أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

دور الولايات المتحدة في تحديد مستقبل العراق


متاح أيضاً في English

24 أيلول/سبتمبر 2018

استثمرت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الكثير من الوقت والجهد في العراق على مدى السنوات الخمس عشرة الماضية، ومع ذلك ظلت العملية السياسية في العراق متعثرة، حيث أن الضرر الذي لحق بتلك العملية نتيجة القصور في تطبيق مبادئ الديمقراطية، بدأ يتجلى في كل استحقاق انتخابي يُجري في العراق. ومما زاد الأمر، تعقيدا كان الدور الكبير الذي لعبته الأحزاب الإسلامية الموالية لإيران على الساحة العراقية.

ونظرا لان تلك الأحزاب تؤمن بأولوية القرآن في الحكم، كما تؤمن بمبدأ آية الله روح الله خميني (ولاية الفقيه)، فإن أهدافها في المقام الأول هي دعم النفوذ الإقليمي الايران، بدلا من دعم الاستقرار الداخلي والديمقراطية في البلاد. وتنظر تلك الأحزاب إلى الديمقراطية ومبادئها بريبة شديدة خاصة تلك التي تتعلق بالمرأة أو حماية الطفولة أو حقوق الإنسان والمواطنة. وإضافة إلى تلك العلاقات المعقدة، أدت السياسة التي اعتمدها الجنرال قاسم سليماني قائد فيلق القدس وميليشياته العراقية، إلى خضوع تلك الأحزاب للإملاءات الإيرانية.

وعلى عكس النفوذ الإيراني المتزايد في العراق وتدخلاتها الواضحة والمستمرة في الشئون السياسية في البلاد، بات الاهتمام الأمريكي بمستقبل العراق غير واضح بالنسبة للعديد من المراقبين المحليين. فعلى الرغم من أن الولايات المتحدة قد صرحت بأن الحد من النفوذ الإقليمي لإيران هو أحد أهم أهداف سياستها الخارجية، إلا أن تلك الجهود قد أصبحت معقدا نتيجة تاريخها في العراق وسياستها الخارجية هناك. ومع إبرام إدارة أوباما للاتفاق النووي مع إيران وانسحاب القوات العسكرية الأمريكية من العراق، فسرت العديد من الجماعات المناوئة لإيران الصمت الأمريكي على انه موافقة ضمنية لإخضاع العراق لأهواء إيران التوسعية. كما يُظهر إدراج تحالف فتح في الائتلاف السياسي المهيمن، سياسة الصمت التي كانت تعتمدها إدارة أوباما نحو تصرفات سليماني في البلاد، واستمرار الرسائل المختلطة من قبل الإدارة الحالية.

إن ما يعانيه العراق اليوم من أزمات سياسية واقتصادية من تراجع السيادة العراقية والغياب الفعلي لمبدأ الفصل بين السلطات وتفشي الفساد الإداري والمالي كان بالطبع نتيجة حتمية للسياسة الأمريكية الفاشلة التي تستغلها إيران لتوسيع نفوذها ليس فقط في العراق بل في المنطقة بأكملها. ولم تبدى الأحزاب العراقية المدعومة من قبل إيران أي اهتمام بالأزمات الطاحنة التي يمر بها العراق حاليا. كما يمثل التدخل الإيراني في الشئون الداخلية للعراق خطرا كبيرا على العملية الديمقراطية هناك، حيث عملت الأحزاب الإسلامية التابعة لإيران على تزوير الانتخابات بشكل ممنهج ليس فقط في المحافظات الشيعية فحسب بل والسنية أيضا والتي تحتوي على عناصر سنية مثقله بالفساد وترتبط بعلاقات مشتركة بسليماني أو اتباعه.

والان، يبدو أن الحكومة العراقية الجديدة التي يتم تشكيلها حاليا ستظل معرضة بشكل خاص للمكائد الإيرانية، خاصة بعد اللقاء الذي تم بين سليماني وعدد من - السياسيين المعروفين بالفساد - من أجل تشكيل كتلة تضم أكثر من مائة عضو، وهو ما يشكل تحديًا واضحًا للسياسيين الذين يتطلعون إلى الحد من النفوذ الإيراني في العراق.

