أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تعليق حسن منيمنة على مقال همبرفان كوسه «مخيّم الهول: حواضن محتملة للإرهاب والتطرف»


متاح أيضاً في English

10 شرين الأول/أكتوبر 2019

يقدم همبرفان كوسه في مقاله «مخيّم الهول: حواضن محتملة للإرهاب والتطرف » وصفاً دقيقاً لمسألة التطرف في صفوف مقاتلي تنظيم الدولة وأسرهم في مخيم الهول، ويطرح بعض المقترحات المثيرة للنقاش حول السبيل إلى حلها. على أنه لا بد من التشديد على أن المعضلة التي تواجهها منطقة الحكم الذاتي في الشمال الشرقي السوري في الهول هي على الراجح جزء أصيل من خطة طويلة الأمد يعتمدها تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية في إدارته لهزائمه المرحلية وليست نتيجة عرضية للمعركة. وتبيان هذه الخطة من شأنه المساعدة في اتخاذ الخطوات التي تجنب الوقوع في فخ تمكين التنظيم مع الاطمئنان الواهم بأن الهزيمة قد ألحقت به.

في حين كان التنظيم يعلن لجمهوره في أرجاء العالم أن قيام «دولة الإسلام» من أمارات اقتراب الساعة وبقاؤها وعد إلهي، فإن قيادته اتخذت خطوات تفيد بأنها كانت مدركة بأن نهج الفتوحات الذي أدّى إلى توسع سيطرته على الأراضي غير قابل للاستمرار. وعليه، فالتصعيد الذي أقدم عليه التنظيم من خلال العمليات الفظيعة التي استهدفت الأشخاص والأهداف المرتبطة بالغرب لم يكن خطأ في حساب النتائج بل كان ضربة استباقية على غرار ما شهدته الولايات المتحدة في پيرل هاربور خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية، تهدف إلى التحكم بتوقيت اندلاع المواجهة مع الغرب.

سعى تنظيم الدولة، في إطار إدارته لهزيمته المرتقبة. إلى اختيار من يتمكن من مواجهته من الأعداء، وإلى تحديد طبيعة المعارك التي يخوضها، كأن يمنح خصومه «الانتصارات المرّة»، دمار ولاجئين وموارد مهدورة، أو أن يتخلى عن المواجهة وينسحب تاركاً لدى أعدائه الارتباك. وفيما يتعلق بالنواة الموالية المؤلفة من عائلات الجهاديين، فإن السردية ابتدأت قبل الهزيمة لتبرز العزيمة الصلبة والبطولة والإخلاص والمدى الجيلي. ومن أجل الأغراض الدعائية، سمح تنظيم الدولة خارج المألوف بإظهار النساء (بالنقاب الكامل) في الإصدارات المرئية حول الباغوز، ملحمة الثبات الأخيرة في الابتلاء الأخير الذي أصاب المؤمنين. ومنذ أن جرى أسر هذه العائلات، والسردية تركّز على العزة رغم الصعوبات، وعلى التسخير الإلهي لأعداء المسلمين في إعادة تشكيل جيش الدولة الإسلامية.

ويتوجب التشديد، دون أي انتقاص من إنجازات «قوات سوريا الديمقراطية» وتضحياتها، أن تنظيم الدولة قد فضّل أن تكون وحدات حماية الشعب وحلفاؤها من يكسب المعركة الأخيرة بمواجهته، سواءاً للتعويل على أن يؤدي الانخراط الغربي بدعمها إلى ضبط سلوكها ومعاملتها للأسرى بما يسمح للتنظيم باستغلال الوقائع، أو لتمكنه من التشهير بعقائدها وقيمها على أنها نقائض للإسلام بما يضمن المزيد من اللحمة بين الأسرى من أتباع التنظيم.

فالمجتمع الدولي، من خلال تخليه عن الأسرى من أتباع التنظيم من غير المقاتلين وتركهم في عهدة الإدارة الذاتية في الشمال الشرقي السوري، حيث ثمة معايير للالتزام المدني، يسمح للتنظيم بتحقيق هذين الوجهين من توقعاته، كما يتبين استقرائياً. ومن الصعب توقع أن تتمكن أية محكمة تقام في الشمال الشرقي السوري، على غرار ما يقترحه كوسه، من التصدي لهذا الاستغلال. بل ما لا شك فيه هو أن المزيد من الاستثمار الدعائي سوف يحصل نتيجة تطويع الخطوات التي قد تقدم عليها أية محكمة هنا.

