أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

فيروس كورونا في المغرب: التّبِعات الاقتصادية والاجتماعية


متاح أيضاً في English

23 نيسان/أبريل 2020

تعالج البلدان حول العالم تداعيات وباء فيروس كورونا المستجد (كوفيد-19) بناءً على احتياجاتها الفريدة وقدراتها على مواجهته. ويطرح حاليًا موقع المغرب تحديات اقتصادية واجتماعية عدة، بصفته بلدٍ في شمال أفريقيا تربطه علاقات شاملة مع أوروبا شكّلت ميزةً أساسيةً للاقتصاد المغربي. وتعيّن على المغرب مواجهة هذه التحديات على جبهات اقتصادية وقانونية واجتماعية متعددة.

الجدول الزمني لردود الفعل إزاء الوباء

في خلال المراحل الأولى لتفشّي الوباء، وعلى غرار بلدان أخرى متعددة حول العالَم، أصدر المغرب الأوامر بإجلاء المواطنين الذين يعيشون في منطقة ووهان الصينية، حيث ظهر الفيروس للمرة الأولى. وعند عودة الأشخاص الذين جرى إجلاؤهم إلى المغرب، فُرضت عليهم قيود إضافية شملت الحجر الإلزامي لمدّة 20 يومًا في مستشفًى عسكري في الرباط.

للتخفيف أكثر من خطر انتشار فيروس كورونا المستجدّ في المغرب، شُرع بالفحص على كافة نقاط الدخول – بما فيها المطارات – في أواخر شهر كانون الثاني/ يناير. وفي الشهر التالي، أتاح المغرب الفحص المجّاني لعامة الناس.

رغم الجهود الأوّليّة، سُجّلت الإصابة الأولى المؤكَّدة بكوفيد-19 في المغرب في 2 آذار/ مارس. ومنذ ذلك الحين، واصلَ الفيروس انتشاره في المغرب – فارتفع العدد من 33 حالة في 3 آذار/ مارس إلى 3537 حالة في 23 نيسان/ أبريل. ومع ارتفاع عدد الإصابات المحلّيّة، ارتفع أيضًا عدد الوفيّات. ففي 10 أذار/ مارس، أعلنت وزارة الصحة المغربية عن حالة الوفاة الأولى من جرّاء الفيروس – وهي امرأة مغربية تبلغ من العمر 89 عامًا عادت إلى المغرب من بولونيا، إيطاليا. وبعد شهرٍ تقريبًا، بلغ عدد الوفيات المرتبطة بفيروس كورونا 151.

رغم المعدّل المنخفض نسبيًّا لعدد الإصابات في المغرب مقارنةً بالبلدان الأوروبية المجاورة له (ثلاثة أشخاص من أصل 100 ألف شخص)، إنّ التوقعات لمستقبل المغرب جد صعبة في ظروف هذه الجائحة. فتوقّع عدد من الخبراء أن تصبح المراكز الطبّيّة في المدن ربما غير قادرة على التحمل وأن تعجز المناطق الريفية عن الفحص لاكتشاف المرض وعن معالجته. وبما أنّ الحكومة المغربية طلبت أيضًا المزيد من فحوصات كوفيد-19 من الصين وكوريا الجنوبية، يتوقّع عدد من الخبراء رؤية طفرة كبيرة في معدّل الإصابات.

بُعيد الإعلان عن حالة الوفاة الأولى، بدأت الحكومة بتعزيز القيود على السفر التي كانت موضوعة مسبقًا من خلال إغلاق حدودها البحريّة والجوّيّة مع فرنسا وإسبانيا، وأيضًا حدودها البرّيّة مع مدينتيْ سبتة ومليلية المحتلتين من طرف إسبانيا. واختار المغرب أيضًا أن يحذو حذو بلدان كثيرة من خلال تعليق الأنشطة المدرسية كافة حتى إشعارٍ آخر في 13 آذار/ مارس.

