أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

حرب سوريا لم تنتهِ


متاح أيضاً في English

16 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018

تحولت المحادثات حول مستقبل سوريا بصورة متزايدة نحو إعادة الإعمار و"اليوم التالي"، وتضاءلت الدعوات الدولية لإنهاء النظام السوري في وجه سنوات طويلة من الحرب والمعاناة. فخلال ندوة عُقدت في 2 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر في السويد حول الوساطة في النزاعات، وصف مبعوث الأمم المتحدة الخاص لسوريا ستافان دي ميستورا مهمته هناك كطبيب "يكافح للحد من الألم" وغير قادر على تقديم أي علاج. وفي هذا الإطار، إنّ الوضع الجديد، المقبول على ما يبدو، والذي يسمح باستمرار النظام السياسي الذي كان سائدًا قبل عام 2011 مع الإضافة السامّة المتمثلة بروسيا وإيران، لا يعتبر وصفةً فعّالة لإعادة بناء سوريا بشكل فعلي. وإذا فقدت الأمم المتحدة الأمل في التوصل إلى حل سياسي وتوقفت عن بذل أي جهد جاد لتنفيذ هذا الحل، فهذا يعني أننا نحن – أي الشعب السوري والنفوذ الغربي والقانون الدولي - قد خسرنا.

فقد أمضيتُ عقودًا وأنا أعارض النظام السوري، وقد احتُجزت في سجونه لمدة تقارب العشر سنوات. كما شاركت في العديد من حركات المعارضة السورية من عام 1976 حتى عام 2014، عندما استقلتُ من "المجلس الوطني السوري" وهيئات تحالف المعارضة بسبب الفساد والعلاقات القائمة مع الجهات الحكومية الأجنبية والمجموعات الإرهابية. وبالنظر إلى هذه الخلفية التاريخية، لدي وجهة نظر تم استئصالها مع الوقت من الرواية الدولية، ولكنها مع ذلك مهمة لإعادة بناء سوريا، وطني السابق الذي خسرته والذي ما زلت أهتم لأمره.

في هذه المرحلة، يبقى أي نظام سياسي أفضل من الفوضى أو حكم أسياد الحرب، أو بالطبع سيطرة الإرهاب. ولكن عندما نتحدث عن النظام السوري الحالي، لا يمكن الاعتراف به كنظام اجتماعي أو سياسي، لأنه يعمل كنظام إجرامي يستخدم تكتيكات الجريمة المنظمة بدلاً من تلك الخاصة بالجهات الفاعلة السياسية. كما يجب أن تكون الخطة الانتقالية الهادفة إلى نظام سياسي ونظام جديد أولويةً دوليةً حاسمةً ومهمة، إذ من غير المعقول بالنسبة لأغلبية السوريين أنه، بعد كل ما حدث، يمكن إعادة تأهيل النظام الحالي ليكون جهةً سياسيةً معيارية. وبالتالي، لا يمكن للنظام ولا للمعارضة المنظمة - التي تعاني من مسائل خطيرة فيها من حيث التمثيل – التوصل إلى حلّ. لذلك، يحتاج الشعب السوري إلى العدالة من المجتمع الدولي، وليس إلى إعادة تمثيل من الهيئات نفسها التي قمعته. وفي حين يتم تقديم هذا الخيار بصورة متزايدة باعتباره الخيار الوحيد الذي لن يزعزع الاستقرار، الطريقة الوحيدة لضمان عدم حدوث انتفاضة أخرى هي البدء بصفحة بيضاء – لأن استمرار سيطرة النظام السوري على سوريا ليس سوى الخطوة التالية في دوامة من الانتفاضات والقمع والإرهاب.

وبالفعل، وصف معظم الخطاب الأخير النظام كبديل للإرهاب، فالواقع هو أن الديكتاتورية والإرهاب وجهان لعملة واحدة، حيث يعتمد كل من نظامي السيطرة على القسوة لقمع الحياة السياسية الطبيعية. وفي ظل غياب الأحزاب القانونية والتمثيل الصحيح، يمكن أن يزدهر أي من نسختَي القمع، وسيتم التحكم بها بواسطة المصالح الاستراتيجية الخاصة بالدول الأجنبية، كما هو الحال الآن، بدلاً من المثل العليا التي تؤكد الأمم المتحدة دعمها لها.

