أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

كيف ستردّ "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" على غزو تركيا؟


متاح أيضاً في English

13 شرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019

يوم الأربعاء، أطلقت تركيا عملية "نبع السلام" في شمال شرق سوريا بعد تلقيها ضوءًا أخضر فعليًا من البيت الأبيض لتنفيذ عملية أحادية في المنطقة الواقعة بين تل أبيض ورأس العين. وقد بدأت هذه العملية مباشرة بعدما سحبت الولايات المتحدة على وجه السرعة 50 جنديًا من هذه المنطقة ضمن قاعدة تل أرقم وقاعدة غير محددة في تل أبيض. وتمّ إطلاق عملية "نبع السلام" رغم اتفاق الآلية الأمنية المبرم في وقت سابق بين تركيا والولايات المتحدة في آب/ أغسطس، الذي كان ليمنع هجومًا مماثلًا من الناحية النظرية. يُذكر أن القوات الكردية استولت على رأس العين في معركة ضد متمردي تنظيم "القاعدة" و"الجيش السوري الحر" في تموز/ يوليو 2013، لكن المعارك تجددت حاليًا في المدينة. 

وتعقب أحدث عملية أطلقتها تركيا جهودًا بُذلت سابقًا على غرار عملية "غصن الزيتون" (بين كانون الثاني/ يناير وآذار/ مارس 2018) وعملية "درع الفرات" (آب/ أغسطس 2016– آذار/ مارس 2017) اللتين كان لهما هدف مشترك ألا وهو إقامة كيان بقيادة كردية على الحدود التركية. وتمامًا كما في العمليات السابقة، أخذت هذه العملية بدورها الضوء الأخضر فعليًا من روسيا التي تأمل إرغام "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" على الخضوع لدمشق. ويبدو أن الهدف الحالي لعملية "نبع السلام" التي تشنها تركيا هو السيطرة على الجزء الأكبر من هذه المنطقة الممتدة على طول 125 كيلومترًا (78 ميلًا) حيث أزالت "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" تحصيناتها السابقة. وتملك تركيا فيديو مراقبة ومعلومات من طائرة استطلاع تنطلق في دوريات مشتركة جوية وبرية، للمساعدة على تسهيل العملية.

وفي نهاية المطاف، استفادت تركيا في الواقع من اتفاق الآلية الأمنية، بما فيه إزالة القوات المرتبطة بـ"قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" لتحصيناتها من المنطقة في أيلول/ سبتمبر. ومن المرجح ألا تكون تركيا اعتزمت قط التقيّد بالاتفاق وكانت تنوي استخدام الآلية الأمنية لجمع معلومات عن مواقع الجنود في تل أبيض ورأس العين قبل العملية. وقد ثبُت ذلك أيضًا من خلال توحيد تركيا لجماعات المتمردين السوريين التي بات يُطلق عليها اليوم تسمية الجيش الوطني من مختلف الأراضي تحت إدارة وزارة الدفاع في الحكومة المؤقتة في 4 تشرين الأول/ أكتوبر.

كما صرّحت تركيا علنًا بنواياها إطلاق هذه العملية الأحدث طيلة أشهر. وفي كانون الثاني/ يناير، قال الرئيس التركي رجب طيب أردوغان "إننا لن نسمح أبدًا بإقامة منطقة آمنة ستتحوّل إلى مستنقع جديد بالنسبة لتركيا يشبه ذاك في شمالي العراق". ويمكن فهم أنه يرمي من خلال جهوده الحالية إلى منع "وحدات حماية الشعب" الكردية في سوريا من الحصول على استقلال ذاتي بالطريقة التي نجح بها أكراد العراق بعد انسحاب قوات صدام من شمالي البلاد عام 1991.