إذا كان الهدف منع تنظيم الدولة من تشكيل جيشه العتيد، لا بد بالمطلق من إغلاق مخيم الهول. والسبيل الأنجع قد يكون إقامة صندوق عالمي للإشراف على إعادة أتباع التنظيم إلى أوطانهم الأولى، وفق مقتضى القانون الدولي، وتمويل كلفة العودة، على أن يجري إعداد البرامج محلياً في كل دولة، بأشراف ومتابعة عالمياً، لإعادة تأهيل هؤلاء فكرياً وإعادة دمجهم اجتماعياً. فالأسرى في مخيم الهول، هذا الجيش العتيد لتنظيم الدولة، لا يجوز أن يستمر تجميعهم بما يسمح بحضانة التطرف ونموه، بل يجب العودة بهم إلى حقيقتهم، فهم عائلات من أصول وطنية مختلفة استولى عليهم هذا التنظيم الإرهابي وورّطهم في إطار سالب لقرارهم.

لم تنتهِ الحرب على تنظيم الدولة البتة. والخروج من ساحة المعركة وسط المواجهة المستمرة هو تسليم لتنظيم الدولة بانتصار من شأنه أن يكلّف العالم، بالأرواح والأموال، ما يفوق دون حساب الأرصدة المطلوبة اليوم لمعالجة المسألة.

تعليق نتيجة المستجدات: تفسح إدارة الرئيس ترامپ المجال، من خلال إعلانها الانسحاب من مواقعها المتقدمة في الشمال الشرقي السوري، أمام مواجهة بين حلفائها. هذه أخبار طيبة بالنسبة لتنظيم الدولة، ذلك أن العملية العسكرية التركية التي تستهدف منطقة الحكم الذاتي لحزب الاتحاد الديمقراطي في الشمال الشرقي السوري توفّر لهذا التنظيم فرصاً عديدة يمكن له الاستفادة منها، أخطرها دون شك تلك التي قدّمها الرئيس الأميركي نفسه من حيث لا يدري، إذ أعلن أن المسؤولية عن الأسرى من مقاتلي تنظيم الدولة سوف تحول إلى تركيا بعد إقامتها للمنطقة الآمنة في المنطقة.

فأنقرة، والتي أثبتت مراراً توجهها إلى تجيير تحركات تنظيم الدولة في مواجهتها لحزب الاتحاد المرتبط بحرب العمال الكردستاني، لا يمكن أن تتولى عهدة ما خلّفه تنظيم الدولة من المقاتلين وعائلاتهم. تركيا تسعى علناً إلى منع حزب الاتحاد من الاحتفاظ بمنطقة حكم ذاتي من خلال تقليص مساحتها مكانياً وتبديل تنركيبتها سكانياً، مع استقدام أعداد اللاجئين السوريين للإقامة فيها. ومن شأن هذا التوجه أن يقدّم لتنظيم الدولة هنا إمكانية تحقيق ما أنجزته جبهة النصرة في محافظة إدلب، أي المثابرة على التخريب عندما تكون المعارضة لها قوية، والاستئساد وفرض إرادتها عندما تمسي المعارضة لها ضعيفة. وسوف يتبين على الراجح الخطأ في تخلي الولايات المتحدة عن حضورها في الساحة السورية. على أنه إذا كانت الرغبة لدى واشنطن ألا يتدحرج الوضع إلى حد الكارثة، فإنه لا بد للإدارة الأميركية من الاحتفاظ بما خلّفه تنظيم الدول في مخيم الهول تحت رقابتها.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Response to “Al-Hawl Camp: A Potential Incubator of the Next Generation of Extremism”


Also available in العربية

October 10, 2019

Himbervan Kose, in his article “Al-Hawl Camp: A Potential Incubator of the Next Generation of Extremism” provides an apt description of the problem of radicalization at the al-Hawl camp of ISIS fighters and their families in Northeastern Syria along with several debatable pointers on how to address the issue. It is crucial, however, to underline that the current predicament faced by the Northeast Syrian Autonomous Region in al-Hawl is likely a deliberate part of ISIS’s strategy of tactical defeat rather than an incidental byproduct of warfare. Understanding this strategy should inform future steps at the camp to avoid falling into the trap of enabling future ISIS propaganda surrounding the camp.

