أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تعزيز الشراكة بين واشنطن والثوار السوريين


متاح أيضاً في English

12 أيلول/سبتمبر 2014

أعلن الرئيس الأمريكي باراك أوباما في خطابه نهار الأربعاء بأن بلاده ستزيد من تدريب وتسليح الثوار السوريين المعتدلين. وهذا هو التحرك الصحيح حالياً نظرا للتهديد المتمثل بما بات يعرف بتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية".  لا يزال دور الثوار المعتدلين في سوريا على القدر نفسه من الأهمية ويمكنهم أن يكونوا شريكًا لإدارة الرئيس أوباما وائتلافه الدولي في سوريا تمامًا كقوات البيشمركة الكردية في دولة العراق المجاورة.في الواقع، تتطلّب أي محاولة جدية للتصدي "للدولة الإسلامية" عملاً عسكريًّا مستدامًا داخل سوريا، ويُعتبر الثوار المعتدلون الذين لديهم فعالية عسكرية، على غرار "حركة حزم" و"كتيبة شهداء سوريا"، في موقع ملائم يتيح لهم المساندة في ذلك. والأهم من موقعهم الملائم هو أنهم عازمون على دحر تنظيم "الدولة الأسلامية".

وكانت المعارضة السورية قد سعت، ومند انطلاق شرارة الثورة في البلاد، إلى إنشاء شراكة استراتيجية مع الولايات المتحدة. إلا أن عددًا كبيرًا من المعارضين  فقدوا الثقة بإدارة الرئيس أوباما بعد سنوات من الوعود المنكوسة. وهم يرفضون الآن أن يتم استغلالهم في القتال ضد تنظيم "الدولة الأسلامية" ليترَكوا فيما بعد ليدافعوا عن أنفسهم من دون عون بوجه الرئيس بشار الأسد والمجموعات الجهادية الأخرى في البلاد. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، لا تريد هذه الفئة من المعارضين أن تكون نسخة جديدة عن مقاتلي "الصحوة"، وهم أفراد عشائر سنية في العراق وحدوا الصفوف مع الولايات المتحدة لدحر تنظيم "القاعدة"، لكنهم تُركوا بعد ذلك بمفردهم لمواجهة المؤامرات الطائفية التي حاكها رئيس الوزراء آنذاك نوري المالكي.

بالتالي، من أجل تخطي أزمة الثقة بين المعارضة السورية والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، على إدارة باراك أوباما أن تنظر إلى الثوار السوريين على أنهم حلفاء في معركة إعادة الاستقرار إلى الشرق الأوسط، علمًا أن ذلك يصب في مصلحة واشنطن ودول غربية أخرى. فعلى سبيل المثال يمكن لإدارة أوباما أن تضمن قدرة الثوار على حماية مناطقهم من القصف الجوي الذي يقوم به نظام الأسد أو حتى تزويدهم بالسلاح المتطور للتصدي للميليشيات الموالية للأسد من حلب إلى دمشق وجنوبي سوريا. فمن دون هذا الدعم سيبقى أداء الثوار المعتدلين متواضعًا في ساحة المعركة. بيد أن ما يثير القلق هو أن انشقاق عناصر من "الجيش السوري الحر" للانضمام إلى مجموعات كـتنظيم "الدولة الأسلامية" و"جبهة النصرة" التابعة لتنظيم القاعدة سيستمر بلا هوادة، لا بل قد يزداد.

لكن اذا قامت الإدارة الأمريكية بادماج الثوار السوريين في مسعاها الأخير للقضاء على ـتنظيم "الدولة الأسلامية" سترجح بذلك كفة المعركة لصالحهم. وحين يبدأون بالسيطرة الفعلية على المناطق – إذ إن المعارضين يملكون مساحات أقل من الأراضي بالمقارنة مع النظام و"الدولة الأسلامية " – يمكن للائتلاف السوري المعارض أن يستهلّ مهامه السياسية بالعمل مع المجالس المحلية ويساعد بتوفير الخدمات الاجتماعية وبالتالي تنظيم الانتخابات لإرساء بعض مظاهر الاستقرار على المناطق التي يسيطرون عليها. ولا بد من الإقرار أن تحقيق ذلك لايزال بعيد المنال، لكن الخطوة الأولى في إرساء الاستقرار في سوريا تكمن في اعتبار أن ما تبقّى من المعارضة المعتدلة ليس عبئًا على الولايات المتحدة بل حليف هام.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Partner with the Syrian Rebels


Also available in العربية

September 12, 2014

In his speech on Wednesday, President Obama announced that the United States will increase training and arming for the moderate Syria rebels. Given the threat posed by the Islamic State of Iraq and al-Sham (ISIS), that is the correct move: Syria’s moderate rebels are as important as ever. Much like the Kurdish Peshmerga in nearby Iraq, they could serve as a strategic partner for the Obama administration and its budding international coalition in Syria. In fact, since any serious attempt to counter the self-styled Islamic State will require sustained military action inside Syria. The moderate and militarily effective Syrian rebel groups, such as Harakat Hazm or the Syrian Martyrs’ Brigade, are uniquely positioned to be of assistance. And, importantly, they are eager to do so.

Since the start of the Syrian revolution, the opposition has sought a strategic partnership with the United States. But after years of broken promises, many are dubious of the Obama administration. They do not want to be used in the fight against ISIS, then left to fend for themselves against Syrian president Bashar al-Assad and the country’s other jihadist groups. Nor do they want to be latter-day sahwa fighters, the Sunni tribesmen in Iraq who aligned with the United States to oust al-Qaeda but were then left to confront the sectarian machinations of Nouri al-Maliki, Iraq’s prime minister at the time, on their own.

Therefore, in order to overcome this crisis of trust between the Syrian opposition and the United States, the Obama administration must view the rebels as allies in the battle to bring stability back to the Middle East—which is in the interest of the United States and other Western powers. The Obama administration could, for example, ensure that the rebels can protect their areas from aerial bombardment by the Assad regime, or perhaps provide them with advanced weaponry to push back against pro-Assad militias from Aleppo to Damascus and southern Syria. Absent such measures, Syria’s moderate rebels will continue to fare poorly on the battlefield. More concerning, however, is that defections from the Free Syrian Army to groups like ISIS and Jabhat al-Nusra, al-Qaeda’s Syrian affiliate will continue unabated and may even increase.

However, if the Obama administration does in fact enlist the rebels in its newest effort to destroy ISIS, then this could swing the momentum on the battlefield in their favor. Once they start taking real control of areas -- at present, the rebels hold comparatively less territory than the Assad regime and ISIS—then the Syrian Opposition Coalition can being to carry out its political duties by working with local councils, helping provide social services, and eventually organizing local elections to bring some semblance of stability to rebel-controlled areas. Admittedly, that is quite a ways off, but the first step in stabilizing Syria is remembering that what is left of the moderate opposition is not a burden to America, but rather an important ally.

Customize your RSS Feed