أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الحملة الإعلامية القطرية ضد الصفقة الإماراتية- الإسرائيلية تعكس التصدع الخليجي الأوسع


متاح أيضاً في English

10 أيلول/سبتمبر 2020

في الأسابيع التي تلت إعلان القادة الأمريكيين والإماراتيين والإسرائيليين عن اتفاق التطبيع التاريخي في 13 آب/أغسطس، انهالت وسائل الإعلام القطرية بالانتقادات على الاتفاق. ولكن يبدو أن دوافع هذه الانتقادات مرتبطة بشكل مباشر بالقدر نفسه بالصراع المباشر بين قطر والإمارات العربية المتحدة بقدر ارتباطه بالنقد الحقيقي للصفقة.

ساهمت أيضًا المنافسة المباشرة بين الإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر، جنبًا إلى جنب مع المقاطعة الأوسع لقطر من قبل دول "الرباعية العربية" - الإمارات والسعودية ومصر والبحرين - في تأطير ردود الفعل الإعلامية المتضاربة حول الصفقة، علمًا بأن وسائل الإعلام القطرية والسعودية والإماراتية تتمتع ببعضٍ من أوسع نطاقات الانتشار والتأثير بشكل عام.

في قطر، أبدت وسائل الإعلام شبه الرسمية والمدعومة من الحكومة معارضةً شديدة للاتفاق، مسلّطة الضوء على الغضب الفلسطيني ومنتقدة الإمارات العربية المتحدة مباشرةً على هذه الحركة الدبلوماسية. فعمدت مثلاً صحيفة "الشرق" الموالية للحكومة القطرية إلى وصف الاتفاق بعبارات خاطئة بحيث استخدمت عنوانًا مقتبسًا عن الرئيس التركي أردوغان، وهو: "التاريخ لن يغفر للإمارات إبرامها اتفاقًا مع إسرائيل". ونشرت الصحيفة نفسها مقالة بعنوان: "محمد بن سلمان مستعد لإقامة علاقات مفتوحة ... والوسيط هو اليهودي حاييم صبان".

فضلاً عن ذلك، زعم تلفزيون قطر التابع للدولة أن إسرائيل خدعت الإمارات ولا تنوي وقف عملية الضم. واستخدم أيضًا صورًا لقوات الشرطة الإسرائيلية وهي تمنع المتظاهرين الفلسطينيين من إحراق العلم الإماراتي، إضافةً إلى صور للأمير محمد بن زايد داخل المسجد الأقصى، وذلك ليبيّن أن الإسرائيليين يحمون الإماراتيين من الغضب الفلسطيني. وكذلك بثّت قناة الجزيرة عشرات البرامج السياسية التي ندّد خلالها المشاركون في المقابلات – وهم من جنسيات عربية مختلفة - بالاتفاق تنديدًا شديد اللهجة. وكان الكم الأكبر من التغطية الإعلامية موجهًا بشكل خاص ضد شخص القيادات الإماراتية، وسعت هذه البرامج في عباراتها إلى نزع الشرعية عن تلك الشخصيات.

في المقابل، ضغطت دول الرباعية العربية بشدة في الاتجاه المعاكس، بحيث دافعت القنوات الإماراتية والسعودية والبحرينية عن اتفاق التطبيع – مع استثناء ملحوظ من جانب القنوات التابعة للمعارضة الشيعية في البحرين. وكان ملفتًا التزام الدولة الرابعة في الرباعية – أي مصر – بالصمت.

وليس مستغربًا أنّ الصحف الإماراتية مجّدت بهذا الاتفاق باعتباره تاريخيًا، وأغدقت بالمديح على الأمير محمد بن زايد لنجاحه في وقف أعمال الضم مقابل الحفاظ على إمكانية تحقيق حل الدولتين. وحرصت وسائل الإعلام الإماراتية على استضافة معلّقين إسرائيليين يجيدون اللغة العربية من أجل التأكيد على العلاقات الإسرائيلية القطرية، لتعزز بذلك الرواية الإماراتية القائلة إنّ الانتقاد القطري هو نوع من النفاق. فقد قال مثلاً عضو الكنيست إيلي أفيدار عبر قناة "سكاي نيوز عربية" إنّ قطر تريد أن تكون لها علاقة حصرية مع إسرائيل.

