أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

عام على "الحراك" في الجزائر: نجاحاته وإخفاقاته


متاح أيضاً في English

20 شباط/فبراير 2020

قبل فترة عام، شهدت الجزائر انطلاقة أكبر احتجاجات شعبية وأكثرها سلميةً منذ استقلالها في العام 1962. ومنذ ذلك الحين، يملأ الجزائريون الشوارع كل ثلاثاء وجمعة من أجل التعبير عن رفضهم للنظام السياسي في البلاد والمطالبة بتغيير جذري. وفي العام الفائت، شهدت الجزائر تغييرات أكثر مما فعلت خلال السنوات الـ57 الفائتة. وكانت تلك الاحتجاجات قد أسقطت في نيسان/أبريل الرئيس السابق، عبد العزيز بوتفليقة، الذي حكم البلاد لفترة طويلة وأدّت إلى انقسام غير مسبوق للنظام السياسي، غير أن التطورات المحتملة في 2020 تشير إلى مستقبل مقلق للبلاد ككل. 

وفي كانون الأول/ديسمبر، أوصلت الانتخابات الرئاسية التي كانت محطّ جدل كبير في الجزائر رئيس الوزراء السابق عبد المجيد تبون إلى السلطة. غير أن الكثيرين رفضوا الانتخابات باعتبارها ردًّا لا يتناسب ومطالبهم، ولا يزال الجزائريون يلجؤون إلى الشوارع في ظل رفضهم المتواصل للنظام ونتائج الانتخابات التي أجراها. في الواقع، ساهمت انتخابات كانون الأول/ديسمبر في تعميق أزمة الشرعية في البلاد ولم تنجح في توفير الاستقرار السياسي في الجزائر التي هي بأمس الحاجة إليه. 

والآن، إن الجزائر عالقة بين نظام يحاول استعادة شرعيته بأي ثمن وشعب مصمم على استعادة بلاده بطريقة سلمية وحضارية. ولكن في ظل وضع يزداد عدائية في كل من ليبيا والساحل، وعلى ضوء الآفاق الاقتصادية القاتمة، لا يمكن للجزائر أن تتحمل سنة طويلة أخرى من التوترات السياسية. ففهم سياق السياسة الجزائرية المليء بالتحديات والتنبؤ به للسنة القادمة يتطلب تحليلًا دقيقًا لوقائع اليوم، على صعيد النظام وحركة "الحراك" الاحتجاجية على حد سواء. 

النظام عند مفترق طرق

في أيلول/سبتمبر، طلب رئيس أركان الجيش السابق والرجل النافذ في النظام الجزائري أحمد قايد صالح أن تحصل الانتخابات قبل نهاية العام 2019. ومثّل قايد صوت الطغمة العسكرية التي رأت في الانتخابات الرئاسية الحلّ الوحيد للشلل السياسي الذي تعانيه البلاد. غير أن النظام لجأ إلى تدابير قمعية، بما فيها سجن الناشطين والحدّ من حرية الرأي والصحافة من أجل فرض أجندته الانتخابية. لم تستقطب الانتخابات، التي أجريت في 12 ديسمبر، سوى ما يقارب 40 في المائة من الجزائريين المخولين قانونيا للتصويت. حصل عبد المجيد تبون على ثقة حوالي 20 بالمائة من الناخبين المسجلين. كما نظّم العديد من الجزائريين احتجاجات حاشدة خلال يوم الانتخابات.

لقد أدّى تركيز النظام الجزائري على تكتيك الانتخابات إلى صعود رئيس ضعيف معدوم الشرعية الشعبية تقريبًا. كما أنه لم يُفض إلى حل الأزمة السياسية؛ وتثبت الاحتجاجات الأسبوعية المستمرة أن هذه الانتخابات كانت فشلًا للديمقراطية.  

