أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الانسحاب الأمريكي و"الناتو العربي" وكيف يمكن لأمريكا أن تكون "قوة خير"


متاح أيضاً في English

11 شباط/فبراير 2019

كما توقع الكثيرون، ركز وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو في الخطاب الذي أدلى به في القاهرة في 10 كانون الثاني/يناير على ثلاثة مواضيع رئيسية وهي: دعم إدارة ترامب غير المشروط لإسرائيل، والتشديد على مواجهة إيران بشكل حاسم، والنية المتواصلة في محاربة "الدولة الإسلامية" والإسلام المتطرف. وتناول بومبيو هذه المواضيع في محاولة لإقناع العالم العربي والإسلامي بأن "البداية الجديدة" التي أعلنها الرئيس السابق أوباما في خطابه الشهير عام 2009 في القاهرة لم تؤت ثمارها، وأنه في المقابل، تؤسس إدارة ترامب لبداية جديدة حقيقية تعزز العلاقات الثنائية وتصقل صورة الوجود الأمريكي في المنطقة.

وللمفارقة، إن السياسة الرئيسية التي كانت المحرك خلف خطاب بومبيو – ألا وهي قرار الرئيس ترامب بسحب القوات الأمريكية من سوريا - هي فعليًا تكرار لمحاولات أوباما خفض التدخل العسكري الأمريكي في العراق وأفغانستان. ففي الواقع، إن التقدم المحرز في الآونة الأخيرة على صعيد المفاوضات بين الولايات المتحدة وحركة "طالبان" لا يساهم سوى في ترسيخ صورة سياسة الانسحاب العسكري المتواصلة.

وهذا هو نوع التكهنات الناتجة عن الخلاف المعرفي داخل الإدارة. ويبدو أن الرسالة التي يوصلها بومبيو تعِد برؤية أمريكية للشرق الأوسط مبنية على المشاركة، حيث قال إنه في العقد الماضي "تعلمنا أنه عندما تنسحب أمريكا، غالبًا ما يلي ذلك حالة من الفوضى. حين نتجاهل أصدقاءنا، يزداد السخط". ومن الصعب ربط هذه الوعود بالفراغ الذي ستتركه الولايات المتحدة في سوريا، الذي يعتبره الكثيرون مفيدًا للغاية لروسيا وإيران أكثر منه لحلفاء أمريكا.

وبالتالي، وفي حين يحاول المراقبون الإقليميون المواءمة بين رؤية بومبيو وما تحققه على أرض الواقع، يحاول الكثيرون تحديد محفزات باطنية خلف التناقض الجلي في إدارة ترامب. فعلى سبيل المثال، ونظرًا إلى هوية ترامب المعترف بها على نطاق واسع والتي روّج لها بنفسه كرجل أعمال، برزت شائعات بأن لسحب القوات الأمريكية أثرًا مزعزعًا للاستقرار بشكل متعمد يرمي فعليًا إلى تأجيج النزاع في الشرق الأوسط. ومن شأن تنامي عدم الاستقرار أن يسمح لترامب بتقديم الدعم إلى حلفائه، ما سيعود بدوره بالفائدة على اقتصاد الولايات المتحدة من خلال شبكة صفقات أسلحة بين الخليج والولايات المتحدة.

لكن التفسير الأكثر ترابطًا لهذا الإجراء هو أن الانسحاب العسكري الأمريكي قد يكون مصممًا عمدًا لحض حلفاء الولايات المتحدة في المنطقة على تأدية دور لطالما دعا إليه ترامب، وهو الضغط بحكم الضرورة لإطلاق "تحالف الشرق الأوسط الاستراتيجي" (MESA)، المعروف أيضًا بـ “الناتو العربي". ومن المفترض أن تقود مصر والسعودية هذه المنظمة - وهما حليفان قديمان للولايات المتحدة - من أجل محاربة إيران واستراتيجيتها التوسعية في المنطقة.

وكان هذا التحالف نقطة حوار في وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية طوال عدة أشهر، سواء من وصفه من قبل المتحدث باسم "مجلس الأمن القومي الأمريكي" في تموز/يوليو بأنه "حصن في وجه عدائية وإرهاب وتطرف إيران" مصمم لتعزيز الاستقرار في المنطقة، وصولًا إلى اجتماعات بومبيو مع نظرائه العرب في نيويورك خلال أيلول/سبتمبر الماضي. وفي حين أن واشنطن مستعدة لرعاية هذا التحالف، صعّبت الانقسامات والنزاعات بشأن السياسة في المنطقة تشكيل مثل هذا التحالف لغاية الآن. وربما تحاول الولايات المتحدة إطلاق تحالف إقليمي مماثل من خلال إيصال رسالة مفادها أن حلفاءها لا يمكنهم التعويل على تدخل الولايات المتحدة عسكريًا في المنطقة بشكل غير متناهٍ. وللمفارقة، تعود جذور هذا المفهوم بحد ذاته إلى سياسات حقبة أوباما، حيث ظهرت محاولة لتشكيل تحالف مماثل من خلال قوات "جامعة الدول العربية" القائمة أساسًا.

