أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

التقارب الصيني السعودي ومحدودية تأثيره على العلاقات السعودية الأمريكية


متاح أيضاً في English

2 شباط/فبراير 2018

2 فبراير /شباط 2018


كان أول اجتماع بين الصين والمملكة العربية السعودية في عمان في عام 1985، أول بادرة للعلاقات الثنائية الرسمية بين البلدين. وقبل عام 1990، لم تكن هناك أي علاقات دبلوماسية بين الدولتين، وقد سبق ورفضت المملكة العربية السعودية الاعتراف بجمهورية الصين الشعبية كدولة، لكن بعد زيارة الأمير بندر بن سلطان، سفير السعودية لدى الولايات المتحدة، لبكين، تم بعدها إقامة علاقات دبلوماسية كاملة بين البلدين، وتم تبادل السفراء وتنظيم اجتماعات على المستويات السياسية والاقتصادية وغيرها. ومؤخراً، تحاول المملكة العربية السعودية تعميق التقارب مع الصين لتنويع قاعدتها الاقتصادية، ولكسب الموقف السياسي الصيني المهم في التحولات الإقليمية. وقد تجلى هذا التقارب مؤخراً  في زيارة العاهل السعودي، الملك سلمان بن عبد العزيز الأخيرة إلى الصين في أذار/ مارس الماضي وإبرام صفقات بقيمة 65 مليار دولار.

ويبقى السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه، هل سيمثل التقارب السعودي الصيني بداية للتراجع في العلاقات السعودية الأمريكية، أم أن الفراغ الذي تشغله الأخيرة لا يمكن للصين أن تملؤه؟  وللإجابة على هذا السؤال ينبغي طرح طبيعة التقارب السعودي الصيني على المستويين الاقتصادي والأمني، وتحليل انعكاساته على العلاقات السعودية الأمريكية.

من الناحية الاقتصادية، أكد نائب وزير التجارة الصيني في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر الماضي، عزم بكين والرياض إنشاء صندوق استثماري بقيمة 20 مليار دولار، موضحاً أن السعودية هي أكبر شريك تجاري للصين على مستوى غرب آسيا وأفريقيا. في حين قال نائب وزير الاقتصاد والتخطيط السعودي إن المؤسسات السعودية مستعدة لدراسة تمويل أنفسها جزئيا باليوان، والصين مستعدة لتقديم مثل ذلك التمويل. وهنا يمكن للسعودية أن تكسر قاعدة استخدام الدولار بتعاملاتها النفطية مع الصين لاستخدام اليوان، كجزء من التوجه نحو الصين، وتعويض عن دور واشنطن الذي قد يتلاشى مستقبلاً في الشرق الأوسط. وخلال مكالمة هاتفية جمعت الرئيس الصيني والملك سلمان في تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر الماضي، أكد الرئيس الصيني على عزم بلاده على تقوية الشراكة الاستراتيجية مع الرياض لمواكبة التغيرات التي تحدث في المنطقة، لاسيما وأن صادرات الخام السعودي إلى أمريكا انخفضت إلى أدنى مستوياتها في 30 عاماً. في حين ستسمح الصين للسعودية بزيادة مبيعاتها في ثاني أكبر سوق للنفط بالعالم، بينما أصبحت أمريكا مكتفية ذاتياً بالنفط.


