أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

"المنطقة الآمنة" التركية وطموحات أردوغان المتعلقة بالأراضي


Turkish tanks near the Syrian border.

متاح أيضاً في English

13 أيلول/سبتمبر 2019

اتفقت واشنطن وأنقرة حتى الآن على "منطقة آلية أمنية" لنزع فتيل التوتر، والتركيز على 75 – منطقة عازلة طولها ما بين تل أبيض ورأس العين، مع قيام الجيشين بإنشاء مركز مشترك للعمليات في أنقرة. وفي نهاية الأسبوع الماضي، وبعد أربع جولات استطلاعية في المنطقة، أجرت القوات الأمريكية والتركية أول دورية برية مشتركة. لكن تلك الجهود المشتركة لم تمنع أردوغان من انتقاد الولايات المتحدة منذ ذلك الحين، حيث اتهم واشنطن بالسعي لإقامة منطقة آمنة لـ "منظمة إرهابية"، في إشارة إلى وحدات حماية الشعب الكردي، التي تصنفها تركيا كجماعة إرهابية. وأوضح أردوغان أنه " إذا لم نبدأ بتشكيل "منطقة آمنة" مع جنودنا في شرق الفرات قبل نهاية سبتمبر فلن يكون لدينا خيار سوى تنفيذ خططنا الخاصة".

ومنذ ذلك الحين انتقد وزير الخارجية التركي مولود جاويش أوغلوا الولايات المتحدة، قائلاً إن مواقف الولايات المتحدة من المنطقة الآمنة في سوريا لا تطمئن تركيا. وقال "أن الخطوات التي اتخذتها الولايات المتحدة كانت “تجميلية” فقط". تعكس هذه التصريحات التركية المناهضة للولايات المتحدة عدم الثقة بين الجانبين، مما يوحي بأنه سيكون من المستحيل منع عداء أردوغان تجاه واشنطن ونواياه تجاه الأكراد السوريين من خلال الحفاظ على السياسات الحالية تجاه تركيا، خاصة وأن بوتن يدفع أردوغان نحو المواجهات والعنف مع الأكراد، وخاصة في إدلب. كما عبر المسؤولون الأمريكيون عن شكوكهم في قدرة الجيش التركي على مواصلة هذه العملية المكثفة والمعقدة في شمال شرق سوريا، لكنهم في نفس الوقت ما زالوا قلقين من أن أي غزو تركي سوف يتعارض مع أهداف وجهود مكافحة الإرهاب الأمريكية وعلاقاتها مع الحليف الناتو. ونتيجة لتلكك المخاوف، يقال إن البنتاغون يستعد حاليا لإرسال حوالي 150 جنديًا إلى شمال شرق سوريا للقيام بدوريات حراسة على الأرض إلى جانب القوات التركية. هذا الانتشار الجديد، الذي كان قد أبقى في السابق سراً، هو جزء من سلسلة من الخطوات العسكرية والدبلوماسية المتنامية التي اتخذتها الولايات المتحدة في الأسابيع الأخيرة لنزع فتيل التوترات المتزايدة مع تركيا حليفة الناتو بشأن دعم الولايات المتحدة للمقاتلين الأكراد السوريين، وهي تمثل خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح نحو كبح جماح المصالح التركية في شمال شرق سوريا.

