أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

إعادة بناء المعنويات من جديد في الكويت بعد فترة الحرب


متاح أيضاً في English

2 آب/أغسطس 2018

في ذكرى غزو العراق للكويت، يُعد ملائمًا استكشاف الجانب الذي يتعلق بتعافي الكويت والذي لم يتم تحليله بما يكفي. لقد عكفت بحوث شتى على دراسة التحولات الاجتماعية - الاقتصادية والاجتماعية - السياسية في الكويت بعد الحرب، مثل زيادة الإسلاميين في البرلمان أو ارتفاع شعبية الحركات الدينية والسياسية الأخرى. وقامت بحوث أخرى بدراسة ثقافة المستهلك النامية في الكويت. ومع ذلك، لم يُخصَّص إلا عدد قليل منها لإعادة بناء المعنويات من جديد على إثر حرب الخليج. وفي حين أعيد بناء الطرقات والمباني في الكويت، لا يزال المجتمع المدني يعمل على التعافي من الغزو على المستوى الثقافي والفردي.

قبل الحرب، كان المجتمع الكويتي يضم البرلمانيين العلمانيين والليبراليين، وكانت النساء يتمتعن بالقدرة والثقة الكافيتين للعمل كناشطات خلال الحرب، ولم تكن مراكز التسوق موجودة، ولم يتم الفصل بين الرجل والمرأة داخل الجامعات. وخلال إعادة الإعمار السريع في الكويت، استخدم الأفراد على الأرجح مراكز تسوق جديدة أو المنافذ الدينية المتاحة للتكيّف مع الحياة بعد التحرير. فمنذ عام ١٩٩١، ارتبطت مسألة "المعنويات" في حياة المرء ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالأُطر الدينية المصطنعة والمادية. ولكن، يتمتّع تيار من البرامج متمحور حول الرفاهية بتأثير ملحوظ في إضفاء معنًى أعمق في الكويت وأماكن أخرى في المنطقة.

تشجع هذه المبادرات الأفراد على البحث عن هدف فردي أثناء ممارسة المهارات التي تسهم في الهوية الوطنية. وقد أدى إنشاء وزارة السعادة في الإمارات عام ٢٠١٦ إلى إجراء مناقشات أوسع في الخليج حول كيفية تعريف السعادة، وماهية الحياة السعيدة، وكيف يمكن للحكومات التشجيع على هذه المعايير أو التأثير عليها.
في هذا الإطار، يقدّم تطور المشهد الثقافي وقطاع السياحة عبر دول الخليج العربية إجابة جزئية على هذه الأسئلة. فليس من النادر العثور على دور الأوبرا ومتاحف من الطراز الأول ودور السينما وفنادق فاخرة في دول الخليج العربية - بالإضافة إلى الأسواق التقليدية. وفي حين أن هذه المبادرات قد تم اعتبارها في الغالب اقتصادية، إلا أن المنظور الاقتصادي لا يفسّر بشكل كافٍ العمل على تطوير ثقافة هادفة أكثر. وفي هذا الصدد، توجّهت الحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية على حد سواء نحو عوامل أخرى لتنمية الشعور بالرفاهية المجتمعية بشكل مناسب أكثر.

عبر شبه الجزيرة العربية، يرتبط العديد من العوامل الديموغرافية، على ما يبدو، بحالة الرفاه بين المواطنين والمقيمين. على سبيل المثال، نقلت الصحيفة الإماراتية "ذا ناشيونال" عن بحريني يعبّر في حداده على خسارة رفاهية الحياة مع تزايد الثروة المادية. ووفقًا للخبيرة السعودية هالة الدوسري، يُعد النوع الاجتماعي أيضًا أحد الاعتبارات الهامة في تحديد عوامل السعادة في المنطقة. وبالنظر إلى هذا التركيز الجديد على الصحة العقلية والجسدية، وعلى الرغم من القيود الاجتماعية والثقافية في المنطقة، تشير الأدلة إلى أن دول الخليج العربي تعتزم توسيع نطاق الخدمات الصحية لتشمل بشكل أفضل خدمات الصحة العقلية.