تضاعف عدد الحالات المؤكّدة بين 14 و16 آذار/ مارس، مع العلم أنّ العدد الفعلي للإصابات في تلك الفترة الزمنية كان أعلى ربما نظرًا إلى الطلب المرتفع على معدات فحص كوفيد-19 ونقصها على الصعيد العالمي. ومع الطفرة في عدد الحالات، طلب رئيس الحكومة المغربية سعد الدين العثماني من عامة الناس ألّا يهلعوا، وقال إنّ تفشّي الوباء في المغرب تحت السيطرة. ولكن انتشرت على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي فيديوهات محال السوبرماركت ومتاجر السلع الغذائية المزدحمة بالحشود، ما زاد خوف الناس من احتمال النقص في المواد الغذائية. وفي خلال هذه الفترة، فيما كان مواطنو المغرب لا يزالون يخضعون لأوامر البقاء الطوعي في المنزل، روّجوا لهاشتاغ #restecheztoi الذي يعني "إلزم منازلك"، والذي لاقى شعبيّةً على مختلف مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، بما فيها "تويتر".

في 18 آذار/ مارس، اجتمعت هيئة العمل المشتركة بين وزارة الصحة وجمعية العيادات الخاصة لمناقشة حشد موارد العيادات الخاصة لصالح المستشفيات الحكومية. وبعد أسبوعيْن من تأكيد المغرب الإصابة الأولى بكوفيد-19، أعلنت الحكومة رسميًّا "حالة الطوارئ الصحّيّة" التي ستبقى سارية المفعول حتّى 20 نيسان/ أبريل، أي قبل بضعة أيّامٍ فحسب من بدء الصوم في شهر رمضان وتم تمديدها بعد ذلك لحدود 20 أيار/مايو.

تشمل هذه التدابير الجديدة الإغلاق وحظر التجوّل الإلزامييْن في جميع أنحاء البلاد، ويحرص كلٌّ من الشرطة والجيش على تطبيق هذه التدابير وحثّ المواطنين على الحدّ من تنقّلاتهم في خلال اليوم لتقتصر على الأنشطة الضرورية جدًّا. وتطبّق الحكومة هذه التدابير بحزمٍ عبر الطلب من الأفراد الذين يخرجون من المنزل الحصول على إذنٍ خاص، إمّا من مكان عملهم وإمّا من السلطات المحلّيّة. ومنذ 20 آذار/ مارس، اعتقلت السلطات آلاف الأفراد بسبب خرق حالة الطوارئ أو بسبب نشر المعلومات الخاطئة. إلّا أنّ الحكومة أطلقت أيضًا سراح آلاف المساجين من سجونها بهدف تقليص خطر التجمعات هناك.

بعد حوالي شهر من إعلان الطوارئ، ومع استمرار تزايد عدد الحالات المؤكدة والوفيات المرتبطة بالفيروس التاجي، مددت الحكومة حالة الإغلاق حتى 20 أيار/مايو لمواصلة مكافحة انتشار الفيروس.

التحديات الاقتصادية والاستجابات

وسط حالة الإغلاق في البلد، يتساءل المغاربة أكثر فأكثر بشأن التبعات الاقتصادية المترتّبة عن هذا الفيروس. فيحيط الشك بتأثير الوباء في الاقتصاد المغربي في حين تشير رسالة وُجّهت مؤخرًا إلى "الاتحاد الأوروبي" إلى أنّ الأثر سيكون شديدًا رغم اختلافه بحسب القطاع.

بعثت الحكومة المغربية هذه الرسالة إلى وفد "الاتحاد الأوروبي" في 26 آذار/ مارس وتوقعت خسائر ملحوظة في قطاعات السياحة والسيارات والأقمشة في عام 2020. وتسلّط الرسالة الضوء على تشكيل "الاتحاد الأوروبي" أكثر من 58% من صادرات المغرب، و59% من الاستثمارات الأجنبية المباشرة، و70% من قطاع السياحة في المغرب. وفيما لم يختبر المغرب بعد التأثيرات الكاملة للفيروس في اقتصاده، سينعكس قريبًا الانخفاض المتوقَّع من الأسواق الأوروبية على المستوى المحلّي.

أفاد وزير الشغل والإدماج المهني محمد أمكراز بأنّ إجمالي 113000 شركة أوقفت أنشطتها منذ 15 آذار/ مارس. وقال الوزير أيضًا إنّ أكثر من 700000 موظّف عجزوا عن العمل أو جرى فصلهم نتيجةً لذلك، مع أنّ الحكومة حددت يوم الجمعة الواقع في 3 نيسان/ أبريل كمهلة نهائية للتبليغ عن البطالة.