أما وسائل الإعلام السعودية، فبدت مصدومةً ومربكة لفترة وجيزة بعد الإعلان عن الاتفاق مباشرةً. لكن سرعان ما تبدّل هذا الموقف وبدأ الدفاع عن الإمارات بوجه الحملة الدعائية القطرية، ربما بناءً على تعليمات الرياض. ونشرت قناة "العربية" مذّاك مقابلة حصرية مع سفير إسرائيل في واشنطن رون ديرمر قال فيها إن دولًا عربية أخرى ستنخرط قريبًا في التطبيع. كما نشر الموقع تقريرًا عن وضع الجالية اليهودية في دبي وخصّص مساحات في مقالاته الافتتاحية للكتاب الإسرائيليين من أجل التحدث عن السلام.

كما كتب صحافيون سعوديون معروفون مقالات أشادت بالاتفاق. فكتب عبد الرحمن الراشد في صحيفة "الشرق الأوسط" التابعة للسعودية مؤكّدًا على الجوانب الإيجابية للاتفاق ومنتقدًا قطر صراحةً على ازدواجية معاييرها حيال التطبيع، كما شدّد على علاقات قطر نفسها بإسرائيل لافتًا إلى أنها قائمة منذ فترة طويلة وفق ما يتجلّى من زيارة رئيس الوزراء آنذاك شيمون بيريز إلى المملكة الخليجية عام 1996. وفيما يبدو أنه لا أساس من الصحة للتكهنات الأولية بانخراط السعودية هي أيضًا في مفاوضات سلام مع إسرائيل، إلا أن دعم وسائل الإعلام والمفكرين البارزين في السعودية لاتفاق التطبيع بين إسرائيل والإمارات يجب أن يكون دلالة على ما ينتظرنا عند وصول الأمير محمد بن سلمان إلى الحكم.

ونظرًا إلى هذا الانقسام الواضح بين ردود "الرباعية العربية" والردود القطرية على الاتفاق، لا بد من فهم رد الإعلام القطري في سياق الصراع الدائر بين دول الخليج. فمع أن وسائل إعلامية أخرى في المنطقة انتقدت اتفاق التطبيع، إلا أن وسائل الإعلام القطرية أظهرت بطريقة ما الموقف الأكثر عدائيةً، ربما لأن قطر ستخسر الكثير من توطيد العلاقات بين إسرائيل والإمارات نظرًا إلى المنافسة الإقليمية الشديدة بين الدوحة وأبوظبي.

والأرجح أن الدوحة تشعر بالتهديد من الوجود الإماراتي المستجد في الصراع الفلسطيني الإسرائيلي. وبالفعل، تتسم العلاقة بين إسرائيل وقطر بسمات فريدة، إذ تدفع هذه الأخيرة 30 مليون دولار شهريًا لغزة، ما يدل على حرص كلا الجانبين على عدم انفجار الوضع في القطاع. وفي الآونة الأخيرة، ظهرت تقارير عن زيارة قام بها رئيس جهاز الموساد يوسي كوهين إلى الدوحة - تلتها تقارير عن التوسط لاتفاق وقف إطلاق النار بين "حماس" وإسرائيل بعد التصعيد الأخير.