وتتمحور التحديات التي تطرحها هذه المنطقة الآمنة حول بعض ساكنيها الحاليين، السوريون الأكراد. ففي العام 2014، التزمت إدارة أوباما وحلفاؤها في التحالف بدعم أكراد سوريا في حربهم ضدّ تنظيم "داعش". غير أن خطاب أردوغان اللاحق وتصرفاته أججت بشكل مستمر التوترات ومارست الضغوط على الأكراد في كردستان العراق وسوريا على السواء. وفي 2014 على أقرب تقدير، شملت استراتيجية الرئيس التركي ترك سكان كوباني – مدينة سورية تأوي شريحة كبيرة من الأكراد على مقربة من الحدود التركية – لمواجهة "داعش" بمفردهم. وشوهد الجنود الأتراك وهم لا يحركون ساكنًا بينما يتمّ تسوية كوباني بالأرض. فضلًا عن ذلك، استمر أردوغان في تطبيق سياسات تستغل الوجود المتواصل للتطرف في سوريا من أجل تحقيق مكاسب جيوسياسية، كل ذلك سعيًا إلى الحدّ من الطموحات الكردية على الحدود الجنوبية لتركيا وتقويض التعاون بين الأكراد والقوات الأمريكية في الحرب ضدّ تنيم "داعش".  
 
لكن حدة سياسات أردوغان وخطاباته التحريضية ضد أكراد سوريا تصاعدت في أعقاب قرار الرئيس ترامب الانسحاب من سوريا. فرغم أن الولايات المتحدة واصلت تحيّزها لحلفائها الأكراد خلال هذه الفترة، كان وقوفها ضدّ التدخل التركي غير فعال، ما عزّز بشكل أكبر استعدادات أردوغان لتوجيه ضربة ضد أهداف كردية في سوريا. في ذلك الوقت، لم يساهم غياب رسالة واضحة من الإدارة سوى في ترسيخ عزم أردوغان على اجتياح المناطق الكردية، مبررًا أفعاله هذه بمزاعم أن الأكراد يطرحون تهديدًا على الأمن القومي التركي. ولاحقًا، حوّل أردوغان أقواله إلى أفعال من خلال التآمر مع روسيا وإيران في غزو الجيب الكردي السوري في عفرين، الأمر الذي سمح في نهاية المطاف للمجموعات المتطرفة السورية المرتبطة بتحالف المعارضة السورية بارتكاب جرائم حرب لا تحصى بحق الأكراد واليزيديين. 

وفي ظل مساعيها إلى إلغاء الوجود الكردي على الحدود السورية، سلّحت تركيا أكثر من 40 ألف مقاتل سوري، ودعمت منظمات متطرفة إسلامية وتلقت الدعم من المعارضة السورية من أجل فرض حصار على مناطق الأكراد. ومنذ ذلك الحين، يطالب الأكراد الولايات المتحدة والمجتمع الدولي بإنشاء منطقة حماية أو "منطقة حظر جوي" في وجه هذه الجماعات المعارضة العنيفة. غير أن أمن أكراد سوريا سيتحسن فقط من خلال تغيير أطر المنطقة الآمنة القائمة حاليًا.

وخلال المفاوضات مع الولايات المتحدة، سعت تركيا إلى إقامة خط بعرض 40 كيلومترًا وبطول 380 كيلومترًا، في حين كان عرض الولايات المتحدة أقل بكثير حيث اقترحت إنشاء خط بعرض يتراوح بين 7 و 10 كيلومترات وبطول 140 كيلومترًا من كوباني إلى القامشلي. وبعد الكثير من النقاش من جانب الطرفين، تمّ تعليق القرار بشأن الأبعاد الفعلية للمنطقة، حتى لو كانت عملية إقامة المنطقة بحدّ ذاتها تحرز تقدمًا.

لكن مع تبلور العملية، من الضروري ألا تغيب طموحات تركيا في المنطقة عن بال الولايات المتحدة. فدور أردوغان وروحاني وبوتين في عرقلة التوصل إلى أي حل سياسي للنزاع السوري، ومساهمة تركيا في انتشار التطرف في سوريا من خلال توفير الدعم اللوجستي للجماعات المتطرفة وسيطرتها على جماعات جهادية راديكالية في إدلب وجرابلس والباب وعفرين، كلها عوامل أظهرت تركيا بمظهر الحليف غير الموثوق، وهو أمر يجب أخذه في الحسبان خلال إقامة المنطقة الآمنة.

