أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

ساحات الحرب في سوريا تفرق الخصماء لكن المعابر المربحة تجمعهم


متاح أيضاً في English

3 آذار/مارس 2020

على الرغم من انهيار الاقتصاد السوري نتيجة الحرب الدائرة هناك منذ سنوات، تحول اقتصاد البلد إلى اقتصاد حرب يستفيد منه ما يطلق عليهم ﺑ “تجار الحرب”، وهم هم أشخاص يستغلون الحرب والحصار وفقر الكثيرين ليراكموا ثروات طائلة. وينشط تجار الحرب هؤلاء عبر المعابر التي تربط المناطق المتخاصمة، التي أصبحت المنفذ الوحيد للاجئين السوريين للعثور على الأمان.

ساهمت المنافع الاقتصادية التي قد تدرها تلك المعابر في إنشاء شبكة مصالح بين الأطراف المتنازعة، حيث باتت تشكل تلك المعابر مصدرا مالياً هاماً بالنسبة لفصائل المعارضة، خاصة بعد تراجع الدعم الخارجي، كما تستفيد القوات والمليشيات الموالية لنظام الأسد من تلك المعابر وهو ما يضمن ولائها.

وبينما تتزايد أعداد السوريين الهاربين من الموت تحت القصف العنيف المتواصل على منازلهم وأراضيهم من قبل قوات نظام الأسد وشركاؤه الروس، منتظرين بلا نهاية بمحاذاة الحدود التركية آملاً بأن تسمح لهم السلطات التركية بالعبور إلى أراضيها حيث الأمان والسلامة، قامت هذه السلطات بافتتاح معبر واحد أمامهم فقط: معبر داخلي في منطقة الهبيط (إدلب) يسمح لهم بالانتقال إلى الأراضي الواقعة تحت سيطرة قوات النظام وحلفائه ضمن الاتفاق القائم بين روسيا وتركيا. وعلى الرغم من أن المسؤولين الأتراك قد صرحوا بأن تركيا لم تعد تراقب الحدود مع اليونان وبلغاريا، إلا أنه لا يزال مصير السوريين المحاصرين في شمال غرب سوريا قاتما.

وهكذا، يجد السوريون حاليا أنفسهم أمام خياريين، كلاهما قاتل: فإما البقاء تحت القصف في الأراضي التي تقع تحت سيطرة المعارضة، أو الانتقال الى الأراضي الواقعة تحت سيطرة النظام – وهو الخيار الذي يرفضه معظم النازحين خوفاً من قيام النظام بالانتقام منهم، بالتنكيل أو الاعتقال، كما فعل سابقاً في مناطق مُدنٍ أُخرى.

ظلت المعابر الحدودية مع تركيا مُغلقةً في وجه النازحين، ولا تفتح إلا في بعض الحالات الطبية الطارئة، أو للأغراض التجارية، أو لنقل البضائع من وإلى تركيا. إذ باتت هذه النشاطات التجارية تشكل مصدر دخل كبير لتجار الحرب من كافة الأطراف. فعلى سبيل المثال: يُسمح لبعض السوريين، من أقارب قيادات الفصائل العسكرية المتواجدة في الشمال السوري، باستيراد شحنات من البضائع الأساسية وإدخالها "ترانزيت" (أي دون دفع ضرائب، والاكتفاء برسوم رمزية) إلى سوريا. وغالباً ما يتم إدخال هذه البضائع عبر المعابر الداخلية من المناطق الخاضعة لسيطرة المعارضة أو تلك الخاضعة لسيطرة قوات سوريا الديموقراطية إلى المناطق الواقعة تحت سيطرة النظام. وتشكل عوائد هذه التجارة السوداء أحد الأسباب الأساسية وراء الصراع المستمر للسيطرة على المعابر الحدودية خاصة معبر "باب السلامة" في إعزاز في ريف حلب، ومعبر "جرابلس"، ومعبر" تل" أبيض في الرقة.

وهناك أيضا معبر "باب الهوى" الذي يقع تحت سيطرة ما يسمى بحكومة الإنقاذ التابعة لهيئة تحرير الشام، جبهة النصرة سابقاً، التي بحسب مصادر موثوقة، تعقد صفقات سرية مع النظام السوري لتهريب الكثير من البضائع الأساسية مثل السكر والطحين والأدوية، القادمة أساساً من تركيا. ويعادل مدخول هذه العملية في باب الهوى، بحسب المصادر ذاتها، ما تجنيه المعابر السابقة مجتمعة، نظراً لكمية البضائع المستوردة وقدرة الأطراف المختلفة – السلطات التركية وهيئة تحرير الشام والميليشيات التابعة لنظام الأسد – على تأمين المعابر والطرق.