وتتحرك أنقرة مدفوعةً باعتقادها أنه لا يمكن فصل "وحدات حماية الشعب" عن "حزب العمال الكردستاني" التركي-الكردي الذي صنّفته تركيا وغيرها من دول حلف "الناتو"، بما فيها الولايات المتحدة، منظمة إرهابية. وبالتالي، ترى تركيا أن أي كيان كردي خاضع لهذه الوحدات هو بمثابة تهديد لسلامة أراضيها.

مواقف الولايات المتحدة وردّها

في وقت تبدو دوافع تركيا لتنفيذ الهجوم جليّة، لا يمكن توقّع دور الولايات المتحدة في تسهيله بالوضوح ذاته. ورغم ذلك، أكّد أحد كبار الدبلوماسيين الأمريكيين يوم الخميس أنه تمّت إحاطة الولايات المتحدة بالتوغل العسكري التركي مشيرًا إلى أننا "نعتقد أنها فكرة سيئة. لكننا لا نملك المؤشرات– فهم لم يمنحونا أي مؤشرات على أنهم يعتزمون التصعيد بدرجة تتخطى ما أعلمونا به". وبالتالي، من المحتمل أن تعارض الولايات المتحدة أي تصعيد تركي للصراع خارج منطقة "الآلية الأمنية" السابقة هذه.

ويساهم هذا الخط الأحمر غير المعلن في شرح التحذيرات التي أطلقها الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب على موقع "تويتر" قائلًا بأن الولايات المتحدة قادرة على "تدمير" اقتصاد تركيا في حال "تجاوزت الحدود"، فيما أثنى لاحقًا على تركيا باعتبارها شريكًا تجاريًا وإحدى الدول الأعضاء في حلف "الناتو". وتُظهر رسالة ترامب أنه هناك اتفاق فعلي على ما يبدو بين تركيا والولايات المتحدة بشأن حدود هذه العملية، وأن الرئيس الأمريكي يريد من تركيا إنهاء هذه العملية بسرعة ومن دون إيقاع ضحايا مدنيين.

ونظرًا إلى أن اجتماعًا مقررًا سيُعقد بين أردوغان والرئيس دونالد ترامب في 13 تشرين الثاني/ نوفمبر، من المرجح أن يكون الأول يأمل ببسط سيطرة تركيا على الأرض أقلّه في تل أبيض ورأس العين قبل هذا الاجتماع. لكن في حال نجحت تركيا في الاستيلاء على هاتين البلدتين، قد تحاول السيطرة أيضًا على عين عيسى للتحّكم بالطريق السريع M4، ما قد يسمح لها بتطويق كوباني وفتح الطريق إلى الرقة– وبالتالي قطع الأرض الخاضعة لـ"قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" إلى قسمين. تجدر الملاحظ إلى أن هذه القرية الاستراتيجية وقعت في قبضة الأكراد في الأساس خلال انتزاعهم تل أبيض في حزيران/ يونيو 2015 من "داعش". ومع ذلك، تغير الوضع يوم الأحد عندما أمر البيت الأبيض قواته بالانسحاب، خوفًا من الوقوع بين جيشين متحاربين.

التكتيكات التركية وردّ "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية"

من الناحية التكتيكية، تنفذ تركيا حملة بطيئة باستخدام المدفعية والدعم الجوي مع مشاركة مباشرة محدودة. وتُظهر التحركات على الخريطة أن الأتراك يحاولون محاصرة تل أبيض ورأس العين على السواء من الشرق والغرب. وردًا على ذلك، من المرجح أن تسعى "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" إلى منع هذا الحصار من خلال المهاجمة من الخلف. في هذا الإطار، صرّح أحد مقاتلي "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" للكاتب خلال فصل الصيف الفائت قائلًا بأنه "في ظل سيناريو مماثل، علينا تخفيف الضغوط عن قوة محددة تمّت محاصرتها". وتابع "إن تمّت مهاجمة إحدى المدن، ستضطر القوات من كافة المدن الأخرى إلى التدخل". من ناحية أخرى، تشنّ تركيا ضربات جوية عشوائية على طول الحدود لإرباك "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية".

