أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تضييق الخناق: ردع الميليشيات مع دعم الإصلاحيين في العراق


متاح أيضاً في English

2 كانون الثاني/يناير 2020

في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2019، كتبت مقالاً في منتدى فكرة بعنوان "المصالح الأمريكية والوضع الراهن غير المستدام في العراق"، حيث جادلت بأن الولايات المتحدة بحاجة إلى تبني سياسة قصيرة الأجل وأكثر خطورة في العراق لكي تكون على الجانب الصحيح، والفائز، من التاريخ في العراق، إذ يحاول جيل جديد من المصلحين العراقيين إنقاذ البلاد من انهيار الدولة.

في ذلك المقال، حذَّرتُ من أنه سيتعيّن على الولايات المتحدة أن تكون مستعدة للمجازفة باستبعادها من العراق لتبقى طرفًا سياسيًا فعّالاً هناك. وبإطلاق الضربات في التاسع والعشرين من كانون الأول/ديسمبر على خمس قواعد لـ"كتائب حزب الله" في العراق وسوريا ردًا على مقتل مقاول أمريكي في الثامن والعشرين من كانون الأول/ديسمبر، فإن الولايات المتحدة قد اتخذت تحديدًا هذا النوع من المخاطر. وعليه، ردت الميليشيات بحصار السفارة الأمريكية في بغداد، في حين أدان كبار قادة العراق الضربات الأمريكية (ولكن ليس مقتل المواطن الأمريكي).

مع هذه الديناميكية الجديدة، يجب الإجابة على سؤالين جديدين: ماذا سيحدث الآن في العلاقة الأمريكية - العراقية، وكيف يجب أن ترد الولايات المتّحدة إذا لجأت الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران إلى مزيد من الاستفزازات؟
لماذا شنّت الولايات المتحدة هجومًا على "كتائب حزب الله"؟

تصف الولايات المتحدة هجمات التاسع والعشرين من كانون الأول/ديسمبر بأنها "دفاعية" وتدعي عن حق أنه تم تحذير الحكومة العراقية صراحة (في 7 أيار/مايو 2019) من أن الولايات المتحدة سترد بشكل مباشر على المليشيات إذا ما قتلت المليشيات مواطنًا أمريكيًا في العراق. وجاء هذا التحذير المبكر على خلفية هجمات صاروخية سابقة شنتها الميليشيات على القواعد الأمريكية في العراق وأدّت إلى انخفاض مؤقت في مثل هذه الهجمات في الصيف. غير أنها استؤنفت طوال خريف عام 2019، مع وقوع 11 هجمة صاروخية على القواعد الأمريكية في العراق منذ أواخر تشرين الأول/أكتوبر.

أصبحت هذه الهجمات مكثّفة وأكثر خطورة: ففي 7 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، تم إطلاق سبعة عشر صاروخًا على الأقل - نسبتها المواد الاستخباراتية الأمريكية إلى ميليشيات عراقية - على القاعدة الأمريكية العراقية في مطار القيارة الغربي. وفي 9 و11 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، أُطلِقت صواريخ ثقيلة عيار 240 ملم على قاعدة القوات الخاصة الأمريكية العراقية في مطار بغداد، ما أدّى إلى إصابتها. وفي 28 كانون الأول/ديسمبر، سقط وابل من 30 صاروخاً على القاعدة الأمريكية العراقية المدمجة في كركوك، ما أسفر عن مقتل مقاول أمريكي وإصابة عدّة أمريكيّين وعراقيّين آخرين.

وكان هذا النمط واضحًا، وتمثّل في زيادة تدريجية في وتيرة الهجمات المدعومة من إيران وفي شدتها، ما أسفر في نهاية المطاف عن سقوط أول ضحية أمريكية على أيدي الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران منذ مقتل جندي أمريكي في 1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2017 بالقرب من تكريت. فإن مصرع مواطن أمريكي هو ما جعل هذا الهجوم مختلفًا، وهو ما أدى إلى رد فعل مسلح من طرف الولايات المتحدة.

