أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الإخفاقات الكردية في كركوك


متاح أيضاً في English

3 آب/أغسطس 2018

بعد مرور أقل من شهر على الانتخابات العراقية الوطنية التي أُجريت في 12 أيار/مايو والتي شابتها مزاعم الغش، أعلن البرلمان العراقي عن إعادة السلطات فرز الأصوات في محافظات عدة. ومن بين هذه المحافظات حيث من المقرر إعادة فرز الأصوات محافظة كركوك المتعثرة التي يتم التنازع على حكمها وحيث التوترات الطائفية شديدة. فكان أن أثار هذا القرار مقالق داخل صفوف "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني"، وهو حزب سياسي كردي قوي فاز بستة من المقاعد البرلمانية الاثني عشر المتاحة للمحافظة. إذ خوفًا من أن تعرّض إعادة الفرز مكاسب الحزب الانتخابية للخطر وبالتالي تقلّل التمثيل الكردي في مجلس النواب العراقي، صوّب "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" أصابع الاتهام إلى أحزاب المعارضة الكردية، مشيرًا إلى أن مزاعم الغش التي تقدمت بها كانت إحدى الأسباب خلف قرار إعادة فرز الأصوات.

غير أنّ هذه الاتهامات غير منصفة بتاتًا ومدعاةٌ فادحة للسخرية.

فـ"الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" يخذل أكراد كركوك منذ أعوام ويضحي بالمصالح الكردية لتحقيق مكاسب أنانية. كما وأن أحزاب المعارضة في كركوك، بعيدًا خيانة المصالح الكردية، ترشّحت معًا في لائحة واحدة لتعزيز أثر أصوات ناخبيها ولا يمكن تحميلها مسؤولية قرار إعادة فرز الأصوات. وأخيرًا، فإنّ نجاح "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" في الانتخابات، والذي يمُكن في الواقع أن يُعزى بجزء منه إلى الغش، قد يعيق أكراد كركوك للسنوات القادمة.

يُذكَر أن كركوك بقيت من عام 2003 إلى 2017 تحت قبضة "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني"، اللذين كانا الحزبين السياسيين الكرديين الوحيدين من كركوك اللذين يشغلان مقاعد في البرلمان العراقي. في خلال فترة حكمهما، وضع كلا الحزبين مصالحهما الخاصة فوق مصالح العامة، مستفيدين من صادرات النفط بينما كان شعب كركوك يضعف. كما وأثناء تولي الحزبين الحكم، فشل كلاهما في ضمان تنفيذ المادة 140 من دستور العراق، والتي توفر إطارًا قانونيًا لحل مسألة ملكية كركوك.

شنّ تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" ("داعش") عام 2014 هجومًا على كركوك، ما دفع القوات العراقية إلى الفرار. في أعقاب الهجوم، تولت قوات "البشمركة"، وهي قوات الأمن الكردية التي يشرف عليها "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني"، حماية كركوك واستولت في نهاية المطاف على السلطة في كامل كردستان العراق. في ظل هذه الظروف، قررت القيادة الكردية إجراء استفتاء حول استقلال كركوك على الرغم من أنه لم يتم بعد استيفاء أحكام المادة 140.

فتبيّن أن ذلك كان قرارًا سيّئًا صعّد من حدة التوترات. في ذلك الوقت، لم يكن لدى "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" ولا "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" خطة استراتيجية للتعاون مع تركمان المحافظة وعربها وكان ما زال يتحتم عليهما إقناع هاتين الفئتين بأنّهم سيكونون أفضل حالًا تحت قيادة حكومة إقليم كردستان مما كانوا تحت سلطة بغداد.

وما زاد الطين بلّة أنّه بعد مرور بضعة أسابيع على الاستفتاء، اجتاحت القوات العراقية كركوك، وأعادت السيطرة الاتحادية وأرغمت البشمركة على الانسحاب. بعد الاجتياح، تدهورت العلاقة بين "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" و"الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني". وبعد انسحاب قوات "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" من المناطق المتنازع عليها، الأمر الذي تسبب في فرار الآلاف من الأكراد، ندد "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني" بهذه الخطوة علانيةً واختار عدم المشاركة في الانتخابات العراقية في كركوك.

في ظل غياب "الحزب الديمقراطي الكردستاني"، تحالفت ثلاثة من أحزاب المعارضة الكردية الرئيسية الأربع في كركوك لتشكيل القائمة الموحدة "نيشتيمان" أو "الوطن" التي ظهرت على ورقة الاقتراع في المناطق المتنازع عليها. وكان الغرض من هذه العملية كلها زيادة تأثير أصوات الناخبين الأكراد إلى أقصى حد والتي يمكن أن تحدث أثرًا أعظم إذا ما جُمعت معًا.

بعد الإعلان عن قرار إعادة فرز الأصوات، اتهم "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" الأحزاب التي تألفت منها لائحة "نيشتيمان"، إلى جانب حزب معارضة كردي رابع، بدفع البرلمان إلى اتخاذ هذا القرار. إلاّ أنّ هذا الادعاء غير دقيق حيث أنّ من بين نواب البرلمان المئة والستة والستين، ستة عشر منهم فقط ينتمون إلى أحزاب كردية معارضة. إنما كان في الواقع العراقيون العرب والتركمان كما والحكومة العراقية هم من طالبوا بإعادة فرز الأصوات، بضغط من الدوائر الانتخابية غير الكردية. وفي هذا السياق، من الجدير بالذكر أيضًا أن إعادة فرز الأصوات جرت في محافظات عدة، وليس في كركوك فحسب. 

