أفكار. أفعال. تأثير. معهد واشنطن لسياسة الشرق الأدنى معهد واشنطن: تحسين نوعية السياسة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط

صفحات أخرى

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

الشراكات المحلية هي مفتاح المواجهة مع إيران في العراق


متاح أيضاً في English

19 شباط/فبراير 2019

إن امتلاك إيران لمصادر القوة الصلبة والناعمة، والعمق التاريخي والثقافي والحضاري، جعلها تستشعر بفائض قوة في العراق. فالمراقب للإستراتيجية الإيرانية، يلاحظ أن هناك تطوراً مهماً قد إدخل عليها، بحيث تحولت من الدعوة للشعوب بالثورة على أنظمتها السياسية، إلى التدخل في الشؤون الداخلية لتلك الدول، من خلال سعيها إلى التمكين السياسي للأقليات داخل هذه الدول، وعن طريق دعمها للوصول للسلطة والهيمنة عليها. ويعد العراق مثالا بارزا على تلك الاستراتيجية.

لكن رغم ذلك تواجه إيران مشكلة كبيرة في تسويق نموذجها السياسي الثيوقراطي -الطائفي الذي تعتمد عليه في بسط نفوذها الإقليمي في العراق. فرغم اعتمادها على إستراتيجية "التمكين الشيعي" في العراق، لإنجاح مسعاها السياسي، إلا أن هذا النجاح أرتد عليها بالفشل في بعض الأحيان، نتيجة عدم أداء الأدوات الشيعية لأدوارها بصورة تخدم المصالح السياسية الإيرانية.

إن استمرار الشعور بعدم الارتياح بين العديد من العراقيين نتيجة النفوذ الإيراني المتزايد، إلى جانب استمرار الوجود العسكري الأمريكي المحتمل في العراق، يجعل من البلاد ساحة محتملة لمزيد من الصراعات المباشرة بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران. وقد حذرت كلاً من الولايات المتحدة وإيران مؤخرا من تأثير القوة الأخرى المتواجدة داخل العراق. وبالمثل، عكست الزيارات المزدوجة لوزير الخارجية الأمريكي، مايكل بومبيو ووزير الخارجية الإيراني محمد جواد ظريف إلى العراق في كانون الثاني/يناير الماضي، رغبة البلدين في استمرار نفوذهما في العراق. وخلال زيارته للعراق، التقى ظريف بعدد من الشخصيات السياسية والقبلية والمليشياوية لمعرفة موقفهم من التواجد الأمريكي الكثيف في العراق. وفي الوقت عينه، صرح الرئيس الأمريكي ترامب بأن القوات الأمريكية ستبقى في العراق جزئياً لـ "مراقبة إيران".

وعلى الرغم من قيام الرئيس الأمريكي باتخاذ قرار القوات الأمريكية من المناطق المجاورة للعراق، إلا انه رفض أي تكهنات بسحب القوات الأمريكية من العراق، وأكد من جديد على ضرورة احتفاظ الولايات المتحدة بقاعدة عين الأسد الجوية. ومن ناحية أخرى، سعت إيران بشكل خاص لتركيز نفوذها وسلطتها على العراق بشكل متزايد، خاصة وأن العراق يقع في قلب الاستراتيجية الإقليمية الشاملة لإيران. ونظرًا لموقعه الجغرافي، فإن العراق يمثل شريان مركزي تمول إيران من خلاله حملاتها العسكرية في سوريا ولبنان واليمن، سواء على مستوى الدعم المالي أو اللوجستي.

وفي الوقت الذي لم تنفك فيه دوائر صنع القرار الأمريكي بالبحث عن الوسائل المناسبة لمواجهة إيران في العراق، والتي يأتي في مقدمتها خطة إعادة الانتشار الأمريكية، وتحديداً في المناطق الشمالية والغربية منه، إلا أنه يمكن القول بأن الخطة الأمريكية يبدو أنها لم تنضج بعد، فهناك الكثير من المتغيرات المؤثرة حيال التوجه الأمريكي الحالي في العراق.  والحديث هنا عن تهديدات تنظيم "داعش" المتصاعدة، وهيمنة الحشد الشعبي، وغياب العناصر السنية المحلية التي يمكن التعويل عليها في المرحلة المقبلة، فضلاً عن عدم وضوح الرؤية الكردية حول مدى التناغم مع الخطط الأمريكية مستقبلاً.