وباعتبارها الدولة الأكثر ديمقراطية من بين دول الخليج، توفر الكويت بيئة فريدة لاستكشاف هذه القضايا من خلال برلمانها الحيوي وحرياتها الإعلامية. وفي ظل هذه الظروف، هناك مجال واسع للتفاوض على المعنى على المستوى الثقافي والفردي بدلاً من إملائه من الأعلى . ففي ما يخص الكويت، يرسم المجتمع المدني الكويتي أهدافًا محددة لمنظماته.

تُعد "مؤسسة النوير" مثالاً للمنظمة التي تستخدم العِلم لإعادة بناء الهوية الوطنية الكويتية بطريقة تتيح المجال للتعبير عن القيم الإيجابية مثل العطف والامتنان، من ضمن أمور أخرى، حيث تركّز المنظمة على تحسين الأعراف الثقافية الكويتية في الطرقات مع حملة "قُد بلطف" "DriveKind#"، وفي مراكز التسوق من خلال حملة "بلاها تفبي"، "LetsNotPhub#" لتشجيع التفاعل الاجتماعي الشخصي بدلاً من استخدام الهاتف، وكذلك في السياق المهني مع حملة "فكر، اعمل، عيش بإيجابية"، "Think Work Live" التي تركز على التفاعلات بين الزملاء. وتعتمد "مؤسسة النوير" على الممارسات العلمية القائمة على الأدلة لتعزيز الرفاهية الفردية والجماعية. وتوفر الاستنارة لبرامجها المحلية المرتبطة بالثقافة من خلال الأبحاث القابلة للتطبيق التي يجريها "المركز الأمريكي للعلوم من أجل المصلحة العليا"، والمبادرة البريطانية "العمل من أجل السعادة". فاستوحت مثلاً حملة "مليون ابتسامة في الكويت"، "OneMillionSmilesKuwait#" من تجربة قامت بها "جامعة إسيكس" أظهرت فوائد الابتسام النفسية.

كما يجري تطوير مساحات طبيعية في الكويت بنشاط لتشجيع برامج الرفاهية. على سبيل المثال، "حديقة الشهيد" وهي حديقة حضرية، تقع بين الطريق الدائري الأول والطريق الدائري الثاني في مدينة الكويت، تم تطويرها من قبل "الديوان الأميري" كهدية للشعب الكويتي، ويديرها "مركز لوذان لإنجازات الشباب" (لوياك)، الذي يدرب المتطوعين على العمل كمرشدين للمنتزهات. وتوفر حديقة الشهيد، عن قصد، مساحات خاصة باللياقة البدنية، وتستضيف جلسات اليوغا العامة والمجموعات التي تمارس رياضة الجري. وعلاوة على ذلك، تحتوي الحديقة على مساحات داخل قاعات وفي الهواء الطلق لاستقبال المناسبات الثقافية، بدءًا من المحاضرات وصولاً إلى الحفلات الموسيقية. وفي هذه الحديقة، تبرز حملة النوير "٣٠ مقعدًا أصفر"، "30YellowBenches#" التي باشرت فيها في ٣٠ حزيران/يونيو، والتي تقوم من خلالها بنشر المقاعد أمام المناظر الطبيعية الخلابة في الكويت لمساعدة الأفراد على تقدير جمال المكان.

وفي هذا الإطار، يعبّر المواطنون الكويتيون عن انشغالهم بسبل تحسين المجتمع الكويتي. فمن خلال تصفح حسابات الانستقرام الكويتية، يمكن للمرء بسهولة العثور على مبادرات لمنع العنف ضد المرأة ([email protected])، ولتغيير المعايير الثقافية ([email protected]) وتشجيع التعايش بين ديانات العالم ([email protected]). وعلى الرغم من أن العديد من الشباب في الكويت المعاصرة قد ولدوا بعد التحرير ، إلا أن الكثير منهم قد لاحظوا النزعة الثقافية إلى التوجه نحو الدين أو الأمور المادية بعد الحرب وقلقوا بشأنها. وفي حين أن الكثير قد كتب عن إرث "عملية عاصفة الصحراء" في دراسة السياسة الخارجية الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط، تشكّل إعادة بناء المساعي الهادفة في المجتمعات بعد الغزو جزءًا أساسيًا من عملية إعادة إحياء المعنويات. وأمّا في ما يخص الكويت، فمن المهم عدم فصل إرث الغزو العراقي عن مبادرات الرفاهية العامة هذه.

