أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

التعاون بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا هو مفتاح الاستقرار الدائم لشمال سوريا


متاح أيضاً في English

24 حزيران/يونيو 2020

تسببت المسألة السورية المعقدة على مدى سنوات في تعكير العلاقات التركيّة – الأمريكيّة منذ عام 2014، حيث أثّرت الأزمة السورية في سياسة تركيا الخارجيّة وهيكليّتها التحالفيّة، وصارت هويّة تركيا الجيوسياسيّة وتحالفها الطويل الأجل مع الولايات المتّحدة ومكانتها في حلف شمال الأطلسيّ (الناتو) امرأ مثيرا للجدل، خاصة بعد تعاونها المستمر مع روسيا وإيران، وبعد تساهلها في عمليّة مرور المقاتلين المتطرّفين عبر حدودها إلى داخل سوريا. ومع ذلك، يبقى من مصلحة تركيا والولايات المتحدة إنقاذ علاقتهما الثنائية.، وذلك رغم خلافاتهما المتزايدة.

والان يتطلب الوضع الحالي المتأزم في الشمال السوري تعاونا وثيقا بين كل من تركيا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، وغير ذلك، قد تنتعش الخلايا النائمة للنظام السوري، وتنظيم داعش الإرهابي، وستظل ثروات المنطقة - وأبرزها البترول والمنتجات الزراعية- في يد قوى ترتبط بالنظام وداعميه الإيرانيين والروس والمليشيات التابعة لهم. وقد تتسع الهوة بين الأكراد والعرب من سكان المنطقة، مما قد يؤسس لجو من انعدام الثقة بين المكونات الأثنية.

تدارك الخلافات بين حلفاء الناتو

لم تعد الإطاحة بنظام الأسد أولوية بالنسبة لتركيا والولايات المتحدة، ففي حين كانت الإطاحة بنظام الأسد تمثل أولوية لتركيا في بداية الأزمة السورية، إلا أن تركيا قد أعطت الأولوية لمكافحة الإرهاب وذلك على حساب تغيير النظام في دمشق. ومع ذلك قامت تركيا بمراجعة سياستها في سوريا فابتعدت بشكل كبير عن سياستها المتمحورة حول نظام الأسد، وأصبحت تتمحور حول تامين حدودها وملاحقة الفصائل الكردية التي تصنفها على أنها منظمات إرهابية. ومن ناحية أخرى، انصب تركيز الولايات المتحدة في المقام الأول بعد اندلاع الصراع المسلح منذ تسعة سنوات على جهود مكافحة الإرهاب. بالنظر إلى السيناريو الحالي، تعاونت كلّ من تركيا والولايات المتّحدة الأمريكيّة مع حلفاء محليّين أو وُسطاء لتحقيق أهدافهما، لكنّهما لم تثقا بحلفائهما المحليين، أو حتى اعتبرتاهم إرهابيين بشكلٍ صريحٍ، ممّا أدّى إلى توتّرات كبيرة في العلاقات الثنائيّة.

وعلى الرغم من الملفات الشائكة التي أثرت على العلاقات بين البلدين، بدأت العلاقات الامريكية التركية في التحسن بعد الاتفاق الذي توصلت إليه كلا البلدين في تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر الماضي والذي يقضى، بوقف إطلاق النار، وتعليق عملية "نبع السلام"، وانسحاب وحدات "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" من "منطقة آمنة" سيتولى الجيش التركي إقامتها في المنطقة.

كما أدى موقف الولايات المتحدة الداعم لتركيا بعد استهداف قوات الأسد لمواقع عسكرية تركية في إدلب في شباط/فبراير الماضي، إلى حدوث انفراجه جديدة في العلاقات الامريكية التركية. ونتيجة لهذا الهجوم أعلنت الولايات المتحدة إن من حق تركيا الدفاع عن نفسها وأنها ستقدم ذخيرة لتركيا لاستخدامها في عملياتها في إدلب، كما أنها تجرى تقييما لطلب تركيا الخاص بنشر صواريخ باتريوت على حدودها. ومن ثم، وعلى الرغم من مواقف اردوغان التي أدت في بعض الأحيان إلى إغضاب الولايات المتحدة، إلا أن تركيا ستظل بلد مهما بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة وذلك كونها شريكا تجاريا مهما من ناحية وجليفا في الناتو من ناحية أخرى. 

