أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

المنهجية قبل العقيدة في معالجة التشدد - تعقيب على مقال شورش خاني حول مخيم الهول


متاح أيضاً في English

15 تموز/يوليو 2020

دعوة شورش خاني لإيلاء المزيد من الاهتمام للوضع في مخيم الهول هامة ومقنعة. إذ يبدو أن أصحاب القرار في العواصم العالمية قد استكانوا إلى اندحار تنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، وتراخوا بشأن مخلفات القضية في مخيم الهول. المطروح اليوم هو إشراك المحكمة الدولية، والتوقع هو أن جهوداً سوف تبذل في سبيل تليين التشدد الذي استقر في نزلاء المخيم. وإذا كان الهدف هو إلحاق الهزيمة بتنظيم الدولة، فيبدو أن التوجه هو إلى اعتبار أن الإنجاز قد تمّ. ولكن المسألة تتعدى تنظيم الدولة.

من بوكا في العراق، إلى باغرام في أفغانستان وصيدنايا في سوريا، تأكد دور معسكرات الاعتقال الجماعية كحواضن للتشدد والإرهاب. و «الخليفة» المزعوم السابق لتنظيم «الدولة الإسلامية»، أبو بكر البغدادي، والذي قتل في غارة أميركية في تشرين الأول الماضي، كان قد انخرط في شبكة الجهاد المتشدد في سجن بوكا حيث اعتقلته القوات الأميركية. وليس من المبالغة القول بأن «دولة الخلافة» قد جرت صياغتها في المعتقل. والعديد من قادة الفصائل الجهادية في سوريا هم من «خريجي» سجن صيدنايا السيء السمعة، بل تفيد التقارير أن نظام دمشق قد أفسح المجال أمام قيام شبكات المتشددين، بل ربما دفع بهذا الاتجاه، في سبيل الاستثمار في المراحل التالية.

ولا شك أن الموارد المناسبة ترصد لهذه السجون والمعتقلات لاحتواء المحاذير وتطويقها، بما في ذلك الجهود الاستخبارية الكفيلة بجمع المعلومات عن المساعي الإرهابية وإحباطها. على أن الدرس الأول المستفاد من هذه تجارب الحشد البشري هذه هي أن النتيجة الإيجابية المبتغاة، أي تعطيل الإرهابيين المتحققين والمحتملين، تقابلها نتيجة عرضية سلبية تستنزفها، وهي تعزيز التواصل والتشدد والاندفاع في صفوفهم.

وإذا ما جرت مقارنة حالة مخيم الهول بأحوال بوكا وباغرام وصيدنايا، فالواضح أنه للهول نقاط ضعف أكثر، ونقاط قوة أقل. فوحدات «قسد» المولجة بحراسة المخيم في شحة نسبية في العتاد والأدوات، ثم أنها محبطة ومستنزفة نتيجة ما تعتبره تخلياً من الولايات المتحدة عن دعمها إثر الانسحاب الأميركي المفاجئ العام الماضي. ومن جهة أخرى، فإن سكان المعتقل، وجلّهم من النساء والأطفال، أعدادهم مرتفعة وإمكانية الاستقصاء في أوساطهم محدودة والسيطرة عليهم صعبة.

وما يفاقم الوضع القائم، هو أن المعتقل يقع في ناحية يتعاطف العديد من أهلها مع المعتقلين، ويتعاملون مع قوات «قسد»، عند الحد الأدنى، بغيظ مكبوت. فيبدو من جوانب عدة وكأن مخيم الهول ليس معتقلاً بقدر ما هو أرض خاضعة للاحتلال، يعمد سكانها إلى «المقاومة» بأفعال رمزية (وأخرى مادية)، من رفع علم لتنظيم الدولة اختاطوه محلياً، إلى إطلاق الشتائم على دوريات قسد داخل المخيم. وقد كان لا بد من غضّ النظر عن «السوق السوداء» داخل المخيم لسد العوز في احتياجاته، غير أن ذلك ساهم في تمكين شبكات تهريب للبضائع والأشخاص، وغيرها من العمليات الخفية.

وإذا كان تنظيم الدولة قد تهاوى كبنية قيادة وسيطرة، وليس بموقع مد يد العون والدعم لسكان المخيم، فإن «نساء الدولة الإسلامية» داخل المخيم، بما يقدمن عليه من حسبة وفرض للحدود، يشهدن على القوة المستمرة للصيغة الجهادية المتشددة كمنهجية نقّالة.