ولكن، من المهم أيضًا الإشارة إلى أن هذه المبادرات ليست بديلاً لخدمات الرعاية الصحية العقلية المهنية. ومع ذلك، فإن واقع ظهور مقالات حول مشكلة الانتحار في الخليج وغيرها من مشكلات الرعاية الصحية النفسية يشكّل بادرة تبعث على التفاؤل بالنسبة إلى مستقبل المنطقة. وعلى الأقل في ما يتعلق بالكويت، إن الجهود المبذولة لمعالجة الصدمات الفردية والجماعية هي جزء من التعافي من غزو وحشي قد أثّر على دولة تأثيرًا عميقًا ويستمر بشكل غير مباشر في التأثير على جيل لم يعش خلال فترة الحرب ولكنه تضرر منها على الرغم من ذلك.

إن "إعادة بناء المعنويات من جديد" هي مبادرة كويتية تستحق الثناء في أيام كثر فيها المؤثرين في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، مثل "سندس القطان" و"عبد الله الجاسر"، اللذين حققا شهرة واسعة من خلال ترويج المنتجات بينما لم يساهموا في تشكيل هوية وطنية بناءة. إذ تهدف هذه المساعي إلى تطوير ثقافة النزاهة وتقديم بدائل للجوانب الأخرى من المشهد الترفيهي الحالي في الكويت، الذي تعرض لهجوم في الآونة الأخيرة بسبب عدم مراعاته للثقافات الأخرى، إلى جانب مجموعة من حملة الدكتوراه الذين يستخدمون شهادات مزورة لممارسة العمل. كما يجب أن يدعم التعاون الدولي هذه المبادرات المحلية، ويمكنه أيضًا أن يساهم بها مثلاً عن طريق إجراء الأبحاث لتتبع فعاليتها. وأمّا بشكل جماعي، فتتخذ الكويت خيارات حول نوع الثقافة التي يجب أن تزرعها بعد مرور ثمانية وعشرين عامًا على غزوها.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Reconstruction of ‘Meaning’ in Post-War Kuwait


Also available in العربية

August 2, 2018

On the anniversary of the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait, it is timely to explore an under-analyzed aspect to Kuwait’s recovery. Much research has examined the socioeconomic and sociopolitical shifts in post-war Kuwait, such as the increase of Islamists in parliament or the popularity of other religious and political movements. Others have also examined Kuwait’s developing consumer culture. Yet few have have paid attention to the reconstruction of meaning in the aftermath of the Gulf War. While Kuwaiti buildings and roads have been rebuilt, civil society is still working towards healing from the invasion on a cultural and individual level.

Prior to the war, Kuwaiti society included secular and liberal parliamentarians, women capable and confident enough to serve as activists during the war, a lack of shopping malls, and no gender segregation within universities. During Kuwait’s rapid reconstruction, individuals may have used new shopping malls or available religious outlets to cope with the many adjustments to post-invasion life. Since 1991, the question of ‘meaning’ in one’s life has been heavily linked to pseudo-religious and materialistic frameworks. However, an undercurrent of programs centered on well-being has been yielding a noticeable influence in the reconstruction of deeper meaning in Kuwait and elsewhere in the region.

These initiatives encourage individuals to search for purpose individually while practicing skills that contribute to a national identity. The 2016 establishment of the Emirati Ministry of Happiness has led to a broader discussion in the Gulf about how happiness is defined, what a happy life entails, and how governments might encourage or influence these parameters.

The development of a cultural scene and tourism sector across the Arab Gulf states has provided a partial answer to these questions. It is not uncommon to find opera houses, world-class museums, movie theaters and luxury hotels in the Arab Gulf states—in addition to the more traditional souqs. While these initiatives have been considered predominantly economic measures, the economic perspective does not adequately explain the labor of developing a more meaningful culture. Consequently, governments and NGOs alike have turned to other factors to more adequately develop a sense of communal wellbeing.