وتخشى الولايات المتحدة أيضا من التهديد المتمثل في الدعم العسكري المحلى الراسخ الذي تتمتع به إيران والذي يمكنها الاعتماد عليه. وانطلاقاً من التهديد الذي يمثله تنظيم (داعش) على المشروع الإيراني، سعت إيران إلى تثوير المجتمع العراقي من خلال عسكرته، عن طريق إنتاج العشرات من المليشيات المسلحة. إضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن لقوات الحشد الشعبي المدعومة من إيران والتي لديها تاريخ معقد في العراق أن تعمل كحائط صد يحمي إيران من أي تحديات مستقبلية قد تواجهها، إضافة إلى تثوير أحزاب الإسلام السياسي "الشيعي"، وإبعاد سبغة المدنية عنها، عن طريق جعل نشاط هذه الأحزاب مدني وعسكري بنفس الوقت، وهو ما يصطلح على تسميته "بالأحزاب المليشياوية".

في ظل هذه الظروف، أصبح الوجود العسكري يمثل جوهر معركة النفوذ في العراق. ومثلما فعلت إيران، يجب على الإدارة الأمريكية أن تعمل على توجيه جهودها لتحسين وتطوير علاقتها مع الشركاء المحليين المحتملين على الأرض. والحديث هنا عن القبائل السنية، والفصائل السنية المسلحة، والقوى السياسية المعارضة للنفوذ الإيراني في العراق، وتحديداً القوى السياسية المتواجدة في عمان ولندن وواشنطن، كما أن هناك تيار شعبي شيعي واسع في مدن جنوب العراق أصبح ناقماً على سياسات إيران السلبية في العراق، يمكن الاستفادة منه وتوظيفه جيداً لمواجهة النفوذ الإيراني في العراق. إلى جانب ذلك، هناك أيضا أعضاء البرلمان الذين أبدوا توجهاً للخلاص من النفوذ الإيراني، والحديث هنا عن تحالف "سائرون" و"الحكمة" و"الوطنية" وغيرها.

 وفى ظل الوجود العسكري الأمريكي الحالي في العراق، قد تواجه القوات الموالية للولايات المتحدة موقفا خطيرا، فقد يدفع الوكلاء المدعومون من إيران إلى مواجهة عسكرية أمريكية مباشرة - وهو احتمال سيكون مكلف للغاية وذلك في ظل سيطرة القوات الإقليمية الإيرانية واسعة النطاق. كما أن قدرة إيران على تصعيد أي صراع إلى صراع إقليمي أوسع يجعل أي صدام محتمل في العراق خطيراً بشكل خاص. وفى هذا الصدد، أسس الجنرال قاسم سليماني ومعه فيلق القدس الإيراني، علاقات واسعة مع مختلف الحركات المسلحة السنية والشيعية على حد سواء، والتي أظهرت ولاءً كبيراً لإيران خلال المرحلة الماضية.

وعلى الرغم من أن سياسة فرض العقوبات الاقتصادية  التي تنتهجها الولايات المتحدة ضد ايران تبدوا كأنها خياراً إستراتيجياً أمريكياً ناجعاً ومفضلاُ، إلا أنها ستفقد فاعليتها  إذا ما امتدت لفترة طويلة دون أن تكون هناك نتائج ملموسة على أرض الواقع، خصوصاً وإننا نتحدث عن إيران التي قامت بإعادة هيكلة اقتصادها لمواجهة تلك العقوبات .ونظرا لان ايران تمتلك تاريخاً  طويلا في كيفية التعامل مع العقوبات والأزمات، ينبغي على المسؤولين الأمريكيين  التفكير  في اتخاذ تدابير بديلة يمكن أن تساعد في جهود فرض العقوبات للحد من التوسع الإيراني.