 وستعمل "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" أيضًا على فتح جبهات على كافة جهات الحدود التركية. على سبيل المثال، أشركت الجيش التركي ووكلائه على مقربة من ديريك، غرب كوباني، ومن العريمة. وحتى أن إحدى وسائل الإعلام المحلية "قناة روج آفا" زعمت أن "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" فتحت 8 جبهات، في حين خططت تركيا لواحدة فقط.

رغم أنه يصعب الدفاع عن المنطقة الحدودية المسطحة في هذه الأراضي، بخلاف منطقة عفرين الجبلية التي استولت عليها القوات التركية والقوات المدعومة منها، أفاد أحد مقاتلي "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" السابقين أن شرقي الفرات أكثر استعدادًا لجهة الذخائر والعناصر والأسلحة. وبعد سقوط عفرين، أخذ قادة "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" تهديدات تركيا على محمل الجدّ ولم يعودوا يثقون ثقة عمياء بالدول الأجنبية لوقف الهجوم التركي.

وكما ذكر أحد المقاتلين السابقين، "إن تمّ إطلاق رصاصة واحدة [في الشمال الشرقي]، ستتدمر كافة الحدود [من ديريك إلى كوباني]"– ستكون معركة حياة أو موت". في هذه الحملة، تملك "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" أسلحة وذخائر وخنادق وعددًا كافيًا من المقاتلين. وأضاف "إن الخطوط خلف خط المواجهة واسعة بما يكفي لتحركات مواد الإمداد والتجهيز؛ فهي تتخطى 300 كيلومتر شمالًا إلى الفرات". في المقابل، كانت عفرين محاصرة بأرضٍ تركية وبالنظام السوري، وواجهت بالتالي صعوبات على صعيد خطوط الإمدادات اللوجستية.

غير أن الأرض المختلفة تشير إلى أن الطموحات التركية لا تنحصر على الأرجح بتل أبيض وعين الرأس. فإن بقيت أنقرة في المدينتين من دون التوسّع، ستكون محاطة من "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" من كافة الجهات. في هذه الحالة، سيكون من المنطقي أكثر السيطرة على الطريق السريع M4، والاستيلاء في نهاية المطاف على منبج من أجل الارتباط بمناطق درع الفرات. كما سيقسّم ذلك المناطق الخاضعة لـ"قوات سوريا الديمقراطية" إلى قسمين. وكان الرئيس أردوغان قال بنفسه  خلال خطاب أمام الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة بأنه يرغب في إحلال السلام على مساحة بعمق 30 كيلومترًا، يمكن أن تمتد إلى الرقة ودير الزور. وتشير هذه الكلمات إلى أن هدف أردوغان النهائي هو القضاء بالكامل على "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية". لكن هذا الأمر يعتمد بدوره على موقف المجتمع الدولي.

وعليه، لفتت إلهام أحمد، الرئيسة المشاركة في "المجلس الديمقراطي السوري"– الجناح السياسي لـ "قوات سوريا الديمقراطية"- إلى أن "عين تركيا في عهد أردوغان تنصب على كامل سوريا، ولا سيما شمالي شرقي البلاد حيث الأرض غنية، من أجل مصادرة الطاقة والموارد الموجودة فيها.

وبعد أن بدأت تركيا في قصف عين عيسى وهددت بتقسيم المنطقة التي تسيطر عليها قوات سوريا الديمقراطية الى جزئين عن طريق التخطيط للاستيلاء على المدينة الاستراتيجية، انسحبت القوات الأمريكية من كوباني وعين عيسى. ونتيجة لذلك، اتخذت قوات سوريا الديمقراطية القرار المرير، حيث دعت الحكومة السورية للتحرك إلى المناطق الحدودية في شمال سوريا لوقف المزيد من الهجمات التركية والتوغل في الأراضي السورية. ومع ذلك، أعلن أحد المصادر في قوات سوريا الديمقراطية إنه حتى الآن، لم يتم نشر القوات السورية إلا في منبج وكوباني. وبالتالي، يبقى أن نرى خلال الأشهر القادمة إن كانت تركيا ستستمر  في عملياتها العسكرية، وإن كانت  كل من دمشق وروسيا سيسمحان لتركيا بالتوسّع أكثر.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

How Will the SDF React to Turkey’s Invasion?