في خلال الأشهر الماضية منذ الانتخابات العراقية، أرسل سليماني رسالة واضحة إلى المسؤولين العراقيين والأميركيين على حد سواء، مفادها أن إيران سيكون لها سيطرة كبيرة على عملية تعيين الوزراء والكتل الانتخابية، خاصة بعد قيامه بتشكيل كتلة معارضة مكونة من 145 عضو في البرلمان بقيادة هادي العامري ورئيس الوزراء الأسبق نوري المالكي.

إن نجاح سليماني الواضح في السيطرة على مقاليد الحكومة العراقية الجديدة يدل ثبات موقف إيران ووضوح سياستها نحو العراق. علاوة على ذلك، وفى ظل الإجراءات الطويلة لتشكيل حكومة عراقية، لا تزال مواقف سليماني الناشطة تتناقض بشكل كبير مع الرسائل المختلطة لمسؤولي وزارة الخارجية الامريكية، بما في ذلك قبول الأخير لنتائج الانتخابات العراقية على الرغم من وجود أدلة على الفساد والتزوير.

ومن المتوقع أيضا أن يؤدى غياب الرؤية الواضحة من قبل المسؤولين الأمريكيين في العراق، إلى الإخفاق في تشكيل حكومة عراقية جديدة ومعتدلة ومتحررة من النفوذ الإيراني المتزايد.  إضافة إلى ذلك، فقد العديد من العراقيين الذين اعتمدوا على رؤية الديمقراطية الامريكية واعتماده كنموذج لبلادهم الثقة في السياسة الأمريكيةـ مما دفعهم إلى السقوط في أحضان سليماني. وقد مثل ذلك ضربة مميتة للمستقلين والمعتدلين والديمقراطيين، وضربة للمصالح الأمريكية المستقبلية في العراق.

الحل واضح: يجب على الولايات المتحدة وممثليها في العراق أن يتبنوا مواقف واضحة حول سياستهم في العراقية وأن يدركوا أن تعزيز الشراكة العراقية الأمريكية هو ليس باستثمار أمريكي باتجاه واحد بل بتعاون يضمن الفوائد للدولتين. كما أن الإدارة الأمريكية مطالبة ألا تسمح لموظفيها بتكرار نفس الأليات والسياسات التي اعتمدتها إدارة أوباما في العراق لا سيما أنها لم تعد تعكس الاهتمام المتجدد للولايات المتحدة نحو إيران.

وربما تكون الطريقة الأكثر فعالية والأسرع لاستعادة النفوذ الأمريكي في العراق هي العمل على تفعيل الاتفاقيات العراقية-الامريكية المبرمة. كما يمكن أن تساهم الولايات المتحدة في تحقيق المصالحة بين الطوائف المختلفة في العراق وإعطاء المجتمعات العربية السنية الإحساس بأنها ستكون شريكة في إدارة مستقبل البلاد. وذلك عن طريق توفير موارد إضافية لدعم اللامركزية، والعمل على دعم الجهود الرامية لتجنيد العرب السنة في قوات الأمن العراقية. وأخيرا، يجب أن تعمل الولايات المتحدة على دعم وتطوير الإعلام العراقي وذلك لمواجهة الدعاية الإيرانية الطائفية التي تعمل على بث الفرقة بين أبناء الوطن الواحد.

ولا يعني ذلك بالضرورة أن الولايات المتحدة هي المسؤولة من جانب واحد عن تطوير العلاقة بينها وبين والعراق، لكن يجب على العراق، من جانبه، أن يعمل على الحفاظ على استقلالية قراره النفطي وذلك بغض النظر عن المؤشرات السوقية والصراعات الإقليمية. إن تعزيز الشراكة العراقية- الأمريكية لن يتحقق فقط من خلال الاستثمار الأميركي في العراق، بل من خلال التعاون المشترك الذي سيؤدي في النهاية إلى تحقيق فوائد اقتصادية واستراتيجية لكلا البلدين.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The U.S. Role in the Future of Iraq


Also available in العربية

September 24, 2018

The United States of America has invested significant time and effort in Iraq over the last fifteen years, yet the Iraqi political process continues to falter. The damage of the country’s limited adoption of democratic values is continually demonstrated in each election cycle. This is especially complicated by the outsized role of Iraq’s Islamist political parties connected to Iran.