إنّ قدرة القوات الأمريكية على تحديد هوية مرتكبي الهجوم على وجه السرعة ليس بالأمر المفاجئ. فإذا قمت بزيارة القواعد الأمريكية في العراق وتحدثت مع ضبّاط المخابرات، ستدرك بسرعة أن الولايات المتحدة بارعة جدًا في اكتشاف بعض الأمور. ويشمل ذلك، ولأسباب غير مفاجئة، انتماء الأشخاص الذين يقتلون الأمريكيين. فالولايات المتحدة لا تفترض أن "كتائب حزب الله" تطلق كل الصواريخ الموجهة نحو القواعد الأمريكية. ففي منطقة التاجي أو مدينة بلد، غالبًا ما يكون مقاتلو "عصائب أهل الحق" المسؤولين، أمّا في بغداد فيمكن أن ينتمي الجناة إلى مجموعة واسعة من الميليشيات التي تعمل هناك.

ولكن في المناطق النائية الأخرى من العراق مثل القيارة وكركوك والأنبار، فإن "كتائب حزب الله" هي التي تتمتع بسلطة محلية لمهاجمة القواعد الأمريكية، بعد أن تتشاور قيادتها مع قائد "فيلق القدس" في الحرس الثوري الإيراني قاسم سليماني. ومن المرجح أن يكون تحديد الولايات المتحدة السريع لـ"كتائب حزب الله" باعتبارها منفذة هجوم 28 كانون الأول/ديسمبر مبنيًا على مزيج من المعلومات الاستخباراتية الفنية والبشرية الحازمة، بدعم من مكونات الأسلحة والأجهزة الإلكترونية التي تم حجزها.

وكان الهدف من الضربات الانتقامية التي وقعت في 29 كانون الأول/ديسمبر هو استعادة الردع ضد أي هجمات أخرى تدعمها إيران قد تستهدف القواعد العراقية الأمريكية. والمنطق وراء هذه الضربات بسيط: طالما أن إيران وحلفاءها لا يدفعون ثمن مواصلة الهجمات، فمن المرجح أن يستمروا في شنّ المزيد من الضربات وبتواتر أكبر، وأن يقتلوا الأمريكيين بقدر الإمكان. وقد اختار الرد الأمريكي عددًا من قيادات "كتائب حزب الله" وقواعدها في الأنبار وسوريا التي بحسب تقديره كانت لتكون ذات قيمة عالية للحركة ودمّره، علمًا أنّ خسارة هؤلاء الزعماء قد تثني إيران وميليشياتها عن مواصلة هجماتها على الولايات المتحدة أو تصعيدها. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن "كتائب حزب الله" لم تخسر من قبل، وطوال مدة وجودها، عددًا كبيرًا بهذا القدر من العملاء الناشطين في يوم واحد: إذ قُتِل 25 شخصًا وأصيب أكثر من خمسين آخرين.

وتحسبًا لأي هجومات أخرى قد تشنها الميليشيات، ستظل الولايات المتحدة مستعدة لضرب أهداف ذات أهمية وقيمة أكبر للميليشيات، بما في ذلك كبار القادة. فإنّ الحق في الدفاع عن النفس مكرس في القانون الأمريكي وهو أساسي للشراكة العسكرية بين الولايات المتحدة والعراق. وإلى أن يحمي العراق القوات الأمريكية أو يبعدها، ستواصل الولايات المتحدة الدفاع عن أفرادها في العراق.

