أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف يجتاز النازحون السوريون وضعهم في تركيا


متاح أيضاً في English

31 أيار/مايو 2019

على الرغم من أن أوضاع اللاجئين السوريين في تركيا أفضل بكثير من أوضاع رصفائهم في البلدان العربية، وخاصة لبنان والأردن ومصر، إلا أن القسم الأعظم من السوريين المتواجدين في تركيا، سواء اللاجئين داخل المخيمات أو الذين يقيمون خارجها، يعاني من تبعات الهجرة القسرية، ومن صعوبات معيشية، تتصل بالعمل والإقامة والتنقل بين الولايات التركية والاندماج. وعلى الرغم من تلك التحديات، أثار احتمال منح الجنسية للسوريين ضجة كبيرة في الأوساط السياسية التركية، كما أثار جدلاً وطنياً حول مستقبل اللاجئين السوريين في البلاد. ومع ذلك، وبعيدا عن موجة الاعتراض الواسعة داخل تركيا على تجنيس اللاجئين السوريين هناك، فإن منح اللاجئين الجنسية التركية ببساطة ليس حلاً مناسبًا للتحديات التي يواجهونها يوميًا في تركيا.

ووفقا لإحصاءات إدارة الهجرة التركية، بلغ عدد اللاجئين السوريين في نهاية عام 2018، إلى 3.623 ملايين، وهناك ما يقرب من 143,068 لاجئاً فقط يقيمون في المخيمات، أي أن 96 في المائة من السوريين يقيمون في المدن والبلدات التركية، ويشكلون قرابة 4.5 في المائة من إجمالي سكان تركيا، البالغ عددهم 81 مليون مواطن.

ومع ذلك، لا يصنف القانون التركي السوريين الذين يعيشون في تركيا على انهم لاجئين، مما يزيد وضعهم القانوني هناك تعقيدا. وفى حين كانت تركيا من الدول الموقعة على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة للاجئين لعام 1951 منذ عام 1962، كانت أنقرة مستعدة فقط للانضمام إلى الاتفاقية بشرط أن تنطبق الاتفاقية حصرياً على اللاجئين الفارين من أوروبا. وقد تعاملت تركيا مع تدفق السوريين إليها في بداية عام 2011 على انه تدفق جماعي للاجئين، وليس مجرد لاجئين أفراد، ووضعت لهم قانوناً خاصاً.

صنفت الحكومة التركية السوريين في البداية على انهم "ضيوفاً"، وهو ما لا يتماشى مع أي قانون وطني أو دولي. وقد أعلنت وزارة الداخلية التركية أن السوريين مستفيدون من وضع الحماية المؤقتة، حيث أصدرت توجياً إدارياً في آذار/ مارس 2012، يتضمن، اتباع سياسة الحدود المفتوحة ومنع الإبعاد القسري للسوريين وتغطية الاحتياجات الإنسانية للسوريين المقيمين في المخيمات. وفى عام 2014 استحدثت الحكومة التركية قانون "الحماية المؤقتة"، الذي يتضمن الإقامة غير المحدودة في تركيا، وحمايتهم من الإعادة القسرية، وتوفير خدمات الاستقبال، ومعالجة الاحتياجات الأساسية الفورية. 
.
وبحكم تلقيهم حماية جماعية مؤقتة، يحق للسوريين الحصول على بطاقة إقامة مؤقتة خاصة تسمى بـ (الكمليك). ويشمل نظام الحماية المؤقتة هذا جميع اللاجئين، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين لا يملكون وثائق تعريف شخصية (هوية، جواز سفر). كما يشمل أيضاً الفلسطينيين من سورية، وحتى الأشخاص بدون جنسية من سورية. وعلى الرغم من أن من أن حاملي بطاقة الكمليك لديهم الحق في العمل في تركيا، إلا أن فرصهم في العمل محدودة، ففي حين يُجري تقديم المساعدات للسوريين بشكل منتظم داخل المخيمات، تقدم نلك المساعدات لمن هم خارج المخيمات وفقا لمعايير خاصة، باستثناء الحصول على الرعاية الصحية والطبية العامة، التي تقدم لكل من يحمل بطاقة الإقامة الخاصة بالسوريين الكمليك.