وما زاد طين الاضطرابات بلةً، وفاة أحمد قايد صالح بشكل غير متوقع بعد أيام قليلة على تنصيب الرئيس الجديد – وهو حدث مهم للغاية بالنسبة للسياسة الجزائرية. فقد كان قايد صالح، بطريقة أو بأخرى، حاكم الجزائر بحكم الواقع بعد استقالة بوتفليقة. واعتبر الكثيرون أن وفاته المفاجئة قد تمنح تبون مجالاً أكبر للمناورة السياسية وقد تدفعه بالتالي إلى الإصغاء بجدية أكبر لمطالب الشعب، ليفي بذلك بالوعد الذي قطعه خلال حملته الرئاسية. فمن جهة، شكّل تبون حكومة في غضون أيام قليلة وحثّ بحسب ما تردد على إطلاق سراح 76 سجينًا سياسيًا. غير أنه لم يتمكن حتى الآن من الوفاء بما وعد شعبه به، إذ لا تزال الحريات الأساسية مقيّدة.      

هذا ويشير الشهر الأول من رئاسة تبون إلى أن النظام يتطلع إلى كيفية استعادة الشرعية ويسعى إلى الحدّ من أي تغيير "جذري" و"غير ضروري" من خلال سلسلة من الإصلاحات السطحية والموجّهة. ويتمثل أحد أبرز جوانب هذا الأمر في تغيير دستور العام 2016. لهذا، أنشأ تبّون لجنة مؤلفة من 17 خبيرًا دستوريًا للقيام بهذه المهمة. بالموازاة، عقد تبون عدة اجتماعات مع شخصيات سياسية بارزة "محترمة" من طرف "الحراك"، بمن فيهم رئيسا الحكومة السابقان بن بيتور وحمروش‎ فضلًا عن الوزير السابق طالب الإبراهيمي، في ما يبدو أنه محاولة لوضع حدّ للحركة الاحتجاجية.  

وعليه، يبدو أن أولويات النظام تنطوي على إسكات الحراك وتعديل الدستور بدلًا من إجراء حوار فعلي مع الجهات الفاعلة الاجتماعية والسياسية الرئيسية ضمن الحركة الاحتجاجية. ويمكن وصف ولاية تبون كرئيس في أفضل الأحوال على أنها مرحلة انتقالية "غير رسمية". وما إن يقرر النظام أن هذه المرحلة الانتقالية قد انتهت، قد يستقيل تبون، ما سيؤدي إلى إجراء انتخابات رئاسية مبكرة. وفي كافة الأحوال، وبغض النظر عن كيفية انتهاء ولاية تبون، فقد وضع النظام فعليًا نفسه والبلاد عند مفترق طرق مُهلك من خلال فرض الانتخابات. والآن، يعتمد النتاج المستقبلي للبلاد بشكل كبير على الحركة الاحتجاجية وقدرتها على تقديم بديل مستدام.     

"الحراك": حي ونافذ لكن قدرته محدودة سياسيًا

يُعتبر "الحراك" إحدى أطول الحركات السياسية وأكثرها صمودًا وسلميةً في التاريخ الحديث لكل من الجزائر والمنطقة ككل. وعلى الرغم من التوقعات بخلاف ذلك، أثبت قدرته على الحفاظ على قوته ووحدته. غير أنه في ظل استمرار المناورة السياسية التي يعتمدها النظام ومساهمة الانتخابات، المعترض عليها ولكن المفروضة، في تعقيد السياسة الجزائرية، يواجه "الحراك" الآن أكثر فترة مليئة بالتحديات منذ شباط/فبراير الفائت. ويتمثل مصدر قلقه الرئيسي حاليًا في غياب أي رؤية مستقبلية، إلى جانب بروز خلافات مكانية وإيديولوجية وعدم قدرة مستمرة على التطور والتحوّل إلى قوة سياسية.

ولكن هذا لا يحجب ما نجحت في إنجازه الحركة الاحتجاجية الجزائرية لغاية الآن: أرغمت بوتفليقة على الاستقالة، وفكّكت جماعة بأكملها في النظام، ومارست ضغوطًا هائلة على القيادة العسكرية. مع ذلك، وفي ظل شكلها الحالي، تحصر الحركة نفسها في كونها أداة ممارسة ضغوط على أنظمة سياسية قائمة ومستمرة بدلًا من إيجاد بديل سياسي يمكنه أن يقدّم فعليًا خارطة طريق عملية وواقعية من أجل إحداث تغيير سلمي وديمقراطي. ولا شكّ في أن الاحتجاجات الحاشدة عجزت عن تقديم رؤية سياسية خاصة بها، ما أتاح للقيادة العسكرية الحاكمة بحكم الواقع تجديد واجهتها المدنية من خلال الانتخابات.  

