أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

تذكر فك الارتباط عن غزة بعد 13 عامًا: خواطر شخصية حول فرصة ضائعة


متاح أيضاً في English

1 تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2018

مقدمة

من الصعب أحيانًا تصور في العام 2018 أنه كان هناك رؤية قائمة في غزة مختلفة عن الرؤية الحالية المعروضة في الأخبار، وتلك التي يعيشونها سكان غزة يوميًا. ولكنني كنت عضوًا في مجموعة متفائلة من التكنوقراط الذين أعدوا خارطة طريق واضحة لغزة بعد فك الارتباط الأحادي من قبل إسرائيل في العام 2005، ومن ثم راقبت تداعي تلك الخطة. فالعبر المستخلصة من تلك الفترة حول أسباب فشل هذه الرؤية الأكثر تفاؤلًا لغزة تشكل جزءًا لا يتجزأ من المحادثات الأوسع حول النزاع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني، ومضادًا مهمًا لسيرة تبين تصاعد حماس والعنف اللاحق على أنه أمر محتم. ولكن من الأساسي للاعبين الدوليين والإقليميين على حد سواء أن يفكروا في التجارب الفاشلة المتعلقة بالمساعدة التقنية لغزة فيما تستمر جهود الأسرة الدولية لإيجاد حل لأزمة متفاقمة.

يوم مغادرة إسرائيل لغزة

في ساعات الصباح الأولى في 12 أيلول/سبتمبر من العام 2005، كنت من أوائل الأشخاص الذين دخلوا المستوطنة اليهودية نتساريم التي تم إخلاؤها، جنوب مدينة غزة مباشرةً، فيما كان آخر الجنود الإسرائيليين يغادرون غزة. وعند شروق الشمس، كنت في غوش قطيف، وهي أكبر كتلة مستوطنات إسرائيلية تمتد على طول ساحل غزة الجنوبي الجميل المطل على البحر المتوسط. ومن هناك، توجهت إلى الجانب الفلسطيني من معبر رفح الحدودي الذي تم إخلاؤه أيضًا مع طريق فيلاديلفي الممتدة على 13 كلم من الحدود بين غزة ومصر. وقد اختتمت نهاري في المستوطنات الثلاثة الصغيرة التي تم إخلاؤها وهي دوجيت ونيسانيت وعيلاي سيناء، الواقعة على طول السياج الشمالي بين غزة وإسرائيل وفي منطقة بيت حانون/إيرز الصناعية.

إن المشهد الذي رأيته في المستوطنات السابقة في ذلك اليوم كانت تسوده فوضى عارمة ومطلقة. فعشرات آلاف الأشخاص الذين كانوا يعيشون في مخيمات اللاجئين الثمانية في غزة وفي القرى الصغيرة القليلة المتاخمة للمستوطنات انتشروا في الممتلكات التي تم إخلاؤها وأخذوا ما استطاعوا أخذه من المباني التي تركها المستوطنون الإسرائيليون وراءهم، من الأنابيب والأبواب إلى الخرسانةومواد بناء أخرى أساسية. ولم يشاهَد أي من رجالالشرطة الفلسطينية الذين تم تعيينهم لتوفير الأمن. ولم تبقَ سوى الدفيئات الواقعة في المستوطنات الوسطى والجنوبية على حالها نظرًا لوجود حراس أمن خاص تم توظيفهم بشكل مسبق لتوفير الحماية. وفي نهاية اليوم، لم يبقَ سوى الأنقاض والحطام.

الاستعدادات الفلسطينية لليوم التالي

قصدت تلك المواقع مرات كثيرة ومتتالية كواحد من 40 خبير فلسطيني تم حشدهم لتحضير غزة لما بعد فك الارتباط. كان الفريق يضم خبراء تقنيين رفيعي المستوى في الزراعة والصناعة والتجارة والمعابر الحدودية والمياه والكهرباء والصرف الصحي وتخطيط الأراضي والإسكان والاتصالات. وكنا بمعظمنا قادمين من غزة، بمساعدة عدد صغير من الخبراء القانونيين والتجاريين وخبراء المياه التابعينلـ "وحدة دعم المفاوضات" في منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية التي تتخذ رام الله مقرًا لها.

