أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

جنوب سوريا في حاجة ماسة للمساعدات


متاح أيضاً في English

27 تموز/يوليو 2018

يومٌ بعد يوم، تطبّق قوات الاحتلال الروسية والإيرانية التي تدعم النظام الطائفي سياسة الأرض المحروقة العنيفة، مدمرةً مناطق في سوريا غير خاضعة لسيطرة النظام ومتسببةً بتشريد المدنيين الذين صمدوا في وجه الهجمات السابقة التي شنها النظام على مرّ السنوات. وقد استخدمت في هذا الهجوم الأخير، الذي بدأ منتصف حزيران/يونيو، أسلحةً أرضية وجوية محظورة دوليًا لضمان عدم وجود أي منطقة آمنة بعد الآن في جنوب سوريا للشعب السوري، سواء كانوا من المعارضة أو من المدنيين.    

والآن، نحن نرفع الصوت ليصل إلى مسامع المجتمع الدولي، بحثًا عن بعض الراحة من الهجمات التي تستهدفنا في ظل تقدّم القوات نحو القنيطرة ودرعا. وخلال الأسبوع الماضي، توجّه المزيد من اللاجئين إلى الحدود السورية بحثًا عن ملاذ في إسرائيل والأردن، عابرين الطرقات السريعة سيرًا على الأقدام لحماية أنفسهم. وفي الوقت الراهن، ينتظر أكثر من 350 ألف شخص على الحدود السورية-الإسرائيلية، طالبين حماية إسرائيل ومناشدين إنسانية مواطنيها.  

كما يتطلعون إلى حماية المجتمع الدولي الذي تأسس بهدف منع مثل هذه الفظائع، أي مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة، والأمم المتحدة عمومًا، والدول التي تتمتع بنفوذ دولي لوضع حدّ للعدوان الروسي والإيراني جنوب سوريا. ولغاية الآن، خاضت قوات المعارضة مفاوضات بوساطة روسيا، التي من الواضح أنها مشارك متحيز.

وفي الوقت الذي دعت فيه قوات المعارضة، بما فيها "الجبهة الجنوبية"، في الأساس إلى اتفاق وقف إطلاق نار بوساطة جهات فاعلة خارجية، أرغمتها الضغوطات الناجمة عن الهجمات على التفاوض مع النظام تحت رعاية روسية، لم تكن تهتم بمساءلة النظام عن أي وعود تمّ التوصل إليها في إطار اتفاق وقف إطلاق النار. وفي حين توصّل النظام وقوات المعارضة إلى اتفاق في 19 تموز/يوليو، تثبت التجربة أن النظام لا يفي بوعوده تجاه من هزمهم. وفي ظل استعادة النظام للأراضي، فقد المدنيون الذين بقيوا فيها أهم أساسيات حمايتهم وتم اعتقال كل سوري يُعتبر غير مؤيّد للنظام.    

وبصفتي مدنيًا لديه تاريخ في معارضة النظام وتقديم المساعدة إلى المدنيين في المناطق التي تسيطر عليها المعارضة، لا أتوقّع أن تطبق هذه الاتفاقات المزعومة عليّ أو على عدد كبير من اللاجئين الآخرين القابعين حاليًا على الحدود. فقد وصل هؤلاء اللاجئون إلى هناك لأنهم يعتقدون أن أمامهم خيارين: إما عبور الحدود وإما التعرض للقتل. ومع ذلك لا تزال الحدود مقفلةً في وجههم.  

