أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

العلاقات السودانية الإسرائيلية: ضمان الدعم المدني خلال فترة التحول الديمقراطي


متاح أيضاً في English

26 آب/أغسطس 2020

في خطوة تم الإعلان عنها للتو، قام وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبيو بزيارة الخرطوم أمس، وذلك بالتزامن مع زيارته لإسرائيل والبحرين والإمارات العربية المتحدة. وتأتى هذه الزيارة في وقت ينصب فيه الاهتمام على اتفاق السلام الإسرائيلي الإماراتي.  وفي أعقاب زيارته بومبيو المعلنة، يتساءل مراقبون دوليون عما إذا كان السودان التالي في مسار السلام مع إسرائيل.

ومع ذلك، تواجه الحكومة السودانية، خلال عملية الانتقال الديمقراطي انقسامات حادة بين المكون العسكري والمدني والتي قد تؤدي إلى بروز علاقة غير متوازنة مع إسرائيل في حالة استمرار عملية التطبيع. إن إقامة علاقات مستقبلية بين البلدين سيساهم في تعزيز المجتمع المدني السوداني ولن يقف حائلا أمام الانتقال السلمي إلى الحكم الديمقراطي.

والى جانب الانقسام بين الجانب العسكري والمدني، هناك أيضا انقسامات داخل قوى الحرية والتغيير الحاضنة الرئيسية لحكومة حمدوك، حيث أنها تتشكل من مجموعة من الأحزاب التي تختلف جذريا فيما بينها في كثير من القضايا ذات الارتباطات الأيديولوجية، فعلى سبيل المثال ليس هناك اتفاق حتى الآن بين الصادق المهدي رئيس حزب الأمة القومي ذو الخلفية الإسلامية وقيادات الحزب الشيوعي السوداني وحزب المؤتمر السوداني وتجمع المهنيين على مستقبل علاقات السودان الخارجية حيث ينادي بعضهم بالاستقلالية التامة عن المحاور والبعض الآخر يؤمن بأن هذا أمر يصعب تحقيقه الآن.

وحتى الآن، أدت تصريحات الحكومة السودانية المتناقضة حول علاقاتها مع إسرائيل إلى ارتباك وتكهنات حول ما إذا كانت الخرطوم تسعى حقا إلى التطبيع. ففي مقابلة مع "قناة سكاي نيوز" عربية، في الثامن عشر من شهر آب/ أغسطس، أكد المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية السودانية حيدر بدوي على القيام بإجراء محادثات دبلوماسية بين البلدين. وفي نفس اليوم أكد وزير الخارجية السوداني المكلف عمر قمر الدين في بيان أن وزارة الخارجية تلقت بدهشة تلك التصريحات، وأن وزارته لم تناقش مسألة العلاقات مع إسرائيل. وفي اليوم التالي تمت إقالة المتحدث باسم الخارجية. ومن ثم، ظل موضوع التطبيع بين البلدين يلفه الغموض.

يظهر موقف الحكومة السودانية هنا حالة من التخبط والانقسام، فالتصريحات المتضاربة للمتحدث باسم الخارجية، تضع رئيس الوزراء حمدوك في وضع حساس تجاه موقفها من التطبيع، كما يمكن أيضا تفسيرها بعدم معرفة حكومة حمدوك للمرة الثانية أن شركاءه في الحكومة   قد شرعوا في إجراء مفاوضات مع الجانب الإسرائيلي. وفى هذا الإطار، أكد وزير الإعلام السوداني أن " الحكومة الانتقالية لا تملك تفويضا بشأن قرار التطبيع مع إسرائيل"، وانه في مثل هذه الأمور يجب لانتظار حتى يتم تشكيل سلطة تشريعية انتقالية.

من ناحية أخرى، أنهت المؤسسة العسكرية موقفها وذلك في لحظة غير مسبوقة من تاريخ السودان عندما التقى رئيس مجلس السيادة السوداني عبد الفتاح البرهان رئيس وزراء إسرائيل بنيامين نتانياهو في كمبالا عاصمة أوغندا في شباط/فبراير الماضي، واتفق الطرفان على فتح قنوات اتصال بين البلدين. ومن الواضح أن هذه القنوات قائمة برعاية المحور الذي يتعاون معه الخرطوم حاليا وهو محور الإمارات-السعودية- ومصر. ومنها أيضا يتضح أن مسؤول ملف العلاقات التي تتعلق بأمن السودان القومي هو المكون العسكري وتحديدا عبد الفتاح البرهان والذي من المفترض أنه لا يملك سلطة تنفيذية.  

