أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الأردن يعود إلى التحالف السني- الإسرائيلي


متاح أيضاً في English

13 تموز/يوليو 2018

على الرغم من التوترات الأخيرة التي حدثت بين المملكة الأردنية الهاشمية وبعض الأطراف الأخرى الفاعلة في الشرق الأوسط، أتاحت الديناميكيات المتغيرة في المنطقة الفرصة لظهور تحالف مؤقت- مدعوم من قبل الولايات المتحدة- بين إسرائيل والدول العربية السنية المعتدلة (السعودية، الإمارات، مصر، الأردن، البحرين). وفي حين أن هذا التقارب قد اثبت أنه مفيد مالياً وسياسياً للملكة، إلا أنه أثار غضب العديد من الأردنيين. ومع ذلك، نجح الملك عبد الله الثاني بن الحسين في مقاومة هذه الضغوط واتخذ خطوات جريئة وقرارات استراتيجية حكيمة لتعزيز هذا التقارب.

يقوم هذا التحالف على ركيزتين أساسيتين، أولهما التهديد الذي تشكله إيران وتنظيم والدولة الإسلامية "داعش،" حيث عبر الملك عبد الله، عن مخاوفه في ما يخص تمدد النفوذ الإيراني، حيث قال في مقابلة له مع صحيفة الواشنطن بوست في عام 2017 أن "الحرس الثوري الإيراني على بعد 70 كيلو متر من حدودنا وإذا كان ذلك غير جيد بالنسبة لنا فيجب أيضا اخذ المعادلة الإسرائيلية في الحسبان." وفى واقع الأمر، دفعت المخاوف بشأن النوايا التوسعية لإيران وتنظيم " داعش"، فضلاً عن الرغبة في منع إيران من تحقيق طموحاتها النووية، دفعت إسرائيل والدول السُنّية المذكورة إلى الاعتراف بمصالحهم المتبادلة وفتح الباب أمام التنسيق الأمني في ما بينهم.

أما الركيزة الثانية التي دفعت إلى تشكيل هذا التحالف فهي اقتصادية بطبيعتها، حيث شهدت الأعوام السابقة تزايد كبيرا في حجم التبادل التجاري والمشروعات المشتركة بين إسرائيل والدول العربية المكونة للتحالف السني. فمثلا، وقعت شركة ديليك دريلنغ الإسرائيلية في عام 2014 اتفاقا بقيمة 771 مليون دولار مع شركات أردنية مثل شركة البوتاس العربية وشركة برومين. وبعد مضى عامين، وقعت الشركة المالكة لحقل الغاز الإسرائيلي ليفاثيان اتفاقا بقيمة 10 مليار دولار مع شركة الكهرباء الأردنية.

ومع ذلك، تخلفت الأردن عن مشاركة الولايات المتحدة وإسرائيل والمحور السني نفس الرؤى حول القضايا الإقليمية الحاسمة وعلى راسها القضية الفلسطينية ومستقبل القدس، والحرب في اليمن. فمثلا، ترى عمان أن الأولوية يجب أن تكون للصراع العربي -الإسرائيلي، في حين ترى الأطراف الأخرى أن مواجهة التمدد الإيراني يجب أن يكون له الأولية. إضافة إلى ذلك، أدى رفض الأردن إرسال قواته إلى حرب اليمن ومعارضته للحصار الذي فرضته الدول السنية الأربعة على قطر، وعدم اتخاذ موقف متشدد من جماعة الإخوان المسلمين أدى إلى توتر العلاقات بين الأردن والمملكة العربية السعودية. وبالطبع، لم يساهم قرار نقل السفارة الأمريكية في إسرائيل من تل أبيب إلى القدس في تعزيز العلاقات بين عمان وواشنطن، كما أدى اندلاع العنف المرتبط بقرار إسرائيل بتركيب بوابات الكترونية على أبواب المسجد الأقصى لتفتيش المصلين المسلمين في صيف 2017 إلى إغلاق مؤقت للسفارة الإسرائيلية في الأردن، وذلك على الرغم من إعادة فتح السفارة منذ ذلك الحين.

وعلى الرغم من الضغوط المفروضة على الملك عبد الله من قبل قوى المجتمع المدني والمؤسسات السياسية الرسمية وغير الرسمية، لحثه على الانسحاب من المحور السني- الإسرائيلي، إلا أن سرعان ما أدرك الملك خطورة ذلك على المصالح الأردنية على المدى الطويل .ومن ثم، سعى الملك عبد الله إلى تقوية العلاقات مع إسرائيل والدول السنية الأخرى، حيث استقبل رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو خلال زيارته الأخيرة لعمان، كما استدعى سفيره من طهران، ولا نية لديه لإرسال سفير جديد، وقام بإرسال ولي العهد الأمير حسين إلى الأمارات للقاء نظيره الإماراتي الأمير محمد بن زايد. وبالمثل ، سافر الملك عبد الله إلى واشنطن العاصمة وشارك في قمة مكة ، التي نتج عنها دعم الأردن بمبلغ 2.5 مليار دولار.