وليس لدينا نحن السوريون حكومة تدافع عنا، لذا ندعو إلى فتح الممرات الإنسانية تحت إشراف الأمم المتحدة إلى إسرائيل كي يُعالج المصابون ويجد المشردون ملجأ. وندعو الأمم المتحدة إلى إعادة وحدات "قوة الأمم المتحدة لمراقبة فض الاشتباك" إلى منطقة انتشارها السابقة في سوريا بغية توفير بعض الحماية لمن علقوا وحوصروا على الحدود. كما ندعو منظمات حقوق الإنسان إلى التدخل وإيواء المتشردين الذين غادروا منازلهم وباتوا يعيشون في خيم لحماية أنفسهم من قوات النظام المتقدمة. ونناشد "أطباء بلا حدود" التدخل من أجل توفير المساعدة الصحية إلى ضحايا هذه الحرب المصابين. فالغاية من وجود هذه المنظمات هي الحفاظ على سلامة وأمن من لا يحظون بحماية حكوماتهم. ومع ذلك، تفشل في دعم المواطنين السوريين المشردين. 

وفي الموازاة، لا ينفك تدفق اللاجئين السوريين على الحدود الإسرائيلية يزداد، وسيواصل ازدياده في ظل إحكام قوات النظام سيطرتها على جنوب سوريا. وبصفتي منشقًا عمل على توفير مساعدة آمنة من إسرائيل، يمكنني أن أشهد أننا ممتنون لهذه المساعدة رغم سخطنا من استمرار إقفال الحدود أمامنا بينما نواجه قدرة النظام المدمرة من الجانب الآخر.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Southern Syria is in Desperate Need of Aid


Also available in العربية

July 27, 2018

Day after day, the Iranian and Russian occupation forces supporting the Syrian sectarian regime apply a brutal scorched earth policy, destroying areas of Syria not under regime control and displacing the civilians who have withstood the earlier attacks of the regime over the years. This most recent assault, which began in mid-June, has used internationally prohibited ground and air weapons to ensure that there is no longer a safe area in the south of Syria for the Syrian people, whether they be opposition or civilians.

Now, we are raising our voices to the international community, searching for some respite from the attacks against us as forces push into Quneitra and Daraa. In the past week, more and more refugees have traveled to the edges of Syria to seek asylum in Israel and Jordan, traveling highways on foot in order to protect themselves. More than 350,000 people now stand on the Syrian-Israeli border, requesting the protection of Israel and appealing to the humanity of its citizens.

They are also looking for the protection of the international community established in order to prevent these atrocities: the United Nations Security Council, the United Nations more generally, and those states with international influence to put an end to Russian and Iranian aggression in Southern Syria. So far, opposition forces have faced negotiations mediated by Russia, an obviously biased participant.

While opposition forces, including the Southern Front, originally called for a ceasefire agreement mediated by outside actors, the pressures of the attacks forced them to negotiate with the regime under Russian guidance, which has little interest in holding the regime accountable to any promises reached in the ceasefire agreement. And while the regime and opposition forces reached an agreement on July 19, experience shows that the regime does not keep its promises to those it has conquered. As the regime has taken back territories, civilians who remain have lost their most basic protections, and any Syrian perceived unfavorable to the regime is arrested.

As a civilian with a history of dissident against the regime and aid to civilians in opposition-controlled areas, I have no expectation that these purported agreements will apply to myself, or to many of the other refugees who are currently stranded at the border. These refugees have arrived there because they believe that their two choices are to either cross the borders or be killed, yet the borders remain closed.

As Syrians without a government to protect us, we call for the opening of humanitarian corridors under the guidance of the United Nations into Israel so that the injured and displaced can find treatment. We call on the United Nations to return UNDOF to its former deployment area within Syria in order to provide some protections to those trapped on the border. We call on human rights organizations to intervene and shelter the displaced, who have left their homes and now live in tents in an attempt to protect themselves from the advancing regime forces. We call on Doctors Without Borders to intervene in order to provide health assistance to the wounded victims of this war. These organizations exist in order to maintain the health and security of those who are not protected by their government, yet they are failing in their support of Syria’s displaced citizens.

Meanwhile, the influx of Syrian refugees at the Israeli border is only increasing, and will continue to do so long as regime forces secure their control of Southern Syria. As a dissident who has worked to help secure aid from Israel, I can testify that we are grateful for this aid, yet we are frustrated that the borders remain closed to us as we face the destructive capacity of the regime on the other side.

Customize your RSS Feed