أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

دفاعاً عن محمد بن سلمان


متاح أيضاً في English

6 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018

لا شك أن ولي العهد السعودي، الأمير محمد بن سلمان، يتحمل قدراً من المسؤولية في قضية اغتيال الصحافي جمال خاشقجي. محمد بن سلمان هو الوجه الجديد للمملكة العربية السعودية، القائد المطلق الشاب والجريء والجسور، بل المتهور أحياناً، وعلاقته بهذه الجريمة تستحق المتابعة والتمحيص.

ولكن لا بد لمن يتابع هذه القضية أن يميّز بوضوح بين الثمن السياسي، والمساءلة المعنوية الأخلاقية، والذنب الجنائي. فعلى محمد بن سلمان بالتأكيد أن يتحمّل ثمناً سياسياً هنا، ومن الصائب مساءلته معنوياً. غير أنه ما لم تظهر المعطيات التي من شأنها أن تكشف عن تورط فعلي له بالجريمة، فإنه يتوجب على الإعلام الغربي ألا يعامله بطريقة تختلف عن معاملة غيره من الذين يواجهون الشبهات جنائياً، أي أن تفترض براءته إلى حين ثبوت التهمة.

من حيث المبدأ، استدعاءات الشؤون السياسية والأمنية والاقتصادية والتي تقف بوجه افتراض ذنب الأمير، بما فيها تلك الصادرة عن رئيس الولايات المتحدة، لا اعتبار لها.

ولكن الإدانة التلقائية للأمير وبلاده، في إطار التأكيد على رفض تأثير هذه الشؤون العملية المادية، هي كذلك خاطئة. دون شك، ليس محمد بن سلمان أقل ذنباً لأن المملكة العربية السعودية هي شريك مهم في جوار مضطرب، ولكنه بالمقابل ليس أكثر ذنباً لتجنب شبهة مراعاة هذه الشراكة.

وقد جرى طرح العديد من الحجج والقرائن لتعزيز القول بذنب محمد بن سلمان. فالكثير من ناقديه يشيرون إلى بطشه وتهوّره في حالات عدة سابقة، وثمة من يقول بأنه قد تدرّج ليمسي حاكماً مستبداً، وأنه لا يعقل ألا تكون عملية اغتيال من حجم تلك التي ذهب ضحيتها جمال خاشقجي قد تمّت دون إرادته وإدارته. كما أن الروايات السعودية المتتالية، والتي بقيت مفتقدة للصدقية، تثير السؤال حول دور الحكم السعودي في هذه الجريمة.

محمد بن سلمان دون شك حاكم سلطوي يتحضر على ما يبدو للإمساك بزمام ملكية مطلقة. غير أنه لا بد من التنبيه إلى أن صعوده في السلطة لا سابقة له في بلاده، ولا يمكن بالتالي افتراض أنه لديه كامل التحكم والسيطرة، كما هو حال الحكام السلطويين في بلاد أخرى. فالأكيد، في قضية جمال خاشقجي أنه كان لزاماً على محمد بن سلمان أن يكون على دراية وقرار. ولكن القرائن المتوفرة لا تفيد بأنه كان كذلك.

ثم إن التوجه إلى إدانة محمد بن سلمان في قضية جمال خاشقجي يبدو مدفوعاً، جزئياً على الأقل، بالرغبة بالكشف عن النفاق في الطرح الشائع لصورة محمد بن سلمان على أنه الرجل الإصلاحي التقدمي المتنور، وهي الصورة التي أنفق لتحقيقها الأمير نفسه الأموال الطائلة. ولكن في هذا إفراط بعد التفريط، أي أن الاعتراض على الصورة الدعائية لا يتوجب المبالغة في الطعن، بل الاعتراض على الصورة لا بد أن يكون انطلاقاً من نقد هذه الصورة لذاتها.