عمل فريقنا أيضًا بتنسيق وثيق مع البنك الدولي وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي ومنظمات دولية أخرى تعمل في المناطق الفلسطينية. ففي فترات منتظمة، كنا نعقد اجتماعات مع المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني والقطاع الخاص والفصائل السياسية في قطاع غزة والضفة الغربية لعرض عملنا على هذه الجهات والاستماع إلى تعليقاتها. تمت أيضًا إحاطة أسرة المانحين وممثلي البعثات الدبلوماسية في السلطة الفلسطينية حول خططنا التقنية. وكان الانطباع العام الذي كونّاه في كافة تلك الاجتماعات إيجابيًا ومشجعًا للغاية.

وبعد شهرين من الانسحاب الأحادي الإسرائيلي من غزة، في 15 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر، توسطت الولايات المتحدة لعقد اتفاق التنقل والعبور بين إسرائيل والسلطة الفلسطينية. وقد عزز هذا الاتفاق على ما يبدو إلى حد كبير آفاق التنفيذ الناجح لخططنا التقنية المتعلقة بغزة ما بعد فك الارتباط. فقد صُمم اتفاق التنقل والعبور لتحسين معاملات غزة التجارية العابرة للحدود مع إسرائيل، ما يتيح مرورًا آمنًا بين غزة والضفة الغربية. كما سهل اتفاق التنقل والعبور عمليات التصدير الزراعية من المستوطنات الإسرائيلية السابقة التابعة لغزة وفصّل الاستراتيجية التشغيلية لمعبر رفح الحدودي المراقَب من قبل الاتحاد الأوروبي وسمح باستئناف المحادثات المتعلقة ببناء ميناء غزة وإعادة بناء مطار غزة الذي دُمر خلال الأشهر الأولى من الانتفاضة الثانية التي اندلعت في 28 أيلول/سبتمبر من العام 2000.

تلاشي الآمال

سرعان ما تبددت آمالنا وتطلعاتنا كتكنوقراط لبدء فصل جديد من تاريخ غزة. فالنزاع الإسرائيلي-الفلسطيني الأوسع والسياسات الفلسطينية الداخلية أثبتت بأنها أقوى من خططنا التقنية المتعلقة بغزة. ونحن لسنا بسذّج، إذ لم نتوقع تنفيذ خططنا، أو في هذه الحالة اتفاق التنقل والعبور بذاته، بسهولة وسلاسة. ولكن حتى في أسوأ كوابيسنا، لم نتصور غزة كما هي عليه اليوم بعد 13 عامًا من فك الارتباط، أي مكان ممزق بأكثر من عقد من الانقسامات السياسية الفلسطينية المريرة وثلاث حروب بين حماس وإسرائيل وحظر خانق وعزلة شبه كلية عن بقية العالم. بنتيجة ذلك، يعاني سكان غزة اليوم من ارتفاع معدلات البطالة والفقر وانعدام الأمن الغذائي وتداعي الخدمات الأساسية والبنى التحتية العامة وتراجع اقتصاد القطاع الخاص والانتشار الواسع لليأس والإحباط الكلي بين سكان غزة الذين يبلغ عددهم مليونين.

إسرائيل وحماس ووقائع فك الارتباط

قادت مجموعة عوامل إلى هذه النتيجة المؤسفة، بما فيها بشكل أساسي مقاربة إسرائيل وحماس لخطة فك الارتباط وتطبيقها وكيفية عرضها.