وبالنسبة للسوريين الذين لا يمتلكون بطاقة الكمليك، هناك ثلاثة أنواع أخرى من الإقامات يكون هؤلاء اللاجئين مؤهلين للحصول عليها، منها تأشيرات السياحية، والعمل والاستثمار. وهناك عدة شروط يجب أن تتوفر للحصول على تأشيرة سياحة للسوريين مدتها عام أهمها، أن يمتلك السوري وثائق سفر رسمية، خاصة جواز سفر دخل به إلى الأراضي التركية بشكل نظامي، إضافة إلى وجود عقد إيجار منزل مصدق من البلدية لمدة عام كامل، لكن هذه الإقامة لا تخول للسوريين العمل على الأراضي التركية. ومن ناحية أخرى، يتطلب الحصول على إقامة العمل، تأمين عقد عمل نظامي في إحدى المؤسسات أو الشركات العاملة على الأراضي التركية، أما إقامة مستثمر، فهي تمنح لرجال الأعمال السوريين الذين يستثمرون أموالاً داخل الأراضي التركية.

ويقرّ الاقتصاديون الأتراك بإسهام كبير للسوريين في دورة الاقتصاد التركي، خلال السنوات السبع الماضية، وبالرغم من العبء الاقتصادي لهم على الاقتصاد التركي، إلا أن العائد الاقتصادي لاستثماراتهم وخبراتهم وقوة عملهم في تركيا كان أكبر. وقد قدم السوريون إلى سوق العمل التركي، خبرات عديدة، وكذلك للمنشآت والمصانع التركية، فضلاً عن المصانع والورشات والمطاعم وسواها، أضافة إلى قوى عاملة رخيصة.

واحتلت رؤوس الأموال والشركات السورية التي تم تأسيسها في تركيا خلال عام 2015، المرتبة الأولى بين المستثمرين الأجانب في البلاد، بنسبة وصلت إلى نحو 22.3 بالمئة من إجمالي الاستثمارات الأجنبية في البلاد، وذلك وفقا لبيان صادر عن رئاسة هيئة الطوارئ والكوارث الطبيعية (آفاد)، التابعة لرئاسة الوزراء التركية، وأسّس رجال الأعمال السوريين خلال العام الماضي 1,595 شركة، وليس هناك أرقام دقيقة لحجم الاستثمارات السورية في تركيا، حيث يقدرها بعض الخبراء الاقتصاديين بحوالي 10 مليارات دولار، أو ما يزيد عن ذلك.

ومع ذلك، ترى المعارضة التركية أن تسهيل إجراءات منح الجنسية التركية للسوريين الراغبين فيها، بأنها تدخل ضمن سعي أردوغان وحزبه إلى الحصول على مليون ونصف مليون صوت إضافي لصالحهم، فيما اعتبر بعض قادة حزب الشعب الجمهوري، أن الرئيس التركي وحزبه يريدون توطين اللاجئين السوريين في الولايات ذات الأغلبية الكردية والعلوية، ما يعني القيام بعمليات تغيير ديموغرافية في تلك المناطق. وقد سبق أن تعهد رئيس حزب الشعب الجمهوري، كمال كليتشدار أوغلو، بإعادة اللاجئين السوريين إلى بلادهم، في أكثر من مناسبة.

وفي سياق الجدل داخل الأوساط السياسية التركية، حول تجنيس السوريين في تركيا، أعلن وزير الداخلية التركي سليمان صويلو، مؤخراً، أن 53 ألف سوري حصلوا على الجنسية، يستطيعون التصويت في الانتخابات المحلية التي تم عقدها في نهاية مارس/ آذار الماضي، وأن "إجمالي عدد السوريين الذين حصلوا على الجنسية التركية هو 79,820 شخصاً.

ويسهم خطاب المعارضة في تأجج غضب الأتراك حيال السوريين، إذ بدلاً من بحثهم عن مشاريع تكامل وإدماج، يتحدث قادة المعارضة على الدوام عن ضرورة إعادة السوريين إلى بلادهم، وخاصة مع اقتراب موعد الاستحقاقات الانتخابية، ما يعني توتير الأجواء المناهضة للسوريين داخل المجتمع التركي.

