أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الاعتراف المتبادل بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين ضروري لتحقيق السلام


متاح أيضاً في English

15 تشرين الثاني/نوفمبر 2018

أشاد عمدة القدس مؤخرًا بالخطة الأمريكية لوقف تمويل الأونروا زاعمًا أن الوكالة تدرّس الأطفال الإرهاب في مدراسها، وأعطى مثالاً عن ذلك دلال المغربي – تلك المرأة العاملة لصالح "منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية" التي نفّذت هجومًا إرهابيًا عام 1978 قُتل فيه 35 إسرائيليًا مدنيًا – التي تُصوّر في كتب الأونروا على أنها بطلة قومية.

وصحيحٌ أن دلال المغربي ارتكبت عملاً إرهابيًا بقتلها للمدنيين، ولكنها في عيون الفلسطينيين ليست إرهابية، إنما بطلة ناضلت من أجل حرية شعبها. والواقع أن الفلسطينيين ينظرون إلى دلال المغربي بالطريقة نفسها التي ينظر فيها الإسرائيليون إلى مناحيم بيجن الذي ارتكب أعمالاً إرهابية بحق الشعب الفلسطيني خلال انتمائه لمنظمة "إرجون" الإرهابية، حيث كان مطلوبًا من السلطات البريطانية بتهمة تفجير فندق الملك داوود. لكن المشكلة في هذه الأحداث هي أن كل طرف ينظر إلى التاريخ من منظاره الخاص، فيما تحول العزّة الوطنية دون اعتراف كل طرف بأخطائه. فكل طرف يرسّخ روايته للأحداث من خلال وعيه الوطني الخاص ويجرّح الطرف الآخر. إلا أن هذا السلوك لا يوصل إلى أي نتيجة.

لذا لا بد من اعتراف متبادل بين الطرفين الفلسطيني والإسرائيلي من أجل تحقيق المصالحة، ولا بد من حدوث المصالحة لتحقيق السلام الدائم. فمن وجهة النظر الإسرائيلية، يمكن فهم ممانعة الإقرار بمظالم الفلسطينيين. فالإقرار بها وبواقع أنهم أُخرجوا قسرًا من بيوتهم يؤدي إلى الإقرار بحقوقهم وتحديدًا حق العودة، وهذا الأخير يشكل كابوسًا بالنسبة للإسرائيليين لأنه سيخلّ بالتوازن الديموغرافي لصالح الفلسطينيين. ولكنّ في هذا الخوف مبالغ فيه. فالفلسطينيون المستقرون في أماكن أخرى من العالم لن يعودوا إلى ديارهم. أما في ما يخص الفلسطينيين القابعين في مخيمات اللاجئين في لبنان وسوريا والأردن ودول أخرى، فيمكن التوصل إلى تسوية بشأنهم مع الدول المضيفة لهم. و لكن حتى الان ، لم تجد إسرائيل نفسها مرغمةً على القيام بمثل هذا التنازل.

وبالتالي يترتب عن هذا الإقرار ثمن باهظ على الإسرائيليين، ولكنه ثمن السلام. ولهذا السبب، يجب على المجتمع الدولي أن يقرّ بمظالم الفلسطينيين بالطريقة نفسها التي أقر بها بمظالم الشعب اليهودي. ولا بد من الإقرار بنكبة عام 1948 التي غُصب فيها أبناء الشعب الفلسطيني على الخروج من بيوتهم. وتمامًا كما يعدّ الهولوكست حقيقةً لا تُنكر ولا جدال فيها، كذلك يجب أن تكون النكبة. فالغرب يرى حاليًا ذكرى 15 أيار/مايو يومًا سعيدًا وُلدت فيه دولةٌ للشعب اليهودي الذي عانى قرونًا من الاضطهاد في أوروبا. ولكن يجدر بالعالم الغربي أن يلقي نظرةً أعمق على الوجه الآخر من العملة، ويجدر بإسرائيل الاعتراف بالنكبة. فيوم 15 أيار/مايو هو أيضًا ذكرى نكبة الشعب الفلسطيني. وإذا لم يتم الاعتراف بالنكبة، سيبقى السلام مجرد عقد على ورق يمكن الإخلال به متى سمحت الظروف. خمسٌ وعشرون سنة مرّت على معاهدة أوسلو، وما زلنا نفتقر إلى الحل، والدولة الفلسطينية عالقة في مفاوضات عقيمة لا نهاية لها.

