أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف ترسم الحكومة الأردنية معالم "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" في البلاد


متاح أيضاً في English

19 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019

تعيش اليوم "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في الأردن" أسوأ أيام مرّت عليها منذ تأسيسها عام 1946 بفعل ما تتعرض له من ضغوط خارجية وانشقاقات داخلية. ويأتي هذا التدهور تماشيًا مع التحديات التي تواجهها "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" الأوسع نطاقًا، ولا سيما "الأزمة الداخلية" التي تتخبط بها بسبب خسارة جزءٍ كبير من قوتها في أعقاب الربيع العربي وحملات القمع التي تبعته في عدد من الدول. أما في الأردن، وبالرغم من انتهاج الحكومة مقاربة مختلفة عن تلك التي اتبعتها الكثير من الحكومات العربية الأخرى، يواجه هذا التنظيم نقطة تحول كبيرة في مساره.

يبدو النظام السياسي في الأردن راضيًا عن المسار العام لـ “جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" في الوقت الراهن – وخصوصًا المعنيين في دائرة المخابرات العامة. فقد تولّت هذا الدائرة عمومًا مراقبة التنظيمات الإسلامية والأشكال الأخرى من "الإسلام السياسي"، وفي أعقاب الربيع العربي – حين برهن "الإخوان المسلمون في الأردن" عن مدى قوتهم في البلاد مقارنةً بالتنظيمات المعارضة الأخرى – اتّبعت دائرة المخابرات استراتيجيةً قائمة على الضغط على "الإخوان المسلمين" وإثارة الخلافات الداخلية اللاحقة في داخله. وبالفعل واجه "الإخوان المسلمون" مذّاك سلسلةً من الانقسامات الكبيرة التي تركت التنظيم مقسّمًا إلى أربعة تنظيمات أضعف نسبيًا تتنافس على تأييد الشعب الأردني.

حدث الشرخ الأول عام 2013 مع إنشاء "حزب المؤتمر الوطني (زمزم)" الذي يرأسه السياسي والمفكر الدكتور رحيل غرايبة. ويُشار إلى أن غرايبة البالغ من العمر 62 عامًا عُيّن في 6 آب/أغسطس رئيسًا لمجلس أمناء "المركز الوطني لحقوق الإنسان"، بعد أن كان قد تولّى سابقًا رئاسة المكتب السياسي للإخوان المسلمين، وهو اليوم أمين عام "حزب المؤتمر الوطني."

وجديرٌ بالذكر أن "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" النواة تعتبر نفسها أقرب إلى حزب "زمزم" من الناحية السياسية. لكنّ هذه الجماعة النواة باتت فعليًا غير مُرخّصة منذ عام 2015 حين انتقلت رخصتها الحكومية إلى تنظيم إصلاحي – علمًا أن الجناح السياسي لـ “جبهة العمل الإسلامي" لا يزال قانونيًا. فنتجت عن ذلك جماعتان منفصلتان تحملان اسم "الإخوان المسلمين" – هما النواة والتنظيم الإصلاحي المرخّص.

أما الانقسام الأحدث، فوقع عام 2017 إبّان تأسيس "حزب الشراكة والإنقاذ". فقد سعى هذا الحزب إلى تشكيل إطارٍ حزبي جامع مبني على الشراكة مع القوى السياسية الأخرى في الأردن وقائم على مبادئ الدولة المدنية. لكنّ هذه التنظيمات المختلفة التي تفرّعت عن الجماعة اتصفت بضعفٍ بالغ، فكلٌّ منها يحاول الصمود والتميز في الوقت عينه عن التنظيمات الأخرى.

المقاربة الأردنية المزدوجة لـ “الإخوان المسلمين."

يُعزى جزئيًا وصول "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" إلى هذه المرحلة من النزاعات الطاحنة إلى التحفيز الذي مارسته دائرة المخابرات العامة في هذا الإطار. فموقف دائرة المخابرات من "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين" ينبع من ثقتها المعدومة بالتنظيم ككل، ولذا سعت إلى السيطرة على نطاق أنشطة "الإخوان المسلمين" وحث نشوب الأزمات بداخله في الوقت عينه.

في المقابل، يبدو أن البرلمان الأردني يتبع منذ فترة أحدث مقاربةً موازية ذات مجرى استرضائي أكبر. وما حدث تحديدًا هو أن حكومة عمر الرزاز التي بالكاد يزيد عمرها عن العام قامت باتصالات واجتماعات كثيرة مع كل فروع التنظيم، واضطلع بالدور الرئيسي في هذه الاتصالات وزير الثقافة والشباب الأردني الدكتور محمد سليمان أبو رمان ووزير الدولة للشؤون القانونية مبارك علي مبارك أبو يامين، علمًا أنّ كليهما على علاقة وثيقة "بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين" والإسلام السياسي مع أنهما لا ينتميان رسميًا إلى الجماعة. وينطبق هذا الوصف خصيصًا على أبو رمان الذي يرى أن هذه التفرعات الحزبية تعكس التوجهات في مرحلة ما بعد الإسلام السياسي.