حاليا، يتوقع الشارع العربي أن تحذو السودان نحو التطبيع مع إسرائيل وذلك على غرار الإمارات. إضافة الى ذلك، تشير تعليقات رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو أيضا إلى أن التطبيع هو مسألة وقت فقط، حيث قال في بيان رسمي أن "إسرائيل والسودان والمنطقة برمتها ستستفيد من اتفاق السلام (مع الإمارات) وستبني معا مستقبلا أفضل لجميع شعوب المنطقة. وسنقوم بما هو ضروري لتحويل هذه الرؤية واقعا".

السودان التي عرف برفضه الاعتراف والتعاون والتفاوض مع إسرائيل لعقود، يأمل الآن في   حل مشاكل خلفها له النظام السابق، فالجانب المدني المتمثل في حمدوك وقوى الحرية والتغيير يحاول من جهته بناء علاقات إقليمية تساعده في قضيته الأولى وهي إزالة اسم السودان من قائمة العقوبات الامريكية والتي تتطلب تعويض ضحايا الأعمال الإرهابية وملف السلام مع الحركات المسلحة، والتعاون في ملف مكافحة الإرهاب وحقوق الإنسان والصحافة والدين، والعلاقة مع كوريا الشمالية، وتسهيل وصول المساعدات الإنسانية. ومن ثم، يمكن للعلاقات مع إسرائيل أن تفتح الطريق أمام السودان للوصول الى البيت الأبيض وصندوق النقد الدولي. ويُفهم من ذلك أن التطبيع مع إسرائيل سيساعد على إزالة السودان من القائمة الأمريكية للدول الراعية للإرهاب، وهو ما أعلن عنه بومبيو للتو.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أن التطبيع بين السودان وإسرائيل لم يأت من العدم، حيث أن تاريخ العلاقات بين البلدين ليس بجديد، فقد قام جعفر نميري، الرئيس السابق للسودان بترحيل اليهود الفلاشا وتسهيل استيطانهم في إسرائيل. ومع ذلك، توقفت جميع الاتصالات بعد الانقلاب العسكري الذي أتى بعمر البشير الى السلطة عام 1989، والذي قاده زعيم حركة الإخوان السودانية حسن الترابي. بدأ نظام البشير حكمه بمناصبة العداء لإسرائيل والولايات المتحدة، والتقارب مع إيران والجماعات المتطرفة. كما قام الترابي بنفسه بدعوة حماس وأسامة بن لادن وعدد من القيادات المتطرفة للعمل وفتح معسكرات تدريب في السودان أمام تلك الجماعات المتطرفة التي يربطها ببعضنا البعض كراهيتها للولايات المتحدة الامريكية.

ولكن وبعد المفاصلة الشهيرة التي أدت الى انفصال الترابي والبشير في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر عام 1999 والتي تم على أساسها نفى الترابي من البلاد وتجرّيده من كافة سلطاته، أصبح البشير يفكر في تثبيت دعائم حكمه فقام بقطع العلاقات مع إيران ومارس سياسة التقارب مع السعودية والإمارات وقطر، وبعدها أصبح التطبيع بين دول الخليج وبين إسرائيل خيارا ممكنا.  كما صرح وزير الخارجية البشير إبراهيم غندور أن السودان لا تمانع من دراسة إمكانية التطبيع مع إسرائيل. وهو أمر أعتقد السودان في ذلك الوقت أنه الطريق المثالي لإزالة السودان من قائمة الإرهاب الامريكية واستمرار حكم البشير الدكتاتوري المبني على الفساد.

حاليا، يسعى الجانب العسكري في الحكومة السودانية الانتقالية لجذب الانتباه الأمريكي وإرضاء القوى الإقليمية التي تدعم قيام حكومة عسكرية في السودان. وهناك مخاوف من أنه يستغل الجانب العسكري ورقة التطبيع في هذا الأمر ويسير في نفس خطى حكومة البشير لتدعيم حكمة والتأثير على التحول الديموقراطية والانتقال السلمي المتوقع في 2022.