إن إعادة بث الحياة والتعاون مع العناصر الوطنية والقومية المناوئة للمشروع الإيراني في العراق، يمثل أمراً ضرورياً لمواجهة النفوذ الإيراني في العراق. فالسياسات التي تتبعها الميليشيات القريبة من الحرس الثوري والتي تقوم على ابتزاز العناصر غير المنسجمة معها والضغط عليها، يمكنها أن توفر للولايات المتحدة هامش أوسع للمناورة الإستراتيجية أكثر من ذي قبل. وفي حين نجحت إيران في إنتاج مجموعات موالية لها داخل العراق، فإن هذه المجموعات نفسها ساهمت في عزل الكثير من المدنيين العراقيين عن المشروع الإيراني. كما أن هناك رغبة كردية وعربية لاستعادة الحكم الذاتي في مناطقهم، بعد أن تم سلبها من قبل حلفاء إيران في العراق، وتجنب الانضواء تحت المشروع السياسي الإيراني في العراق.

فتلك العناصر المحلية هي الأقدر على التعامل مع إيران في العراق، فهم يملكون خلفية عسكرية وإستراتيجية تمكنهم من مواجهة النفوذ الإيراني، وذلك بفعل خطابهم السياسي الذي يتجاوز الحدود الطائفية والمذهبية الضيقة. علاوة على ذلك، من المحتمل أن تلقى هذه الاستراتيجية دعمًا من قوى إقليمية أخرى - مثل تركيا والأردن والمملكة العربية السعودية -والتي ستستفيد من تحرير العراق من قبضة إيران وسيطرتها.

إن التعاطي مع الحالة الإيرانية في العراق يحتاج إلى رؤية إستراتيجية شاملة، تتخطى نطاق العقوبات أو مجرد الإبقاء على الوجود العسكري الأمريكي الحالي في العراق. ومن ثم، يجب أن تبدأ تلك الاستراتيجية بعزل إيران واحتوائها مع التركيز على بناء شراكات استراتيجية محلية داخل العراق لمواجهة النفوذ الإيراني هناك. لذلك، يجب التعامل مع تلك الإجراءات على أنها جزء من خطة شاملة؛ خاصة أن إيران ستكون قادرة على الاستمرار في سياستها التوسعية من خلال إيجاد ممرات بديلة تستطيع من خلالها بسط نفوذها إقليميا إذا ما تم أزاحتها من العراق. وإذا ما أرادت الولايات المتحدة الاستمرار في سياستها لمنع التمدد الإيراني، فعليها أن تنظر للعراق على انه خطوة مهمة، وليس التدبير النهائي لسياسة الاحتواء التي تسعى مواجهة إيران.

Customize your RSS Feed

Ideas. Action. Impact. The Washington Institute for Near East Policy The Washington Institute: Improving the Quality of U.S. Middle East Policy

Other Pages

Fikra Forum

Fikra Forum

خلق الحوار. التأثير على السياسة.

Generating Dialogue. Impacting Policy.

Local Partnerships are Key to Confronting Iran in Iraq


Also available in العربية

February 19, 2019

With its historical, cultural, and civilizational depth, combined with a deft wielding of soft and hard power, Iran currently feels that it has the upper hand in Iraq. Moreover, Iranian strategy has experienced an important development: it has moved from calling for popular revolutions against political regimes to intervening in the internal affairs of those same countries by promoting political empowerment of groups that were historically politically underrepresented inside these countries. Iraq remains a prime example of this current strategy.

Nevertheless, Iran continues to face a major problem in marketing the sectarian-theocratic political model it has relied on to exert its regional influence in Iraq. While Iran has depended on the strategy known as “Shi’a empowerment” in Iraq to achieve political gains, this tactic has sometimes resulted in political losses, as a number of Shi’a elements in Iraq refuse act in a way that serves Iranian political interests.

A continuing discomfort among many Iraqis with the idea of increased Iranian political control, along with the United States’ likely continuing military presence in Iraq, makes the country a highly likely site for more direct conflict between the United States and Iran. Both the United States and Iran have recently warned against the influence of the other power within Iraq. Similarly, the dual visits of U.S. Secretary of State Pompeo and Iranian foreign minister Mohamed Javad Zarif to Iraq last January reflect the two countries’ continuing interest in future of their influence in Iraq. Zarif in particular met with a number of different political, tribal, and militia figures in an attempt to sound out their position towards the heavy American presence in Iraq. Meanwhile, U.S. President Trump has stated that U.S. troops will remain in Iraq in part to “watch Iran.”