وربما تشير هذه المقاربة الحكومية الجديدة إلى نية الحكومة استخدام فرع "الإخوان المسلمين" في الأردن من أجل إقامة قنوات تواصل "خلفية" مع حركة "حماس" في حال حدوث ما يعتبره الأردن "أسوأ الحالات" في المنطقة: أي أن تصبح "حماس" جهة اتصال فلسطينية رئيسية مع الإسرائيليين والأمريكيين من خلال عملية سلام ناشئة عن "صفقة القرن". وما يعزز هذا الهاجس هو التكهنات الجارية بشأن صفقة القرن وتراجع نفوذ السلطة الفلسطينية مقارنةً بنفوذ "حماس."

وفي ظل احتمال اضطلاع "حماس" بدور إقليمي بارز، لربما تجد الحكومة الأردنية في فرع "الإخوان المسلمين" القائم على أرضها وسيلةً للبقاء على اتصال بحركة "حماس" – إنما بصورة محجوبة – باعتبار "حماس" أحد السُّبل الكفيلة بضمان أمن الأردن القومي ومصالحه السياسية، وخصوصًا رعاية المملكة الهاشمية للمقدسات الإسلامية والمسيحية في القدس.

لكنّ المثير للسخرية هو أن استراتيجيات دائرة المخابرات والبرلمان أصبحت مندمجةً مع تعيين الدكتور رحيل غرايبة مؤخرًا رئيسًا لمجلس أمناء "المركز الوطني لحقوق الإنسان". ولا يزال على الأردن الاستمرار في دراسة تأثير مقاربته لـ “الإخوان المسلمين" على علاقاته الخارجية بحلفائه العرب ولا سيما مصر ودول الخليج. مع ذلك، يبدو أن الضغوط التي تمارسها هذه الدول لم تنجح في كشف المخططات الأردنية، وهذا أمرٌ يتجلى بشكل خاص في ضوء القرارات النيابية والوزارية الأخيرة. فالأردن يواصل اتباع مقاربة "رمادية" في محاولةٍ للتوفيق بين توقعات حلفائه ومصالحه القومية.

التوجهات المستقبلية أمام "الإخوان المسلمين"

بالرغم مما سبق، من الضروري التفكير في الوقع الذي ستخّلفه مقاربة الأردن "ثنائية المسار" على مستقبل "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في الأردن" عينها. فنفوذ الجماعة السياسي يزداد وهنًا بسبب التجزئة المتنامية داخلها، وهذا أمرٌ يعيه زعماء الجماعة الأصلية والتنظيمات المنشقة عنها ككل. كما أنهم يدركون إلحاح وضعهم الراهن، ومن المحتمل أن يسعوا جاهدين إلى بلورة أفكار ومهام واستراتيجيات جديدة من أجل الحفاظ على وحدة منظومهم وحسن سير عملها وعلى أهميتهم في المجتمع الأردني.

لكنّه من المرجّح أن تؤدي هذه المساعي المتضاربة إلى اشتداد المنافسة بين التنظيمات المعنية لكسب ثقة الشعب الأردني. ومن شأن هذه المنافسة أن تسبب بدورها عداوةً متعاظمة بين نواة "الإخوان المسلمين" المحظورة، ومعها جناحها السياسي المشروع "جبهة العمل الإسلامي"، و"حزب الشراكة والإنقاذ" وخصوصًا الناطق الرسمي باسم الحزب سالم يوسف الفلاحات، هذا الرجل العملي والطموح الذي يشغل حاليًا منصب النائب الأول لأمين عام الحزب. ومن المرجح أيضًا أن يتفاقم التوتر مع حزب "زمزم" على ضوء تعيين رحيل غرايبة رئيسًا لمجلس أمناء "المركز الوطني لحقوق الإنسان" مؤخرًا.

وفيما تناضل "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في الأردن" لوقف ما تتعرض له من تجزئة وعزل على الساحة المحلية، من المحتمل أن تحصر الجماعات تركيزها بالأهداف الخارجية على غرار "صفقة القرن" من أجل تعزيز قاعدة دعمها في الداخل. وحتى في هذه الحال، وبالرغم من بعض الاستعداد البرلماني للتعامل مع "الإخوان المسلمين"، يبدو مستبعدًا أكثر فأكثر أن تتمكن "جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في الأردن" من استعادة مستوى القوة عينه الذي تحلت به منذ ثماني سنوات فقط خلال الربيع العربي.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How the Jordanian Government is Shaping the Country’s Muslim Brotherhood


Also available in العربية

September 19, 2019

Due to external pressures and internal fissures, the Jordanian Muslim Brotherhood (MB) today is experiencing its worst days since its establishment in 1946. This decline follows the challenges of the broader Muslim Brotherhood organization, which is facing an “internal crisis” after losing much of their momentum after the Arab Spring and subsequent crackdowns in a number of countries. In Jordan, despite a governmental approach that differs from that of many other Arab governments, the movement is facing a major turning point in its position.