ولكن حتى وإن بدأ "تحالف الشرق الأوسط الاستراتيجي" أعماله هذا العام - كما أفاد وزير الخارجية البحريني - سيتعين عليه مواجهة رؤية إيران بأنها المنتصرة في سوريا إثر انسحاب الولايات المتحدة. وهذه هي الديناميكية التي يمكن أن تقود المنطقة إلى شفير حرب أخرى، مقوضةً قدرة التحالف على أن يكون رادعًا للتحركات العسكرية. ورغم إصرار ترامب على أن وجود الولايات المتحدة في سوريا يجب أن يرتبط بشكل أساسي بتواجد "الدولة الإسلامية"، من السهل تصوّر أن الجماعات الإسلامية المستقبلية - التي قد تكون أقوى حتى من سابقاتها - ستعتبر هذا الأمر بمثابة إشارة لتنفيذ عمليات في سوريا.

وبالتالي، إن رغبت الولايات المتحدة بتجنب هذا السيناريو، وإن كان تدخلها العسكري غير مطروح حاليًا، عندها يجب أن توفر مصدر دعم آخر لحلفائها الإقليميين. فعلى سبيل المثال، يجب على الولايات المتحدة اللجوء إلى الضغط الدبلوماسي لتخفيف حدة الصراع بين دول الخليج وإنهاء الحرب في اليمن. وهذان الصراعان هما من التحديات الأصعب أمام أي حلف "ناتو عربي" ناجح، وسيواصلان استنزاف اهتمام حلفاء الولايات المتحدة الاستراتيجيين ومواردهم مع التسبب في الوقت نفسه بزيادة الاضطرابات في المنطقة التي يُفترض بـ “تحالف الشرق الأوسط الاستراتيجي" حمايتها.

علاوةً على ذلك، يجب أن تعمل سياسة الولايات المتحدة لتكون "قوة خير" للشعب العربي إذا أرادت تشجيع الاستقرار على المستوى الكلي. وقد خلا خطاب بومبيو بشكل ملحوظ من أي إشارة إلى دعم الولايات المتحدة للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان، ما يشير إلى أن إدارة ترامب مهتمة بمصالحها مع الحكام العرب أكثر من زيادة دعمها للشعوب العربية. وإن دعمت الإدارة الأمريكية قيادة العالم العربي فحسب، فستوقع نفسها في معضلة على صعيد الرأي العام الإقليمي ومبررها الأخلاقي لتدخلها السابق في المنطقة. وبصفتها دولة لطالما بنت تدخلها في الشرق الأوسط على مبادئ مماثلة فحسب ولا تزال تنادي بها، يقوض تخلٍّ ضمني عن هذه القيم مصداقيتها إلى حدّ كبير في المنطقة، ما يمنح القادة العرب "ضوءًا أخضر" ضمنيًا لانتهاك حقوق الإنسان بشكل أكبر حتى.

من ناحية أخرى، أكد خطاب بومبيو على الازدواجية المضطربة التي تواجه السياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة في ظل إدارة ترامب. ومع ذلك، فمن الممكن التوفيق بين رغبة الولايات المتحدة في الحفاظ على مكانتها في صدارة القضايا العالمية مع تزايد نزعة الرئيس ترامب نحو الانسحابات العسكرية. وإن كانت السياسة الأمريكية تسعى إلى المنطقة "المستقرة" التي وعد بها بومبيو، فلا بدّ من مفاوضات حاذقة والتزام بدعم شعوب الشرق الأوسط من خلال سياسات ترمي إلى إرساء الاستقرار. وبدون مثل هذه الإجراءات فمن المرجح ألا يكون الانسحاب العسكري غير كافٍ لتحفيز قيام تحالف الشرق الأوسط الاستراتيجي فحسب، بل قد يعرض أيضًا "الناتو العربي" لعدة عراقيل لسنوات قادمة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

U.S. Withdrawal, Arab NATO, and How America Can be a “Force for Good”


Also available in العربية

February 11, 2019

As many anticipated, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo’s January 10 speech in Cairo focused on three main themes: the Trump administration’s unconditional support for Israel, an emphasis on decisively confronting Iran, and the continued intention to combat the Islamic State (IS) and radical Islamism. Pompeo presented these themes in an attempt to convince the Arab and Islamic world that the “new beginning” promoted by President Obama during his famous 2009 speech in Cairo did not bear fruit, and that in contrast, the Trump administration is establishing the true new beginning, enhancing bilateral relations and burnishing America’s presence in the region.