تكاليف المجازفة باستبعاد الولايات المتحدة من العراق وفوائدها

في أعقاب الضربات الأمريكية، دعت القائمة الانتخابية لحركة "فتح" التي تدعمها إيران البرلمان العراقي على الفور إلى اتخاذ إجراءات قانونية لإقصاء القوات الأمريكية. وهذا هو حق من حقوق العراق في حال رغب عدد كافٍ من أعضاء البرلمان في اتخاذ مثل هذه الخطوة وإذا كان كل من مجلس الوزراء والرئيس يدعم هذا الإجراء، حتى في ظل الظروف المتقلقلة الحالية لحكومة تصريف الأعمال المفتوحة.

يمكن تعليق الدعم العسكري الأمريكي للعراق - وربما عمليات السفارة الأمريكية كلها - بسرعة كبيرة ويمكن أن يتلاشى الوجود الأمريكي من العراق إذا ما طُلب منا المغادرة أو تعرضنا لأخطار غير مقبولة. فهذا هو بالضبط ما استعدّت له الحكومة الأمريكية منذ أن حذّرت في أيار/مايو 2019 من وقوع المزيد من الهجمات الميليشياوية، مذكّرةً بالإغلاق الدائم للقنصلية الأمريكية في البصرة في وقت سابق من أيلول/سبتمبر 2018 نتيجة الهجمات الصاروخية التي أطلقتها الميليشيات. فالتحركات المروحية المختلفة بين مطار بغداد والسفارة في 31 كانون الأول/ديسمبر هي في الواقع خطوات تحضيرية وتمرين إعدادي لمثل هذا الحدث.

وقد أعلنت الحكومة الأمريكية في الإحاطات الإعلامية التي قدّمتها في 30 كانون الأول/ديسمبر أنها لا تشعر بقلق بالغ إزاء احتمال صدور إشعار برلماني بالإخلاء، على الرغم من الإدانة الواسعة للضربات الأمريكية من شخصيات مختلفة مثل آية الله العظمى علي السيستاني ومقتدى الصدر وعمار الحكيم من حركة "الحكمة" والرئيس برهم صالح.

في الواقع، قد يكون أحد الأسباب هو أن الولايات المتحدة ما زالت مندهشة إيجابًا لأنها لم تواجه تحديًا كبيرًا بالإخلاء بعد أن أساء الرئيس ترامب إلى العراقيين مرتين في الأشهر الأولى من العام، أولاً من خلال الزيارة غير المعلنة، وثانيًا بالاعتراف بأن الولايات المتحدة موجودة في العراق "لمراقبة إيران"، أو حتى بعد أن باشرت إسرائيل بضرب قواعد الميليشيات في العراق. وعليه، إما أنه يصعب كثيرًا تشكيل الإجماع المطلوب لإقصاء القوات الأمريكية أو أن السياسيّين المدعومين من إيران يفضلون بقاء الولايات المتحدة في العراق، حيث لا تزال لديهم مصالح يحمونها وحيث تستمر الجهات الفاعلة الدولية الأخرى في تأدية دور داعم طالما أن واشنطن تفعل ذلك أيضًا.

هل كانت الولايات المتحدة راضية عندما خاطرت مرة أخرى بالإخلاء في كانون الأول/ديسمبر؟

بناءً على محادثاتي مع المسؤولين الأمريكيين، بوسعي أن أفيد بأن الضربات الأخيرة تشير إلى أن الحكومة الأمريكية باتت ترى الأمور بوضوح، أخيرًا. ولا جدوى من البقاء في "العراق" إذا كان ثمن القبول هو تجاهل مقتل الأمريكيين. وعلى نحو مماثل، لا ينبغي للحكومة العراقية أن تستخدم الوجود العسكري والدبلوماسي الأمريكي في العراق كورقة ضغط لمنع الولايات المتحدة من الإشارة إلى الانتهاكات الجسيمة الفعلية للسيادة العراقية من جانب إيران أو القتل الجماعي للمدنيين العراقيين على أيدي الميليشيات.

