أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الشكوك حول "حزب الله" تبرز في لبنان، حتى بين الشيعة


متاح أيضاً في English

10 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، 2018

يحث التوتر الحدودي الحادّ الذي نشأ هذا الأسبوع بين إسرائيل و"حزب الله" على إلقاء نظرة عن كثب إلى الموقف الشعبي من الميليشيا في لبنان – لا سيّما في حالة الحرب. ولحسن الحظ، يُظهر استفتاء جديد موثوق للرأي العام اللبناني أن بعض الشيعة يعربون الآن عن تحفظات بشأن سياسات "حزب الله"- فيما يبقى السّنّة سلبيين بشدّة وينقسم المسيحيون بشأن التنظيم. وتجدر الإشارة بشكلٍ خاص إلى الشهادات عن هذه الشكوك حول "حزب الله" بين الشيعة نظرًا إلى المحظورات الاجتماعية والمخاطر الشخصية الحقيقية التي يواجهونها في انتقاد حركتهم السياسية/العسكرية "الخاصة".

ما يثير الانتباه بحسب البيانات هو أن ثلث الشيعة فحسب يريدون من قوات "حزب الله" "أن تبدأ بمواجهة إسرائيل بنشاط". حتى أن عددًا أقل من الشيعة يبلغ الربع فحسب يقول إن حل المشكلة الفلسطينية يجب أن تكون الأولوية الإقليمية الأهم. وفي ما يخص مسألة مختلفة إنما على صلة بالموضوع، لا يوافق الثلث كلّيًّا على "أن يعمل ’حزب الله‘ لحماية لبنان ومقاومة إسرائيل فحسب، بدلًا من خدمة أي جدول أعمال خارجي". أما نسبة الشيعة اللبنانيين الذين يعربون عن نظرة "إيجابية جدًّا" إزاء "حزب الله" اليوم، ففيما تبقى مرتفعة بمعدّل 77 في المئة، انخفضت نوعًا ما بعد أن كانت 83 في المئة في الاستطلاع السابق الذي أُجري تحديدًا منذ سنة.

ما يثير الدهشة أكثر بعد، هو أن أغلبيةً صغيرةً – تبلغ 53 مقابل 47 في المئة – من عامة الشعب اللبناني بمجمله (الشيعة والسنّة والمسيحيين بالإضافة إلى الأقلية الدرزية الصغيرة) تحتفظ الآن في الحقيقة بوجهة نظر غير مؤاتية إزاء "حزب الله". وتستمر الآراء السنّية المتشابهة تقريبًا من ناحية سلبيتها في عدم إظهار أي علامة تليين. ويقف المسيحيون اللبنانيون في الوسط كما اعتادوا في العقد الأخير؛ فتنقسم مواقفهم تجاه "حزب الله" بين إيجابية وسلبية.

كما تتضح القطبية المذهبية الملحوظة في المواقف تجاه الرئيس ترامب والسياسات الأمريكية في المنطقة، التي تحظى بالميل الإيجابي الأكبر من جانب السنة. فمن بين السنّة، يعطي 36 في المئة تقييمًا مؤاتيًا لترامب؛ ومن بين الشيعة، يبلغ هذا الرقم بالكاد 3 في المئة. ويقف المسيحيون مجدّدًا في الوسط، مع إعراب 23 في المئة عن آراء إيجابية حول الرئيس الأمريكي. ويظن نصف السنّة، إنما بالكاد 11 في المئة من الشيعة، أنه من المهم أن يحافظ لبنان على علاقات جيدة مع الولايات المتحدة. وهذه النسبة متوسطة (ومنخفضة على نحوٍ غير متوقَّع) مرّة أخرى في الأوساط المسيحية، إذ تبلغ 38 في المئة.

كذلك، عند طلب اختيار الأولوية الأهم بالنسبة إلى سياسات الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط، تتجمّع الآراء إلى درجةٍ ما ضمن خطوطٍ مذهبية. فيختار حوالى 30 في المئة من كل طائفة مكافحة الإرهاب الجهادي على أنها سياستهم الأمريكية المفضّلة. لكن في ما يخص احتواء إيران، تتشعّب الآراء بشكلٍ صارخ: فبين السنّة، يختار 45 في المئة إيران على أنها الأولوية الأمريكية الفضلى؛ لكن بين الشيعة، يبلغ هذا الرقم صفر بالتحديد، ولا يتعدّى 12 في المئة بين المسيحيين. وفي المقابل، لا يضع إلا 9 في المئة من السنة حل المشكلة الفلسطينية على أعلى هذه اللائحة، مقارنةً بحوالى ربع كلٍ من الشيعة والمسيحيين. وتريد النسبة ذاتها من كلا الشيعة والمسيحيين من الولايات المتحدة ببساطة "أن تخفف تدخلها في المنطقة" – لكن لا يقول إلا 10 في المئة من السنّة الأمر نفسه.