فأردوغان ينفذ تكتيكاته المخادعة أساسًا، حيث أعلن وزير الدفاع التركي مؤخرًا أن روسيا ستستأنف تسليم منظومة الدفاع الصاروخية أس-400 إلى تركيا – معارضةً بذلك رغبات الولايات المتحدة. ورغم تبرير هذه المشتريات بالمخاوف الأمنية، انحرفت ممارسات تركيا الأخيرة جدًا عن الأفعال التي من شأنها تحقيق هذا الهدف، ما يشير إلى أن هذه الأسلحة قد تُستخدم لتوسيع الهيمنة التركية.

في المقابل، هدّدت الكثير من الأفعال التي نفذتها تركيا في سوريا تحت راية حماية أمنها القومي الأمن من خلال تعريض البلاد لمخاطر أمنية ومالية بسبب تدخلها في سوريا. وإلى أن تردّ الولايات المتحدة وتتصدى لجهود أردوغان، سيواصل هذا الأخير اللجوء إلى الخداع للفوز بالامتيازات وكسب الوقت.

وإن أقيمت المنطقة الآمنة في سوريا وفق شكلها الحالي المتفق عليه، سيعاني حلفاء الولايات المتحدة الأكراد من دون أن يعود ذلك بفائدة حقيقية على أمن تركيا. عوضًا عن ذلك، ستسهّل المنطقة الآمنة قمع أردوغان المستمر للأكراد من خلال سياسته المتشددة المعارضة لأي مكاسب سياسية قد يحققها الأكراد، في وقت يسرّع فيه التدخل التركي في سوريا. وفي الواقع، قد يؤجج توسيع المنطقة الآمنة، إلى جانب سياسة تركيا القائمة على تعزيز سيطرة الجماعات المتطرفة والمعارضة على شمال شرق سوريا، شرارة نزاع آخر – هذه المرة بين السوريين العرب والأكراد.

ومن شأن نزاع مماثل أن يعقّد الأزمة السورية بشكل أكبر. غير أن صمت الولايات المتحدة إزاء المسألة منح أردوغان الدعم الذي يحتاجه للمضي قدمًا في تنفيذ أجندته في سوريا، بما في ذلك من خلال اعتماد سياسات بغيضة معادية للمهاجرين محليًا، التي ربما صُمّمت لتنذر بإعادة توطين الملايين من المهاجرين السوريين الذين يعيشون حاليًا في تركيا في مدن كردية. وستشرد هذه العملية سكان المنطقة الحاليين وتكون بمثابة تكرار واسع النطاق لما حصل في عفرين. كذلك، قد تسهّل سيطرة تركيا على المنطقة الآمنة نقل إيران للأسلحة والمال إلى "حزب الله" ونظام الأسد، ما يساهم في استمرار النزاع في مناطق أخرى من سوريا أيضًا.

هذا وقد تساهم سيطرة تركيا على المنطقة الآمنة أيضًا في الالتفاف على العقوبات الأمريكية على إيران. فإن خضعت هذه المنطقة الآمنة لسيطرة تركيا، سيحصل أردوغان على منفذ إلى مصادر رئيسية للطاقة والغاز والنفط. كما قد تستخدم تركيا حدودها المشتركة مع سوريا والعراق لشراء الغاز الإيراني وتهريب السلع من طهران إلى أنقرة عبر سوريا بغية الالتفاف على العقوبات الأمريكية. يُذكر أنه سبق لتركيا أن تجاهلت العقوبات الأمريكية في الماضي، بما فيه عام 2012 عندما ساعدت إيران على تهريب 85 طنًا متريًا من الذهب عبر دبي – التي تعتبر مركز شحن معروفًا إلى إيران.