وهكذا، أصبح موضوع اللاجئين السوريين بمثابة أداة لتسجيل النقاط السياسية في تركيا ، حيث بات يشكل مادة للتجاذب السياسي، ما بين حزب العدالة والتنمية الحاكم وأحزاب المعارضة التركية، وخاصة في الاستحقاقات الانتخابية، الأمر الذي ينعكس سلباً على وضع السوريين في تركيا، من جهة إثارته لنزعات معادية لهم، حيث تسهم بعض وسائل الإعلام التركية في إلقاء تبعات تدهور الأوضاع الاقتصادية والمعيشية على السوريين، الأمر الذي يجعل غالبية المواطنين الأتراك الفقراء يصبّون غضبهم واستياءهم على اللاجئين السوريين، زاعمين أن ارتفاع الأسعار وخاصة إيجارات السكن وارتفاع نسب البطالة سببها التواجد السوري.

ولا شك في أن مسألة اللاجئين السوريين وأوضاعهم، مرتبطة بشكل أساسي بالحل السياسي للقضية السورية، الذي يبدو أنه بعيد المنال وفق المعطيات الراهنة، وبالتالي، فإن الجدل حول اللاجئين السوريين في تركيا، لن يهدأ ومرشح للاحتدام. لذلك، فان أوضاع السوريين في تركيا لن تتغير إلى الأفضل حتى تحل أسباب لجوئهم، إذ أن تجنيس بعضهم لن يحل مشكلتهم، ولن ينهي معاناة الملايين منهم في سوريا. وإن كان ثمة حلّ، فهو يتجسد في حل سياسي، يوفر لهم بيئة آمنة، كي يعودوا إلى بلدهم، ويسهموا في بناء سورية جديدة، تتسع للجميع، وفق مبدأ المواطنة المتساوية، ولا مكان فيها لاستبداد النظام السوري الذي عمل بشكل ممنهج على تهجيرهم وتشريدهم.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How Displaced Syrians Navigate Their Status in Turkey


Also available in العربية

May 31, 2019

While Syrian refugees in Turkey often enjoy far better conditions than their compatriots in Arab countries, the majority of Syrians in Turkey—both within and outside of the country’s refugee camps—face difficulties when it comes to employment, residency rights, integration, and movement between Turkish provinces. Despite these challenges, the prospect of granting citizenship to Syrians has stirred an uproar in Turkish political circles and sparked a national debate over the future of Syrian refugees in the country. However, even outside of the widespread objection within Turkey to the naturalization of Syrian refugees there, simply granting refugees Turkish citizenship is not an adequate solution to the challenges they face on a daily basis.

According to the Turkish Immigration Department, at the end of 2018 there were 3.623 million Syrian refugees living in Turkey. Only 143,068 Syrians were living in camps, indicating that 96 percent of the total refugee population was living in Turkish towns and cities, making up 4.5 percent of the country's entire 81 million population.

However, Turkish law does not classify Syrians living in Turkey as refugees, complicating their legal status. While Turkey has been a signatory to the 1951 Refugee Convention of the United Nations since 1962, Ankara was only willing to join the convention on the condition that the Convention applies exclusively to refugees fleeing Europe. When Syrians began flowing into Turkey in 2011, the country recognized them as a group rather than as individual refugees and passed specific laws relating to a special ‘Syrian’ status.

The Turkish government initially classified Syrians as “guests,” a category with no recognition either in domestic nor international law. The Turkish interior ministry later announced that Syrians would benefit from temporary protection status, issuing an administrative order in March 2012 that brought in a policy of open borders, outlawed forcible repatriation of Syrians, and allowed for the provision of humanitarian aid to Syrians living in camps. Finally, in 2014, the Turkish government introduced a “temporary protection” law that protects Syrian refugees from forcible repatriation, allowing Syrian them reside in Turkey indefinitely and enjoy reception services and provisions for basic and immediate needs.

As recipients of temporary group protection, Syrians are eligible for Kimlik, a type of temporary residency card. In addition to Syrian nationals, a kimlik will also be provided to Palestinian refugees from Syria and even stateless persons who entered Turkey from its border with Syria. Although Kimlik holders have the right to work in Turkey, their opportunities are nevertheless limited. Furthermore, while the Syrian inhabitants of Turkey’s refugee camps receive regular aid, assistance is limited for the large majority of Syrians who live outside these camps. The terms of assistance depend on an individual’s status, with the exception of the general health care that is provided to anyone who holds a kimlik.