وينعكس ذلك من خلال الواقع التاريخي بأن سوريا هي دولة مصطنعة أنشأتها القوى الاستعمارية والدولية في القرن الماضي. ومنذ ذلك الحين، تغيب إمكانيات الشعب السوري لتطوير شعور موحد بالوطنية. وبالتالي، يحتاج الشعب السوري إلى مساعدات وجهود دولية لإنشاء عقد وطني جديد لإعادة بناء وطن حقيقي. إلا أن بعض الدول المحلية والدولية لا تحترم قوانين الإنسانية ومسؤوليتها، فهي لسوء الحظ تتصرف بطريقة وحشية، وفي رأيي تتحمل المسؤولية الرئيسية لما حدث في سوريا. كما لا تتوافق منافعها الوطنية مع منافع الشعب السوري، أقلّه على المدى القصير، لذا فهي تدعم قاتل هذا الشعب. أمّا الدول الأخرى فتختار عادةً أرخص الحلول (وهو الأسوأ).

وبالرغم من ذلك، يبرز العديد من العناصر الواضحة والضرورية لإعادة بناء سوريا بشكل فعلي. إذ تتطلب الدولة دستورًا جديدًا، ونظامًا قانونيًا من شأنه أن يسهّل صياغته - والأهم من ذلك، إجراء انتخابات ديمقراطية. ومن أجل التفكير في تيسير الانتخابات، تحتاج البلاد إلى الاستقرار. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن الأمم المتحدة قد شعرت بالثقة من تشكيلها لبنية سوريا بواسطة قرارها الذي منح سوريا استقلالها عام 1947. واليوم، يتعين على الأمم المتحدة أن تستأنف هذا الدور بإعلانها أن سوريا دولة فاشلة، والطلب من روسيا وإيران احترام اتفاقيات جنيف بشأن وضع الحرب والاحتلال، وتحديد خارطة طريق للسلطة الانتقالية الجديدة، وذلك باستخدام العدالة لاستبعاد الزعماء المجرمين الحاليين من كلا الجانبين، ووضع حد لاحتلال الميليشيات والجيوش الأجنبية.

ففي غياب هذه الخطوات، لن يؤدي اهتمام المجتمع الدولي الحالي بتوفير المال لإعادة بناء سوريا إلاّ إلى تعزيز أنظمة الفساد والإرهاب والدكتاتورية التي تسود سوريا حاليًا، وبالتالي دفع الصراع حتى العقد القادم. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن النظام السوري ينتهك بشكل واضح عددًا من مفاهيم الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان والحوكمة الشرعية.

أمّا من حيث البنية السياسية الانتقالية الملائمة، فمن الواضح أن النظام السياسي الرئاسي المركزي لا يصلح لبنية المجتمع السوري. كما تتوفر لسوريا فرصة أفضل للحفاظ على الديمقراطية كدولة فدرالية تقوم على التمييز الثقافي، وليس الجغرافي. وفي هذا الصدد، يجب احترام حقوق الأقلية والأغلبية من خلال هوية الدولة والعاصمة واللغة والتحالفات الخارجية. علاوةً على ذلك، ينبغي على الحكومة إتاحة الفرص أمام كل من المجتمع التقليدي (الذي يشمل المكونات الوطنية والطائفية وفق حصص معينة) والمجتمع المدني للمساعدة في تشكيل الحكومة، على أن يقوم النظام السابق بتشكيل وظائف الدولة السيادية ومن بينها وزارة الخارجية والدفاع والعدالة والاقتصاد، وعلى أن تقوم هذه الوزارات بدورها بتشكيل وظيفة الخدمة للدولة المنتخبة بواسطة نظام نسبي. وبموجب هذا الهيكل، ينبغي أن تكون الرئاسة منصبًا فخريًا، وليس منصبًا شاملاً.

ليست الخطوات المذكورة أعلاه بالحلول السهلة، ويخفي ضرورتها إحساسٌ بالإرهاق من الحرب السورية وشعور خاطئ بأن النظام السوري سيكون قادرًا على الحفاظ على الاستقرار. بدلاً من ذلك، سوف يستمر القمع المتواصل الذي يقوم به النظام السوري، إلى جانب الاحتلال الوحشي لروسيا وإيران، في إثارة النزاعات في العقود القادمة. وإذا كان المجتمع الدولي مهتمًا فعليًا بإنهاء هذه الدوامة، فسيتعيّن عليه تشكيل حكومة جديدة في سوريا، سواء في الوقت الحاضر أو عندما يتدهور وضع البلاد من جديد في المستقبل.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Syria’s War is Not Over


Also available in العربية

October 16, 2018

Conversations on the future of Syria have increasingly shifted to reconstruction and ‘the day after,’ with international calls for an end to the Syrian regime, significantly weakened as a result of years of war and suffering. During an October 2 seminar on conflict mediation in Sweden, UN Special Envoy for Syria Staffan de Mistura described his mission there as a doctor ‘struggling to reduce the pain’ and unable to provide any treatment. Yet the new, apparently accepted situation that allows for the continuation of pre-2011 political regime with the toxic addition of Russia and Iran is hardly a recipe for effective reconstruction of Syria. If the United Nations has given up hope for a political solution and any serious efforts to implement one, this means that we—the Syrian people, Western influence, and international law—have lost.