من الجانب الإسرائيلي، بالرغم من أن خطة إخلاء غزة، التي فاجأت الجميع عندما تم الإعلان عنها للمرة الأولى في كانون الأول/ديسمبر من العام 2003 من قبل رئيس الوزراء السابق أرييل شارون، اعتمدت بشكل كبير على مصلحة إسرائيل الاستراتيجية، فإن انسحاب إسرائيل من غزة كان أمرًا محتمًا، وهي نقطة غالبًا ما يتم تجاهلها في الكتابات المعنية بفك الارتباط عن غزة. وبخلاف الضفة الغربية، لم تبرز قط آفاق الاحتلال الإسرائيلي لغزة على المدى الطويل أو تُعتبر حتى منطقية من الناحية الاستراتيجية. فلا الجغرافيا ولا الديموغرافيا الخاصة بالمنطقة تسمح بوجود إسرائيلي مطول وسط سكان فلسطينيين شباب ومتطورينمقيدينفي أراضٍ صغيرة. وتشكل غزة في نهاية المطاف جزءًاصغيرًا من الأراضي، يُعتبر إحدى أكثر المناطق اكتظاظًا بالسكان في العالم، إذ كان عدد سكانها عند فك الارتباط يبلغ 1.3 مليون، مع زيادة سنوية بـ 3.5%. وعلى ضوء هذه الوقائع، كان فك الارتباط الاسرائيلي في الواقع متوقعًا على المستوى الاستراتيجي، إذ أنه كان مسألة وقت فحسب.

بالمقابل، قدمت حماس من جهتها فك الارتباط كنصر، من خلال تبرير فعالية مقاربة المقاومة المسلحة الخاصة بها التي نجحت في "تحرير" غزة. ولم يكن واقع أن الخطوة الإسرائيلية لم تكن مكتملة مهمًا بالنسبة إلى حماس (بعد فك الارتباط، أبقت إسرائيل على سيطرة حصرية على فضاء غزة الجوي ومياهها الإقليمية وسجل السكان الفلسطينيين والفضاء الكهرومغناطيسي ودخول/خروج السلع والأشخاص من/إلى غزة، باستثناء حركة الأشخاص عبر معبر رفح الحدودي مع مصر).

في اندفاعها للاستفادة من إنجازها المعلن المتمثل بانتصار المقاومة، تنافست حماس مع حركة فتح العلمانية في الانتخابات التشريعية الفلسطينية التي عُقدت في كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2006 وفازت في النهاية، ما شكل مفاجأة للجميع.

وهكذا، ومع خروج آخر جندي إسرائيلي من غزة في ساعات الصباح الأولى في 12 أيلول/سبتمبر 2005، تم إغلاق غزة في الواقع وتسليمها إلى حماس. وقد أصبحت عملية التسليم رسمية من خلال الانتصار الانتخابي المزلزل لحماس في بداية العام 2006، وتم تأكيدها بعد ذلك في منتصف حزيران/يونيو 2007 مع استيلاء حماس العنيف على قطاع غزة برمته. وكما أظهرت السنوات المأساوية اللاحقة، أخذ وضع غزة بالتراجع مذاك.

فرصة ضائعة؟

بما أن إسرائيل وحماس قاما بتظهير فك الارتباط كوسيلة لخدمة مصالحهما السياسية الخاصة، لم يكن هناك مجال كبير، هذا إن وُجد أصلًا، لإنجاح فك الارتباط من خلال الجهود الدولية الرامية إلى توفير منافع اقتصادية ملموسة لغزة. وقد كانت هناك عدة محاولات في هذا السياق.

قاد البنك الدولي هذه المساعي في كانون الأول/ديسمبر من العام 2004 عبر توفير مجموعة أوراق تقنية حول تحديث معابر غزة الحدودية مع إسرائيل وإنشاء مناطق صناعية ومناطق تصدير وجعل الاقتصاد الفلسطيني تنافسيًا. وفي 14 نيسان/إبريل من العام 2005، تم تعيين الرئيس السابق للبنك الدولي جيمس وولفنسون كمبعوث خاص للجنة الرباعية حول الشرق الأوسط لفك الارتباط عن غزة. وبعد شهرين، في تموز/يوليو، تعهدت قمة مجموعة الثمانية التي عُقدت في غلين ايفلز في اسكتلندابتقديم دعم مالي يصل إلى 3 مليارات دولار سنويًا على مدى ثلاث سنوات لمساعدة وولفنسون على إنجاز مهمته. وتضمنت مبادرات أخرى للقطاع الخاص مخصصة لغزة استثمارات في دفيئات المستوطنات الإسرائيلية السابقة في جنوب غزة، وفي منطقة بيت حانون إيرز الصناعية في الطرف الشمالي لقطاع غزة.