وبحسب تقديرات المصادر المحلية ذات الصلة وبعض الموظفين العالمين في تلك المعابر، تحقق المعابر التي تقع تحت رعاية الدولة التركية والحكومة المؤقتة دخلا يومياً يقارب المليون ليرة تركية (مائة ألف دولار)، تودع مباشرة في "بنك زراعات" التركي في حساب باسم رئيس الحكومة السورية المؤقتة. وتقتصر مهمة رئيس الحكومة في اتباع الإرشادات التركية وتوقيع أذونات وسندات الصرف لصالح المجالس المحلية في مناطق المعارضة التي خضعت للنفوذ التركي عقب عمليات درع الفرات وغصن الزيتون ونبع السلام. كما يقوم "الرئيس" أيضاً بصرف تعويضات الفصائل المنضوية مؤخراً تحت عباءة ما يسمى بـ "الجيش الوطني."

وفى حين تحصل تركيا على نصيب الأسد من واردات تلك المعابر، تحصل الحكومة السورية المؤقتة فقط ما يبلغ الخمس مائة ألف ليرة تركية شهرياً فقط من دخول المعابر، أي ما يعادل 2% من ذاك الدخل، على الرغم من أن التفاهم القائم بين الحكومة التركية والحكومة السورية المؤقتة ينص على تقديم 30% من دخول المعابر إلى الحكومة المؤقتة. ولكي تصحح هذا الوضع، دخلت الحكومة السورية المؤقتة الجديدة بقيادة عبد الرحمن مصطفى، بمباحثات جديدة مع الحكومة التركية حول واردات المعابر أفضت إلى اتفاق جديد يتم وفقه تخصيص 15% من الدخول لصالح الحكومة المؤقتة. لكن، وعلى الرغم من مرور أكثر من شهرين على هذا الاتفاق، لم تتجاوز عائدات الحكومة المؤقتة من دخل المعابر أكثر من 750 ألف ليرة تركية، وهو أقل بكثير من الـ 15% المتفق عليها، وهذا يعرقل من قدرة الحكومة في التعامل بشكل فعال مع أزمة اللاجئين والنازحين. وتبقى الكرة في هذا الخصوص في ملعب القوى الكبرى والمجتمع الدولي المنوط بهما توفير المساعدات المالية وغيرها، لأكثر من مليون مواطن محاصرين هناك. 

يبدو أن الحل لازمة المعابر واحتكارها من قبل أفراد يجب أن يبدأ بالضغط على الحكومة التركية لتعمل على تفعيل دور الحكومة السورية المؤقتة بشكل حقيقي كحكومة تكنوقراط مستقلة تتولى وزاراتها المعنية الإدارة والإشراف على أعمال المعابر والمجالس المحلية في الداخل السوري، وأن تدعم الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية الحكومة السورية المؤقتة بالخبراء والدراسات وتدريب طواقمها التي تعمل في تلك المعابر. وفى حين قد تطرح بعض الأسئلة حول كيفية استجابة أوروبا لهذه الأزمة الإنسانية الكبرى، لا ينبغي التغاضي عن تجار الحرب في سوريا. في غضون ذلك، لا يزال السوريون الذين يواجهون واحدة من أسوأ الأزمات الإنسانية منذ بداية الحرب حيث انهم محاصرين، بطريقة ما أو بأخرى.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Syrian Battlefields Divide Adversaries; Lucrative Border Crossings Bring Them Together


Also available in العربية

March 3, 2020

Despite the collapse of the Syrian economy due to the ongoing war that has raged for years, Syria’s war economy benefits those known as “war profiteers,” who exploit the war, siege, and mass poverty to amass vast resources. These profiteers operate via border crossings that connect regions in conflict, which continue to play a key and unique role in whether Syrian refugees can find safety.

But the potential profit of controlling these crossings has developed a network of interests between the warring factions. These border crossings also represent an important source of income for opposition forces, especially since foreign support has dried up. At the same time, the forces and militias loyal to the Assad regime also benefit from these crossings, which ensures their allegiance to the government.