I spent decades opposing the Syrian regime, having been detained in its prisons for approximately ten years, and as a participant in many of the Syrian opposition movements from 1976 to 2014, when I resigned from the SNC and Coalition opposition bodies due to corruption and encroaching relationships with foreign state actors and terrorist groups. Given this history, I have a perspective that has been increasingly excised from the international narrative but is nevertheless important for the rebuilding of Syria: my previous homeland that I have lost and still care for.

At this point, any political system is better than chaos, or rule by warlords, or of course terrorist control. But when we speak of the current Syrian regime, it cannot be recognized as a social or political system. Rather, the Syrian regime has operated as a criminal system using the tactics of organized crime rather than that of political actors. The transitional plan for a new political system and regime must be a critical and important international priority, since for a majority of Syrians it is unbelievable that after all that has happened the current regime could be rehabilitated as a standard political actor. Consequently, neither the regime nor the organized opposition—which has its own serious issues in terms of representation—can produce a solution. The Syrian people need justice from the international community, not a reinstatement of representation from the very bodies that repressed them. While this is increasingly being presented as the only option in terms of stability, the only way to ensure that another uprising does not occur is to begin with a clean slate—continuing the Syrian regime’s hold on Syria is only the next step in a cycle of uprisings, repression, and terrorism.

Indeed, while much of the recent discourse has presented the regime as an alternative to terrorism, the reality is that dictatorship and terrorism are two sides of the same coin. Both systems of control rely on cruelty to repress normal political life. In the absence of legal parties and representation, either version of oppression can flourish, and will continue to be dictated by the strategic interests of foreign states as it is now rather than by any of the ideals that the UN asserts it upholds.

This is reflected by the historical reality that Syria is an artificial state, created by colonial and international powers in the last century. Since then, the Syrian people have had scant opportunity to develop a unifying sense of patriotism. Thus, the Syrian people need international help and efforts to create a new national contract to rebuild a real homeland. However, several local and international states do not respect human rights laws nor do they acknowledge their responsibility; they bear, in my opinion, the main responsibility for what has happened in Syria. Since their national interests are not compatible with the Syrian people’s interests, at least in the short term, they support the killer of these people; the others generally choose the cheapest solution, which is the worst.

However, there are several clear and necessary components to truly rebuild Syria. The state requires a new constitution, and a legal system that can facilitate its writing—most importantly, democratic elections. In order to even think about facilitating elections, the country needs stability. The UN felt confident in shaping the structure of Syria through its resolution that granted its independence in 1947. Today, the UN must resume this role by announcing Syria as a failed state, asking Russia and Iran to respect the Geneva Conventions on the Status of War and Occupation, defining a road map for new transitional authority, using justice to exclude the current criminal leaders from both sides, and finally putting an end to the occupation of foreign militias and armies.

Without these steps, the international community’s current interest in providing money to rebuild Syria will only enhance the systems of corruption, terrorism, and dictatorship that currently pervade Syria, ultimately pushing the conflict into the next decade. The Syrian regime is in clear violation of all UN’s understanding of human rights and legitimate governance.

In terms of a suitable transitional political structure, it is evident that a centralized presidential political system is not suitable to the structure of the Syrian society. Syria has the best chance of maintaining democracy as a federal state based on cultural rather than geographic distinctions. Both minority and majority rights relating to the identity of the state, its capital city, the language, and outside coalitions must be respected. Moreover, the government must provide avenues for both traditional society (including national and sectarian components by quota) and civil society to help shape the government, with the former system shaping state sovereign functions including the foreign, defense, justice and economic ministries and later shaping the servicing function of the state elected by a proportional system. Under this structure, the President should assume an honorary rather than all-encompassing position.

The steps outlined above are not easy fixes, but their necessity is being masked by a sense of fatigue with the Syrian war and a misguided sense that the Syrian regime will be able to maintain stability. Rather, the continued repression of the Syrian regime, along with the cruel occupation of Russia and Iran, will only continue to foment conflict in the decades ahead. If the international community is actually interested in ending this cycle, it will be required to shape a new government in Syria, either now or when the country’s situation deteriorates again in the future.

Customize your RSS Feed