أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الصفقات مع داعش نهج إيراني بامتياز


متاح أيضاً في English

12/20/2017

 20 ديسمبر/ كانون الأول 2017 

برزت مؤخرا العديد من التصريحات التي تدعي هزيمة الدولة الإسلامية عسكريا في معاقلها في الموصل والرقة وفي البوكمال على الحدود السورية العراقية. كما تطرح اليوم تساؤلات متجددة، حول دلائل هزيمة تنظيم "داعش" من جثث وأسلحة ومعسكرات ومعتقلين. هذا الغموض أوجد مساحة واسعة لهؤلاء الذين لا يمتلكون أدلة كافية باتهام جهات عديدة بالوقوف وراء التنظيم ودعمه، خاصة أن قوافل داعش تجوب الصحراء مكشوفة بين سوريا والعراق، بما فيها قوافل النفط. وفي ظل العودة السريعة لداعش إلى المناطق التي يتم الإعلان عن هزيمتها فيها، وحجم الصفقات الواسعة التي تعقد مع التنظيم، يتم تامين منافذ تنتقل بموجبها داعش إلى مناطق أخرى، بحماية خصومها.

فعلى مدى الشهور القليلة الماضية تم تبادل اتهامات بين الخصوم في العراق وسوريا بعقد صفقات مع داعش ، يشترك فيها جميع الخصوم ( إيران وحزب الله والنظام السوري وقوات سوريا الديمقراطية وتركيا وأمريكا) بعضها معلن كما في صفقة حزب الله وصفقات نظام الأسد مع  داعش، وأخرها ما تردد عن صفقة بين الجيش السوري وداعش ، مقابل إطلاق سراح جنود سوريين وقعوا في كمائن داعش، وصفقة تركيا في العراق لإطلاق سراح جنود أتراك، والعديد من الصفقات ما بين الحشد الشعبي العراقي-الذى تهيمن عليه ايران-  وداعش في العراق، بإشراف من قاسم سليماني والحرس الثوري الإيراني.

ومن المعروف أن تلك الصفقات مستمرة منذ فترة طويلة، وقد طرحت الكثير من الشكوك، منذ حزيران عام 2014، حينما اجتاحت داعش مساحات واسعة في شمال ووسط العراق ووصلت بعض قطاعاتها إلى مشارف بغداد، بعد انهيار هوليودي لقطاعات الجيش العراقي، إبان قيادة نوري المالكي للحكومة العراقية، وكان رد ترويكا الحكم الشيعي العراقي، اندفاعه سريعة بتشكيل “الحشد الشعبي العراقي" بفتوى صدرت عن المرجع الديني آيات الله علي السيستاني.  وتم تشريع هذا الحشد الذي يضم حوالي 70 مليشيا مسلحة، تؤكد معلومات خبراء عراقيين أن ما يزيد على نصفها موال للمرشد الأعلى للثورة السيستاني تمويلا وتسليحا وتدريبا، وتلتزم بأوامر وتعليمات المرشد، ولا يملك رئيس الوزراء العراقي أية سلطة عليها، وخاضت هذه المليشيات غالبية الحروب مع داعش في العراق، وانتقلت إلى سوريا، تحت قيادة قائد فيلق القدس " قاسم سليماني".

يجمع خبراء الإرهاب والحرب أن إمكانيات داعش البشرية والعسكرية، لم تكن لتؤهلها حينما اجتاحت حوالي نصف مساحة العراق، لتحقيق ذلك لولا أن هناك مساعدات قدمت من طرف ما ساهمت على الأقل في فتح الطريق لداعش للقيام بهذه الخطوة، خاصة وان تحقيقات مع قادة التشكيلات العراقية لاحقا، أدانت قادة عراقيين كبار بتهمة التهاون في مقاومة داعش. ومعلوم أن اجتياحات داعش تزامنت مع احتجاجات واسعة في غرب العراق على طائفية حكومة المالكي، واحتجاجات في مناطق الجنوب ضد التكتلات السياسية " الشيعية" في الحكم، على خلفية فشل الحكومات في تقديم الخدمات الأساسية للمواطنين، وظهور شعارات تتمنى عودة أيام نظام البعث السابق "صدام حسين".  ولم يكن بالإمكان ظهور الحشد الشعبي العراقي لولا ظهور داعش.