فبالتوافق مع المقاربة التي اعتمدها وطبقها تنظيم الدولة في كافة الأراضي التي كانت خاضعة له، العقيدة محسومة، وليست موضوع بحث أو نقاش. استيعاب الأفراد يجري بالتالي من خلال التركيز على الطاعة العملية: الشعائر، الاستثمار بالأفعال عبر البذل والتكرار، والتوريط الاعتيادي. والحصيلة هي أن اندراج الفرد في الإطار الصارم يمسي تلقائياً ويتعزز ويتواصل بذاته. فـ «الدولة الإسلامية»، من حيث هي قيادة ومؤسسات قد زالت. أما من حيث هي منهجية، فهي حيّة ترزق في مخيم الهول.

واحتمال الاندحار، مع إمكانية العودة من خلال اعتماد التشدد والقطعية، أمر لحظه المنظرين الجهاديين. فالانبعاث المتجدد لـ «الدولة الإسلامية»، بلام العهد، شأن تتضاءل أهميته، في حال نجا النظام الديني الشمولي واستمر في وسط فرقة تتمسك به إلى حين قيام جديد للدولة الإسلامية، بلام الجنس. وعند اعتبار الأوضاع القائمة في مخيم الهول اليوم، يبدو من الصعب إيجاد ظروف أكثر ملاءمة لهذا المسار. أي أن الانتهاء من سيطرة دولة الخلافة المزعومة على الأراضي والولايات، وقصم ظهرها وقتل قادتها وإسقاط رايتها، ومطاردة من موّلها وتعامل معها، هي أوجه ضرورية ولكنها ليست كافية لاعتبار أن الانتصار قد تحقق إزاء الدولة الإسلامية.

بل هو تخلف عالمي عن أداء الواجب، عائد إلى قصر نظر دون عذر وإلى استرخاء وتفريط، أن تُلقى مسؤولية اعتراض القيام المتجدد للإرهاب على عاتق وحدات «قسد»، بما هي عليه من سوء تجهيز لا يعوّضه حسن نواياها. فمخيم الهول هو خطر داهم وواضح للاستقرار في الشمال الشرقي السوري، ولكنه أيضاً خزّان متجدد من البشر والصور للموجة القادمة من الجهاد العالمي الإرهابي. ويبدو أن الكلفة الفورية، مالياً وسياسياً، هي ما يعترض الإقدام على الحل المنطقي لهذه الحالة، أي تفكيك المخيم إلى المقومات التي تعكس مسؤوليات المعنيين المباشرين، بما في ذلك الدول التي جاء منها الجهاديون الأجانب وأسرهم.  فعوضاً عن ذلك، يبدو بأن أصحاب القرار في العالم قد اكتفوا بالتلويح بدور لم تنضج تفاصيله بعد للعدالة الدولية.

الحاجة ماسة إلى إعادة موازنة فورية للترتيبات في المعتقل. وحدات «قسد» تستحق المزيد من الأدوات والتدريب والتمويل لإدارة مناسبة لمخيم الهول. على أن المخيم من حيث المبدأ يتطلب إعادة اعتبار تجعل منه معتقلاً مؤقتاً وحسب، إلى حين تبين الحلول الأفضل، بدلاً من أن يستمر بوضعه القائم، كأرض محتلة تواجه احتلالاً دائماً مرتبكاً.

المعضلة الحالية هي أن الحكمة السائدة تقتضي تحرير المعتقلين، أي النساء والأطفال، من قبضة التشدد قبل إخراجهم من المعتقل، في حين أن بقاءهم في المعتقل هو في واقع الأمر العقبة الأولى أمام تحقيق هذا التحرير الفكري. فالأصح، رغم التعارض الظاهر مع الحكمة السائدة، هو اعتبار التشدد الفكري فرع واشتقاق من التشدد السلوكي القائم داخل المخيم، وليس العكس. فإخراج العائلات من المخيم هو الخطوة الأولى لتوفير فرصة لهم للانعتاق من قبضة التشدد. وكلما طال بقاؤهم في المعتقل، كلما تضاءلت إمكانيات نجاحهم في التخلص من المنهج والعقيدة وما يليهما من إرهاب، وكلما زاد الخطر الذي على العالم ككل أن يواجهه.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Praxis before Faith in Tackling Radicalism—A Response to Shoresh Khani


Also available in العربية

July 15, 2020

Shoresh Khani presents a coherent argument for greater attention to the situation at al-Hawl. Satisfied with the defeat of ISIS, world decision makers seem not much engaged in the residual question of al-Hawl. Some international court involvement is suggested, and de-radicalization efforts are anticipated. If the goal is that ISIS be defeated, many are confident that the mission has been accomplished. The issue, however, is well beyond ISIS.