في المقابل، تساور الشكوك أوساط الدوحة الداخلية حول تصرفات أبو ظبي في المنطقة، علاوةً على الظنون بأن أبو ظبي ليست مهتمة البتة بالمصالحة بين الرباعية العربية وقطر. فالطرفان منخرطان أصلاً في منافسة واسعة النطاق تتجلى بشكل رئيسي في سياساتهما الخارجية الإقليمية وداخل أوساط السياسات في واشنطن – فقد استثمر الطرفان مبالغ ضخمة في المستشارين الأمريكيين ومراكز الفكر وشركات العلاقات العامة. وفي ضوء هذه الخلفية، تشير اتفاقية السلام التي توسطت فيها الولايات المتحدة إلى أن الإمارات عزّزت اليوم قدرتها على الاستفادة من البيت الأبيض والأوساط المعنية بالسياسات المؤيدة لإسرائيل في العاصمة واشنطن في ما يتعلق بمناقشات السلام في المنطقة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ثمة تخوّف من تداعيات إقامة سفارة إماراتية في تل أبيب. فبخلاف الوجود المصري غير الفاعل هناك، سيتعامل الإماراتيون باستباقية مع النخب الدبلوماسية والاقتصادية الإسرائيلية. وقد سبق أن أظهر المسؤولون والمفكرون الإماراتيون استعدادهم للانخراط علنًا من خلال إغراق وسائل الإعلام الإسرائيلية في الأيام التي أعقبت اتفاق السلام وإجراء المقابلات وتبادل الآراء حول كيفية حل الصراع الإسرائيلي الفلسطيني.

والواقع أن قطر أوجدت لنفسها مساحة فريدة كجسر في عملية السلام الإسرائيلية الفلسطينية، لكن الموقف الإماراتي الجديد يهدد قدرتها على التأثير على الوضع من خلال جهودها الخاصة الأقل علنية. ويتأتى هذا التهديد بشكل خاص عن القدرات المالية التي تملكها الإمارات وتتعارض بشكل حاد مع دولتَي الأردن ومصر.

وبالرغم من اعتراض السلطة الفلسطينية الشديد على المفاوضات، يبدو أن ثقل الإمارات لا يمكن إنكاره حتى في الأوساط الفلسطينية، وهذا ما ألمحت إليه تغريدة صائب عريقات، وهو شخصية بارزة في السلطة الفلسطينية، حين طلب من إخوانه الفلسطينيين الامتناع عن مهاجمة القادة الإماراتيين أو إحراق علمهم. وجدير بالذكر أن الفلسطينيين عمدوا طوال عقود من الزمن على إهانة القادة المصريين المتعاقبين بسبب السلام مع إسرائيل – ولم يسبق لأي مسؤول فلسطيني رفيع المستوى أن وجّه هذا النوع من الطلب العلني حين كانت مصر تتعرض للهجوم.

قد تنجح أبو ظبي، من خلال نفوذها، في ضبط ميزان القوى في القضايا الحساسة – ولا سيما القدس - بطريقة تثير قلق الدوحة وحليفتها أنقرة بشكل خاص. فخلال العقدين الماضيين، ركّزت وسائل الإعلام القطرية والرئيس التركي أردوغان بشكل كبير على رواية الدفاع عن الأماكن الإسلامية المقدسة في القدس. فدأبت قناة الجزيرة، على سبيل المثال، على بث تقارير عن تعرّض المسجد - وهو موقع مقدس رئيسي في الإسلام - لخطر كبير من اليهود المتدينين الذين تحميهم قوات الشرطة الإسرائيلية "المتوحشة"، فيما روّجت للرواية القائلة إن أردوغان هو المدافع الحقيقي عنه. واستفادت هذه الرسائل من افتقار الأردن إلى الموارد المالية ومن ثقله الإقليمي الخفيف نسبيًا لتغطّي على الوصاية الأردنية الرسمية على الأقصى.

واليوم ستحظى أبو ظبي بحق تسيير رحلات للمسلمين من مطاراتها لزيارة المسجد الأقصى. وبالتالي، فإن تنظيم أبو ظبي لهذه الرحلات الدينية قد يدحض هذه الادعاءات وينقض الادعاء القائل إن هذه المواقع الدينية في خطر. ومن المحتمل أيضًا أن تمنح هذه الرحلات هيبةً دينية جديدة للإمارات لأنها تقدّم نفسها على أنها جسر بين العالم العربي والمسجد الأقصى.