تأمين المصالح الأمريكية أو ضمان الوجود الأمريكي؟

وكما ذكرت في مقالي السابق، لا شكّ في أنه يتم خدمة المصالح الأمريكية من خلال المساعدة على صمود عراقٍ يتمتع بالسيادة والاستقرار والديمقراطية، وفقًا لما يحدده الدستور العراقي. ويتعين على الولايات المتحدة أن تساعد العراق دومًا على حماية هذه الصفات من أي هجوم قد يرتكبه أي عدو، سواء أكان متطرفًا على غرار تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" أو ينتمي إلى المليشيات المدعومة من الخارج.

ولكن ما تطور بدلاً من ذلك في المؤسسة الأمريكية على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية هو "عقيدة الوجود"، التي كنت أنا شخصيًا مذنبًا بالدعوة إليها في مراحل معينة، حيث يُنظر إلى سيادة العراق واستقراره وصفاته الديمقراطية على أنها قابلة للتفاوض ما دامت النخبة العراقية تسمح للولايات المتحدة بالاحتفاظ بقواتها في العراق.

وبوسعنا أن نقول إن ذلك كان يستحق العناء في مرحلة معينة، لا سيّما عندما كان تنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" يمثّل تهديدًا كبيرًا وعندما بدت إعادة بناء قيادة عسكرية محترفة في العراق ممكنة. وربما تكون تلك اللحظة قد انقضت: فتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية" على بعد سنوات من بدء التعافي الجاد، وتستنزف الميليشيات الضباط المحترفين من المؤسسة العسكرية بسرعة أكبر مما يمكننا تدريبهم، ونحن مستبعدون من العمليات المناهضة لتنظيم "الدولة الإسلامية"، ومطوّقون في القواعد، وممنوعون عن التحرك، ومستبعدون من المجال الجوي مع فرض مناطق يحظر فيها الطيران.

يُعتبر الوجود العسكري الأمريكي وسيلة لتحقيق غاية، وليس غاية في حد ذاته. فلا يجوز أن يتواجد أي شخص يقدّم خدمة ما أو مقاول (أو دبلوماسي) أمريكي في العراق، بعيدًا عن عائلاته وعلى حساب نفقة باهظة لدافعي الضرائب، إذا كان يمنع من أداء وظيفته وإذا لم يكن محميًا من قبل الحكومة العراقية. فهذه ليست سياسة تخدم مصالح الولايات المتحدة بل إنها مُذلّة.

وإذا بقينا في العراق، فعلى ذلك لأن يكون لسبب واحد ألا وهو تعظيم فرصة نشوء عراق يتمتع بالسيادة والاستقرار والديمقراطية. فهذا هو الهدف الحقيقي، وعلينا أن نعمل مع من يدعم هذه المصلحة المشتركة وضد من لا يؤيدها. وليس من المستغرب أن أولئك الذين يريدون عراقًا ضعيفًا غير ديمقراطي تهيمن عليه إيران يرغبون في إزاحة الولايات المتحدة أو تحييدها.

الاستعداد للمغادرة، حتى لا نُضطر إلى ذلك

في شهر تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، كتبت أن الولايات المتحدة بحاجة إلى "الاستعداد للمغادرة، حتى لا نُضطر إلى ذلك؛ ولكن يظل هذا الأمر حقيقة واقعة. فالوجود العسكري الأمريكي في العراق ليس معروفًا أنعمت به حكومة العراق السخية على أمريكا، بل تُعد مساهمة القوات الأمريكية والدعم المالي الأمريكي للعراق بادرة صداقة قوية من جانب الشعب والحكومة الأمريكية تجاه العراق.

وبصراحة، من غير المنطقي أن نتوقع من الولايات المتحدة أن تواصل نشر الآلاف من الأفراد الذين يقدّمون الخدمات بعيدًا عن أسرهم وتقديم مئات الملايين من الدولارات سنويًا على شكل منح عسكرية لبلد لا يفشل في حماية قواتنا ودبلوماسيينا فحسب، بل يهدد بإقصائنا عندما ندافع عن أنفسنا، وذلك بعد أن حذّرنا لأشهر من أن الأمر سيكون على هذا الحال، وناشدنا العراق لحماية ضيوفه.