من خلال التفاوض مع الجناح العسكري في السودان  قد تلعب إسرائيل دورا يصب في مصلحة الفصيل العسكري السوداني. ومع ذلك، فإن إقامة علاقات متوازنة ومستمرة مع السودان لا يجب أن تكون عن طريق المكون العسكري وتجاهل المكون المدني، فالمزاج العام في الشارع السوداني حاليا هو ضد النظام السابق والذي كان يرفع شعارات المعادية لإسرائيل لعقود وهو يبحث حاليا عن علاقات سلام مع العالم. ولكن هذا قد يتغير إذا ارتبط الأمر بالعسكر وبتشريع بقائهم في الحكم.

  ومن هنا يجب على إسرائيل أن تبحث عن صداقة وعلاقة حقيقة مع السودان تضمن عدم رفض الشارع السوداني لها في المستقبل، فتجاهل الطرف المدني لن يصب في مصلحة إسرائيل في المستقبل، حيث أن قوى الحرية والتغيير وتجمع المهنيين الحاضنة الرئيسية لحمدوك تتمتع بتأثير كبير على الشارع السوداني

وعلى الجانب السوداني، يجب على حمدوك أن يقوم بفتح نقاش سياسي عام مع القوى السياسية الداخلية وعمل حوار وطني حول هذه المسالة حتى لا تكون عبارة عن نقاش سري بين قنوات سرية وإقليمية ومؤامرات على الطريقة الشرق أوسطية بل واعتقد أن مسألة عرضها لاستفتاء شعبي هو واجب لحكومة تمهد لانتقال ديموقراطي وفي حالة الترجيح الشعبي يجب على السودان فتح قنوات تواصل علنية وشفافة مع تل أبيب تنسجم مع السودان الجديد الذي يرغب بالانفتاح وبناء علاقات أساسها هو مصلحة السودان أولا.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Sudan-Israel Relations: Ensuring Civilian Buy-In During a Democratic Transition


Also available in العربية

August 26, 2020

In a recently announced move, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo visited Khartoum yesterday as part of his broader tour through the region, including visits to Israel, Bahrain, and the UAE. The Israel-UAE normalization deal sparked the series of diplomatic visits. In the wake of these developments, international observers wondered if Sudan might be the next Arab state to normalize relations with Israel.

Even so, Sudan’s current government—deep in the process of a challenging transition to democratic governance—faces divisions between its military and civil components that may lead to a lopsided relationship with Israel should normalization actually go forward. With the potential for Sudan’s military to attempt to shape any efforts to normalize for its own benefit, it is imperative that any future relationship between the two countries strengthen Sudan’s civil society and not inhibit a peaceful transition to democratic rule.

There are also divisions within the Forces of Freedom and Change, the main incubator for Hamdok's government, which is made up of a constellation of political parties that radically differ among themselves on many ideological issues. For example, there is no agreement yet between Sadiq al-Mahdi, the head of the Islamic-oriented Umma party, and the leaderships of the Sudanese Communist Party, the Sudanese Congress Party, and the Assembly of Professionals on the future of Sudan's external relations. Some of them call for complete independence from any international alliances, while others believe that this is currently difficult to achieve.

Thus far, the Sudanese government’s contradictory statements about its relations with Israel have led to confusion and speculation about whether Khartoum is in fact pursuing normalization. On August 18, Sudanese Foreign Ministry spokesperson Haidar Badawi confirmed diplomatic talks between the two countries in an interview with Sky News Arabia. That same day, Foreign Minister Omar Qamar Al-Din said he was “surprised” to hear the statement, later saying the ministry had not discussed the issue of Sudanese-Israeli relations. The ministry then fired Mr. Badawi, and the topic of normalization has since remained unclear. 

The Sudanese government’s position here indicates some division and confusion. The conflicting—and, for the ministry spokesperson, very dangerous—statements put Prime Minister Hamdok’s civilian government in a sensitive position. It could be that the statements indicate that Hamdok’s government has a lack of knowledge, for the second time, of its own government partners pursuing negotiations with Israel. Sudan’s Information Minister emphasized that “the transition government does not have the mandate… to decide on normalization with Israel” and that such a matter would needs to wait until a legislative transitional authority is formalized. 

The military, on the other hand, revealed its stance last February when Chairman of the Sovereignty Council of Sudan Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, in an unprecedented moment of Sudanese history, met Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu in the Ugandan capital of Kampala, where both parties agreed to open channels of communication between the two countries. These channels enjoy the sponsorship of Khartoum’s regional allies in the UAE-Saudi-Egypt axis. This decision also asserted that the responsibility for relations associated with Sudanese national security lies with the military, specifically Abdel Fattah al-Burhan, even though al-Burhan supposedly holds no executive authority.