من هذا المنطلق، لا يجدر اعتبار الرسائل القطرية مجرد رد على الاتفاق نفسه، فمن المرجح أن تغذّي العداوة بين الإمارات وقطر وسائل الإعلام القطرية شبه الرسمية والممولة من الحكومة في المستقبل المنظور. والأرجح أيضًا أن تكون هذه الرسائل مؤثرة، فأي حملة تستهدف الاتفاق الإماراتي الإسرائيلي في هذا الوقت قادرة على إخافة القادة العرب الآخرين من اتباع نهج التطبيع، كما أنها تقوّي الأصوات المناهضة للتطبيع في الرياض والمنامة من بين عواصم عربية أخرى. ومن المؤكد أن الإعلام القطري ليس الصوت العربي الوحيد الذي يعارض الاتفاق، لكن يجب إيلاء اهتمام خاص لهذه الرسالة وتأثيرها المحتمل على الرد الإقليمي الجاري على السلام بين إسرائيل والإمارات.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Qatar’s Media Campaign Against UAE-Israel Deal Reflects a Wider Gulf Rift


Also available in العربية

September 10, 2020

In the weeks since U.S., Emirati, and Israeli leaders announced a historic normalization agreement on August 13, Qatari media has leveled major criticism of the deal. Yet the motivations for this criticism seem to reflect direct competition between Qatar and the UAE as much as genuine critique.

The direct competition between the UAE and Qatar, combined with the broader boycott of Qatar by the Arab Quartet—the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, and Bahrain— helps contextualize vocal, conflicting media responses to the deal, as Qatari, Saudi, and Emirati media have some of the broadest reach and largest influence regionally.  

In Qatar, both semi-official and government-backed media have come out strongly against the deal, emphasizing Palestinian outrage and criticizing the UAE directly for the diplomatic move. Pro-Qatari government Al-Sharq newspaper mischaracterized the accord with a headline quoting Turkish President Erdogan, “History won’t forgive the UAE for signing a deal with Israel.” The same newspaper also ran the headline, “MbS is ready to establish open relations… The mediator is the Jew Haim Saban.” 

State-owned Qatar TV claimed that Israel had deceived the UAE and is not planning to stop annexation, featuring images of Israeli police forces stopping Palestinian protesters from burning the Emirati flag and images of Abu Dhabi Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayed (MbZ) inside Al-Aqsa mosque to claim that Israelis are protecting Emiratis from Palestinian outrage. Additionally, the Al-Jazeera channel aired tens of political shows in which interviewees from different Arab nationalities condemned the deal aggressively. Most of the coverage was directed specifically against the persona of the Emirati leadership, and the wording of these programs sought to delegitimize them. 

In contrast, Arab Quartet media has pushed hard in the opposite direction as Emirati, Saudi, and Bahraini channels—with the notable exception of those channels affiliated with Bahrain’s Shia opposition—have defended the normalization deal. The fourth member of the Quartet—Egypt—has been notably quiet.

Unsurprisingly, Emirati newspapers have glorified the deal as historic, conferring massive praise on MbZ for his success in stopping annexation in exchange for keeping the two state-solution alive. UAE media outlets were keen on hosting Israeli commentators fluent in Arabic to emphasize Israeli-Qatari relations, bolstering the Emirati narrative that Qatar’s criticism is hypocritical. For example, Knesset member Eli Avidar argued on Sky News Arabia that Qatar wants to have an exclusive relationship with Israel. 

For a short period of time directly after the deal was announced, Saudi media seemed to be shocked and disoriented. However, this position quickly shifted to defend the UAE against Qatari propaganda, perhaps due to instructions from Riyadh. Al-Arabiya news has since published an exclusive interview with Israel’s Ambassador to Washington Ron Dermer, where he stated other Arab states will soon be engaging in normalization. The site also published a report on the status of the Jewish community in Dubai, and op-ed spaces were devoted for Israeli writers to talk about peace. 

Well-known Saudi journalists have also penned op-eds praising the deal directly. Abdul Rahman Al-Rashed wrote an article at the Saudi affiliate newspaper al-Sharq al-Awsat emphasizing the positive aspects of the deal and explicitly calling out Qatar for its double standards toward normalization. Al-Rashed emphasized Qatar’s own relations with Israel, emphasizing their longstanding nature by pointing to then-Prime Minister Shimon Peres’s 1996 visit to the Gulf monarchy. Though early speculation that Saudi Arabia would also begin peace negotiations with Israel appears unfounded, the fact that the Saudi media and prominent intellectuals backing the Israeli-Emirati normalization deal should be a sign for what is in store when MbS comes to power.