وأما بالنسبة إلى من في كركوك تمنى أن يرى تغيّرًا ملحوظًا في تركيبة البرلمان بعد إعادة الفرز اليدوية للأصوات، فقد تكون نتائج العملية مخيّبة لآماله: ففي حين أنّ إعادة فرز الأصوات لا تزال جارية، يبدو حتى الآن أنّ 93% من الأصوات في كركوك سُجّلت بشكل صحيح في الفرز الأول. لكنّ ذلك لا يعني أنّ "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" لم يغشّ. ففي خلال الانتخابات، استحصل الحزب على آلاف بطاقات الاقتراع القديمة واستخدمها لصنع بطاقات هوية وطنية مزورة تم توزيعها على مرشحي "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني". وفي يوم الانتخابات، استخدم مناصرو هؤلاء المرشحين بطاقات الهوية المزورة للاقتراع عدة مرات.

تضرّ مثل أعمال "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" هذه مصالح الأكراد عبر زيادة حدة التوترات العرقية والطائفية في كركوك وإلحاق أضرار بليغة بسمعة الأكراد. ولذا، وعلى ضوء سوء حكم "الاتحاد الوطني الكردستاني" وممارساته الضارة، يبدو من الواضح أنّه ما دام الحزب يسيطر على كركوك، ستبقى المحافظة منطقةً متنازعًا عليها.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Kurdish Failures in Kirkuk


Also available in العربية

August 3, 2018

Less than a month after Iraq’s May 12 national election, which was marred by allegations of fraud, the Iraqi Parliament announced that authorities would be recounting ballots in several provinces. Among the provinces where the recount was to be held was the embattled Kirkuk, whose ownership is disputed and where sectarian tensions run high. This decision raised concerns within the ranks of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan (PUK), a powerful Kurdish political party that has won six of the twelve parliamentary seats available in the province. Fearing that the recount would jeopardize its electoral gains and thus diminish Kurdish representation in Iraq’s Council of Representatives, the PUK has pointed an accusing finger at Kurdish opposition parties, stating that the fraud allegations made by these parties were among the reasons behind the recount. 

However, such accusations are entirely unfair and resoundingly ironic.

Indeed, the PUK has been failing Kirkuk’s Kurds for years, sacrificing Kurdish interests for selfish gains. Far from betraying Kurdish interests, the opposition parties in Kirkuk ran together as one list to boost the influence of their voters and cannot be held accountable for the recount. Moreover, the PUK’s success in the election, which in fact can be partially attributed to fraud, may hold Kirkuk’s Kurds back for years to come.  

From 2003 to 2017, Kirkuk was under the grip of the PUK and the Kurdistan Democratic Party (KDP), which were the only Kurdish political parties from Kirkuk to hold seats in the Iraqi parliament. During their reign, both parties placed their own interests above those of the public, profiting from oil exports while the people of Kirkuk languished. Furthermore, while in power, both parties failed to secure the implementation of Article 140 of the Constitution of Iraq, which provided a legal framework for resolving the question over the ownership of Kirkuk.

In 2014, the Islamic State (IS) attacked Kirkuk, causing Iraqi forces to flee. In the wake of the assault, the Peshmerga, the Kurdish security forces overseen by the PUK and the KDP, protected Kirkuk, eventually gained complete control Iraqi Kurdistan. In light of these circumstances, Kurdish leadership decided to hold a referendum over Kirkuk’s independence despite the fact that the stipulations of article 140 have not yet been met.

This proved to be a bad decision that escalated tensions. At the time, the PUK and the KDP did not have a strategic plan to cooperate with the Turkmen and the Arab of the province and had yet to convince them that they would be better off under the leadership of the Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) than they were under Bagdad’s authority.

To make matters worse, a few weeks after the referendum, Iraqi forces invaded Kirkuk, reestablishing federal control and forcing the Peshmerga to withdraw. Following the invasion, the relationship between the PUK and KDP deteriorated. After PUK forces withdrew from disputed areas, thus causing thousands of Kurds to flee, the KDP openly denounced the move and chose not to participate in the Iraqi election in Kirkuk.

In the KDP’s absence, three of the four main Kurdish opposition parties in Kirkuk joined forces forming the united list “Nishtiman,” or “Homeland,” which appeared on the ballot in the disputed areas. The purpose of this maneuver was to maximize the influence of Kurdish votes, which would could have had a greater impact banded together.

After the announcement on the recount has been made, the PUK accused the parties forming Nishtiman, along with a fourth Kurdish opposition party, of propelling the parliament’s decision to recount votes. But this allegation is inaccurate as, of the 166 Members of Parliament who supported the recount, only 16 belonged to Kurdish opposition parties. Instead, it was Iraqi-Arabs, Iraqi-Turkmen and the Iraqi Government under pressure from non-Kurdish constituencies that pushed for the recount. In this context, it is also important to note that the recount took place in multiple provinces, not just Kirkuk.

For those in Kirkuk who hoped to see a significant change in the structure of the parliament following the manual recount, the results of the process may be disappointing: while the recount is still taking place, as of now, it appears that 93 percent of the votes in Kirkuk had been recorded correctly during the original count. But this does not mean that the PUK did not cheat. Indeed, during the election, the PUK obtained thousands of old election cards and used them to make fake national IDs that were handed over to PUK candidates. On election day, loyalists of the PUK candidates used the cards with the fake IDs to vote multiple times.

Such actions by the PUK and the KDP hurt Kurdish interests by intensifying ethno-sectarian tensions in Kirkuk and harshly damaging the Kurd’s reputation. Therefore, in light of the PUK and the KDP’s misjudgments and damaging practices, it is clear that as long as these parties control Kirkuk, the province will continue to be disputed.

Customize your RSS Feed