Also available in العربية

October 13, 2019

On Wednesday, Turkey launched its ‘Fountain of Peace operation’ in northeastern Syria after receiving a de-facto green light from the White House to launch a unilateral operation in the area between Tal Abyad and Serê Kaniyê (Ras al-'Ain in Arabic). This operation began immediately after the United States quickly pulled out fifty troops from this area, located at the Tel Arqam base and one unidentified Tal Abyad base. The ‘Fountain of Peace’ operation has been launched despite the earlier Turkish-U.S. security mechanism agreement dating back to August, which would have in theory prevented such an attack. Serê Kaniyê itself was captured by the Kurdish forces in a battle with Al Qaida and Free Syrian Army (FSA) rebels in July 2013, but the battle has now returned to the city.

Turkey’s newest operation follows earlier efforts such as operation Olive Branch (Jan-March 2018) and operation Euphrates Shield (August 2016-March 2017), which both had similar goals to prevent the establishment of a Kurdish-led entity on the Turkish border. Just as with previous operations, this operation also has a de-facto green light from Russia, which hopes to force the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) to surrender to Damascus. The current goal of Turkey’s ‘Fountain of Peace operation’ seems to be control much of this 125-kilometer (78-mile) zone where the SDF had removed fortifications earlier. Turkey possesses surveillance video and information of this area from reconnaissance aircraft from earlier joint aerial and ground patrols, which is helping to facilitate the operation.

Ultimately, Turkey actually benefited from the security mechanism agreement, including from SDF-linked forces removing their fortifications from the area in September. It is likely that Turkey was never planning on committing to the agreement and intended to use the security mechanism in order to gain information about the locations of troops in the Tal Abyad and Serê Kaniyê zone before the operation. This was also demonstrated by Turkey’s uniting Syrian rebel groups, which are now being called the National Army, from different territories under the interim government’s Defense Ministry on October 4.

Turkey had also publicly voiced its intentions to begin this most recent operation for months. In January, the Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said that “we will never allow a safe zone that will turn into a new swamp for Turkey like the one in Northern Iraq.” The goal of the current efforts can be understood as preventing the Kurdish Peoples Protection Units (YPG) in Syria, a principle component of the SDF, from gaining autonomy in the way that Iraqi Kurds were able to achieve after Saddam’s forces withdrew from northern Iraq in 1991.

Ankara is motivated by its belief that the YPG is indistinguishable from the Turkish-Kurdish organization of the PKK, which is a terror-designated entity by both Turkey and other NATO members, including the United States. Thus, Turkey sees any Kurdish entity controlled by the YPG as a threat to Turkey’s territorial integrity.

American Attitudes and Response
While Turkey’s motives for the attack are clear, the role of the United States in facilitating the attack is less expected. Even so, a senior U.S. diplomat confirmed on Thursday that the United States had been briefed on Turkey’s military incursion, stating "We think they’re all a bad idea. But we have no indication—but they have not given us any indication that they plan on any escalation further than what they’ve told us.” Therefore, it is likely that the United States would oppose Turkish escalation of the conflict outside this former ‘security mechanism’ zone.

This unspoken red line helps explains the warnings from the U.S. president Donald Trump on Twitter that the United States could ‘destroy’ the Turkish economy if Turkey does something “off-limits,” while later praising Turkey as a trade and NATO partner. Trump’s messages indicate that there appears to be a de-facto agreement between Turkey and the United States on the limits of this operation, and that the U.S. President wants Turkey to finish this operation quickly and without civilian casualties.