ربما تشكل تلك الصفقات أحد جوانب الإجابة على التساؤلات المطروحة حول غياب أثار المعارك التي يعلن عنها بانتصارات على داعش، إذ أن المشترك في الصور التي تعرضها وسائل الإعلام في المناطق المحررة من داعش بقايا مدن تم تدميرها وتسويتها بالأرض، فيما لا جثة لمقاتل ولا لبندقية مكسورة ولا آلية معطوبة، ثم ما تلبث أن تظهر بعد أيام في منطقة مجاورة. وعلى هامش تلك الصفقات يلاحظ أولا: يعلن المتصارعون في سوريا جميعهم أنهم يحاربون داعش، وتتعرض داعش لضغوطات عسكرية لأكثر من حملة، تشترك فيه كل من أمريكا وروسيا وحلفائهما، في غمار حرب إعلامية حول تسجيل السبق بقتل أبو بكر البغدادي الذي يفترض انه مات أو تم إلقاء القبض عليه أكثر من مرة في سوريا وفي العراق. وثانيا: باستثناء ما يتردد عن صفقة سوريا الديمقراطية مع داعش- والتي أنكرتها قوات قسد واعتبرتها "ادعاءات وأكاذيب تهدف للنيل من سمعة قوات سوريا الديمقراطية ورفع معنويات الإرهابيين"، فان بقية الصفقات تمت من قبل حلفاء إيران خاصة الجيش السوري وحزب الله اللبناني.

إن الصفقات التي تقوم بها تلك المجموعات في ساحات العمليات في سوريا والعراق ، استراتيجية ثابتة في العقل الإيراني، منذ الصفقة الإيرانية الكبرى مع القاعدة عام 2001 بعد حرب أفغانستان باستقبال قيادات وكوادر القاعدة في طهران ، وفي العراق لاحقا حيث زودت إيران القاعدة بالأسلحة مقابل عدم التعرض للمراقد المقدسة وقد وفرت القاعدة  لإيران أسباب إنشاء الحشد الشعبي العراقي والسيطرة على العراق، وحولت الثورة السورية من ثورة شعبية ضد الظلم والفساد إلى مواجهة بين النظام السوري والإرهاب ،وقد أصبح واضحا أن وكلاء إيران هم من يخططون لانتشارات داعش ويوفر لها الملاذان الآمنة ، بما يضمن إبقائها مهددا ، لان أي استقرار في العراق أو سوريا ، يعني فتح ملفات إيران وأسباب تواجدها.

وفي الخلاصة فان عقد صفقات مع داعش في مسرح العمليات في سوريا والعراق، من قبل وكلاء إيران يطرح تساؤلات عميقة حول نجاعة استراتيجيات مكافحة الإرهاب، في ظل شكوك عميقة بإمكانية تحقيق نجاحات ملموسة، ويؤشر لإمكانية بقاء داعش والقاعدة في ظل علاقتهما مع إيران، ومن المرجح أن تفتح القاعدة ساحات قتال جديدة في مناطق أخرى، خارج سوريا والعراق، لإبقاء الإرهاب عنوانا دوليا.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Striking Deals with the Islamic State: A Fruitful Iranian Tactic


Also available in العربية

December 20, 2017

December 20, 2017


There have recently been a number of announcements claiming military defeat of the Islamic State in its strongholds of Mosul, Raqqa, and in the Syrian-Iraqi border town of al-Bukamal. And yet new questions arise on the lack of hard evidence of the group’s defeat, in the form of corpses, weapons, camps, and detainees. This ambiguity has allowed some, lacking sufficient evidence, to accuse several parties of supporting the Islamic State. The group’s convoys— including oil convoys— openly roam the desert in Syria and Iraq. This comes amid the group’s swift return to areas where it was supposedly defeated; along with deals struck that allow the group to move into to other areas under the protection of its enemies.