ومن جانبها، حاولت تركيا تخفيف التوترات مع الولايات المتحدة والقيام بتأجيل تفعيل نظام الدفاع الصاروخي أس-400 الروسي، الذي قامت بشرائه العام الماضي، وإصرار الأتراك على منع الجانب الروسي من المشاركة في عمليات التشغيل. كما ارسل الرئيس التركي أردوغان رسالة إلى نظيره الأمريكي دونالد ترامب التي رافقت المساعدات الطبية التركية للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، والتي قال فيها: "كونوا على ثقة بأن تركيا ستواصل كافة أشكال التضامن باعتبارها شريكا موثوقا وقويا للولايات المتحدة"، وإن "التطورات الأخيرة في منطقتنا أظهرت أهمية مواصلة التحالف التركي-الأمريكي والتعاون بأقوى صوره".

وردا على ذلك، أكد وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو في خطابه " أن الحلفاء في إطار الناتو يجب أن يقفوا معاً في الأزمات"، إضافة إلى المحادثة الهاتفية بين المتحدث باسم الرئاسة التركية إبراهيم كالن ومستشار الأمن القومي الأمريكي روبرت أوبراين وأكدا فيها على ”أهمية التضامن على صعيد حلف الناتو، في هذه الأيام الحرجة“. نعتقد أن هذا كله يمكن احتسابه كمؤشرات تصلح للبناء عليها في موضوع هام يفيد الطرفين، ويساعد على تحقيق استقرار دائم وثابت في المنطقة، يؤدي بالضرورة إلى القضاء التدريجي على تنظيم داعش، الذي يعتبر الهدف الأهم للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة.

أهمية تعزيز المصالح المشتركة في شمال سوريا

ربما يكون هذا التعاون الوثيق بين الولايات المتحدة وتركيا هو الأكثر أهمية في سوريا، حيث انه سيأخذ في الاعتبار الواقع الجيوسياسي في سوريا خاصة بعد أن صارت خرائط السيطرة في الشمال السوري تأخذ شكلاً أكثر وضوحاً، وتوزعاً أقل تداخلاً للقوى التي تتقاسم مناطق النفوذ في سوريا. ويأتي ذلك كنتيجة لخروج المعارضة السورية -بشقيها السياسي والعسكري- من معادلات التأثير والتحكم في الشمال السوري. كما أصبح هناك تجميع تدريجي - في هياكل كبرى - لغالبية الفصائل العسكرية المعارضة التي صارت منضوية للقوتين المسيطرتين في الشمال السوري (تركيا عبر الفصائل المنضوية في غصن الزيتون ودرع الفرات ونبع السلام، والولايات المتحدة عبر الفصائل المنضوية في قوات سورية الديمقراطية).

 بالمقابل هناك العديد من القوى والمليشيات الأخرى يتحكم الروس والإيرانيون بقراراتها، وتتواجد حاليا في مناطق على يمين نهر الفرات، وهي في حالة تراجع، وتحاول تأسيس فصائل تحت مسميات عدة، بالتزامن مع محاولة الميليشيات التابعة لإيران، تأسيس حسينيات شيعية، وتشييع سكان هذه المناطق العربية السنية الواقعة على يمين الفرات. وهناك أيضا حضور روسي من خلال الدوريات التي يُسيرها مع الأتراك، تنفيذاً لاتفاقات ثنائية بينهما، مع محاولة التأسيس لتواجد عسكري ثابت في محيط عين العرب وعين عيسى (اللواء 93) وحزيمة ومطار القامشلي. بدأت أيضا بقايا تنظيم الدولة في التلاشي من الشمال السوري، ولم تعد تسيطر على مساحات متصلة.