وكي تحافظ الولايات المتحدة على مصالحها في سوريا وتواصل مكافحة الإرهاب، عليها حماية حلفائها الأكراد من التهديدات التركية في المنطقة الآمنة. وبإمكانها القيام بذلك من خلال ضمان أمن الحدود بين تركيا والأكراد داخل سوريا، وتفويض مراكز الجيش بمراقبة المنطقة، وممارسة الضغط على تركيا للانسحاب من المدن السورية، ودعم حل سياسي برعاية الأمم المتحدة. وعلى الولايات المتحدة السعي إلى منح أكراد سوريا استقلالية لضمان مصالحهم ومستقبلهم في المنطقة. ففي النهاية، اتضح أن حلفاء الولايات المتحدة الأكراد في سوريا أكثر ولاء لمصالح الولايات المتحدة وحلف "الناتو" من تركيا.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Turkish ‘Safe Zone’ and Erdogan’s Territorial Ambitions


Turkish tanks near the Syrian border.

Also available in العربية

September 13, 2019

After a month of negotiations and much previous speculation, Washington and Ankara have agreed on a 75-mile buffer zone between Tall Abyad and Ras al-Ain, with the two armies establishing a joint operations center in Ankara. At the end of last week, U.S. and Turkish forces conducted their first joint ground patrol, but these joint efforts have not stopped Erdogan from criticizing the United States and accusing Washington of establishing a safe area for a "terrorist organization"—in reference to the Kurdish People's Protection Units (YPG). Erdogan elaborated that "If we don't start forming a safe zone with our soldiers in the east of the Euphrates before the end of September, we will have no choice but to implement our own plans.”

Turkish Foreign Minister, Mevlut Cavusoglu, also criticized the United States, claiming the U.S. position on the safe zone does not reassure Turkey and that "the steps taken by Washington are cosmetic." These anti-American Turkish statements reflect the distrust between the two nations, suggesting that Erdogan’s antagonistic attitude towards the United States and the Syrian Kurds will continue to guide Turkish policy in the region. American officials have expressed skepticism that the Turkish military could sustain a cross-border offensive to that scale into Northeast Syria, but are worried that a potential Turkish invasion would wreak havoc on American counter-terrorism goals. Due to these concerns, the Pentagon is preparing to send around 150 troops to patrol the ground alongside Turkish forces. This new deployment is part of a series of military and diplomatic steps the United States has taken to defuse rising tensions with Turkey over U.S. support for Syrian Kurdish fighters, and is a step in the right direction towards curbing Turkish interests in Northeast Syria.

The challenges of this safe zone revolve around some of its current occupants, the Syrian Kurds. In 2014, the Obama administration and its coalition allies committed to supporting the Syrian Kurds in their fight against ISIS. However, Erdogan’s subsequent rhetoric and actions have consistently inflamed tensions and put pressure on the Kurds of Iraqi Kurdistan and Syria.  As early as 2014, Erdogan’s strategy included letting the people of Kobani–a Syrian town with a large Kurdish population near the Turkish border–confront ISIS alone.  Turkish soldiers were seen sitting idly by as much of Kobani was reduced to rubble. Moreover, Erdogan has continued to pursue policies that exploit the continuing presence of extremism in Syria for geopolitical gains, all in an attempt to eliminate Kurdish ambitions on the southern border of Turkey and stifle the cooperation between Kurdish and U.S forces in the war against ISIS.

However, Erdogan’s policies and rhetoric against Syrian Kurds have escalated in the wake of President Trump’s decision to withdraw from Syria. Though the United States has continued to side with its Kurdish allies during this period, it has been ineffective in its advocacy against Turkish interference, further prompting Erdogan’s preparation to strike against his Kurdish targets in Syria. At the time, the administration’s lack of clear messaging only reinforced Erdogan’s determination to invade Kurdish areas, while Erdogan justified these actions by claiming Syrian Kurds were a threat to Turkish national security. Erdogan subsequently put words into action by colluding with Russia and Iran in its invasion the Syrian Kurdish enclave of Afrin, ultimately allowing Syrian extremist groups affiliated with the Syrian opposition coalition to commit countless war crimes against Kurdish and Yazidi populations.