عند طرح السؤال حول الزعماء الآخرين حول العالَم، تُظهر البيانات أيضًا قطبيةً مذهبيةً حادّةً، إنما من نوعٍ آخر إلى حدٍ ما. فيحظى الرئيس الروسي بوتين بتأييدٍ تبلغ نسبته 85 في المئة بين الشيعة في لبنان، إنما بالكاد 13 في المئة بين السنّة – والسبب المفترَض هو الدعم الروسي الكبير لنظام الأسد المذهبي في سوريا المجاورة. وينقسم المسيحيون مجددًا: فينظر 41 في المئة إلى بوتين بشكلٍ إيجابي، على عكس الباقين. وتتوزع الأرقام بشكلٍ مشابه في ما يخص روسيا ككل: إذ يقول كافة الشيعة تقريبًا (92 في المئة) إنه من المهم أن يتمتع لبنان بعلاقاتٍ طيّبة مع ذلك البلد، مقارنةً بمجرّد 28 في المئة من السنّة و53 في المئة من المسيحيين.

في صورة تعكس هذا الانقسام الطائفي، ينظر ثلثا السنّة في لبنان بشكلٍ إيجابي إلى الرئيس التركي السنّي أردوغان، مقابل 7 في المئة فحسب من الشيعة. غير أن ما يصعب تفسيره أكثر هو الفارق المذهبي الشاسع في ما يتعلق بالرئيس الصيني شي. فهو يلقى تأييدًا يبلغ 71 في المئة بين اللبنانيين الشيعة، إنما 13 في المئة فحسب بين السنّة – ربما لأنهم يعتبرون الصين كحليف للنظام الشيعي في إيران. وينقسم المسيحيون بالتساوي تقريبًا بشأن هذين الزعيميْن أيضًا.

في ما يرتبط ببعض المسائل الداخلية البارزة، يُظهر الشعب اللبناني على العكس إجماعًا قويًّا عبر الخطوط المذهبية – ولو بطريقة لا تُشعِر حكومة بيروت بكثيرٍ من الراحة. فيقول 95 في المئة تمامًا من إجمالي السكّان، والأغلبية الساحقة من كل طائفة، إن ما تقوم به حكومة لبنان "ضئيل جدًّا" على صعيد "تخفيف مستوى الفساد في حياتنا الاقتصادية والسياسية". كذلك، يقول مجموعٌ موازٍ إحصائيًّا يبلغ 92 في المئة إن حكومته لا تقوم بالكثير أيضًا لضمان "مشاركة عبء الضرائب والالتزامات الأخرى... بطريقة عادلة". وفيما يمكن أن يتفق كافة اللبنانيين تقريبًا على هذه الانتقادات، يبدو أن الشلل السياسي والمصالح الخاصة المترسخة والمتكاثرة بفعل اختلافاتهم الطائفية حول عددٍ كبيرٍ من المسائل الأخرى يعيقان كثيرًا على الأرجح إحراز التقدّم في معالجتها.

هذه النتائج هي حصيلة دراسة استقصائية أجرتها وجهًا لوجه شركة تجارية إقليمية على عيّنة وطنية تمثّل 1000 لبناني خضع للاستجابة في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018. واتّبعت عملية اختيار العيّنة تقنيات العينات العشوائية الجغرافية المعيارية، من دون إضافة أي ملاحظات إلى البيانات الناتجة. ويبلغ هامش الخطأ الإحصائي لكل عيّنة فرعية مذهبية أساسية ما يقارب 4.5 في المئة. وتتوافر التفاصيل المنهجية الكاملة بناءً على الطلب.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Doubts About Hezbollah Emerge in Lebanon, Even Among Shia


Also available in العربية

December 10, 2018

The acute border tension this week between Israel and Hezbollah adds urgency to a closer look at the militia’s popular standing in Lebanon—especially in case of war. Fortunately, a reliable new Lebanese public opinion poll shows that some Shia are now voicing reservations about Hezbollah policies—even as Sunnis continue to be solidly negative and Christians divided about the organization. Evidence of these misgivings about Hezbollah among Shia is especially noteworthy given the social taboos and real personal risks they face in criticizing “their own” political/military movement.