 انطلاقا من هذا التوصيف، يمكن القول إن الصراع الجيوسياسي في سوريا أصبح بين طرفين، طرف يحاول إعادة إنتاج نظام الأسد كما كان عندما كان يسيطر على كل سوريا، وطرف أخر يعتقد أنه لا يمكن إعادة إنتاج نظام الأسد ثانية، مع الإقرار بهشاشة وارتهان معارضيه، وعدم قدرتهم على إنتاج كيانات سياسية وعسكرية.

الطرف الأول ملعبه الرئيسي الشمال السوري والذي يحاول السيطرة على شرق سوريا وربط المناطق التي تمت السيطرة عليها حاليا (التنف وغرب الفرات) بهدف قطع طرق الإمداد البري الإيراني، فيما يتوسع الطرف الآخر الموالي للأسد في بقية مناطق سورية ويعمل على ربطها وإخلائها من الفصائل المعارضة، والعمل على تأمين طريق يصل بيروت ودمشق بطهران مروراً بالأراضي العراقية.

 أمام هذا المشهد، ولوجود مصالح كثيرة تجمع القوتين الرئيستين (تركيا والولايات المتحدة) خارج الموضوع السوري، وللتخلص من المخاطر التي تواجه عملهما بشكل منفرد، أصبح من الضروري العمل على تقليص الخلافات بينهما في الموضوع السوري، وتوحيد جهودهما، وإيجاد صيغة جديدة للتعاون بينهما لإدارة هذه المناطق، التي يسيطران عليها، والتي تشكل أكثر من ثلاثين بالمئة من المساحة الإجمالية لسوريا، وهذا يمكن أن يتحقق عبر تطوير تنسيقهما المشترك في الشمال السوري، بغطاء وإشراف أممي في الجانب الإنساني.

ويجب أن يتزامن ذلك مع، إعادة توجيه ومراقبة صرف الدعم السعودي والإماراتي والقطري والأوروبي، لما يخدم أبناء المنطقة كافة في مختلف متطلبات الحياة الآمنة الكريمة والتنمية. ويمكن أن يتحقق ذلك عبر تشكيل مجالس محلية موحدة تحظى بقبول السكان، وتأسيس أجهزة إدارية وأمنية محترفة، تكفل حماية المواطنين وحماية أعمالهم، وتؤمن ظروف عودة النازحين والمهجرين من هذه المناطق إلى بيوتهم وأعمالهم.

تشمل الإجراءات الإضافية التي يمكن أن تتخذها الولايات المتحدة وتركيا للمساعدة في تعزيز الاستقرار العمل الحثيث على إخراج القوات الروسية وبقايا قوات النظام، من مناطق تواجدها في محافظتي دير الزور والرقة ، وإيقاف عمليات تهريب البترول والمنتجات الزراعية، التي تجري بتنسيق بين النظام والإيرانيين من جهة، وقوات سورية الديمقراطية من جهة ثانية، والعمل على السيطرة على النفط والمنتجات الزراعية ، وهي المصادر الرئيسية لتمويل الجماعات الإرهابية في سوريا ، وهو ما سيساعد في القضاء على احتمال عودة ظهور هذه الجماعات في تلك المناطق. وبالمثل، يمكن للعمل بالتنسيق مع منظمات الأمم المتحدة والولايات المتحدة وتركيا المساعدة في تقديم الخدمات التعليمية والصحية والغذائية.

يبقى من مصلحة الولايات المتحدة وتركيا العمل معًا لتحقيق الاستقرار الدائم في المنطقة، فبعيدا عن أوهام بعض الأطراف الانفصالية، وزيف الادعاءات التي يسوقونها، ومحاولات ابتزاز المجتمع الدولي بالمبالغة في تصوير حجم تنظيم داعش الإرهابي، وممارساتهم العنصرية التي صارت عبئاً على التحالف الدولي. لابد كمرحلة أولى من هذا التنسيق بين الفاعلين الحقيقيين الأمريكي والتركي، الذي يمكنه أن يوقف تمدد النظام من جهة، ويساعد على الخلاص من بقايا تنظيم داعش الإرهابي، ومنع عودة التنظيم مرة أخرى. ومن ثم، فإن المزيد من التعاون سيساهم في حماية السكان من الوقوع في فخ المتطرفين. وقد أثبتت التجارب السابقة في الشمال السوري أن التعامل بين الدول أكثر جدوى واستقراراً، من التعامل مع المجموعات الصغيرة، فعندما تتبع كل مجموعة أجندتها الخاصة، فمن غير المرجح أن تتوافق النتائج مع احتياجات السوريين العاديين.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