تتسم المخاطر المحسوبة التي تتخذها الولايات المتحدة اليوم بمنطق قوي قائم على الحس السليم. ويحظى العراق حاليًا بدعم أعظم تحالف دولي على الإطلاق - ذلك أن أغلبية دول مجموعة العشرين ملتزمة بالدفاع عن العراق وبقائه للمرة الأولى ومن المرجح أن تكون الأخيرة. هذا ويُعد الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في العراق الركيزة الأساسية لهذا الالتزام، الذي من دونه سينهار التحالف.

وإذا كان العراق على استعداد للتضحية بهذا التحالف لمواصلة التستر على أفعال الميليشيات المدعومة من إيران، فلن يكون للولايات المتحدة والتحالف أي شركاء موثوقين في العراق الفدرالي، ولن تخسر الكثير إذا همّت بالمغادرة.

ومن ناحية أخرى، إذا كان على أغلبية الفصائل العراقية أن تدين الهجمات خطابيًا فيما تعترف سرًا بقيمة الصداقة الأمريكية المستمرة، فلن يتم استبعاد القوات الأمريكية، وسيكون لدى الولايات المتحدة شركاء فاعلون في العراق.

وتراهن الولايات المتحدة على أنّ الجهات القومية الفاعلة الرشيدة داخل قيادة العراق تفوق العملاء الموالين لإيران. فالأيام والشهور المقبلة -عندما يتم استبدال الحكومة المجرّدة من شرعيتها – ستحسم ما إذا كان هذا هو الحال.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Tight Rope: Deterring Militias While Supporting Reformists in Iraq


Also available in العربية

January 2, 2020

In November 2019, I wrote a piece for Fikra Forum titled “U.S. Interests and the Unsustainable Status Quo in Iraq” where I argued the case that the United States needed to adopt a riskier short-term policy in Iraq in order to be on the right—and winning side—of history in Iraq, as a new generation of Iraqi reformers try to save the country from state collapse.

In that article, I admonished that the United States would need to be willing to risk being thrown out of Iraq in order to remain an effective political actor there. By launching the December 29 strikes on five Kata’ib Hezbollah bases in Iraq and Syria in retaliation for the December 28 murder of a U.S. contractor, the United States has taken exactly this kind of risk. The militias responded by blockading the U.S. Embassy in Baghdad, while Iraq’s senior leaders condemned the U.S. strikes (but not the killing of the U.S. citizen).

With this new dynamic, two new questions must be answered: what happens next to the U.S.-Iraq relationship, and how should the United States react if Iran-backed militias undertake more provocations?

WHY DID THE UNITED STATES STRIKE KATA’IB HEZBOLLAH?

The United States is characterizing the December 29 strikes as “defensive” and rightfully claims that the Iraqi government was explicitly forewarned (on May 7, 2019) that the United States would directly retaliate against militias if militias killed an American in Iraq. This earlier warning came against a backdrop of prior militia rocket attacks on U.S. bases in Iraq and resulted in a temporary reduction in such attacks in the summer. Throughout the autumn of 2019 the attacks recommenced, with eleven rocket attacks on U.S. bases in Iraq since late October.

These attacks were becoming increasingly heavy and more dangerous: on November 7, at least seventeen rockets—attributed by U.S. intelligence materials to Iraqi militias—were fired at the U.S.-Iraqi base at Qayyarah West airfield. On December 9 and 11, heavy 240mm rockets were fired at the U.S.-Iraqi special forces base at Baghdad airport, injuring Iraqi counter-terrorism troops. And on December 28, a thirty-rocket barrage struck the compact U.S.-Iraqi base at Kirkuk, killing one U.S. contractor and wounding several more Americans and Iraqis.