والعديد من السياسيين والمعلقين على قضية جمال خاشقجي، في سعيهم لإثبات التهمة على ابن سلمان، قد أمعنوا بقذف السعودية من خلال استدعاء أوجه يجهد الأمير الشاب للتصدي لها، فكثر حديثهم عن المساجد والمدارس التي تمولها المملكة في أرجاء العالم، وعن المناهج التي تحبّذ الإقصاء، وعن العنف الذي يستهدف غير المسلمين، وعن اضطهاد النساء والأقليات الدينية. بل ذهب البعض، من باب الضربة القاضية، إلى التذكير باعتداء الحادي عشر من أيلول ٢٠٠١، وأن خمسة عشر من الإرهابيين التسعة عشر المشاركين فيه كانوا من السعوديين. كافة هذه الأقوال تندرج في سياق سردية نقدية قائمة تلقي اللوم على السعودية لمجمل الاضطرابات الأمنية والثقافية والدينية والاقتصادية والتي أصابت العالم في العقود الماضية. فالسعودية تقدم وفق هذا التصوير على أنها مملكة ظلامية من القرون الوسطى، في اختزال لواقع في منطقتها يصعب على الجمهور الغربي متابعته.

وفي حين أن النقد الذي تتعرض له المملكة غالباً ما يأتي مشحوناً بالسجاليات والمواقف الحزبية، فإنه ليس خالياً من المضمون. فمنظومة القيم في المملكة العربية السعودية متباعدة بالفعل عن نظيرتها في الولايات المتحدة، وهذا التباعد مرشح أن يستمر في المستقبل. غير أن اغتيال صحافي مرموق وتقطيع جثته لا ينسجم مع منظومة القيم لا هنا ولا هناك. والسعي إلى الطعن بالسعودية، كثقافة وكمجتمع، بناءاً على هذا الفعل الشنيع هو إساءة غير مبررة لمنظومة القيم السعودية.

وكذلك حال التلميحات والتصريحات بشأن اعتداءات الحادي عشر من أيلول، إذ محاولة الربط بينها وبين السعودية يجهل أو يتجاهل واقع أن اختيار جنسية المشاركين جاء في إطار مسعى صريح لتنظيم القاعدة بضرب العلاقة بين السعودية والولايات المتحدة. فإما أن في هذا الربط سوء نية متعمدة، أو أنه جهل لواقع حال السعودية وتطورها السياسي والاجتماعي في الأعوام السبعة عشر الماضية.

محمد بن سلمان ليس وحيداً في السعي إلى تشكيل نموذج اجتماعي وثقافي جديد للسعودية. فالتأييد الذي يناله في أوساط واسعة في مجتمعه يعكس رغبة عامة دفينة في تجاوز التشدد الديني الذي أنهك المملكة. فالمفارقة لدى من يعلن ثبوت الذنب عليه هو أنه غالباً ما يدرج ذلك تعسفاً في إطار إدانة المنظومة الدينية الاجتماعية التي سعى الأمير الشاب إلى تفكيكها بتأييد شعبي واسع.

لا يمكن بالتأكيد نفي احتمال أن يكون محمد بن سلمان ضالعاً في اغتيال جمال خاشقجي. على أنه لا بد كذلك من النظر في احتمالات قد تكون أكثر معقولية إلى أن يبين التحقيق الجنائي الحقائق. فالأمير الشاب، لتمتين موقعه في السلطة، قد اعتمد بالفعل عدد من المساعدين الذين أبدوا في أكثر من موقع سلوكاً يطرح علامات الاستفهام، في الفضاء المعلوماتي كما في الواقع الفعلي. بعضهم تباهى بأنه في موقع الأمر والنهي، وبعضهم جاهر بسلطانه في الشؤون الرياضية والإعلامية على منصات التواصل الاجتماعي. بل بعض هذا السلوك انحدر إلى الممارسات الفعلية غير المشروعة وغير الأخلاقية، من قرصنة شبكات رياضية قطرية إلى ضرب زوجة سابقة في شوارع القاهرة.

من المعقول بالتالي التصور كيف أن طلب استقطاب أو حتى استجلاب بحق جمال خاشقجي، الصحافي المنشق، قد تحول عبر الطيش والمبالغة إلى الجريمة الفظيعة وغير المنطقية التي أودت بحياته. وليس من الصعب كذلك تصور حالة الفوضى والإرباك في الرياض خلال السعي إلى احتواء الحادثة من طرف إداريين محرجين ومفتقدين للوضوح في سعيهم إلى تطويق الكارثة.