Remarkably, according to the data only a third of Shia want Hezbollah forces “to start actively confronting Israel.” Even fewer Shia, just one-quarter, say that solving the Palestinian problem should be the top regional priority. On a different but related question, one-third do not fully agree that “Hezbollah works only to protect Lebanon and resist Israel, rather than serving any outside agenda.” And the proportion of Lebanese Shia who voice a “very positive” view of Hezbollah today, while still high at 77%, is down somewhat from 83% in the previous poll exactly one year ago.

Even more surprisingly, taken altogether (Shia, Sunnis, Christians, plus the small Druze minority) a narrow majority—53 versus 47%—of the Lebanese public now actually has an unfavorable view of Hezbollah. The almost uniformly negative Sunni views continue to show no sign of softening. Lebanese Christians are in the middle as per usual for the past decade; their attitudes toward Hezbollah are divided between positive and negative.

Significant sectarian polarization is also evident in attitudes toward President Trump and U.S. policy in the region, with Sunnis the most favorably inclined. Among Sunnis, 36% give Trump a favorable rating; among Shia, the corresponding figure is merely 3%. Christians are again in the middle, with 23% voicing positive views of the U.S. president. Half of Sunnis, but a mere 11% of Shia, think that it is important for Lebanon to maintain good relations with the United States. Among Christians, that proportion is once more an intermediate (and unexpectedly low) one, at 38%.

Similarly, when asked to pick their top priority for U.S. Middle East policy, opinions cluster to some extent along sectarian lines. Around 30% of each community pick fighting jihadi terrorism as their favorite U.S. policy option. But on the choice of containing Iran, views are starkly divergent: among Sunnis, 45% select Iran as the best American priority; but among Shia, the corresponding figure is precisely zero and is just 12% among Christians. Conversely, only 9% of Sunnis put solving the Palestinian problem at the top of this list, compared with about one-fourth of both Shia and Christians. The same proportion of both Shia and Christians want the United States to simply “reduce its interference in the region”—but only 10% of Sunnis say the same.

Asked about other world leaders, the data shows sharp sectarian polarization as well, but of a rather different sort. President Putin of Russia earns an 85% approval rating among Lebanon’s Shia, but merely 13% among the Sunnis—presumably because of Russia’s crucial support for Syria’s sectarian Assad regime next door. Christians are again divided: 41% view Putin positively; the remainder do not. This is a similar breakdown regarding Russia overall: nearly all Shia (92%) say it is important for Lebanon to have good relations with that country, compared with just 28% of Sunnis and 53% of Christians.

In a mirror image of this sectarian split, Turkey’s Sunni president Erdogan is viewed favorably by two-thirds of Lebanon’s Sunnis, but just 7% of Shia. Less easy to explain, however, is the wide sectarian differential regarding China’s President Xi. He garners 71% approval among Lebanon’s Shia, but just 13% among the Sunnis—possibly because they view China as an ally of the Shia regime in Iran. Christians are almost evenly divided about these two leaders as well.

On a few salient internal issues, by contrast, the Lebanese public exhibits a strong consensus across sectarian lines—although not in a way that should give Beirut government much comfort. Fully 95% of the total population, and the overwhelming majority of every sect, say their government is doing “too little” in “reducing the level of corruption in our economic and political life.” In addition, a statistically equivalent total, 92%, say their government is also doing too little to ensure “sharing the burden of taxes and other obligations… in a fair manner.” While these are criticisms nearly all Lebanese can agree on, the political paralysis and entrenched special interests spawned by their sectarian differences on so many other issues seem likely to prevent much progress in addressing them.

These findings are from a face-to-face survey conducted by a regional commercial firm among a representative national sample of 1,000 Lebanese respondents in November 2018. The sampling procedure followed standard geographic probability techniques, with no weights applied to the resulting data. The statistical margin of error for each major sectarian subsample is approximately 4.5%. Full methodological details are available on request.

Customize your RSS Feed