The pattern was clear: a progressive increase in frequency and lethality of Iran-backed attacks, which ultimately resulted in the first U.S. fatality at the hands of Iran-backed militias since a U.S. soldier was killed on October 1, 2017 near Tikrit. The killing of an American is what made this attack different, and it is what triggered a U.S. military reaction.

That U.S. forces were able to identify the culprits of the attack so swiftly should not come as a surprise. If you visit U.S. bases in Iraq and speak with intelligence officers, you will quickly realize that there are some things the United States is very good at finding out. This includes—for unsurprising reasons—the affiliation of people who kill Americans. The United States does not presume Kata’ib Hezbollah fires all the rockets that have been directed at U.S. bases. In the district of Taji or the city of Balad, it is more often the militants of Asa’ib Ahl al-Haq who are responsible, and in Baghdad the culprits can be from a wide range of militias that operate there.

But in other more remote areas of Iraq like Qayyarah, Kirkuk, and Anbar, it is Kata’ib Hezbollah that has the local authority to attack U.S. bases, after their leadership confers with Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC) Qods Force commander Qassem Soleimani. The swift U.S. identification of Kata’ib Hezbollah as the attacker on December 28 was likely built on a combination of firm technical and human intelligence and aided by the retention of weapons components and electronics.

The objective of the December 29 retaliatory strikes was to restore deterrence against further Iran-backed attacks on U.S-Iraqi bases. The logic behind these strikes is simple: as long as Iran and its allies face no cost to continuing the attacks, they are likely to keep hitting harder and more frequently, and would kill as many Americans as they wanted. The U.S. response selected several important Kata’ib Hezbollah leaders and bases in Anbar and Syria calculated to be of high value to the movement and destroyed them, knowing that the loss of those leaders might dissuade Iran and its militias from continuing or escalating their attacks on the United States. It is worth noting that Kata’ib Hezbollah has never, in its entire existence, lost so many operatives on a single day: 25 killed and over fifty wounded. 

In expectation that militias might attack again, the United States will also remain ready to strike increasingly valuable and senior militia targets, including top-level leaders.

The right to self-defense is enshrined in U.S. law and is fundamental to the U.S.-Iraq military partnership. Until Iraq either protects U.S. forces or evicts them, the United States will continue to defend its personnel in Iraq.

THE COST-BENEFIT OF RISKING U.S. EVICTION FROM IRAQ

Following the U.S. strikes, the Iran-backed Fatah electoral list immediately called for the Iraqi parliament to take legal action to remove U.S. forces. This is Iraq’s right, if sufficient MPs wish to make such a move and if the cabinet and president support the action, even under the current muddled conditions of open-ended caretaker government.

U.S. military support to Iraq—and probably all U.S. embassy operations—could be suspended quite quickly and American presence could all but vanish from Iraq if we are asked to leave or are exposed to unacceptable risk. This is precisely what the U.S. government has prepared for since issuing its warning in May 2019 against further militia attacks, recalling the earlier September 2018 permanent shuttering of the U.S. consulate in Basra as a result of militia rocket fire. The various helicopter moves between Baghdad airport and the embassy on December 31 are, in effect, preparatory steps and a dress rehearsal for such an event.

The U.S. government has announced in background briefings on December 30 that it is not overly concerned about the risk of a parliamentary eviction notice. This is despite widespread condemnation of the U.S. strikes from figures as diverse as Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani, Moqtada al-Sadr, Ammar al-Hakim of the Hikma movement and President Barham Salih.

One reason may be that the United States is still pleasantly surprised that it did not face a major eviction challenge after President Trump offended Iraqis twice in the opening months of the year, first by visiting unannounced and then by admitting the United States was in Iraq “to watch Iran”, or even after Israel began striking militia bases in Iraq. Evidently, either it is more difficult to forge the consensus required to remove U.S. forces or Iran-backed politicians prefer the U.S. in Iraq, with equities to protect and where other international players continue to play a supportive role as long as Washington also does.