محمد بن سلمان أظهر جنوحاً إلى الخطوات غير المدروسة، بل المتهورة، في أكثر من مناسبة، من الحرب في اليمن إلى الأزمة الخليجية، مروراً باحتجاز رئيس الوزراء اللبناني سعد الحريري وإرغامه على الاستقالة، والقبض على الأمراء والمتمولين السعوديين وحبسهم في فندق الريتز-كارلتون. ولكن ما جرى في القنصلية السعودية في إسطنبول، من حيث قدوم فريق اغتيال كبير تحت رقابة أجهزة مخابرات دولة على تنافر مع المملكة، هي تركيا، ليس بمصاف الأمور غير المدروسة، بل يتجاوزه بدرجات. والإضافة إلى الوحشية التي ينطوي عليها هذا الفعل المجرم الطائش، فإنه يأتي ليناقض مصالح محمد بن سلمان، ولا سيما لاقتراب موعد الحدث الأبرز المؤسس لرؤيته، أي مؤتمر الاستثمار «داڤوس في الصحراء». كما أنه من الغريب اعتبار أن محمد بن سلمان انتظر أن يتغاضى المجتمع الدولي عن جريمة بهذا الحجم يمكن إرجاعها بهذه السهولة إلى الحكومة السعودية. طبعاً، هذا الكلام لا يبرّئ محمد بن سلمان، ولكنه يدعو إلى التروي في استعراض وتقييم السيناريوهات المحتملة.

والواقع أن قضية جمال خاشقجي، لمن كان لتوّه يعارض السعودية وينتقدها، هي مادة إضافية وإن لم تكن الدليل القطعي على أن المملكة هي عامل شر وفساد وحكامها أهل ضرر. وفي المقابل، هذه القضية لمن يرى وجوب الاستمرار بعلاقة متينة بين الولايات المتحدة والسعودية، وإن تطلبت بعض الإجراءات العقابية، فإنه لا يجوز أن تفسد العلاقة، ما لم يبرز الدليل الدامغ على تورط القيادة السعودية شخصياً بالجريمة.

ومع استمرار الاحتمال الأقوى بأن لا دليل قطعياً سوف يظهر لإثبات الأمر على محمد بن سلمان، فإن الأمير ولي العهد يستحق افتراض البراءة، كما يستحق أن تنسجم النظرة إليه مع ما أظهره هو على مدى المرحلة الماضية: أنه حاكم سلطوي، ذو قدرة على الاستقطاب، ميّال للتجاوزات، ولكنه مدفوع أولاً بطموح ورؤيا، وقدر من الحس السليم.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

The Case for Muhammad bin Salman


Also available in العربية

November 6, 2018

In the tragic Khashoggi affair, the Saudi Crown Prince Muhammad bin Salman (MbS) certainly bears responsibility. As the face of the new Saudi Arabia, and as a young, daring, risky, and even reckless autocratic leader, MbS’s connection to the crime should certainly be examined with a significant degree of scrutiny.

However, outside commentators should make a clear distinction between issues of political liability, moral accountability, and criminal culpability. MbS is certainly subject to the first, and is right to be questioned about the second. But unless and until available facts can actually implicate the prince, Western media should not treat MbS any differently than others connected to crimes—innocent until proven guilty.

From a principled standpoint, arguments that political, security, and economic interests militate against assuming the prince’s guilt—including those voiced by the US President—are irrelevant.

Yet denouncing Prince and Country in an attempt to reject the influence of these material connections is equally in error. MbS is certainly not less guilty because Saudi Arabia is an important partner in a troubled region, and so he should not be considered more so due to avoid the appearance of catering to the importance of the partnership with his country.

Many arguments have been advanced to bolster the narrative of the Prince’s guilt. Critics have pointed out that he has been ruthless and reckless in multiple prior cases; some claim that he has evolved into a de facto absolute ruler, and as such no operation of this magnitude would occur without his approval and direction. Moreover, the way in which Saudi explanations of the incident have shifted drastically while remaining incredible also leads to questions around the extent of the Saudi government’s role.

MBS is indeed an autocrat, seemingly on the path to inherit an absolute monarchy. It is, however, important to note that his ascent to power is domestically unprecedented, and as such MbS may not have the type of central control expected of other autocratic governments. What is certain is that MbS should have known. Circumstantial evidence available so far does not show that he did.

Moreover, the trend in implicating MbS in reports on the Khashoggi affair seems partly motivated by a feeling of revealing a hypocrisy in MbS’s prior image as a forward-thinking reformer, cultivated through his own extensive efforts and expense. Yet recognizing and exposing the cracks in thinly-veiled hagiographic portrayals of the prince should stand on their own merit.