In pursuit of a Syrian border cleared of Kurdish presence, Turkey has equipped more than forty thousand Syrian fighters, supported Islamic extremist organizations, and received support from Syrian opposition in order to siege Kurdish areas. Kurds have since called on the United States and the international community to create a zone of protection or a ‘no-fly zone’ against these violent opposition groups. However, only by shifting the parameters of the current safe zone will Syria’s Kurds become safer.

During negotiations with the United States, Turkey pushed for a 40-kilometer wide and 380-kilometer long line, while the United States offered significantly less, proposing a 7-10 kilometer deep and 140-kilometer long line from Kobani and Qamishli. After much debate from both sides, sorting out the actual dimensions of the zone have been put on hold, even as implementation of the zone itself is moving forward. 

However, as this process unfolds, it is imperative for the United States to remain mindful of Turkey’s ambitions in the region. Erdogan, Rouhani, and Putin’s role in preventing a political solution to the Syrian conflict, Turkey’s contribution to the spread of extremism in Syria by providing logistical support to extremist groups and its control over radical jihadist groups in Idlib, Jarablus, Al Bab, and Afrin have already exposed Turkey as an unreliable ally, which should be taken into account during the process of implementing the safe zone.

Erdogan’s deceptive tactics are already at play. The Turkish defense minister recently announced that Russia would resume the delivery of its S-400 missile defense system to Turkey–going against the United States’ wishes. Despite justifying these purchases through security concerns, Turkey’s recent practices have veered far away from actions that would further that goal, suggesting these weapons may be used to expand Turkish control.

Paradoxically, many of Turkey’s actions in Syria, which have been carried out in the name of safeguarding their national security, have threatened the preservation of security by exposing the country to serious security and financial vulnerabilities through its involvement in Syria. Until the United States responds by pushing back against Erdogan’s efforts, Erdogan will continue to use deception to win concessions and buy time.

If the safe zone in Syria is implemented in its currently agreed-upon form, the United States’ Kurdish allies will suffer without real benefit to Turkish security. Rather, the safe-zone will facilitate Erdogan’s continued suppression of Kurds through his hardline policy opposing any Kurdish political gains while accelerating Turkish incursion into Syria. The expansion of the safe zone, combined with Turkey’s policy of supporting extremist and opposition groups’ control of northeastern Syria, may actually spark another conflict—between Arab and Kurdish Syrians.

Such a conflict would only complicate the Syrian crisis further. Yet U.S. silence on the issue has given Erdogan the backing necessary to advance his agenda in Syria, including through anti-refugee nativist polices domestically, which may be designed as a precursor to resettling millions of Syrian refugees currently living in Turkey into Kurdish cities. Such a process would displace the region’s current inhabitants and serve as a large-scale replication of Afrin. Turkish control of the safe zone may also facilitate Iranian transport of weapons and money to Hezbollah and the Assad regime, allowing for the continuation of conflict in other areas of Syria as well.

Turkish control of the safe-zone may also serve to bypass U.S. sanctions on Iran. If this safe-zone comes under Turkish control, Erdogan will gain access to major sources of energy, gas, and oil. Turkey may also utilize their shared borders with Syria and Iraq to purchase Iranian gas and smuggle goods from Tehran to Ankara through Syria to bypass U.S. sanctions. Turkey has worked around U.S. sanctions in the past, including in 2012, when Turkey assisted Iran in smuggling 85 metric tons of gold through Dubai– a known transshipment point to Iran.

For the United States to preserve its interests in Syria and continue the countering of extremism, it should protect its Kurdish allies from Turkish threats in the safe zone area. It can do so by establishing secure borders between Turkey and the Kurds inside Syria, authorizing military points to monitor the region, pressuring Turkey to withdraw from Syrian cities, and advocating for a UN-sponsored political solution. The United States must work to give Kurds in Syria autonomy to ensure their interests and future in the region. After all, the United States’ Kurdish allies in Syria have proven more faithful to the interests of the United States and NATO than Turkey.

Customize your RSS Feed