تبدو هذه الجهود الدولية، التي تشكل جزءًا من بدايات تاريخ فك الارتباط، ذكرى بعيدة اليوم، إذ تم تضييعها في ظل الدمار الذي لحق بغزة في الماضي القريب. فلو تسنت فرصة ترجمة هذه الجهود على أرض الواقع إلى أقصى درجة، كانت لتقدم لغزة فرصة جيدة بمستقبل مختلف، إلا أن ذلك لم يحصل. وبما أن إسرائيل وحماس لديهما حكايات متناقضة حول فك الارتباط، كان الفشل شبه محتم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، كانت الجهود الدولية ذات طبيعة تقنية محض، وكانت بالتالي غير ملائمة بطبيعتها للتعامل مع "مسألة غزة" المترسخة بعمق في سياق نزاعات شديد التعقيد. وسرعان ما اصطدمت هذه الجهود الدولية بحائط مسدود عند انهيارها في كانون الثاني/يناير من العام 2006، مع صعود حماس المفاجئ إلى السلطة، وأُعلن لاحقًا عن فشلها مع استيلاء حماس المسلح على غزة في منتصف العام 2007.

العبر المستخلصة

لم تغير خطة فك الارتباط سوء الحظ المستمر اللاحق بغزة. يمكن أن تعزى هذه النتيجةإلى أسباب متعددة. ولكن يمكن استخلاص عبرة واضحة: من غير المرجح أن تنجح الحلول التقنية لمشاكل غزة المعقدة، ما لم يتوفر سياق سياسي وأمني داعم. نحن مدركونأصلًا لهذا الواقع. ولكن يبدو أن هذه العبرة وتداعياتها على مستوى السياسات غير مفهومة جيدًا اليوم. على سبيل المثال، بالرغم من الإدراك المتزايد بأن تردي ظروف العيش في غزة يقترب بسرعة من نقطة الانهيار أو قد بلغها أصلًا، فالحلول التي يتم تقديمها، سواء من قبل المؤسسة العسكرية الإسرائيلية أو الإدارة الأمريكية الحالية، تتخذ كلها شكل "قائمة مشاريع عملاقة" تهدف إلى إنقاذ اقتصاد غزة المتداعي. وبالرغم من دورها المحوري في معالجة الصعوبات الاقتصادية الاجتماعية المتزايدة في غزة والنقص المزمن في خدماتها العامة الأساسية، لا يمكن، انطلاقًا من خبرة غزة ما بعد فك الارتباط، تنفيذ هذه المشاريع وتحقيق كامل إمكاناتها، إلا إذا وفقط إذا استقر الوضع السياسي والأمني في غزة أولًا. يعيد هذا الشرط مسألة غزة إلى سياقها الأوسع حيث تنتمي، وحيث ما زال ضروريًا إنجاز أعمال كثيرة على تلك الجبهة من قبل جميع الأطراف المعنية، بما فيها الفلسطينيين بأنفسهم.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Remembering Gaza Disengagement 13 Years Later: Personal Reflections on a Missed Opportunity


Also available in العربية

October 1, 2018

Introduction

It is sometimes hard to imagine in 2018 that a different vision existed for Gaza than the one that currently exists in the news, and that Gazans live daily. Yet, I was a member of a hopeful group of technocrats who developed a clear roadmap for Gaza after Israel unilateral disengagement in 2005, and then watched as that plan collapsed. The lessons from that period on why this more optimistic vision for Gaza failed are a necessary portion of the broader conversation on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and are an important antidote to a narrative that presents the rise of Hamas and the ensuing violence as inevitable. Yet it is vital for international and regional actors alike to reflect on what has not worked in regards to technical aid to Gaza as the international community continues to struggle to find a solution to a worsening crisis.