التحدي الأكثر جدية الذي يواجه العاهل الأردني الآن هو كيفية إقناع الأردنيين بالمصالح التي سوف يتحصل عليها الأردن من خلال بقاءه في التحالف السني الإسرائيلي. ومع ذلك، يدرك المجتمع الأردني محدودية صانع القرار على التأثير في مجريات الأحداث خاصة تلك التي تتعلق بالقدس وعملية السلام الإسرائيلية - الفلسطينية. وبالتالي يجب على الملك أن يحاول إقناع الشعب الأردني بأن مشاركة الأردن في التحالف ستوفر له مظلة سياسية للانخراط التام في أي صفقة مقبلة يحافظ من خلالها على دوره التاريخي في عملية السلام وعلى مصالح المملكة في القدس بشكل أساسي. لذلك، يجب على الشعب الأردني أن يتفهم أن الأردن بصفته دولة صغيرة ذات موارد محدودة، تعتمد على حلفائها، حتى لو بدى هؤلاء الحلفاء في بعض الأحيان أقل مثالية.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Jordan’s Shift Back to the Sunni-Israeli Coalition


Also available in العربية

July 13, 2018

Despite recent tensions between Jordan and other stakeholders in the Middle East, shifting dynamics across the region have recently led to the formation of a tentative U.S.-backed cooperation between Israel and such Sunni Arab states as Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and the Hashemite Kingdom. While this rapprochement may very well prove to be financially and politically beneficial to Jordan, it has nonetheless sparked the ire of many Jordanian citizens. So far, King Abdullah has resisted public pressure and has taken steps to further promote this rapprochement, a strategically wise decision.  

The cooperation between the aforementioned partners is largely the result of two factors, the first of which is the threat posed by Iran and the Islamic State (IS): In a 2017 interview with the Washington Post, King Abdullah expressed his fears regarding Iran’s growing influence in the region, stating “the Revolutionary Guard is about 70 kilometers away… If it is bad news for us, you have to put the Israeli equation into this.” Indeed, concerns over Iran’s and IS’s expansionist intentions, as well as a desire to prevent Iran from achieving its nuclear aspirations, have led Israel and the aforementioned Sunni states to recognize that they have mutual interests and has opened the door for security collaboration.

The second factor prompting the formation of this surprising alliance is economic in nature. In recent years, the volume of trade and even joint projects between Israel and these Sunni Arab states has increased significantly. In 2014, for example, the Israeli company Delek Drilling signed a $771 million agreement with Jordanian companies Arab Potash and Jordan Bromine. Two years later, the owners of the Israeli gas field Leviathan signed a $10 billion agreement with the Jordan Electric Power Company. 

However, when it comes to crucial topics such as the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, the future of Jerusalem, and the war in Yemen, Jordan does not always see eye to eye with Israel, the United States, or its Sunni counterparts. For example, whereas Amman believes that addressing the Arab-Israeli conflict must remain the top priority, the other parties view Iranian expansion as a more pressing matter. Moreover, issues like the war in Yemen, which Jordan has been reluctant provide military support for, the boycott on Qatar, which Jordan opposes, and Jordan’s purported soft treatment of the Muslim Brotherhood have all strained the Saudi-Jordanian relationship. Of course, moving the United States Embassy in Israel from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem has done nothing to strengthen ties between Amman and Washington, while violence related to Israel’s decision to install metal detectors outside of al-Aqsa Mosque in 2017 led to a temporary closure of the Israeli embassy in Jordan, though it has since reopened.

Nonetheless, despite pressure from civil society and some political institutions to pull out of the unofficial alliance, King Abdullah appears to realize that doing so may be dangerous and would likely hurt Jordan’s long-term interests. Seeking to fortify the relationship with Israel and other Sunni states, King Abdullah received Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu during the latter’s visit to Amman. The king has also recalled the Jordanian ambassador to Tehran with no intention of sending a replacement and sent Crown Prince Hussein to the United Arab Emirates to meet with his Emirati counterpart, Mohammed bin Zayed. Likewise, the king traveled to Washington, D.C. and participated in Saudi Arabia's Mecca Summit, where he was able to secure $2.5 billion in aid.

The most serious challenge that the Jordanian monarch now faces is convincing the Jordanian public of the strategic benefits of a Sunni-Israeli alliance. The Jordanian public understands its decision-makers’ limited capacity to influence current events, especially when it comes to Jerusalem and the Israeli-Palestinian peace process. The King should thus try to convince its subjects that Jordan’s membership in the alliance enables it to fully participate in and preserve its historic role in the Israeli-Palestinian peace process, as well as protect Jordanian interests in Jerusalem. The public ought to understand as the King has that, as a small country with limited resources, Jordan depends on its allies—even if those allies can sometimes seem less than ideal.

Customize your RSS Feed