يتوقّع "اتحاد النقل الجوي الدولي" أيضًا أن يتسبب الوباء بتراجع الحركة الجوّيّة بشكلٍ هائل، مع توقع خسائر إجمالية تبلغ حوالي 728 مليون دولار وتطال 225000 وظيفة. وبعد الحظر العام على حركة مركبات الركّاب في 24 آذار/ مارس، يمكن أن ينتظر النقل على الطرقات والنقل بالسكك الحديدية مستويات مشابهة من التدهور.

تشمل الآثار الجانبية الاقتصادية الأخرى لوباء كوفيد-19 الانخفاض الهائل في أموال الشتات المغربي، التي تعتمد عليها عائلات كثيرة. ويلعب الشتات المغربي دورًا بارزًا في اقتصاد بلاده؛ فيحوّل نحو 69% من المغاربة المقيمين في الخارج ربع دخلهم السنوي تقريبًا إلى وطنهم.

يُتوقَّع أن تكون السياحة القطاع الأكثر تضررًا في الاقتصاد، وتقدّر "الكونفدرالية الوطنية للسياحة" أنّ الخسائر المتوقّعة لعام 2020 تبلغ تقريبًا 34.1 مليار درهم في إيرادات السياحة الإجمالية و14 مليار درهم من قطاع الفنادق وحده. وتتوقّع الكونفدرالية تراجعًا بنسبة 98% في عدد السيّاح الذين يزورون البلد، ما سيعرّض 500000 وظيفة و8500 شركة للخطر.

لكن تشير التقارير من "اللجنة الاستقصائية الاقتصادية" إلى أن عدد الموظّفين الذين قدّموا طلبًا منذ ذلك الوقت للحصول على المنافع يتجاوز إلى حدٍّ كبير القدر الذي تستطيع الوكالة إعانته. فتوقّعت اللجنة استهداف حوالي 430000 موظّف ليحصلوا على مبلغٍ إجمالي من التعويضات يُقدَّر بـ 4 مليارات درهم مغربي من 15 آذار/ مارس 2020 إلى نهاية حزيران/ يونيو 2020. كما منع المغرب موقّتًا التوظيف في القطاع العام، ما عدا في قطاعيْ الأمن والصحة، كتدبير تشددي إضافي في معالجة أزمة فيروس كورونا.

يضع هذا الواقع القاسي المغرب في موقعٍ مشابهٍ لبلدان كثيرة في المنطقة – فيبدو أنّ تأثيرات هذا الوباء في كلٍّ من الصحة العامة والاقتصاد ستكون واسعة النطاق ولن يكون التعافي سريعًا على الأرجح. ومع ذلك، يبدو أن الشعب والحكومة يقومان حتى الآن بما يستطيعان فعله للحد من تفشي فيروس كورونا والاستعداد للتحديات اللاحقة المرتقبة.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Coronavirus in Morocco: Economic and Social Implications


Also available in العربية

April 23, 2020

Countries around the world are addressing the consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic based on their unique needs and abilities to confront it. Morocco's position as a north African country with extensive ties to Europe, which has been a key feature of the Moroccan economy, is now presenting numerous economic and social challenges. Morocco has had to face these challenges on many different economic, legal, and social fronts.

Timeline of Reactions to the Pandemic

During the early stages of the outbreak, like many other countries around the world, Morocco issued evacuation orders for nationals living in China’s Wuhan region, where the virus was first detected. Upon their return to Morocco, additional restrictions were put in place for the evacuees, which included a mandatory 20-day quarantine in a Rabat military hospital.

To further mitigate the risk of spreading the novel coronavirus in Morocco, screening was introduced at all entry points—including airports—in late January. The following month, Morocco made free testing available to the public.

Despite initial efforts, the first confirmed case of COVID-19 in Morocco was identified on March 2. Since then, the virus has continued to spread throughout Morocco—rising from 33 cases on March 3 to 3,537 on April 23. As the number of local cases increased, so has the number of deaths. On March 10, the Moroccan health ministry announced the first death from the virus—an 89-year-old Moroccan woman who returned to Morocco from Bologna, Italy. Over a month later, the number of coronavirus related deaths has reached 151.

Despite Morocco’s relatively low rate of case numbers in comparison to its European neighbors (three per 100,000 people), the projections for Morocco’s future are much more grim in light of this outbreak. Many experts have predicted that medical centers in cities will become overwhelmed and rural areas will be unable to test for and treat the disease. And since the Moroccan government has also ordered more COVID-19 tests from China and South Korea, many experts expect to see a large spike in the rate of cases. 