وعلى المستوى الأمني، يرى بعض المحللين أن السعودية تحاول خلق حرب استراتيجية بين الدول العظمى، للفوز بتسليح ودعم أمن المملكة، خاصة بعد أن أظهرت الولايات المتحدة استجابةً ضعيفةً لاحتياجات السعودية الأمنية والعسكرية في ظل التحديات الأمنية التي تواجهها، الأمر الذي سيفتح الباب أمام الصين وروسيا لنشر ثقلهما في المنطقة وتنسيق مواقفهما ضد واشنطن، ما سيجعل أمريكا لاعباً غير مؤثر أو خارج لعبة الشرق الأوسط.  ومع ذلك، تدرك السعودية أنه لا يمكن التخلي عن الدور الأمريكي في مجال الأمن القومي لحساب الصين على المدى القريب، حيث ما زالت الصين مقارنة بأمريكا أو حتى روسيا، أقلّ التزاماً تجاه دول المنطقة سياسياً وعسكرياً.  كما أن لدى واشنطن القدرة على تحمّل أعباء الانتشار العسكري، وتطورها العسكري، وتشكيل تحالفات. أما الصين فهي ليست لديها القدرة على تحمل تلك الأعباء الأمنية، ولا ترغب في الاصطدام مع الولايات المتحدة في الشرق الأوسط، بل تستفيد من الهيمنة الأمريكية هناك، إذ تؤمّن طرق الملاحة (النفط المصدّر للصين) دون إجراء أي استثمارات كبيرة لحماية المنطقة. وفى خضم الصراع السعودي الإيراني الحالي، تدرك الأخيرة انه لا يوجد حالياً بديلٌ عن الوجود العسكري الأمريكي في الخليج للحدّ من النفوذ الإيراني، خصوصاً بعد أن تطورت العلاقات بين السعودية وأمريكا عقب انتخاب دونالد ترامب، لتشاركه معها في الحد من النفوذ الإيراني، ولدعمه للإصلاحات السعودية، حيث بدأت تتوسع العديد من بنوك الأمريكية في السعودية.

يهدف النهج الصيني في ما يخص علاقة الصين مع العالم إلى إبقاء جميع القوى الفاعلة الرئيسة في خانة الأصدقاء؛ وتجنب اكتساب عداوة دائمة على مخاطرات عدة، منها أن زيادة التورط الصيني في المنطقة من الناحية الأمنية، سيؤثر على المصالح الأمريكية والروسية. وعليه يواصل الصينيون العمل على طول خطوط المصالح الذاتية الضيقة والاقتصادية، وطالما أن الصراعات لا تشكل خطراً أساسياً على خطط بكين، فمن المرجح أن تستمر بهذه الاستراتيجية. كما تعد مبادرة "طريق الحرير" وسيلة الصين للتأثير في التحولات العالمية، فإبرام شراكات اقتصادية وثقافية بين بكين ودول أخرى يثبّت أقدامها كلاعب رئيسي بدأ يهيمن على الشؤون العالمية.

تدرك المملكة العربية السعودية جيدا أن الدور الذي تلعبه الصين في ما يخص الصراع السعودي الإيراني، يصب فقط في مصلحتها الخاصة، لذلك فالرياض ليست لديها قناعة بان بكين ستتخلى عن علاقاتها مع إيران في المستقبل لصالح علاقاتها مع السعودية. كما تدرك الرياض مخاطر الانفصال التام عن واشنطن وانه لن يصب في مصلحتها على المدى البعيد. ومن ثم، ستحاول المملكة الاستفادة من علاقتها الاقتصادية مع الصين مع الحفاظ على علاقتها الوظيفية والأمنية مع واشنطن. كما تدرك كلا من السعودية والصين أيضا انه في ظل وجود قواعد عسكرية أمريكية في جميع الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون الخليجي، لن تتمكن السعودية ولا الرياض   من إزاحة الولايات المتحدة من موقعها كفاعل عسكري مهيمن في الخليج الفارسي. كما ستستفيد المملكة من الحفاظ على كلا البلدين كسوق رئيسية لصادراتها النفطية المستقبلية.  وما يبدو على الأرجح هو أن الصين والمملكة العربية السعودية والولايات المتحدة سيقومون بعمل توازن ثلاثي للقوة في الخليج يصب في خانة مصالحهم المشتركة دون أن يقوم أي طرف بتهميش الأطراف الأخر أو إزاحته من المشهد.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Saudi-Chinese Rapprochement and Its Effect on Saudi-American Relations


Also available in العربية

February 2, 2018

February 02, 2018

The first meeting between China and Saudi Arabia, which took place in Oman in 1985, was an initial gesture towards official bilateral relations between the two countries. Before 1990, there were no diplomatic relations between Saudi Arabia and China, and Saudi Arabia refused to recognize China as a government. However, full diplomatic relations were established after the Saudi Ambassador to the United States, Prince Bandar bin Sultan, visited Beijing. The two countries exchanged ambassadors, and organized meetings at the political and economic levels. Recently, Saudi Arabia has attempted to deepen its ties with China to widen its economic base and acquire important Chinese political position in regional transformations. This rapprochement has been made clear of  by the recent visit of the Saudi monarch, King Salman bin Abdulaziz, to China in March  2017, where he signed deals worth $65 billion.