U.S.-Turkish Cooperation Is Key for Lasting Stability Northern Syria


Also available in العربية

June 24, 2020

Conflicting priorities in the Syrian war have strained the U.S.-Turkish relationship since 2014, shaping Turkey's foreign policy in the country and the structure of its alliances. Turkey’s geopolitical identity and long-standing alliance with the United States, as well as its status in NATO, have come into question due to its budding alliance with Iran and Russia and for allowing extremist militants to cross Turkish borders into Syria. Yet in spite of their mounting disagreements, it remains in the best interests of Turkey and the United States to salvage their bilateral relationship.

The current crisis in northern Syria demands close cooperation between Turkey and the United States; without this cooperation the Assad regime and ISIS sleeper cells could return. Moreover, the region’s resources—especially oil and agricultural products—will remain in the hands of regime-aligned forces and Iranian and Russian backed militias. In this same vein, the Kurdish-Arab rift in the region could also widen—a rift that has led to a lack of trust among the different ethnic groups who call this area home.

Mending a Rift Between NATO Allies

For both the United States and Turkey, the Syrian war has become less and less about a regime change. While overthrowing Assad was a top priority for Turkey when the armed conflict initially broke out, it has reevaluated its position towards Syria and concentrated more on securing its borders while targeting Kurdish factions that it classifies as terrorist organizations. On the U.S. side, the focus has been mostly concentrated on combating terrorism from the outbreak of the armed conflict nine years ago. Given the current scenario, the two countries may be able to build on this common ground by working with local allies and middlemen to achieve their goals. However, if the two parties do not trust their allies on the ground—and especially if either labels the other’s allies as terrorists—it is likely that tensions in bilateral relations will only worsen.

Despite a number of thorny issues that have affected relations between the two countries and have hampered closer cooperation in Syria, U.S.-Turkish relations have actually appeared to be on the mend in the past half year. The agreement reached by both countries last October stipulating a ceasefire, the suspension of the “Operation Spring of Piece,” and the withdrawal of Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) from a "safe zone" established by the Turkish army did much to mend ties.

However, the supportive stance that the United States took following Assad forces’ assault on Turkish forces in Idlib last February should be seen as the real breakthrough in U.S.-Turkish relations. Because of this attack, the United States announced that Turkey has the right to defend itself and that it would provide Turkey with necessary arms to use in its Idlib operations. The announcement also indicated that the United States is assessing Turkey's request to deploy Patriot missiles on its borders. Hence, despite Erdogan's foreign policy stances that have sometimes provoked the United States, it seems that Turkey’s role as an important trade partner and NATO ally could help smooth over coordination in Syria.

On Turkey’s side, Turkish President Tayyip Erdogan has already displayed efforts to reduce tensions with the United States by delaying the implementation of the S-400 Russian air defense missile system purchased last year and by preventing the Russians from participating in other operations. Erdogan also wrote a letter to his American counterpart accompanying Turkish medical aid to the United States in response to the global coronavirus pandemic. In the letter, Erdogan characterized Turkey as a: ”reliable and strong partner of the United States [that] will continue to demonstrate solidarity in every way possible.” The letter further emphasized that “recent developments in the region have demonstrated the importance of continuing the Turkish-American alliance and cooperating to the greatest extent possible.”

In response, U.S. Secretary of State Mike Pompeo likewise stated that “during times of crisis, NATO allies must stand together.” And in a telephone call between Erdogan’s spokesperson Ibrahim Kalin And the U.S. National Security Advisor Robert O’Brien, the two affirmed the “importance of solidarity among NATO allies during this critical time.” This reassuring exchange between leaders from Turkey and the United States reflect a solid foundation upon which the two countries could continue to rebuild and grow their relationship.