وتجدر الإشارة أيضًا إلى أن السلام بين الفلسطينيين والإسرائيليين سيسهم في استقرار المنطقة بأسرها. فالرئيس أوباما قال في خطابه أمام الأمم المتحدة عام 2014: "يُفترض بالوضع في العراق وسوريا وليبيا أن يشفي الجميع من وهم أن الصراع العربي-الإسرائيلي هو المصدر الرئيسي للمشاكل في المنطقة". وقد جاء هذا التصريح بالتماشي مع النظرة الإسرائيلية التي تعتبر أن المشكلة الرئيسية في المنطقة هي الاقتتال بين العرب السنة والشيعة وأن لا دخل لإسرائيل في الصراع.

قد يكون كلام اوباماصحيحًا فالعنف الذي تشهده المنطقة اليوم سببه الاقتتال الطائفي.و لكن كل زعيم وكل ديكتاتور وكل إرهابي عرفته المنطقة استخدم القضية الفلسطينية لاكتساب الشرعية. فالإمام الخميني تبنّى تحرير القدس باعتباره الهدف الرئيسي في سياسته الخارجية، وهو ليس عربيًا حتى، ناهيك عن أن اسم اللواء الرئيسي في "الحرس الثوري الإيراني" هو "فيلق القدس". وعلى المنوال نفسه، بدأ صدام حسين بإطلاق صواريخ سكود على إسرائيل بعد اجتياحه الكويت عام 1991 لكسب الشرعية أمام الجماهير العربية، لا بل صوّر هذا الاجتياح كله على أنه مرحلة واحدة من خطة كبيرة لتحرير فلسطين.

أضف إلى ذلك أن الأمين العام لـ"حزب الله" السيد حسن نصرالله هو أيضًا برر تدخله في سوريا بالقول إن الطريق إلى القدس تمر من حلب. وحتى أبو بكر البغدادي تعهّد بالعودة إلى فلسطين حالما يقضي على أعدائه الفوريين. كل هؤلاء تبنّوا القضية الفلسطينية لأنها قضية عزيزة على قلوب المسلمين والعرب في كل مكان.

لكن في الحقيقة، لن يتحقق السلام إلا بتسوية لائقة وعادلة وقابلة للتطبيق للشعب الفلسطيني. فالحل المنصف للفلسطينيين سيجرّد التنظيمات الراديكالية من شرعيتها، في حين أن أي قرار يُفرض على الفلسطينيين ولا يأخذ في الحسبان تطلعاتهم القومية ولا يخدم إلا مصالح إسرائيل سيبوء حتمًا بالفشل. وهو لن يفشل فحسب، بل سيكون أداةً يستخدمها الإرهابيون لاكتساب الشرعية وتعبئة موجة جديدة من الجهاديين. فحتى مع اضمحلال تنظيم "داعش"، سينشأ حتمًا تنظيمٌ جديد، ويمكن الرهان بأنه، شأنه شأن التنظيمات التي سبقته، سوف يتبنى قضية فلسطين.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Mutual Recognition between Palestinians and Israelis Is Necessary for Peace


Also available in العربية

November 15, 2018

Recently, the mayor of Jerusalem commended the U.S. plan to cut UNRWA funding and claimed that the agency is teaching children terrorism in its schools. To illustrate his statement, he referred to the fact that Dalal al-Mughrabi—a PLO operative who conducted a terrorist attack in 1978 during which 35 Israeli civilians were killed—is portrayed as a national hero in UNRWA textbooks.