In the face of non-stop bombardment by the Assad regime and its Russian partners, the number of Syrians fleeing the death and destruction of the latest push on Idlib are increasing. They have massed near the Turkish border in the hopes that Turkish authorities would grant them safe passage into the country, where they may find peace and security. However, these authorities have opened only one border crossing for them: a domestic border crossing within the Hbit region (Idlib), in which they can move through territory under the control of regime forces and their allies according to the current agreement between Russia and Turkey. And though the conversation on borders has shifted with Turkey's announcement that it is no longer monitoring the borders with Greece and Bulgaria, the fate of Syrians still trapped in northwest Syria remains grim.

Thus, Syrians currently have only two options before them, both of which are deadly: remain under bombardment in opposition-held areas or move into regime-held territory, an option which most of these Internally displaced people (IDPs) have rejected for fear of regime reprisal, either through imprisonment or torture, as this has previously been the case in other urban areas.

Meanwhile, the Syrian-Turkish border crossings remain closed to IDPs, opening only in some cases of medical emergency, for commercial purposes, or to transport goods to and from Turkey. As such, these commercial activities have become a large source of income to the war profiteers on all sides of the conflict. For example, some Syrian relatives of the leaders of military factions active in northern Syria are allowed to import shipments of essential goods and bring them into Syria under “transit” (i.e. without paying taxes, merely paying symbolic fees). Much of the time, these goods are sent via domestic crossings from regions under the control of the opposition or the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF) to regime-held territories. The revenue generated from the black market is the main reason behind such continuous conflicts over border crossings, especially Bab al-Salama Border Crossing in Azaz (rural Aleppo), Jarabulus Border Crossing, and Tel Abyad Border Crossing in Raqqa.

There is also the Bab al-Hawa Border Crossing controlled by the so-called Syrian Salvation Government loyal to Hayat Tahrir al-Sham (HTS), formerly known as the Al-Nusra Front, which, according to credible sources, brokers secret deals with the Syrian regime to smuggle in many essential goods, such as sugar, flour, and medicine, from Turkey. According to these same sources, the income generated by this operation at Bab Al-Hawa is equal to that earned by all the other aforementioned border crossings combined, even when considering the amount of imported goods and the ability of all the different factions—Turkish authorities, HTS, and pro-Assad militias—to secure the crossings and roads.

According to the estimates of relevant local sources and some international workers at those crossings, the crossings supervised by the Turkish state and Syrian Interim Government (SIG) earn a daily income of nearly one million Turkish lira ($100,000). This money is deposited directly into a Turkish Ziraat Bankası bank account under the name of the SIG President, the Turkish-supported governmental alternative to Assad whose main tasks include following Turkish instructions and signing bonds and vouchers for local city councils within opposition-held territories. These are the territories that have fallen under Turkish influence following Operations Euphrates Shield, Olive Branch, and Peace Spring. The ‘President’ also disburses compensation to factions that have lately rallied under the mantle of the so-called “National Army.”

While Turkey reaps the lion’s share of the proceeds from those crossings, the SIG only takes in about five hundred thousand TL per month or 2% of the total estimated income of the crossings, in spite of the current understanding between the Turkish government and the SIG that the latter should receive 30% of the revenue. To rectify this situation, the newest iteration of SIG—led by Abdurrahman Mustafa—entered into new talks with the Turkish government about the border crossing proceeds, which resulted in a new agreement allocating 15% of the income to the SIG. However, although more than two months have passed since that new agreement, the SIG’s revenue from the border crossing reached only about 750,000 TL, which is much less than the agreed-upon 15%. A lack of access to this key cash flow has been a major hindrance to the Syrian Interim Government’s ability to effectively deal with the refugee crisis. With the situation on the ground worsening every day, the ball remains in the court of the superpowers and international community to provide aid, financial and otherwise, to over a million citizens trapped there.

It seems that the solution to the border crossing crisis and their monopolization by individuals should start with pressure on the Turkish government to truly activate the SIG’s role as an independent technocratic government. Turkey should then hand over the administration and supervision of these border crossings to its relevant ministries and local councils within Syria. Secondly, the United States should support the SIG with experts, studies, and training for its staff working at those border crossings. With focus likely to shift towards a question of how Europe’s most recent response to Syria’s ongoing major humanitarian crisis, the profiteering of those on the ground should not be ignored. In the meantime, Syrians facing one of the worst humanitarian crises since the beginning of the war remain trapped, one way or another.

Customize your RSS Feed