The Importance of Promoting Shared Interests in Northern Syria

This cooperation is perhaps most important in Syria. Closer cooperation between the United States and Turkey would recognize the country’s geopolitical reality; the map of influence in northern Syria has become increasingly differentiated, with fewer areas of overlap between the competing powers. This is partly because the Syrian opposition is no longer part of the political or military equation in northern Syria. Most of the military opposition factions have gradually joined together under one of the two main forces present in northern Syria: either by aligning with Turkey through Operation Olive Branch, Euphrates Shield, and Peace Spring or by aligning with the United States through factions included in the SDF.

There are also a variety of militias that operate under the control of the Russians and Iranians in areas east of the Euphrates River, though their presence in northern Syria is currently receding. Iranian-backed militias have nevertheless sought to expand their influence by building Hussainiyas and shrines to spread a version of Shia Islam linked to fealty to Iran in those areas. There is also a Russian presence that patrols alongside Turkish forces to oversee the implementation of the extant agreements between the two parties in Northern Syria. Russia has also made an effort to establish a stronger military presence around Kobani, Ayn al-Arab, Ain Issa—including the 93rd Brigade base—Hazima, and Qamishli Airport.

As such, the geopolitical conflict in Syria is already divided between two sides, with the victor potentially decided by each side’s ability to coordinate. One side looks to try to recreate the Assad regime as it was when it controlled all of Syria, while the other believes that such an outcome is untenable while still acknowledging the fragility of the opposition and its inability to produce political and military structures.

This latter side is primarily centered in northern Syria and is attempting to gain control over eastern Syria to connect the areas it currently controls—Al-Tanf and the western Euphrates. Connecting these territories would have the added benefit of cutting off Iranian supply routes. Meanwhile, the pro-Assad side seeks to expand connections between its areas of influence in the rest of Syria and remove opposition forces from these areas. The pro-Assad forces are also working to secure a land route that that connects Beirut and Damascus to Tehran through Iraq.

Considering the many interests beyond Syria that unite the United States and Turkey, and to eliminate any risks that the two countries may face in continuing to work towards a common goal in Syria separately, the two powers must work together. Turkey and the United States must pool efforts and find a new avenues for cooperation to manage the areas under their control, which comprise more than thirty percent of the total area of Syria. This can be achieved through developing common points of coordination in northern Syria under UN humanitarian supervision.

At the same time, Saudi, Emirati, Qatari, and European groups that have halted aid projects should restore these projects. Whatever the limitations on aid in Syria, this money is vital to supporting the Syrian people living in the region and their demands for a dignified life, as well as any opportunities for development. Forming local committees, establishing professional administrative and security entities responsible for protecting citizens, and ensuring the safe return of displaced people to their homes and jobs will ensure that these aid projects support the long-suffering Syrian people.

Additional measures that the United States and Turkey can take to help promote stability include removing the Russian and Iranian forces in the governorates of Deir ez-Zor and Raqqa, and halting the illegal smuggling of oil and agricultural products by any side. Establishing control over oil and agricultural products, which are the main sources of finance for terrorist groups in Syria, will help eliminate the prospect of resurgence in those areas. Similarly, working in coordination with UN agencies, the United States and Turkey can help deliver education, health, and food services.

It remains in both United States and Turkey’s best interests to work together to achieve a more lasting stability in the region. The first step is to turn away from the illusions of some separatist elements, who exaggerate the scope of ISIS and have been accused of discriminatory practices that have strained international alliances. Together, the United States and Turkey can stop the Assad regime and prevent an ISIS resurgence; greater cooperation will protect populations from falling into the trap of extremists that have prolonged the current situation. History has shown that in northern Syria, stability is best produced through working together rather than in smaller groups. When each group is pursuing their own agenda, the outcome is less likely to align with needs of ordinary Syrians.

Customize your RSS Feed