وتُعتبر هذه القيود السياسية لـ"الحراك" إلى حدّ كبير ناتجة عن عمليات القمع السافرة والحدّ من الحريات الفردية والجماعية التي يفرضها النظام. غير أن عاملًا آخر يتمثل في الخلافات الناشئة ضمن "الحراك" نفسه. فالجزائريون يتفقون على ضرورة تغيير النظام ولكنهم يختلفون على شكل هذا التغيير. وصحيح أن المحتجين يعلمون ما الذي لا يريدونه (استمرار الديكتاتورية) وما الذي يريدونه (دولة عادلة وحرة)، لكن كيفية تحقيق ذلك هي مسألة مختلفة تمامًا.  

وما يزيد من تعقيد هذه الانقسامات السياسية الناشئة واقع أن الجزائر هي دولة كبيرة ذات توجهات إثنية وإيديولوجية مختلفة. فقد بدأت الاختلافات الإقليمية التي لا تبدو للعيان في العاصمة في الظهور، خاصة وأن أعداد المحتجين في المناطق الداخلية والريفية بدأت في الانخفاض. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتنوع الرؤية المستقبلية و"النموذج الاجتماعي" للجزائر الجديد أيضًا بين المناطق التي لها تاريخ طويل من النشاط السياسي المستقل، مثل منطقة القبائل والمناطق الأخرى التي كانت، من الناحية التاريخية، أقل "معارضة" للنظام الحاكم. وفي حين قد تختار بعض المناطق "التعاون" مع النظام في ظل ظروف معينة بدافع الخوف من حدوث “فراغ" محتمل في السلطة، فإن المناطق الأخرى ما زالت تتخذ موقف متشدد رغم التكاليف. كما من الواضح أن الطبقة السياسية، الغارقة في خلافات إيديولوجية وتاريخية، مشلولة ولا يمكنها قيادة "الحراك" باتجاه منصة سياسية غير حزبية وقائمة على التوافق من أجل إحداث تغيير ذي معنى.  

وعلى ضوء هذه التحديات الداخلية التي تواجه "الحراك"، يبدو أن المحتجين لم يتمكنوا بعد من إدراك أن عجز الشارع عن اعتماد إرادة سياسية واضحة كان من بين الأسباب الرئيسية لانهيار "الربيع العربي" الذي انطلق في 2011. 

تحديد المسار المستقبلي: عملية بطيئة وصعبة لإحداث تغيير محتمل

بين مطرقة مقاومة النظام المستمرة لأي تغيير جذري وسندان عدم قدرة "الحراك" على تشكيل إرادة سياسية جديدة، يبدو أن الجزائر تقف عند مفترق طريق. فما ستشهده الفترة المقبلة يكتسي أهمية كبيرة، ليس فقط بالنسبة للجزائر بل لمنطقة شمال أفريقيا برمتها.  

بعد حكم بوتفليقة الذي دام عشرين سنة، في ظل ظروف اقتصادية غير مشجعة وأطر عمل سياسية قديمة، هناك عمل يتم حاليا على مجموعة من التغييرات التدريجية، ولا سيما في ما يتعلق بالدستور والانتخابات التشريعية القادمة.  

وهنا ثمة العديد من نقاط التوافق: فكل من النظام والشعب يرغب في تعديل دستور بوتفليقة لعام 2016. وعلى ضوء اللجنة الدستورية التي أنشأها تبون حديثًا، يبدو أن الجزائر ستشهد على استفتاء عام حول الدستور الجديد قبل منتصف العام 2020. فضلًا عن ذلك، ستعني التعديلات الدستورية أيضًا أنه ستتم مراجعة قوانين أخرى، بما فيها تلك الخاصة بالانتخابات والجمعيات. وبالتأكيد، سيتم تخفيض صلاحيات الرئيس بشكل كبير، وسيتم أيضًا تعزيز دور المعارضة من الناحية الدستورية، والتأكيد مجددًا على الركائز الثلاث للهوية الجزائرية، الإسلام والعربية والبربرية (الأمازيغية).

 ومن شأن هذه العملية أن توفر مؤشرات مهمة على قدرة "الحراك" على الحصول على تنازلات دستورية من النظام، وبخاصةٍ في ما يتعلق بامتيازات الرئيس ودور البرلمان وضمانات الحريات الأساسية. ولغاية الآن، يبدو أنه من المستبعد أن تمسّ أي تعديلات دستورية بالصلاحيات السياسية التي يتمتع بها الجيش بحكم الواقع.    