Although ISIS’s narrative to its worldwide audience emphasized the belief that the emergence of the “Islamic State” was a feature of a divine mandate with apocalyptic dimensions, the actions of ISIS indicate that they were cognizant of the ultimately untenable nature of their predatory model of territorial expansion.

Even during the process of its defeat, ISIS worked to select its own enemies and to define the nature of the battles and left its foes with “bitter victories”―rubble, refugees, and high drain on resources. ISIS’s narrative to its loyal core even before the defeat highlighted the need to demonstrate unshakable will, heroism, fidelity, and a commitment to raising the next generation to become followers of ISIS. To further strengthen this propaganda effect, ISIS allowed the highly unusual filming of (fully covered) women in some of its propaganda releases in its “epic” last stand at Baghuz, which it classified as a “test of the believers” (ibtila’). The subsequent imprisonment of these families—mainly at al-Hawl—is now framed by ISIS as one of triumph over adversity, with the enemy having been divinely manipulated to enable the future rebirth of an ISIS army.

Given this propaganda, and while in no way diminishing the accomplishments and the sacrifice of the Syrian Democratic Forces (SDF), it is important to stress that ISIS actually preferred for this group—led by the Kurdish People’s Protection Units (YPG)—to be its ultimate victor. Defeat at the hands of the SDF has played into the ISIS narrative due to the expectation that the SDF’s Western support will bind it to international standards towards captives that ISIS can exploit, and because the YPG’s ideology and values are denigrated as anathema to ISIS’s version of Islam. Both factors are likely to help solidify the cohesion of ISIS fighters and their families within the camps.

By abandoning the non-combatant ISIS population to the camps in PYD-ruled Northeast Syria, the international community is helping to reinforce the above narrative in ways that may ultimately benefit a resurgence of ISIS. Meanwhile, it is hard to see how any court that is set up in Northern Syria, in the manner that Kose suggests, would be able to diffuse the situation. Instead, efforts at dispensing justice inside Northern Syria are likely to provide further material for recruitment and propaganda through the mischaracterization of any and all court procedures.

Instead, camp al-Hawl must be closed if ISIS is to be denied the future army it sees fomenting in the camp. The best course of action may be to establish a global fund to supervise and finance the repatriation of all the camp’s population to their countries of origin, as mandated by international law. Funding should then be allocated for customized programs of de-radicalization and re-integration, developed locally and managed globally. The interned population of Camp al-Hawl, which should be understood as a potential ISIS army in the making, cannot be left concentrated and allowed to incubate. Instead, reducing this group to its national components is the best way to handle a potentially explosive situation.

Radicalization in the al-Hawl camp demonstrates that the war with ISIS is far from over. Abandoning the fight now is tantamount to offering ISIS a victory that will cost the world community far more in blood and resources than is currently needed to properly address the issue today.

UPDATE: By announcing the removal of its outposts in Northeastern Syrian, the Trump Administration has decided to enable a confrontation between its allies. For ISIS, this is indeed welcome news. The Turkish operation against the PYD-led region of northeastern Syria presents a multitude of opportunities for the terror organization to benefit, the most ominous of which being the one inadvertently offered by President Trump himself. The U.S. president has declared that captive ISIS fighters will become the responsibility of Turkey upon the establishment of its putative safe zone in Northeastern Syria.

Ankara, which has a demonstrable record of leveraging ISIS against the PKK-aligned PYD, cannot be entrusted with the management of the vexing problem of ISIS’s legacy of fighters and families. Turkey is openly seeking to deny the PYD the ability to create or maintain its autonomous region by reducing it geographically and reconfiguring it demographically through the anticipated relocation of Syrian refugees. Such conditions may provide ISIS with the reasonable prospect of emulating in the new Turkish supervised zone what the terrorist organization Jabhat al-Nusrah has accomplished in Idlib province under Turkish supervision―that of an underground spoiler when opposition is vigorous, and an open bully when it is weak. The United States’ abdication of position in the Syrian theaters will likely prove to be a mistake. But if Washington hopes to prevent the situation from devolving into an unmitigated disaster, the administration should certainly insure that the human legacy of ISIS in the al-Hawl camp remains firmly under its supervision.

Customize your RSS Feed