Since these parties believe in the primacy of the Quran in governance and Ayatollah Khomeini’s doctrine of Velayat-e Faiqh, their goals are driven by regional concerns for the primacy of Iran rather than domestic stability and democracy—even treating democratic principles with a large degree of suspicion. Values of democratic equality such as those connected to women, child protection, human rights, and citizenship are often viewed with suspicion. These connections are complicated; Quds Force head Major General Qassem Soleimani has control over sizable Iraqi militias, and his dictates further contribute to the submission of these political parties to Iranian dictates.

In contrast with Iran’s clear and continued engagement in Iraqi politics, U.S. interests in the future of Iraq remain opaque for many domestic observers. Though the United States has stated that the regional influence of Iran is one of its primary foreign policy concerns, these efforts are complicated by the history of U.S. foreign policy in Iraq. With the Obama administration’s nuclear agreement with Iran and the withdrawal of American military forces from Iraq, many anti-Iranian groups inside Iraq have interpreted the United States as acquiescing for Iraq to be subject to Iran’s expansionist whims. The inclusion of the Fatah Alliance in the dominant political coalition demonstrates the result of the Obama administration’s previous silence on Soleimani’s actions in the country, and the continued mixed messaging from the current administration.

It is not unreasonable to trace many of Iraq’s ills to a failed American policy in Iraq: political and economic crises in the face of disappearing Iraqi sovereignty and a real absence of the principle of the separation of powers, with rampant financial and administrative corruption. Iran has exploited the indecision of U.S. foreign policy to expand its influence in Iraq as a means of developing stronger influence across the whole region, and Iranian-backed parties have shown little interest in stemming Iraq’s major crises. Rather, Iranian actions actively threaten Iraqi democracy; political parties affiliated with Iran have worked in a concerted manner to forge election results in both Shi’a and Sunni provinces—the latter of which contain Sunnis suffering from corruption who are linked through mutual connections with Soleimani and his followers.

The currently forming Iraqi government seems to be particularly vulnerable to Iranian machinations. Soleimani himself met with Iraqi politicians—including a number of politicians notorious for corruption—in order to form a bloc of over a hundred members that stands as a clear challenge to politicians looking to reduce Iranian influence in Iraq.

In the past months since the Iraqi elections, Soleimani has also sent a clear message to Iraqi and U.S. officials alike through the development of an oppositionist bloc of 145 members of parliament under Badr’s Hadi al-Ameri and former Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki that Iran will have significant control of minister positions and voting blocs.

Soleimani’s clear success in controlling a sizable source of power in the new Iraqi government demonstrates the impact of a persistent and clear stance in Iraqi politics, both to the Iranian government and Iraqis themselves. Moreover, Soleimani’s activist stances continue to contrast with State Department officials’ mixed messaging throughout the lengthy process of Iraqi government formation, including its apparent acceptance of Iraqi elections results despite evidence of corruption.

Without a clear vision from U.S. officials in Iraq, the country lacks serious prospects of a moderate Iraqi government liberated from Iranian influence ever forming. Many Iraqis who relied on the U.S. vision of moderation and democracy as a model for their country have lost trust in American policy. Soleimani's efficacy in promoting his goals is appealing in comparison, and his allure may serve as a fatal blow to independents, moderates, democrats, and to future American interests in Iraq.

The solution is clear: the United States and its representatives in Iraq must have clear stances on Iraqi politics and demonstrate that working with the United States has clear benefits for Iraq. The American administration should not allow its staff to recycle the same policies adopted by Obama’s administration in Iraq, especially since they no longer reflect the United States’ overall renewed focus on Iran.

Perhaps the most effective and quickest way to restore benign American influence is the implementation of existing Iraqi-American agreements. America could also contribute to bringing about reconciliation between Iraq’s different sects in order to re-engage Sunni Iraqis in the political process by giving them the sense of playing a part in Iraq’s future. Perhaps the United States can allocate further resources to support the country’s process of decentralisation in the country and supporting efforts to bring Sunni Arabs into the country’s armed forces. Finally, the United States should work to support Iraqi media that can counter sectarian Iranian propaganda that seeks to spread division among the people of Iraq.

However, this does not mean that the United States is unilaterally responsible for the U.S.-Iraqi relationship. Iraq, for its part, must retain its ability to act independently in oil markets, whatever the situation with market indicators and regional struggles may be. Strengthening the Iraqi-American partnership will not come about only through American investment in Iraq, but rather through cooperation, which will ultimately bring about economic and strategic benefits to both countries.

Customize your RSS Feed