For Syrians living in Turkey without a Kimlik, there are three other types of residency permits for which they could potentially be eligible: tourist, worker, and investor visas. To obtain a tourist visa, there are several stipulations to qualify and, unlike a kimlik, this visa does not grant the holder the right to work in Turkey. Most importantly, one must possess an official passport that he or she must have used to enter the country through legal channels. The holder must also have a valid one-year residential rental agreement certified by municipal authorities. On the other hand, to acquire a worker’s residency permit, one must secure an employment contract with an organization or company working on Turkish soil. The final category, designed for investors, grants residency to Syrian businessman who invest in Turkey.

While all Syrians in Turkey have one of these forms of documentation, obtaining Turkish citizenship is much more complicated. Under Turkish law, a person seeking to obtain Turkish citizenship must live in Turkey for five consecutive years legally and without break. Their stay cannot be for the purpose of study, and the applicant may not spend more than six months total outside of Turkey during this period. Moreover, while being of Turkish descent could provide Syrian refugees with a path for Turkish citizenship, the vast majority of Syrians living in Turkey do not have the right to claim Turkish nationality due to their residency status. To make such a claim, Syrians would have to first obtain a worker’s or investor’s residency permit.

Despite these complications, many argue that the large Syrian presence in Turkey has had a net-positive effect on the country’s economy as a whole. Indeed, Turkish economists recognize the major contribution that Syrians have made to the economy over the past seven years. While Syrians’ humanitarian needs did place an economic burden on Turkey, this has been outweighed by their economic contribution in terms of investment, expertise, and labor. Syrians have brought many skills to the Turkish labor market by working in Turkish factories, workshops, restaurants and other establishments, as well as providing a cheap source of labor.

In 2015, Syrian capital and Syrian-run firms topped the foreign investment rankings in Turkey, accounting for around 22.3 percent of foreign investment, according to the Turkish interior ministry’s Disaster and Emergency Management Authority (AFAD). And during the past year, Syrian businessman set up 1,595 companies, and while there are no exact figures on the scale of Syrian investment in Turkey, economic experts estimate it at 46.5 million dollars or more.

Nevertheless, the Turkish opposition views apparent moves to grant Turkish nationality to Syrians as an attempt by President Recep Tayyep Erdogan and his party, the Justice and Development Party (AKP) to gain an extra 1.5 million voters. Some senior figures in the Republican People’s Party (CHP), the AKP’s main rival, believe the president and his party want to nationalize Syrian refugees in Kurdish- and Alevi-majority provinces in a bid to change the demography of those regions. CHP head Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu has on more than one occasion vowed to send Syrian refugees back to their country.

Adding to the controversy the question has caused in Turkish political circles, during Turkey’s contentious elections cycle Interior Minister Süleyman Soylu announced that 53,000 Syrians had been granted citizenship and could vote in last March’s local elections. He said a total of 79,820 Syrians had been granted Turkish citizenship.

The Turkish opposition’s discourse has contributed to growing Turkish anger towards Syrians. Rather than seeking ways to integrate Syrians into Turkish society, the opposition has consistently talked of the need to return Syrians to their country, which has further stoked animosity towards Syrian refugees in Turkish society.

Thus, thee future of Syrian refugees has become a tool for scoring political points in Turkey, pitting Erdogan’s ruling AKP against opposition parties in a dynamic that was particularly evident during elections. The aftermath has negatively affected Syrians in Turkey and triggered animosity towards them. Some Turkish media outlets have blamed Syrians for the country’s deteriorating economy and living standards, while Turkish citizens have also directed their anger towards Syrian refugees, blaming them for growing unemployment and rising prices, especially noticeable in residential renting prices. The attitudes of Turkish citizen, which were generally welcoming of Syrian refugees at first, have since soured, in part due to growing hate speech by politicians.

There is no doubt that the issue of Syrian refugees is fundamentally linked to any political solution for the Syrian conflict, which, judging by current conditions, remains a long way off. Furthermore, the controversy around Syrian refugees in Turkey should not be expected to die down: indeed, it is likely to intensify. Therefore, the situation of Syrians in Turkey will not change for the better until a solution is found for the violence that pushed them to seek refuge there. And even if Turkey were to grant citizenship to some of its Syrian residents, this step by itself will not solve the problem, nor will it end the suffering of the millions of Syrians in Turkey. If a solution can be found, it will be a political solution that provides Syrians a safe environment to return to their country and take part in building a new Syria, open to all, according to the principle of equal citizenship, and with no space for oppression by the Syrian regime, which has systematically sought to dispossess them and push them into exile.

Customize your RSS Feed