Indeed, Pompeo appears to promise an American vision for the Middle East founded on involvement, stating that in the past decade, “We learned that when America retreats, chaos often follows. When we neglect our friends, resentment builds.” It is difficult to square these promises with the vacuum that will be left by the United States in Syria, which many see as majorly beneficial to Russia and Iran rather than American allies.

Ironically, the major policy shift behind Pompeo’s speech—President Trump’s decision to remove American forces from Syria—actually reads as an echo of Obama’s attempts to reduce U.S. military involvement in Iraq and Afghanistan. In fact, the recent breakthrough in negotiations between the United States and the Taliban only solidifies this image of a continuing policy of military withdrawal.

Thus, as regional observers attempt to square Pompeo’s vision with the United States’ on-the-ground actions, many are trying to identify unspoken motives behind the administration’s apparent policy contradiction. For example, given Trump’s widely recognized and self-promoted identity as a businessman, rumors have emerged that a U.S. withdrawal of forces has an intentionally destabilizing effect actually intended to give momentum to the conflict in the Middle East. Increased instability would provide President Trump with an excuse to increase military support to U.S. allies; this in turn would prompt new of arms deals between the Gulf and the United States, thus benefiting the U.S. economy.

A more coherent explanation is that a military withdrawal may be intentionally designed to push U.S. regional allies into a role long advocated by Trump: forcing through necessity the launch of the Arab Middle East Strategic Alliance (MESA), also known as the 'Arab NATO.' This organization would presumably be led by Egypt and Saudi Arabia to combat Iran and its expansionist strategy in the region.

This alliance has been a talking point of the U.S. State Department for months: in July, the U.S. National Security Council spokesperson defined the Middle East Strategic Alliance (MESA) as “a bulwark against Iranian aggression, terrorism, [and] extremism” designed to promote regional stability, while in September Pompeo met with his Arab counterparts in New York to encourage such a move. Nonetheless, despite Washington’s willingness to sponsor this alliance, divisions and policy conflicts in the region have reduced the likelihood of such an alliance coming to fruition. The United States may be attempting to jumpstart a regional alliance by sending the message that its allies cannot rely on indefinite U.S. military involvement in the region. Ironically, this concept itself originated during the Obama-era, during which there was an attempt to form a similar alliance through the already extant Arab League forces.

Yet even if MESA does begin operating this year, as the Bahraini Foreign Minister has stated, it will have to contend with the optics of Iran as victor in Syria in light of the U.S. withdrawal. This dynamic could lead the region to the brink of another war, negating MESA’s capability to serve as a deterrent to military action. Even as Trump insists that U.S. presence in Syria should be defined primarily in terms of IS presence, it is easy to imagine that future Islamist groups, which may be even more powerful than their predecessors, will take this as a cue that they can operate in the war-torn country.

If the United States wishes to avoid this scenario, and if its own military involvement is now off the table, then it must support its regional allies and promote stability in a different manner. For example, the United States should use diplomatic pressure to de-escalate the intra-Gulf conflict and bring an end to the war in Yemen. These are two of the most intractable challenges to any successful ‘Arab NATO,’ and will continue to drain the attention and resources of the United States’ strategic allies while creating further instability in the region MESA is being designed to protect.

Moreover, U.S. policy must also work to serve as a ‘force for good’ for the Arab people if it is to encourage stability on a macro level. There was a noticeable lack of reference in Pompeo’s speech to U.S. support for democracy and human rights, suggesting that the Trump administration is more concerned with its relationship with Arab rulers than the welfare of the Arab public. If the U.S. administration supports only the leadership of the Arab world, it will place itself in a quandary, both in terms of regional public opinion and its own moral justification for past involvement in the region. As a country that has long rationalized its engagement in the Middle East through claims of just principles, a tacit relinquishing of these values can deeply undermine its credibility in the region and give Arab rulers a tacit ‘green light’ to violate human rights at an even greater level.

In a sense, Pompeo’s speech underscored the uneasy duality guiding U.S. foreign policy under the Trump administration. But while it is possible to reconcile the United States’ desire to maintain its place at the forefront of world affairs with President Trump’s increasing proclivity towards military withdrawals,  deft negotiation and a commitment to support the people of the Middle East are required if U.S. policy is to promote the stability promised by Pompeo. Without such measures, not only is it likely that the military withdrawal will be insufficient to jumpstart MESA, but it may also present any 'Arab NATO' with obstacles for years to come.

Customize your RSS Feed