Over the past few months, there has been much finger pointing in Iraq and Syria regarding deals made between the Islamic State and its supposed rivals, including Iran, Hezbollah, the Syrian regime, the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF), Turkey, and the United States. Some of those deals were announced to the public, such as the agreement by Hezbollah and the Assad regime with the Islamic State. The latest of these was reportedly initiated by the Syrian army in exchange for the release of captured Syrian soldiers. Other deals were confidential, such as the one with the SDF in Raqqa, and another with Turkey in Iraq in exchange for the release of Turkish soldiers. There have also been a number of deals between the Popular Mobilization Units (PMU),  of which Iran pulls the strings, and the Islamic State in Iraq, supervised by Qassem Suleimani and Iran’s Revolutionary Guard.

It is also known that these agreements have been going on for quite some time. There has been much speculation on this issue since June 2014, when the Islamic State took over large swathes of territory in northern and central Iraq, reaching the outskirts of Baghdad after the dramatic collapse of the Iraqi army under the command of then-Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki. The Shia governing troika responded by rushing to form the Iraqi Popular Mobilization Units (PMUs) based on a fatwa by Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani. The new unit consisted of nearly seventy armed militias, more than half of which were confirmed by Iraqi experts to be funded, armed, and trained by Sistani. They followed his orders, and the Iraqi Prime Minister  had no power over them. These militias fought most of the battles against the Islamic State in Iraq then Syria, led by Qods Force commander Qassem Suleimani.

Terrorism and war experts agree that the Islamic State’s human and military capabilities would never have allowed it to invade nearly half of Iraq’s territory if it weren’t for some help from others that at least helped pave the way. Indeed, subsequent interrogations found senior Iraqi commanders guilty of neglect when fighting the group. It is also known that the Islamic State’s invasions coincided with mass protests in western Iraq against Maliki’s sectarian government, as well as protests in the south against Shia political blocs following the government’s failure to provide basic services to citizens with the emergence of slogans wishing for the return of Saddam Hussein’s former Baath regime. The PMUs could not have existed without the Islamic State.

Perhaps those deals are part of the answer to questions about the lack of evidence of battles where the Islamic State is declared defeated. Images of destruction in cities are common in footage aired by media outlets showing liberated areas, but no image of a fighter’s corpse or so much as a broken rifle or damaged piece of equipment surfaces until days later in nearby areas. Two items stand out about those deals: First, all fighters in Syria claim they are combating the Islamic State, which is under military pressure from several offensives by the United States, Russia, and their allies, all in the midst of a media war over getting the scoop on the death of Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi, who was reported killed or detained multiple times in Syria and Iraq. Second, with the exception of reports on a deal between the SDF and the Islamic State (which was denied by the SDF and called “allegations and lies aimed at hurting the SDF’s reputation and boosting the morale of terrorists”) the remaining deals were made by groups supported by Iran, especially the Syrian army and Hezbollah.

The deals made by these groups on the battle fields of Syria and Iraq have been a constant Iranian strategy since the major deal with al-Qaeda in 2001 following the Afghanistan war, when Iran received al-Qaeda’s leader and officials, and later in Iraq when Iran armed al-Qaeda in exchange for not targeting holy shrines. Al-Qaeda has given Iran the reasons to form the Popular Mobilization Units and control Iraq, and has changed the Syrian revolution from a popular uprising against oppression and corruption to a confrontation between the Syrian regime and terrorism. It has become clear now that Iranian-aligned proxies are tacitly assisting Islamic State invasions and providing it with safe havens to ensure it remains a source of threat, because stability in Iraq or Syria would leave resources open to confront Iran and the underlying reasons for its presence.

In conclusion, Iranian proxies’  deals with the Islamic State on the battlefields of Syria and Iraq raise serious questions about the viability of anti-terror strategies amid deep doubts on the possibility of achieving tangible results. They also indicate the possibility of a continued Islamic State and al-Qaeda presence in light of their relationship with Iran. Al-Qaeda is likely to open new battle fronts in other areas outside Syria and Iraq, to maintain terrorism as a global concern.

Customize your RSS Feed