The Day Israel Left Gaza

In the early morning hours of September 12, 2005, I was among the first people to enter the evacuated Jewish settlement of Netzarim, located to the south of Gaza City, as the last Israeli soldiers left the Strip. At sun rise, I was in Gush Katif, the largest Israeli settlement block stretching along Gaza’s beautiful southern coast on the Mediterranean. From there, I continued to the Palestinian side of Rafah border crossing that was also evacuated along with the 13-km long Philadilphi Route at the Gaza-Egyptian border. I ended my day at the three evacuated small settlements of Dugit, Nisanit, and Elei Sinai located along the northern Gaza-Israeli fence and at Erez Industrial zone.

The scene I observed in the ex-settlements that day was one of utter anarchy and total chaos. Tens of thousands of people from Gaza’s eight refugee camps and the few small towns adjacent to the settlements spread out over the evacuated properties and took what they could from the buildings the Israeli settlers had left behind —from pipes and doors to concrete and other basic building materials. The Palestinian police that had been assigned to provide security was nowhere in sight. Only the green houses in the middle and southern settlements remained intact due to the presence of private security guards hired in advance for protection. By the end of the day, little was left except for rubble and debris.

Palestinian Preparations for the Day After

I travelled to these locations at such a relentless pace as one of approximately 40 Palestinian professionals assembled to prepare Gaza for the day after the disengagement. The team included top technical experts in agriculture, industry, trade, border crossings, water, electricity, sanitation, land zoning, housing, and telecommunications. We mostly hailed from Gaza, aided by a small number of legal, trade, and water experts from the Ramallah-based PLO’s Negotiations Support Unit.

Our team also worked in close coordination with the World Bank and the UNDP, as well as other international organizations operating in the Palestinian areas. Periodically, we held meetings with the Palestinian civil society, the private sector, and the political factions in both the Gaza Strip and the West Bank from whom we sought feedback on our work after we presented it to them. The donor community and the representatives of the diplomatic missions in the Palestinian Authority (PA) were also briefed on our technical plans. The overall impression we received in all of these meetings was positive and very encouraging.

On November 15, two months after Israel's unilateral withdrawal from Gaza, the United States brokered the Agreement on Movement and Access (AMA) between Israel and the PA. This agreement appeared to greatly enhance the prospects of successful implementation of our technical plans for post-disengagement Gaza. The AMA was designed to improve Gaza’s cross-border commercial transactions with Israel, allowing for a secure passage between Gaza and the West Bank. The AMA also dealt with agricultural exports from former Israeli settlements in Gaza, outlined the operational strategy of the EU-monitored Rafah border crossing, and contained articles about resuming the talks on constructing Gaza seaport and the re-building of Gaza airport, which was destroyed during the first months of the second intifada that erupted on September 28, 2000.

Dashed Hopes

Our technocratic hopes and aspirations for a new chapter in Gaza’s history were soon dashed. The challenges posed by the broader Israeli-Palestinian conflict and internal Palestinian politics proved more powerful than our technical plans for Gaza. This is not to say that we were necessarily naïve; we did not expect a smooth implementation of our plans, or of the AMA itself for that matter. Yet, not even in our worst nightmares could we have envisioned Gaza as it stands today: a place torn by more than a decade of bitter Palestinian political division, three destructive wars between Hamas and Israel, and by a suffocating blockade and near total isolation from the rest of the world. Indeed, 13 years after the disengagement, Gazans are struggling with high rates of unemployment, poverty, and food insecurity; with collapsed basic services and public infrastructure; with a crippled private sector; and with a widespread state of utter despair that engulf Gaza’s two million inhabitants.

Israel, Hamas, and the Realities of Disengagement

A confluence of factors led to this unfortunate outcome. Chief among them is the way in which Israel and Hamas perceived and presented the disengagement plan and its implementation.