The question poses itself: does Saudi-Chinese closeness indicate the beginning of problem in Saudi-U.S. relations, or can China fill the vacuum occupied by the United States? To answer this question, the nature of the Saudi-Chinese relationship should be examined at both the economic and the security level, and analyzed for its implications on Saudi-U.S. relations.

Economically, the Chinese Deputy Minister for Commerce confirmed last October that both Beijing and Riyadh intend to establish an investment fund of $20 billion. Thus, Saudi Arabia is becoming China’s biggest commercial partner in the Middle East and Africa. Meanwhile, the Saudi Deputy Minister of Economy and Planning said that Saudi institutions are ready to fund partially in yuan, and China is ready to provide the funding. Saudi Arabia started using the yuan instead of U.S. dollar in its oil transactions with China as part of its pivot to China, and to compensate for the future fading role of Washington in the Middle East. During a phone call between the Chinese president and the Saudi King in November 2017, the Chinese President confirmed to the Saudi king that China’s intention to strengthen its strategic partnership with Riyadh. China wants to keep up with the changes occurring in the region, especially the drop in Saudi crude exports to the U.S. to their lowest level in thirty years. China will allow Saudi Arabia to increase its sales in the second-largest oil market in the world, whereas the U.S. has become energy independent.

Security-wise, some analysts see Saudi Arabia as trying to create a strategic competition among the great powers to gain weapons and security support, especially after the U.S. appeared to respond weakly to Saudi security and military needs amidst security challenges. This might open the door to China and Russia to exert influence in the region, and coordinate their positions against Washington; thereby making the U.S. either an ineffective player or out of the game in the Middle East. Nevertheless, Saudi Arabia is aware that it is impossible in the short term to relinquish the U.S. role in national security to China, which compared to the United States and even Russia, remains less committed politically and militarily to its friends among the countries of the region. Washington can bear the burden of military deployment, military progress, and coalition building, while China has no such capacity nor the desire to clash with the United States in the Middle East. Rather, China wishes to benefit from American dominance there, which secures shipping routes for export oil to China without China having to make any major investments to protect the region. Amid the current Saudi-Iranian conflict, China is aware that there is no current alternative to American military presence in the Gulf to limit Iranian influence, particularly since relations between Saudi Arabia and the United States have progressed following the election of Donald Trump. Trump is partnering with Saudi Arabia to limit Iranian influence and supports Saudi reforms, whereby Saudi Arabia has begun to expand the number of American banks and other economic ties in the Kingdom.

The goal of China’s foreign policy approach is to keep on friendly terms with all the major players and to avoid continual hostility from several risks, including increasing Chinese involvement in the region’s security that would affect American and Russian interests. Accordingly, the Chinese continue to work within their narrow economic self-interest, and they are likely to continue this strategy so long as regional conflicts do not pose a basic risk to Beijing’s plans. In addition, the “Silk Road” initiative is considered a way for China to influence global transformations, and establish economic and cultural partnerships between Beijing and other countries; thereby, strengthening China’s role as a main player in world affairs.

Saudi Arabia is well aware that the role that China is playing in the Saudi-Iranian conflict is for China’s self-interest only; thus, Riyadh is not satisfied that Beijing will abandon its relationship with Iran in the future in favor of its relationship with Saudi Arabia. Riyadh also understands the dangers of a complete break from Washington and that this will not be in Saudi Arabia’s long-term interest. Therefore, Saudi Arabia will try to benefit from its economic relationship with China, while also maintaining its functional and security relationship with Washington. Both Saudi Arabia and China are mindful that, given the presence of American ¬military bases in the GCC countries, Saudi Arabia and Riyadh will be unable to remove the U.S. from its position as the dominant military actor in the Persian Gulf. The Kingdom will also benefit from diversifying its major markets for future oil exports. What seems likely is that China, Saudi Arabia, and the United States will form a tripartite role in the Gulf that accommodates their shared interests without any party marginalizing the others or removing itself from the scene.

Customize your RSS Feed