Across the Arabian Peninsula, several demographic factors appear linked to a state of well-being among citizens and residents. For example, the Emirati newspaper The National quoted a Bahraini mourning a lessening of quality of life as material wealth has increased. According to Saudi expert Hala Aldosari, gender is also an important consideration in determining happiness factors in the region. Given this new focus on mental as well as physical aspects of health, and despite the region’s sociocultural constraints, there is evidence that the Arab Gulf states intend on expanding health services to better encompass mental health as well as more traditional health concerns.

As the most democratic of the Gulf states, Kuwait provides a unique environment to explore these issues through its vibrant parliament and unparalleled media freedoms. Under such conditions, there is much room for 'meaning' in life to be negotiated on a cultural and individual level rather than dictated from above. In the case of Kuwait, a Kuwaiti civil society has outlined specific goals for its organization and has begun their implementation.

The Al Nowair Foundation is one example of an organization that utilizes scientific research to reconstruct Kuwaiti national identity in a way that makes room for the expression of positive values, including kindness and gratitude, among others. The organization focuses on improving Kuwaiti cultural norms on the roads with the #DriveKind campaign, in shopping malls through the #LetsNotPhub campaign to encourage in-person social interaction over phone use, and in professional settings with the Think Work Live campaign focusing on inter-office interactions. The Al Nowair Foundation relies on scientific, evidence-based practices to promote individual and communal welfare; it informs its localized, culturally-relevant programs with applicable research conducted by the American Greater Good Science Center and the British Action for Happiness. For example, the #OneMillionSmilesKuwait campaign was inspired by an experiment from the University of Essex that demonstrated the psychological benefits related to smiling.

There are also physical spaces in Kuwait being actively developed to encourage well-being programs. For example, the Al Shaheed Park is an urban park between the First and Second Ring Roads in Kuwait City that was developed by the Al Diwan Al Amiri as a gift for the Kuwaiti people. It is managed by the Lothan Youth Achievement Center (LOYAC), which trains volunteers to work as park guides. The park intentionally provides spaces to be used for fitness, and hosts public yoga sessions and running groups. In addition, the park contains indoor and outdoor spaces for cultural events, ranging from lectures to concerts. At this park, there is evidence of Al Nowair’s #30YellowBenches campaign that places benches in front of scenic views in Kuwait to help individuals appreciate the beauty of the space.

Kuwaiti citizens are also voicing their own concerns about ways to improve Kuwaiti society. Browsing through Kuwaiti Instagram accounts, one can easily find initiatives to prevent violence against women (@abolish153), question cultural norms (@ccdkw) and encourage coexistence of world religions (@coexistkuwait). Although many young adults in contemporary Kuwait were born after the Iraqi invasion and occupation, many noticed and become concerned by the cultural tendency to turn to religion or materialism in the aftermath of the war. While much has been written about the legacy of Operation Desert Storm in examining U.S. foreign policy in the Middle East, the reconstruction of meaningful pursuits in societies after invasion is a key part of the reconstruction process. In the case of Kuwait, it is important not to divorce the legacy of the Iraqi invasion from these public well-being initiatives.

However, it is also important to note that these initiatives are not a substitute for professional mental healthcare services. Yet the fact that articles are emerging about the problem of suicide in the Gulf and other mental healthcare concerns is a hopeful sign for the future of the region. At least in the case of Kuwait, efforts to address individual and collective trauma are a part of recovery from a brutal invasion that impacted a nation profoundly and continues to indirectly influence a generation that did not live through the war but was nonetheless affected by it.

The reconstruction of meaning is a Kuwaiti initiative worthy of praise in the days of social media influencers, such as Sondos Alqattan and Abdulla Al-Jassir, who gain notoriety through product promotion while failing to contribute to a meaningful national identity. Such endeavors aim to develop a culture of integrity and present alternatives to other aspects of Kuwait’s existing entertainment scene, which has come under fire recently for insensitivity to other cultures, and even a plethora of fraudulent doctors who use fake PhD certificates to practice. International collaborations should support these local initiatives, and can contribute by, for example, conducting research to track their effectiveness. Collectively, Kuwait is making choices about the kind of culture it should cultivate twenty eight years after its invasion.

Customize your RSS Feed