Shortly after the first death was announced, the government began to add on to the number of travel restrictions already in place by closing its sea and air borders with France and Spain, as well as its land borders with the Spanish enclaves of Ceuta and Melilla. Morocco also chose to follow the example of many countries by suspending all school activities until further notice on March 13.

The number of confirmed cases doubled between March 14 and 16, though the actual number of infections during that time period might have been higher given the high demand for and global shortage of Covid-19 test kits. With the spike in case numbers, Moroccan Prime Minister Saad Eddine El Othmani, told the public not to panic and that the outbreak in Morocco was under control. However, videos circulated on social media of overcrowded supermarkets and food supply stores, which only worsened public alarm over potential food shortages. Around this time, while still under voluntary stay at home orders, the hashtag #restecheztoi, meaning “stay at home,” was promoted by Moroccans citizens and gained traction on various social media sites, including twitter.

On March 18, the joint working commission between the Ministry of Health and the association of private clinics met to discuss the mobilization of resources of private clinics to benefit public hospitals. Two weeks after Morocco confirmed its first case of COVID-19, the government officially declared a “Health State of Emergency” that was originally scheduled to remain in effect until April 20, and later extended until May, only a few days before the start of Ramadan’s month-long fast period.

These measures include a mandatory nationwide lockdown and curfew enforced by the police and the army, requiring that citizens limit their movement during the day to absolutely necessary activities. The government has been strictly enforcing the measure by requiring individuals leaving home to acquire a special permit either from their workplace or local authorities. Since March 20, authorities have arrested thousands of individuals for violating the state of emergency or for spreading false information. Yet the government has also released thousands of other offenders from its prisons to reduce the threat of clusters there.

About a month after the emergency declaration, as the number of confirmed cases and coronavirus-related deaths continued to grow, the government extended the national lockdown until May 20 to further combat the spread of the virus.

Economic Challenges and Responses

With the country shut down, Moroccans are increasingly wondering about the economic implications of this virus. There is uncertainty regarding the impact of the pandemic on the Moroccan economy, although a recent letter to the EU suggests that the impact will be severe though varied depending on the sector.   

This letter was sent to the EU delegation by the Moroccan government on March 26 and predicted significant losses in tourism, automobile, and textile industries in 2020. It highlights how the EU accounts for more than 58% of Moroccan exports, 59% of foreign direct investments (FDI), and 70% of Morocco’s tourism industry. While Morocco has not yet experienced the full effects of the virus on its economy, the expected decrease from European markets will soon be felt domestically.

The Minister of Employment and Professional Integration, Mohamed Amekraz, has stated that a total of 113,000 companies have halted work operations since March 15. The Minister also said that more than 700,000 employees have been unable to work or have been laid off as a result, though the government set the deadline to file for unemployment to Friday, April 3.   

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) also predicts that the pandemic will drastically decrease air traffic, with a projected total loss of around $728 million and more than 225,000 jobs. Following the general ban on passenger vehicle traffic on March 24, road and rail transport can expect similar levels of devastation.

Another economic side effect of COVID-19 is the drastic reduction of funds from the Moroccan diaspora, which many families rely upon. Morocco’s diaspora plays a significant role in their homeland’s economy; around 69% of Moroccans residing abroad (MRE) transfer around a quarter of their annual income back home. 

The tourism industry is projected to be the hardest hit sector of the economy. The National Tourism Confederation (CNT) estimates the projected losses for 2020 to be approximately $34.1 billion in overall tourism revenue and $14 billion from the hotel industry alone. CNT predicts a 98% drop in tourists visiting the country, which will put 500,000 jobs and 8,500 businesses at risk.

But reports from the Economic Intelligence Committee (CVE) indicate that the number of employees who have since filed for benefits far exceeds the amount the agency can realistically provide for. The CVE has forecasted a target population of about 430,000 employees for a total amount of compensation estimated at 4 billion MAD through March 15, 2020 to the end of June 2020. Morocco has also temporarily prevented hiring in the public sector, except in security and health sectors, as a more extreme measure in tackling the coronavirus crisis. 

This stark reality places Morocco in a position similar to many in the region—both the public health and economic impacts of this pandemic are likely to be far reaching and unlikely to provide a quick recovery. Even so, the public and the government so far appear to be doing what they can to flatten the curve of coronavirus and prepare for the subsequent challenges ahead.

Customize your RSS Feed