاديميين والممارسين الدوليين، بما فيهم إسرائيليين وفلسطينيين وأردنيين ومصريين وأمريكيين وغيرهم ممن قاموا، بعد وضع الصيغة النهائية لها، بتكليف مجموعة أصغر (السفير الأمريكي السابق لدى الأمم المتحدة ومدير مركز البرامج الدولية في جامعة أوكلاهوما الأستاذ إدوارد بيركنز، والدكتور جوزيف جينات والجنرال شلومو غازيت من إسرائيل، والدكتور مانويل حساسيان ونفسي، الدكتور تيسير عمري من فلسطين) لتسليم المبادئ لرئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي آنذاك إيهود باراك والرئيس ياسر عرفات.

لقد سمعنا من كلا الطرفين ملاحظات وآراء مشجعة على العمل الجدير بالثناء الذي قمنا به من خلال معالجة مشكلة شائكة مثل مشكلة القدس والاتفاق على جعل القدس الغربية عاصمةً لإسرائيل والقدس الشرقية عاصمةً لفلسطين. وبالتالي، قد يكون من المجدي أن نقتبس في هذه المرحلة المبدأين الرئيسيين الأولين لتلك الوثيقة على أمل أن نبني عليها وألّا نعود إلى نقطة الصفر:

1. لا يخدم فرض الضم ولا تقسيم القدس كأساس لوضع المدينة النهائي. وعلى القدس أن تكون عاصمةً لكل من إسرائيل وفلسطين في الغرب اليهودي والشرق العربي للمدينة على قدم المساواة.

2. على الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين أن يمارسوا سيادتهم كل في عاصمته على النحو المنصوص عليه في المبدأ الأول أعلاه.

وتماشيًا مع الشرعية الدولية، ينصّ قرار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة رقم 63/30 لعام 2009 أنّ (أي إجراءات تتخذها إسرائيل، قوة الاحتلال) لفرض قوانينها وولايتها وإدارتها على مدينة القدس الشريف هي غير قانونية وبالتالي لاغية وباطلة وغير سارية المفعول؛ ويدعو القرار إسرائيل إلى وقف جميع هذه التدابير الانفرادية وغير المشروعة. وقد أصدر مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة ستة قرارات لمجلس الأمن متعلقة بإسرائيل في هذا الشأن، بما في ذلك قرار مجلس الأمن رقم 478 الذي أكّد أنّ قانون القدس الأساسي الذي تمّ سنّه عام 1980 والذي أعلن فيه أن القدس الموحدة عاصمةً أبديةً لإسرائيل يعدّ انتهاكًا للقانون الدولي.

وباختصار، أكّد مجلس الأمن بشكل خاص، وكذلك أجهزة الأمم المتحدة الأخرى بشكل عام، على أن القدس الشرقية أرض محتلة تخضع لأحكام اتفاقية جنيف الرابعة. وقد صدر عن محكمة العدل الدولية عام 2004 رأيًا استشاريًا وُصفت فيه القدس الشرقية بأنها أرض فلسطينية محتلة. ولذلك، ضمّ الفلسطينيون صوتهم إلى صوت المجتمع الدولي في رفض حركة ترامب بوضوح تام، وفي رفض أي محاولة لتمويه الحقيقة، وقد ظهر ذلك جليًا من خلال رفضهم استقبال نائب الرئيس الأمريكي مايك بينس.

وقد بدأ الفلسطينيون في عملية جدية وسريعة لإعادة تقييم المسائل كلها داخليًا وخارجيًا. كما أنّ المجلس المركزي التابع لـ"منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" على أبواب عقد جلسة من شأنها الكشف عن استراتيجيات وتدابير جديدة للحفاظ على حقوق الشعب الفلسطيني غير القابلة للتصرف، وإبطال جميع التدابير الانفرادية وتجسيد المبدأين السابق ذكرهما اللذين يعترفان، بالتزامن وبالتساوي، بالقدس الغربية عاصمةً لإسرائيل والقدس الشرقية عاصمةً لفلسطين. فهذا هو السبيل الوحيد لتعزيز حقوقنا الوطنية ولإحلال السلام الدائم مع إسرائيل والمنطقة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

A Palestinian Offer to Share Jerusalem


Also available in العربية

January 17, 2018

January 17, 2018

The Arab-Israeli peace process limps forward at best, but is more appropriately described as being paralyzed to the extent that it calls for immediate intensive care with the United States as its only broker. President Trump surprised all parties by announcing Jerusalem as the capital of Israel in violation of international legitimacy and UN resolutions, some of which were supported until recently by the United States itself.

We Arabs have a saying that translates roughly to, "Your friend indeed is the one who honestly advises and corrects you as and when he spots something wrong in your words or deeds, and not the one who believes or praises your opinion or deeds irrespective of their rightness or wrongness." I hope things will not go astray; wisdom necessitates making the so-far fruitless peace process into something blossoming. I believe that sincere efforts could turn this problem into an opportunity to pave the way for the parties to swing into serious negotiations with well-defined terms of reference and a budgeted timeframe.

In this context, and specifically concerning Jerusalem, I comfortably support the document of January 17, 2000, which contains a set of principles I have personally played a role in negotiating under the auspices of the Rockefeller Foundation with a group of international academics and practitioners, including Israelis, Palestinians, Jordanians, Egyptians, Americans, and others who then entrusted a smaller group—Prof. Edward Perkins, the former U.S. ambassador to the UN and then-director of the University of Oklahoma's International Programs Center; Dr. Joseph Ginat and Gen. Shlomo Gazit of Israel; Dr. Manuel Hassassian and myself—to hand over the same to Ehud Barak and Yasser Arafat.

Both gave encouraging remarks and comments for the commendable job we had done by addressing a thorny problem like that of Jerusalem and by agreeing upon making West Jerusalem a capital of Israel and East Jerusalem a capital of an independent Palestinian state. Hence it might be beneficial to quote at this juncture the first two major principles of that document with the hope of building upon them and not going back to square one:

1. Neither the imposition of annexation nor the partition of Jerusalem could serve as a basis for the final status of the city. Jerusalem is to be the capital of both Israel and Palestine in Jewish West and Arab East of the city respectively and on equal footing.

2. Palestinians and Israelis shall be sovereign over their respective capitals as stipulated in the first principle above.

In keeping with international legitimacy, UN General Assembly Resolution 63/30 of 2009 states that "any actions taken by Israel...to impose its laws, jurisdiction, and administration on the Holy City of Jerusalem are illegal and therefore null and void." The UN Security Council has passed a total of six resolutions on this matter, including Resolution 478, which affirmed that the enactment of the 1980 Basic Jerusalem Law declaring a unified Jerusalem as Israel's eternal capital was a violation of international law.

The Security Council in particular, along with other organs of the UN in general, has consistently affirmed the position that East Jerusalem is an occupied territory subject to the provisions of the Fourth Geneva Convention. In 2004, the International Court of Justice issued an advisory opinion describing East Jerusalem as occupied Palestinian territory. That is why the Palestinians joined the international community in rejecting Trump's move in the most unambiguous terms, and equally rejected any attempt to sugarcoat it as manifested in their refusal to receive U.S. vice president Mike Pence.

Palestinians are reevaluating and holding a session of the PLO Central Council to unfold new strategies and measures for the preservation of inalienable Palestinian national rights. These rights would nullify all unilateral measures and see the aforementioned two principles through to concurrently recognize, on equal footing, West Jerusalem as a capital of Israel and East Jerusalem as a capital of Palestine. This is the only way to preserve both our national rights and the cause of lasting peace with Israel and the region.

Customize your RSS Feed