From Bucca in Iraq, to Bagram in Afghanistan and Sednaya in Syria, the role of detention camps as incubators of radicalism and terrorism has been soberly recognized. The ‘Caliph’ of the ‘Islamic State’ Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi—killed last October in a U.S. raid—was integrated into the web of extreme jihadists in the course of his detention by the United States in Bucca. These experiences helped shape the ‘Caliphate.’ Many of the leaders of Syrian jihadist factions are similarly ‘graduates’ of the Sednaya prison complex, where the regime has reportedly allowed or even fostered the emergence of radical networks towards further exploitation.

It is true that commensurate resources are allocated for these types of facilities to manage and mitigate the dangers, and that deliberate intelligence programs are deployed to gather information and foil terrorist planning. However, the main lesson learned from these experiments in human concentration may be the realization that the benefit of keeping terrorists and potential terrorists off-line is eroded by the risks resulting in the enhancement of their cohesion, militancy, and radicalism.

Compared to Bucca, Bagram, or Sednaya, al-Hawl as a detention facility has more liabilities and fewer assets. The SDF units in charge of securing the camp are less equipped and poorly supplied than those stationed at the aforementioned camps, and have been depleted and demoralized by last year’s perceived abandonment by the U.S. Administration. Their detained population, mostly women and children, is numerous, opaque, and more difficult to control.

More importantly, the camp is located within a region with a considerable affinity for the detainees, and with at best a frustrated hostility towards the SDF. In many ways, al-Hawl does not behave as a detention camp but as an occupied territory, with the detainees often engaging in symbolic (and actual) acts of ‘resistance’—from raising home-made ISIS flags to shouting insults at SDF patrols. An underground economy, bridging outside of the camp has been inevitable to provide lacking supplies, while also engaging in smuggling, human trafficking, and other illicit operations.

The ‘Islamic State’ as a command and control structure has been largely obliterated, and may be in no position to provide aid and support to the camp’s population. Yet inside the camp, the “Women of the Islamic State,” perpetuating harsh religious regimentation, are a testimony to the enduring power of militant jihadism as a portable methodology. In line with the approach adopted and implemented by the ‘Islamic State’ over its years of territorial control, ideology is assumed; it is neither proposed nor debated. Indoctrination is accomplished through praxis—rituals, investment in actions, and routinized complicity. The patterns thus set are self-reinforcing and self-perpetuating. As leadership and institutions, the ‘Islamic State’ is no longer. As methodology, it is alive and well at al-Hawl.

The possibility of defeat—and the potential for resurgence through intransigence—had been anticipated by radical theorists. The resurrection of the ‘Islamist State’ itself is of little importance as long as the totalitarian religious order is communally maintained, burrowed during trying times, and delivered to the next incarnation of an ‘Islamic state.’ In considering the current situation of al-Hawl, it is hard to see what better conditions can be set for such an endeavor. Ending the territorial control of the Caliphate, eliminating the ISIS leadership, and pursuing Islamic State funders and operatives are certainly necessary steps. However, they do not amount to victory against it.

It is a global dereliction of duty, driven by inexcusable short-sightedness and complacency, to abandon the responsibility of managing and interdicting the reemergence of terrorism to the care of the well-meaning but dramatically under-equipped SDF. The al-Hawl camp amounts to a clear and present danger, exposing northeastern Syria to potential unrest certainly but also preparing new human and propaganda tools for the next phase of global terrorist jihad. The immediate cost, political and financial, seems to preclude the most reasonable course of action, that of breaking the camp into components to be assumed by direct stakeholders—including the countries of origin of foreign detainees. Instead, the veneer of global engagement seems limited to yet-to-be-fully-defined role for international courts.

A “re-balancing” of the detention arrangement is imperative. The SDF ought to be provided with more tools, more training, and more funds to manage the task. But the camp need in turn be re-conceived as a detention facility—a temporary transit point while better solutions are identified, not as a territory under a permanent lukewarm occupation.

The catch-22 situation seems to be that “de-radicalizing” ISIS families is perceived as a pre-requisite to their exit from the camp, while their mere presence in the camp is an insurmountable obstacle to said de-radicalization efforts. Counterintuitively, it is important to recognize that the ideological radicalism of the camp population is largely the visible aspect of its behavioral radicalism. Extracting these families from the camp is the first step towards giving them a chance to escape the radical stranglehold. The longer they stay in the camp, the less the possibilities of success at shedding the methodology and ideology of terrorism, and the more potential danger for the whole world.

Customize your RSS Feed