كما يتضح بشكل أكبر أن الجزائر ستشهد انتخابات تشريعية وبلدية في غضون أشهر قليلة من الموافقة على الدستور الجديد في الاستفتاء. وحاليًا، تنتمي أغلبية 606 أعضاء من البرلمان الجزائري ذي المجلسين التشريعيين إلى حزبيْ "جبهة التحرير الوطني" و"التجمع الوطني الديمقراطي" اللذين سبق أن دعما حكم بوتفليقة. وبالتالي، وفي ظل الزيادة المتوقعة لدور البرلمان التي سيحملها الدستور الجديد، من شأن الانتخابات التشريعية المرتقبة أن تمهّد الطريق أمام رؤية الجزائر في المستقبل القريب. ومن المرجح أن تشهد الجزائر في ظل الانتخابات المقبلة موجة جديدة من الانقسامات الإيديولوجية والسياسية المحتدمة، الأمر الذي سيمارس المزيد من الضغوط على إجراء حوار بين أفراد "الحراك". علاوةً على ذلك، من المتوقع أن تبرز أحزاب جديدة – وبخاصة أحزاب متحفظة – قبل الانتخابات، ما سيغير بشكل ملحوظ المشهد السياسي.  

وإذا لم يوافق النظام على بعض تدابير التهدئة الضرورية من أجل حماية الحريات الأساسية، مثل إطلاق سراح جميع السجناء السياسيين دون قيد أو شرط، وتحرير الصحافة من جميع القيود وحماية حرية التجمع والإجراءات السياسية الحزبية، وإذا لم ينخرط "الحراك" بشكل ناشط وفعال في الاستشارات الدستورية ولم يرغب في أي تنظيم ذاتي، من المستبعد أن تهدئ هذه التغييرات المهمة المقبلة نفوس المحتجين. وفي هذه الحالة، قد تنتهي ولاية تبون في وقت أقرب مما اعتقد النظام. 

لقد قرر الجزائريون تطليق النظام؛ صحيح أن الاثنين منفصلين أساسًا، لكن عليهما الاتفاق على شروط هذا الطلاق، وهي مسؤولية أكبر ملقاة على عاتق "الحراك" من أجل وضع هذه الشروط. يجب أن تكون هذه العملية سريعة وفعالة وسلمية من أجل تجنب تحويل الجزائر إلى مثال آخر على دولة فاشلة. 

ويعتمد الجزء الأكبر من هذه العملية على ما إذا كان "الحراك" يفضل البقاء كأداة سياسية "تردّ" على مناورات النظام أو البروز كقوة سياسية تتحول في نهاية المطاف إلى بديل. في حال كان "الحراك" مستعدًا لتحمل مسؤوليات سياسية فعلية، سيكون حوار بين أفراد الحراك الخطوة الأكثر إلحاحًا. فالوقت ينفذ – نظرًا إلى أن الدولة تمضي قدمًا في مجموعة إصلاحاتها الخاصة وفي ظل ازدياد الأزمة الاقتصادية في البلاد سوءًا.

إلى ذلك، يمثل تاريخ 22 شباط/فبراير انطلاقة "حرب استنزاف" سياسية وسلمية بين نظام يعود إلى 57 سنة وصحوة شعب. وما لم يتمّ التوصل على الفور إلى اتفاق ينص على تنازلات متبادلة، قد يكون ثمن هذه الحرب انهيار الدولة الجزائرية فور نفاذ احتياطي العملات الأجنبية.   

 

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Algeria, One Year into the Hirak: Successes and Setbacks


Also available in العربية

February 20, 2020

One year ago, Algeria witnessed the beginning of the largest and most peaceful popular protests since its independence in 1962. Since then, Algerians have filled the streets every Tuesday and Friday to express their rejection of the state’s political system and demand radical change. In the past year, Algeria has changed more than it had during the previous 57 years. These protests brought down former long-ruling president, Abdelaziz Bouteflika in April, and have led to an unprecedented fracture of the political system, yet the likely developments in 2020 suggest a concerning future for the state as a whole.