Could it be different this time? Was the U.S. complacent when it again risked eviction this December?

Based on my conversations with U.S. officials, I would argue that the recent strikes indicate that the U.S. government is actually seeing things clearly, at last. There is no point in being “in Iraq” if the price of admission is to ignore the killing of Americans. Likewise, the U.S. military and diplomatic presence in Iraq should not be used by Iraq’s government as a lever to prevent the United States from pointing out actual gross violations of Iraqi sovereignty by Iran or the mass murder of Iraqi civilians by militias.

SECURING U.S. INTERESTS OR SECURING U.S. PRESENCE?

As my earlier piece noted, U.S. interests are certainly served by aiding the survival of a sovereign, stable, and democratic Iraq—as defined by Iraq’s constitution. The United States should always help Iraq protect these qualities from attack by any and all enemies—be they Islamic State-style extremists or foreign-backed militias.

But what has instead developed in the U.S. establishment over the past few years is a “cult of presence”—which I myself have been guilty of preaching for at certain points—in which the sovereignty, stability, and democratic qualities of Iraq are seen as negotiable so long as the Iraqi elite let the United States keep its forces in Iraq.

This was arguably worth it at one point—particularly when the Islamic State was a huge threat and when rebuilding Iraq’s professional military leadership seemed possible. That moment may have passed: the Islamic State is years away from beginning a serious recovery, the militias are purging professional officers from the military faster than we can train them, and we are being excluded from anti-Islamic State operations, penned up in bases, blocked from moving, and excluded from airspace with no-fly zones.

U.S. military presence is a means to an end, not the end in and of itself. No U.S. service-person or contractor (or diplomat) should be in Iraq, kept away from their families at huge expense to the taxpayer, if they are prevented from doing their job and if they are not protected by the Iraqi government.

If we stay in Iraq, we should be there for one reason—to maximize the chance of a sovereign, stable, and democratic Iraq emerging. This is the real objective, and we should work with those who support this mutual interest and against those who don’t. It should be no surprise that those who want an Iran-dominated, weak, undemocratic Iraq would want to see the U.S. removed or, more likely, neutered.

BE WILLING TO LEAVE SO WE DON’T HAVE TO

In November, I wrote that the U.S. needed to “be willing to leave, so we don’t have to;” this remains the case. U.S. military presence in Iraq is not a favor bestowed upon America by a generous Iraqi government. Instead, the contribution of the U.S. forces and U.S. financial support to Iraq is a powerful gesture of friendship by the American people and government towards Iraq.

Writing plainly, it is nonsense to expect the United States to continue deploying thousands of our service-persons away from their families and providing hundreds of millions of dollars a year in military grants to a country that not only fails to protect our troops and diplomats, but even threatens to evict us when we defend ourselves, months after we warned that this would be the case and pleaded with Iraq to protect its guests.

The calculated risk now being taken by the United States is based in strong commonsense logic. Iraq currently has the support of the greatest international coalition ever assembled—the majority of the G-20 nations are committed to Iraq’s defense and survival for the first and likely the last time. The keystone of this commitment is the U.S. military presence in Iraq, without which the coalition would unravel.

If Iraq is prepared to sacrifice this coalition to continue covering up for the misdeeds of Iran-backed militias, then the United States and the coalition have no reliable partners in federal Iraq, with little to lose by leaving.

If, on the other hand, a majority of Iraqi factions must rhetorically condemn the attacks but secretly recognize the value of ongoing U.S. friendship, then there will be no eviction of U.S. forces and the United States still has effective partners in Iraq.

The United States is betting that there are still more reasonable nationalist actors in Iraq’s leadership than pro-Iranian stooges. The coming day—when the blockade of our embassy must be lifted, and the coming months, when the de-legitimized government may be replaced—will settle whether that is the case.

Customize your RSS Feed