The Jordanian political system appears to be pleased with the general direction of the Muslim Brotherhood at present—especially those in the General Intelligence Directorate. The monitoring of Islamist groups and other forms of “political Islam” have generally been under the purview of the the GID, and in the aftermath of the Arab Spring—when Jordan’s Muslim Brotherhood demonstrated its strength in the country relative to other opposition groups—the GID’s strategy has been to put pressure on the MB and encourage the subsequent internal conflicts within the group. Since this period, the MB has indeed undergone a series of major splits, leaving four comparatively weaker factions competing for the support of the Jordanian public. 

The first split occurred in 2013 with the establishment of the National Congress Party Zamzam (زمزم) headed by the politician and intellectual Dr. Rahil al Gharaibeh—who on August 6 was appointed to become Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Center for Human Rights. The 62 year old Gharaibeh—former head of the political bureau of the Muslim Brotherhood—is the secretary-general of the National Congress Party.

The core Muslim Brotherhood society considers itself closest to the Zamzam party politically. However, the core society has been effectively banned since 2015, when its government license was transferred to a reformist faction—the political arm of the “Islamic Action Front” remains legal. Now, two separate organizations go by the name of ‘Muslim Brotherhood’—the core and the licensed reformist faction.

The most recent split occurred in 2017 with the formation of the “Rescue and partnership party” (حزب الشراكة والإنقاذ). The goal of this party is to develop an inclusive party framework built on partnership with other Jordanian political forces and on the principles of a civil state. However, these various splits within the movement are very weak, with each trying to survive even as its distinguishes itself from other factions.

The Jordanian Dual Approach to the Muslim Brotherhood

The Muslim Brotherhood has reached this point of internecine struggle in part through the encouragement of the General Intelligence Directive (GID). The GID’s attitude towards the MB stems from a complete lack of trust regarding the organization as a whole, and it has worked to control the scope of MB activities while encouraging the group’s internal crises.

On the other hand, there appears to be a more recent, parallel approach employed by the Jordanian parliament with a more conciliatory tack. In particular, the Omar Razzaz government, just over a year old, has developed several contacts and meetings with all branches of the movement. Key to these contacts are Jordan’s Minister of Culture and Youth, Dr. Mohammed Suleiman Abu Rama, and Mubarak Ali Mubarak Aboyamin, the minister of State for Legal Affairs. Both of these politicians, while not officially members of the MB, have a very close relationship with MB and political Islam. This is especially the case for Abu Ruman, who believes that these parties (splits) represent post-political Islam trends.

This new approach pursued by the government may indicate its intention of using its local branch of the Muslim Brotherhood to develop a ‘back-door’ connection with Hamas in case of what Jordan sees as a regional ‘worst-case scenario’: Hamas becoming a major Palestinian point of contact with the Israelis and Americans through a peace process resulting from the “Deal of the Century.” Underpinning this fear is both ongoing speculation on the Deal of the Century and the the waning power of the Palestinian Authority relative to Hamas.

In light of a potential new regional prominence for Hamas, the Jordanian government may see its local Muslim Brotherhood as a way to keep in touch—while keeping a low profile—with Hamas as another means to secure Jordan’s national security and political interests, especially the Hashemite Custodianship of Jerusalem’s Islamic and Christian holy sites.

Ironically, the GID and parliamentary strategies have combined in the recent appointment of Dr. Rahil al Gharaibeh as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Center for Human Rights. At the same time, Jordan must continue to weigh how its approach towards the MB affects its foreign relations with its Arab allies, in particular Egypt and the Gulf States. Even so, pressures from these states do not seem to have tipped the hand of the Jordanian government, especially in light of recent parliamentary and ministry decisions. The country instead continues use a ‘grey area’ approach in an attempt to balance the expectations its allies with the country’s national interests.

Future Trends for the Muslim Brotherhood

However, it is also important to consider how Jordan’s ‘two-track’ approach will impact the future of the Jordanian Muslim Brotherhood itself. Given increasing internal fragmentation, there is a weakening of the groups’ political strength, which the leaders of both the original Muslim Brotherhood and its splinter groups recognize. They also understand the urgency of their situation, and are likely to work hard to develop new narratives, missions, and strategies to maintain the unity and functionality of their organization and remain relevant in Jordanian society.

Yet these competing efforts are likely to lead to an increasing competition between the groups for the trust of the Jordanian people. This competition, in turn, may lead to increasing hostility between the banned core of the Muslim Brotherhood, along with its legal political arm the “Islamic Action Front” (جبهة العمل الإسلامي), and the “Rescue and partnership party,” especially the pragmatic and ambitious spokesman and First Deputy Secretary General of the party Salem Yousef Al-Falahat. There is also likely to be increasing tension with Zamzam in light of Rahil al Gharaibeh’s recent appointment as Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Center for Human Rights.

As Jordan’s Muslim Brotherhood struggles to avoid continued fragmentation and domestic isolation, the groups are likely to hone their focus on external targets, such as the ‘Deal of the Century,’ in order to bolster domestic support. Even so, and despite some parliamentary willingness to engage, it appears increasingly unlikely that the Muslim Brotherhood in Jordan will be able to return to the type of strength demonstrated just eight years ago during the Arab Spring.

Customize your RSS Feed