In December, Algeria’s highly contested presidential election brought former Prime Minister Abdelmadjid Tebboune to power. Yet many have rejected the elections as an inadequate response to their demands, and Algerians are still in the streets as they continue to reject the system and its election’s results. In fact, December’s elections have deepened the country’s legitimacy crisis and have not managed to provide a much-needed political stability to Algeria.

Now, Algeria is stuck between a regime that is attempting to regain its legitimacy at any cost and a population determined to regain its country in a peaceful and civilized manner. But with an increasingly hostile situation in both Libya and the Sahel, and in light of grim economic prospects, Algeria cannot afford another long year of political tensions. Understanding and forecasting the challenging context of Algerian politics for the upcoming year requires a careful analysis of today’s realities, both within the system and the “Hirak” protest movement.

The System at a Crossroads

In September, former army chief of staff and strongman of the Algerian system Ahmed Gaid Salah demanded that elections take place before the end of 2019. Gaid represented the voice of the military junta, which saw presidential elections as the only solution to the country’s political paralysis. But this system used repressive measures, including jailing activists and limiting freedom of speech and press to impose its electoral agenda. The elections, held December 12, attracted approximately 40 percent of Algerians who are legally able to vote. Tebboune received the trust and confidence of about 20 percent of registered voters. The majority of Algerians boycotted the election while organizing massive protests.

The Algerian system’s focus on elections tactic has led to a weak president whose popular legitimacy is almost non-existent. The political crisis has not been solved; continued weekly protests prove that these elections were a failure for democracy.

Adding to the turmoil, Ahmed Gaid Salah passed away unexpectedly a few days after the inauguration of the new president—an extremely important event for Algerian politics. Gaid Salah was, in a way or another, the de-facto ruler of Algeria after Bouteflika’s resignation. His sudden death suggested to many that Tebboune might now have a broader range of political maneuvering available to him and attempt, consequently, to listen more seriously to the demands of the people, fulfilling a promise of his presidential campaign. On the one hand, Tebboune formed a government within a few days and reportedly encouraged the release of 76 political prisoners. However, Tebboune has so far fallen short on delivering to the people what he promised, as basic freedoms and liberties are still restricted.

The first month of Tebboune’s presidency suggests that the system is looking at how to regain legitimacy and is attempting to limit “radical” and “unwanted” change through a series of superficial and controlled reforms. A key aspect of this is changing the 2016 constitution. Tebboune has already established a committee of seventeen constitutional experts to do so. In tandem, Tebboune has had several meetings with prominent political figures “respected” by the Hirak including former heads of government, Benbitour and Hamrouche in addition to former Minister Taleb Ibrahimi, which appears to be an attempt to put an end to the protest movement.

Thus, the system’s priorities seem to be fixed at silencing the movement and amending the constitution rather than serious dialogue with the key social and political actors of the protest movement. Tebboune’s time as president is best seen as an “unofficial” transition phase. Once the system has decided that this transition period is over, Tebboune may resign, triggering early presidential elections. In all cases, and regardless of how Tebboune’s term may end, the system has effectively put itself and the country, at a fatal crossroads by imposing elections. Now, the future outcome of the state depends largely on the protest movement and its ability to provide a sustainable alternative.

The Hirak: Alive and Powerful but Politically Limited

The Hirak is one of the longest, most resilient and most peaceful political movement in both Algeria and the broader region’s recent history. Despite expectations otherwise, it has proven itself capable of maintaining its strength and unity. However, as the system’s political maneuvering continues and as the contested, yet imposed, elections complicate Algerian politics, the Hirak is now facing its most challenging period since last February. Its principle concerns now are its lack of future vision, along with emerging spatial and ideological differences and a lingering inability to evolve into a political force.

This is not to discount what the Algerian protest movement has already accomplished: it forced Bouteflika to resign, dismantled an entire clan of the system, and exerted tremendous pressure on the military junta. Yet the movement in its current shape is limiting itself to being a tool to exert pressure on extant political systems rather than a political alternative that could effectively provide a pragmatic and realistic roadmap for peaceful and democratic change. The massive protests have undeniably fallen short on producing its own political vision, allowing the de-facto ruling military junta to renew its civilian façade through elections

These political limitations of the Hirak are widely seen as resulting from the system’s blatant repression and restriction of individual and collective freedoms and liberties. Yet another factor is the differences emerging within the Hirak itself. Algerians agree on the need to change the system but disagree on what form that change should take. Protesters know what they do not want (the continuity of dictatorship) and what they do want (a just and free state) but how to achieve this is another matter entirely.