It is true that Mughrabi committed a terrorist act by killing civilians. However, in the eyes of Palestinians, she is not a terrorist but a hero who fought for the freedom of her people. Palestinians view Mughrabi the same way Israelis view Menachem Begin, who committed terrorist acts on Palestinian people while he was involved in the Irgun terrorist group, and was wanted by British authorities for bombing the King David hotel. In these cases, the problem is that each party is viewing history from its own perspective, while national pride prevents either party from admitting any faults. Each party, through its own national consciousness, enforces its own narrative while vilifying the other party. This attitude will lead nowhere.

Mutual recognition between Palestinians and Israelis is needed for reconciliation, and reconciliation is needed to achieve lasting peace. From the Israeli perspective, the resistance to admitting Palestinians' grievances is understandable. Recognizing the Palestinians' grievances and the fact that they were forcibly displaced from their homes will entail recognition of their rights, namely the right to go back home. The right of return is a nightmare for Israelis as it will tip the demographic balance in favor of Palestinians. However, this fear is exaggerated. Palestinians who are properly settled elsewhere will not come back. And as for the Palestinians lingering in the refugee camps of Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, and other countries, a settlement can be reached with these host countries. Nevertheless, so far Israel has not found itself in a position where it is compelled to make a concession towards recognition.

Thus, recognition is a high price for the Israelis to pay, but it is the price for peace. This is why the international community should recognize Palestinian grievances the same way it recognized the grievances of the Jewish people—it should recognize the Nakba of 1948 in which the Palestinian people were forcefully displaced from their homes. The Nakba should be an indisputable, undeniable fact in the same way the Holocaust is an indisputable, undeniable fact. Currently, the Western world views May 15 as a joyful day marking the birth of a state for the Jewish people who endured centuries of persecution in Europe. The Western world should also take a closer look at the other side of the coin: Israel must recognize the Nakba. The 15th of May also marks the Nakba for the Palestinian people, and without recognition of the Nakba, peace will remain a contract on paper that can be breached anytime conditions permit. 25 years after Oslo, we still lack a solution, and the Palestinian state is stuck in endless, futile negotiations.

On the other hand, peace between the Palestinians and Israelis will contribute to the stability of the entire region. In his 2014 address to the UN, president Obama said: “The situation in Iraq, Syria, and Libya should cure anyone from the illusion that this [Arab-Israeli] conflict is the main source of problems in the region.” This statement was in line with the Israeli narrative, which argues the main problem in the region is that Sunni and Shia Arabs are killing each other, a conflict that Israel has nothing to do with.

While this may be true, every leader, every dictator, and every terrorist that the region has known has used the Palestinian cause in order to garner legitimacy. Khomeini, though not even Arab, adopted the liberation of Jerusalem as his prime foreign policy goal; the name of the Iranian Revolutionary Guards’ main division is the Quds (Jerusalem) brigade. Similarly, Saddam Hussein began firing scud missiles into Israel following his 1991 invasion of Kuwait in order to garner legitimacy with the Arab masses, and he presented the entire invasion as one episode in a grand plan for the liberation of Palestine.

Hezbollah’s secretary general Hasan Nasrallah has also justified his intervention in Syria by saying that the road to Jerusalem starts from Aleppo. Even Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi vowed to turn to Palestine once he finishes off his immediate enemies. All of these figures adopted the issue of Palestine because it is an issue that is very dear to the hearts of Muslims and Arabs everywhere.

There will be no peace unless the Palestinian people get a viable, decent, and fair settlement. A fair solution for the Palestinians will strip radical movements of their legitimacy. On the other hand, forcing a dictum on the Palestinians that does not take their national aspirations into consideration and only serves the interests of Israel is doomed to fail. Not only it will fail, terrorists will use it to gain legitimacy and to mobilize a new wave of Jihadis. Even as ISIS fades away, a new movement will undoubtedly emerge, and you can bet that like its predecessors, it will adopt the issue of Palestine.

Customize your RSS Feed