Given Mr. Erdogan’s scheduled meeting with president Donald Trump on November 13, it is likely that the former hopes to establish Turkish control of at least Tal Abyad and Serê Kaniyê on the ground before this meeting. Yet if Turkey succeeds in taking these two towns, it may also try to push for the town of Ain al Issa to control the M4 road, which would open up the way to encircle Kobani and open the road to Raqqa—effectively cutting SDF-held territory in two. This strategic town was initially captured by the Kurds during their taking of Tal Abyad in June 2015 from ISIS. However, on Sunday the situation changed when the White House ordered its troops to withdraw, fearing they would get caught between two opposing armies.

Turkish Tactics and SDF Response
Tactically, Turkey was carrying out a slow campaign with artillery and air support with little direct engagement. Movements on the map showed that the Turks were trying to surround both Tal Abyad and Serê Kaniyê from the east and west. In response, the SDF was likely to try to stop this encirclement by attacking in the rear. “In such a scenario, we have to relieve the pressure on a specific force which has been cornered,” one former SDF fighter told the author last summer. “If one of the cities is attacked, forces from all other cities have to intervene.” Meanwhile, Turkey is carrying out arbitrary airstrikes all over the border to cause confusion among the SDF forces.

The SDF was also working to open fronts on all sides of the Turkish border. For instance, they have engaged the Turkish army and its proxies near Derik, west of Kobani, and from Arima. One local media outlet, Rojava TV, has even claimed that the SDF opened eight fronts, while Turkey has only planned one.

Although the flat border area of this terrain is difficult to defend—in contrast to the mountainous Afrin captured earlier by Turkish and Turkish-backed forces—one former SDF fighter stated that the east of the Euphrates is more prepared in regards to ammunition, manpower, and weapons. After Afrin fell, SDF leaders subsequently took Turkish threats more seriously and no longer completely trusted foreign countries to stop a Turkish attack.

As the former fighter stated, “If one bullet is fired [in the northeast], all of the border [from Derik to Kobane] will be undermined’—it will be a fight for life or death.” In this campaign, the SDF have weapons, ammunition, trenches, and enough fighters. “The lines behind the frontline are wide enough for the movements of the logistics; it is more than 300 kilometers from the north to the Euphrates.” In contrast, Afrin was surrounded by Turkish territory and the Syrian regime, and in consequence had difficulties with logistical supply lines.

However, the different terrain also suggests that Turkish ambitions are likely not limited to Tal Abyad and Serê Kaniyê. Were Ankara to remain in the two cities without expanding, they would be surrounded by the SDF from all sides. In this case, it would be more logical to control the M4 road and eventually take Manbij to connect to the Euphrates Shield areas. This would also split the SDF-controlled areas in two. President Erdogan himself said during his UNGA speech that Ankara wants a 30 kilometers deep peace, which could be extended to Raqqa and Deir ez Zor. These words suggest that Erdogan’s final goal is to completely eliminate the SDF. However, this potential outcome depends on the stance of the international community.

In response, Ilham Ahmed, the co-president of the Syrian Democratic Council—the political wing of the SDF—said to the author that “Turkey’s Erdogan has an eye on all Syria, especially the northeast of the country where the land is rich, to confiscate the energy and resources there.” 

After Turkey started to bomb Ain al Issa and threatened to cut the SDF-held area in two by planning to capture the strategic town, U.S. troops moved out of Kobani and Ain al Issa. As a result, the SDF took the bitter decision to invite the Syrian government to come to the border territories of northern Syria to stop further Turkish attacks and extension into Syrian territory. However, an SDF source says that so far, Syrian forces have only been deployed in Manbij and Kobani. Therefore, it remains to be seen in the coming months if Turkey will continue its operations, and if Damascus and Russia allow Turkey to further expand.

Customize your RSS Feed