These nascent political divisions are further complicated by the fact that Algeria is a large country that is ethnically and ideologically diverse. Regional differences not reflected in the capital have started to emerge especially as numbers of protesters in internal and rural areas started to decrease. Additionally, the future vision and the “social model” for the new Algeria are also different between regions that have a long history of autonomous political activism, such as the Kabylie region and other regions that were, historically speaking, less engaged against the ruling system. While some regions would opt for “cooperation” with the system under certain conditions out of fear from a potential “vacuum of power,” other regions hold a radical position at all costs. It is also clear that the political class, immersed in ideological and historical disagreements, is paralyzed and cannot lead the Hirak towards a non-partisan and consensus-based political platform for a meaningful change.

In light of these internal challenges facing the Hirak, it seems that protesters have not yet been able to recognize that the street’s failure to adopt a clear political will was one of the principle reasons for the collapse of the 2011 Arab Spring.

Identifying the Path Forward: Slow and Difficult Process of Potential Change

Between the system’s continued resistance to dramatic change and the Hirak’s inability to shape new political will, Algeria appears stuck at a crossroads. What happens next is of vital importance, not just for Algeria but for the entire North African region.

After twenty years of Bouteflika’s rule, with an unfavorable economic situation and outdated political frameworks, a set of incremental changes are already in process, especially regarding the constitution and upcoming legislative elections.

Here there are several points of agreement; both the system and the people are intent on amending Bouteflika’s constitution of 2016. And in light of Tebboune’s recently established constitutional committee, it seems that Algeria will witness a public referendum on the new constitution before mid-2020. Moreover, constitutional amendments would also mean that other laws, including electoral and associations’ ones, will be revised. Certainly, the president’s prerogatives will be significantly reduced, and the opposition’s role will also be constitutionally consolidated. Additionally, the three pillars of the Algerian identity, being Islam, Arabism and Berberism (Amazighite), will be reaffirmed.

This process will provide important insight into the Hirak’s ability to attain constitutional concessions from the system, especially the role of the Parliament, and guarantees of basic freedoms and liberties. So far, it seems unlikely that any constitutional amendment will touch upon the military’s de-facto political powers.

It is also becoming clearer that Algeria will also witness legislative and municipal elections within a few months as soon as the new constitution is approved by a referendum. Currently, the majority 606 members of Algeria’s bicameral parliament belongs to the The National Liberation Front (FLN) and Democratic National Rally (RND) parties that have previously endorsed Bouteflika’s rule. Therefore, with an anticipated increased role of parliament within the new constitution, the expected legislative elections will set the road for Algeria’s near future vision. With upcoming elections, Algeria will likely witness a new wave of ideological and tense political divisions, putting further pressures on intra-Hirak dialogue. Furthermore, new parties— particularly conservative ones—are expected to emerge ahead of elections, significantly changing the political scene.

Unless the system approves certain desperately needed appeasement measures to protect basic freedoms such as unconditionally releasing all political prisoners, liberating the press from all restrictions and protecting freedom of assembly and partisan political actions, and if the Hirak is not actively engaged in the constitutional consultations and is unwilling for any self-organization, it is improbable that these upcoming significant changes will appease protesters. In that case, Tebboune may see his term ending much sooner than the system thought.

Algerians have decided to divorce the system. The two are already separated, but both must agree on the terms of divorce, a greater responsibility on the Hirak’s side to engender them. This process must be done quickly, efficiently, and peacefully to avoid turning Algeria into another example of a failed state.

Much of this process also depends on whether the Hirak to prefers remain a political tool that “responds” to system’s maneuvering or whether it can emerge as a political force and eventually represent an alternative. If the Hirak is ready to assume real political responsibilities, an intra-movement dialogue is of the utmost urgency. Time is running out—both as the state moves forward with its own set of reforms and with the worsening of the country’s economic crisis.

February 22 marked the beginning of a political and peaceful “war of attrition” between a 57-year-old system and an awakening of the people. Unless an agreement with mutual concessions is promptly reached, the price of this war could be the collapse of the Algerian state once the foreign exchange reserves are depleted.

Customize your RSS Feed