On the Israeli side, although the plan to evacuate Gaza – which took all by surprise when first announced in December 2003 by former Prime Minister Ariel Sharon – was largely motivated by Israel’s own strategic interest, the Israeli departure from Gaza was all but inevitable; a point often neglected in writings about the Gaza disengagement. Unlike the occupation of the West Bank, the prospect of a long-term Israeli occupation of Gaza had never existed or made strategical sense. Neither the geography nor the demography of the place would have allowed for a prolonged Israeli presence in the midst of a young and burgeoning Palestinian population squeezed into a small territory. Gaza, after all, is a narrow strip of land considered to be one of the most densely populated regions on earth: at the time of the disengagement, its population stood at 1.3 million, with an annual growth rate of 3.5 percent. In light of these circumstances, the Israeli disengagement was, in fact, predictable on a strategic level. It was only a matter of time.

In contrast, Hamas presented the disengagement as a victory that proved the effectiveness of its armed resistance in the fight to “liberate” Gaza. The fact that the process had not yet ended mattered little to Hamas (after the disengagement, Israel continued to retain exclusive control over Gaza’s air space and territorial waters, the Palestinian population registry, electromagnetic space, and the movement of goods and people to and from Gaza in any location other than the Rafah border crossing with Egypt).

In the rush to capitalize on its self-proclaimed achievement of Intisar al moqawama (the victory of the armed resistance), Hamas competed against the secular Fatah party in the Palestinian legislative elections of January 2006, which – against predictions – it ultimately won.

And so, as the last Israeli soldier left Gaza in the early morning hours of September 12, 2005, Gaza was in effect sealed and delivered to Hamas. The delivery was made official following Hamas’s electoral victory in early 2006, and was finalized in mid-June 2007 with the organization’s violent takeover of the entire Gaza Strip. As the dramatic years that followed had shown, it was all downhill from there for Gaza.

Missed Opportunity?

As both Israel and Hamas were framing the disengagement in a manner that served their own political interests, it was difficult for international actors to make the disengagement work and deliver tangible economic benefits to Gaza. And there were several attempts on that front.

In December 2004, the World Bank led the way by drafting a set of technical papers containing suggestions on how to modernize Gaza border crossings with Israel, establish industrial parks and export zones, and make the Palestinian economy competitive. On April 14, 2005, the former head of the World Bank, James Wolfensohn was appointed as the Middle East Quartet Special Envoy for Gaza Disengagement. Two months later, the G-8 summit held in Gleneagles, Scotland, pledged financial support of up to $3 billion per year over a three year period to help Mr. Wolfensohn carry out his assignment. Other private sector initiatives to help Gaza included investment in former Israeli settlements’ green houses in southern Gaza, and in the Erez industrial estate located in the northern tip of the Gaza Strip.

Today, these international efforts – all part of the disengagement early history –seem a distant memory, lost in the destruction that wrecked Gaza in recent past. Had the full implementation of such initiatives been allowed, they could have offered Gaza a good shot at a different future. That, however, did not happen. With both Israel and Hamas having conflicting narratives about disengagement, failure was all but certain. Furthermore, the international efforts were purely of a technical nature, and, as such, were inherently ill-suited for dealing with challenges that were deeply rooted in a highly intricate conflict setting. And it did not take long for these international efforts to reach a dead-end when, in January 2006, they were stalled by the startling rise of Hamas to power, and later came to a complete halt with Hamas armed takeover of Gaza in mid 2007.

Lessons Learned

The disengagement plan has failed to alter Gaza’s prolonged misfortune. One can list many reasons for this outcome. But one lesson is clear: technical solutions to Gaza’s complex problems, absent supportive political and security setting, are not likely to work. This much we already know. Yet, this lesson and its policy implications, doesn’t seem to be well understood today. For instance, despite the increasingly growing realization that deterioration in Gaza’s living conditions is fast approaching and may have even already passed a breaking point, the proposed solutions to the crisis, whether from the Israeli military establishment or from the current US administration, are all in the form of a “list of mega projects” to save Gaza’s collapsing economy. Vital as such undertaking may be for addressing Gaza’s mounting socioeconomic difficulties and the chronic shortages in its basic public services, these projects, based on the experience of post-disengagement Gaza, can only be fully implemented if and only if Gaza’s political and security situation is stabilized first. This condition brings the Gaza question back to its wider context where it belongs, and where much work still needs to be done on that front by all concerned parties, including the Palestinians themselves.

Customize your RSS Feed