The Arab populace now widely expects that Sudan will follow the lead of the UAE’s announcement and pursue normalization with Israel. Furthermore, comments made by the Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu also indicate that the normalization of relations is just a matter of time, saying in an official statement that “Israel, Sudan, and the entire region will benefit from the peace agreement (with the UAE) and together will build a better future for all the region’s peoples. We will do whatever is necessary to turn this vision into reality.”

In Sudan, which had for decades been known for its refusal to recognize, cooperate, or negotiate with Israel, the ruling government is hoping to solve one of the many problems left behind by the previous regime. The civilian side of the government, represented by Prime Minister Hamdok and the Forces of Freedom and Change, is trying for their part to build regional relations that will help achieve its primary goal, the removal of Sudan from the U.S. sanctions list. This requires the compensation of victims of terrorist acts; peace with armed movements; cooperation in combating terrorism; strengthening of human rights, religious rights, and rights of the press; degrading its the relationship with North Korea; and facilitating the delivery of humanitarian aid. Cooperation with Israel is widely understood as a way to open access to the White House and the International Monetary Fund, and normalization may help to remove Sudan from the U.S. list of state sponsors of terrorism. 

Normalization would not be built on nothing; Sudan and Israel have cooperated in the past, such as when the former president Jaafar Nimeiry helped evacuate the Beta Israel Jewish community from Sudan and facilitated their resettlement in Israel. However, all connections ceased after the military coup that put Omar al-Bashir in power in 1989, which was spearheaded by the leader of the Sudanese Muslim Brotherhood Hassan al-Turabi. In the beginning, the al-Bashir government was hostile towards Israel and the United States and preferred to align Sudan with Iran and extremist groups. Al-Turabi himself invited Hamas, Osama bin Laden, and a number of extremist leaders to operate and open training camps in Sudan, with extremist groups bonding with Sudanese leadership over a mutual distaste for the United States.

However, al-Turabi and al-Bashir had a notorious split in December 1999, and al-Bashir became increasingly concerned with consolidating his rule. He expelled al-Turabi from the country and stripped him of his powers. Al-Bashir then cut off relations with Iran and realigned Sudan with Saudi Arabia, the UAE, and Qatar. This shift towards the Gulf states, which themselves began tacit explorations of relations with Israel, made the option of normalizing relations with Israel possible. Al-Bashir’s Foreign Minister Ibrahim Ghandour even said at one point that Sudan was not opposed to exploring the possibility of normalizing relations with Israel. Then, many saw the approach as the ideal way to get Sudan removed from the U.S. list of state sponsors of terrorism that al-Bashir’s welcoming of extremists had engendered while to continuing al-Bashir's its corrupt dictatorial rule.

Currently, the military wing of the Sudanese transitional government seeks to attract American attention and satisfy the regional competitors that support a military government in Sudan. This trend has sparked fears that the military will use the idea normalization in the manner of al-Bashir’s government, gaining international support for the military in particular and thus influencing the peaceful transition to democratic governance expected in 2022.

By negotiating with Sudan’s military wing, Israel may be playing into the hands of Sudan’s military faction. As such, lasting relations with Sudan must not be achieved by way of the military channels to the neglect of the civilian government. The general mood on the streets of Sudan is one of opposition to the former regime. Sudanese saw anti-Israel banners linked with the regime for decades, and the populace is now searching for peaceful relations with the world. But this could change if those relations are linked to legitimizing military control of the government.

Therefore, Israel must actively seek friendship and a real relationship with all stakeholders in Sudan to guarantee that the Sudanese populace will not reject such a relationship in the future. Ignoring the civilian side of relations will not be in Israel’s future interests, especially as the Forces of Freedom and Change and the Assembly of Professionals, the primary incubator for Prime Minister Hamdok, have a large influence on the Sudanese populace.

On the Sudanese side, Hamdok must open a general political discussion with political forces. He must hold a national dialogue around this issue so that talk of conspiracies and secret discussion among secret regional channels, as is common in the region, can be avoided. In this case, if the Sudanese government is really laying the groundwork for a democratic transition, the issue of relations should be put to a popular referendum. And if the will of the people approves it, Sudan must open overt and transparent channels of communication with Tel Aviv that are suited to the new Sudan and its interests.

Customize your RSS Feed