Instead, pundits and politicians speaking on the Khashoggi affair have pointed to the very elements of Saudi Arabia MbS is seeking to reform in order to implicate him: Saudi-funded mosques and madrasahs across the globe, school curricula condoning exclusion and violence against non-Muslims, and oppressed women and persecuted minorities. Pundits have even returned to the fact that fifteen out of the nineteen plane hijackers on September 11 stemmed from the Kingdom as a type of ‘coup de grace.’ These themes reflect a long-standing critical narrative comfortable with blaming Saudi Arabia for much of the security, cultural, religious, and economic upheavals that have shaken the world in the past decades. As an ‘alien’ and ‘medieval’ Kingdom, Saudi Arabia has often operated as a convenient scapegoat in a deeply complicated region where few political systems actually act in ways palpable to Western audiences.

While criticism of Saudi Arabia is often polemically charged and reflecting of partisan stands, it is not void of substance. Saudi and American values have traditionally diverged in many instances, and will continue to do so for the foreseeable future. However, the assassination and dismembering of a respected journalist is an act incompatible with both value systems. Attempting to indict Saudi culture and society for this particular act is misrepresentative of the Kingdom’s values.

Moreover, the recent references to September 11 are particularly concerning. Attempting to connect the terrorist attack to the country of Saudi Arabia ignores how Al-Qaeda purposely recruited Saudis for the attack, in large part as an attempt to dislodge the Washington-Riyadh partnership. If not a bad faith smear, the invocation of this event reveals a radical lack of understanding of how the Kingdom’s social and political evolution over the past seventeen years.

Muhammad bin Salman is not alone in seeking a new social and cultural model for Saudi Arabia. His appeal to large constituencies in the Kingdom is reflective of his success in articulating a long-frustrated desire to challenge the religiously-framed totalitarian regimentation suffered by Saudi society. Paradoxically, the narrative that proclaims his guilt places it in the context of the socio-religious system that he has sought to dismantle, with wide popular support.

And while the possibility of MbS ordering the murder of Jamal Khashoggi is not out of the question, other more plausible alternative theories should also be considered, unless and until clarity is achieved through a credible criminal investigation. MbS has relied on a number of controversial aides in his ascent to power, many who have displayed questionable behaviors both online and in real life. Some have openly fancied themselves as king-makers and power-brokers in their own domains, be it sports, media, or cyberspace. Moreover, these inclinations have in some cases degenerated into immoral and illegal actions—from assaulting a former wife in the streets of Cairo to pirating Qatari cable networks.

It is consequently reasonable to imagine that a request from the prince to cow and maybe even rendition a dissident metastasized into the absurd crime that ended Jamal’s life through the high-octane actions of his aides. Nor would it be difficult to imagine the confusion and clumsy attempts at damage control in Riyadh as the work of bureaucrats striving to navigate unchartered waters in an attempt to mitigate the disaster.

From Yemen to Qatar, through the abduction and forced resignation of Lebanese Prime Minister Saad Hariri and “shake-down” arrests at the Riyadh Ritz-Carlton, MbS has demonstrated a proclivity for questionable and badly measured actions. However, the large hit-team operation conducted at the Saudi consulate in Istanbul under the evident scrutiny of the intelligence services of a hardly friendly rival, Turkey—is beyond bad judgment. In addition to the crime’s inherent cruelty, it can only be understood as a mindless action that jeopardizes MbS's interests — especially given the timing of his flagship event “Davos in the Desert.” Nor is it logical to believe that MbS would be so full of confidence over his sense of importance to Western powers that he would believe the world community would simply forgive and forego a brutal murder that so quickly linked back to the Saudi government. Evidently, this does not absolve MbS, who may, however unlikely, thought he enjoyed unlimited impunity. But it also calls for wariness in assessing possible scenarios.

For the critics and opponents of Saudi Arabia, the Khashoggi murder is an additional argument, even if not yet an irrefutable proof, that the Kingdom and its rulers are a malignant or a malevolent agency. For the proponents of a US-Saudi partnership, some action may eventually be warranted, but the thrust ought to be avoiding the degradation of the relationship as a result of one incident, however grave, if no direct link to the country’s top leadership is exposed.

In the likely outcome that no incriminating evidence arises to directly implement MbS, the Crown Prince is not merely entitled to a presumption of innocence. He also ought to continue to be recognized for who he has demonstrated to be: an autocratic, charismatic leader, prone to excess, but still governed by visionary ambition and some degree of common sense.

Customize your RSS Feed