Given this clear split between Quartet and Qatari responses to the deal, Qatar’s media response should be understood in the context of the ongoing intra-Gulf conflict. While there are other media outlets in the region criticizing the normalization deal, Qatari media has in some ways demonstrated itself to be the most aggressive. This may be because Qatar has much to lose from closer ties between Israel and the UAE.

Doha likely feels threatened by Abu Dhabi’s new presence in the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. Indeed, relations between Israel and Qatar have their own unique features; the latter pays $30 million per month to Gaza, demonstrating the interest both sides place in ensuring that Gaza does not erupt. Most recently, there were reports of a visit by Mossad director Yossi Cohen to Doha—followed by reports that a cease-fire between Hamas and Israel had been brokered after the most recent flare up.  

In contrast, Doha’s inner circles remain suspicious of Abu Dhabi’s actions in the region, and many elite Qataris share the belief that Abu Dhabi is not at all interested in reconciliation between the Arab Quartet and Qatar. The two sides are already engaged in extensive competition, visible mainly in their regional foreign policies and within Washington policy circles—the two sides have invested massive amounts in American consultants, think tanks, and public relations firms. Given this background, the U.S.-brokered peace deal suggests that the UAE has now developed an edge in leveraging the White House and influential pro-Israel policy circles in D.C. when it comes to discussions of peace in the region.  

Moreover, there is concern about the implications of a future Emirati embassy in Tel Aviv. Unlike the inactive Egyptian presence there, Emiratis will be proactive in engaging with Israel’s diplomatic and economic elites. Emirati officials and intellectuals have already demonstrated their willingness to engage publicly by flooding Israeli media in the days after the peace deal, giving interviews and sharing their opinions on how to solve the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Qatar had carved a unique space for itself in the Israeli-Palestinian peace process as a bridge between Israel and Hamas, but the UAE’s new position threatens Qatar’s ability to influence the situation through its own less public efforts. Especially threatening is the UAE’s formidable financial capabilities, which stand in stark contrast to Jordan and Egypt.

Though the PA came out strongly against the negotiations, it appears that the UAE’s weight is undeniable even in Palestinian circles, suggested by the major PA figure Saeb Ereket’s tweet in which he asked fellow Palestinians to refrain from attacking Emirati leaders or burning their flag. For decades, Palestinians insulted successive Egyptian leaders because of peace with Israel—this kind of public request from a senior Palestinian official has no parallel when Egypt was attacked.

With influence, Abu Dhabi may be able to shape the balance of power on hot button issues—Jerusalem being a particular flashpoint—in a way that is especially troubling for Doha and its allies in Ankara. In the past two decades, Qatari media and Turkish President Erdogan have placed great emphasis on a narrative defending Islamic holy sites in Jerusalem. For example, the Al-Jazeera channel has consistently aired reports on how the mosque—a key holy site in Islam—is in great danger from religious Jews protected by the “brutal” Israeli police forces, while promoting the narrative that Erdogan is its true defender. This messaging has taken advantage of Jordan's lack of financial resources and relatively light regional weight to overshadow Jordan’s official custodianship of Al-Aqsa.

Now, Abu Dhabi will be granted the right to fly Muslims from its airports to visit Al-Aqsa mosque. Subsequently, Abu Dhabi’s coordination of these religious trips is likely to destroy these claims and challenge the suggestion that these religious sites are in danger. These trips will also likely provide the Emirates with a new level of religious prestige as it presents itself as the bridge between the Muslim world and Al-Aqsa mosque. 

As such, Qatari messaging should not be understood simply as a response to the deal itself; antagonism between the Emirates and Qatar is likely to fuel the attitudes of Qatari semi-official and government funded media for the foreseeable future. Moreover, this messaging is likely influential. A targeted campaign against the UAE-Israel deal at this moment has the potential to intimidate other Arab leaders from following suit on normalization; it can also empower voices of anti-normalization in Riyadh and Manama among other Arab capitals. Qatari media is certainly not the only Arab voice to come out against the deal, but special attention must be dedicated to this message and its potential impact on the ongoing regional response to peace between Israel and the UAE.

Customize your RSS Feed