Thus, even as President Trump has moved to withdraw the American military presence from neighboring regions, Trump has rejected speculation that he will withdraw U.S. forces from Iraq and has reaffirmed the need for the United States to hold onto the Ayn al-Asad airbase. These recent events indicate that both countries see Iraq as a primary theater of conflict. Iran in particular has increasingly concentrated its influence and power on Iraq, especially given that Iraq lies at the heart of Iran’s overall regional strategy. Due to its geographic location, Iraq serves as a central artery through which Iran funds its military campaigns in Syria, Lebanon, and Yemen, whether through financial or logistical support.

Yet in the United States, U.S. policy-makers still appear to be searching for appropriately comprehensive strategy to confront Iran’s influence in Iraq. So far, there appears to be an intention to redeploy troops leaving Syria to Iraq, focusing especially on the southern and western regions. Yet the outlines of this plan remain vague, and there are many variables that can influence the current American position in Iraq. In particular, the most prominent factors on the ground right now are the growing threat posed by a resurgent Islamic State (IS), the dominant role of the Popular Mobilization Forces (PMF), the lack of reliable local partners, and recent doubts on the Kurdish side as to whether their interests will align with future American plans.

Of these concerns, the United States’ position in Iraq may be most threatened by the entrenched local military support on which Iran can rely. Driven especially by the threat of IS to Iran’s project of regional control, Iran has attempted to revolutionize Iraqi society by militarizing it through the production and funding of dozens of armed militias. The Iranian-backed PMF have a complicated history within Iraq, but can act as a shield to protect Iran from any threats it might encounter, in addition to shifting the nature of their affiliated political parties and distancing them from their previously civilian character. Iran has encouraged for these parties’ activities to be simultaneously political and military, giving rise to the term “militia-parties.”

It is under these conditions that military presence has become a crux of the battle of influence in Iraq. Just as their Iranian adversaries have done, the United States must direct their efforts to better cultivating potential partners on the ground. Those partners include the Sunni tribes and armed factions, which oppose the influence in Iraq, and include exiled political forces in Amman, London, and Washington. There is also a large Shiite population in southern Iraq that has become very critical of Iran's damaging policies in their country and is likely to resist further Iranian Influence in Iraq. There are even current members of Parliament who are already interested in curbing the Iranian influence within the Iraqi Parliament—including members of the Sairoon coalition and the National Wisdom Movement (al-Hikma).

With the current American military presence in Iraq, these forces may face a number of dangerous situations. It is possible that Iranian-backed proxies may push for a direct American military confrontation—an immensely costly prospect given Iran’s extensive regional forces under its control. Iran’s ability to escalate any conflict to a broader regional fight makes any potential clash in Iraq especially dangerous. General Qasem Soleimani and the Iranian Quds Force have established wide-reaching relationships with different armed Sunni and Shi’a movements alike, which have demonstrated great loyalty to Iran during the region’s recent conflicts.

Moreover, though a continued policy of sanctions against Iran appears to be the preferred strategic choice for the United States, maintaining a strategy that relies exclusively on sanctions in the long term is likely to become increasingly ineffective as Iran restructures its economy to operate under sanctions. Given that Iran is a country that has historically managed to weather any number of sanctions and crises, U.S. officials should consider alternative measures that can aid in its sanctions efforts to limit Iranian expansionism.

Thus, breathing new life and potential into American cooperation with Iraqi national and patriotic groups hostile to the Iranian project in Iraq is a highly beneficial, and perhaps necessary step to challenging Iranian influence there. Given the policies of militias close to the Revolutionary Guard to pressure and blackmail elements not aligned with them, the United States has a wider margin to strategically maneuver than before. While the Iranian strategy has produced groups within Iraq loyal to Iran, these same groups have alienated many Iraqi civilians from the Iranian project. There is currently a strong Kurdish and Arab interest in preventing a loss of autonomy to Iran’s allies in Iraq and becoming submerged inside the Iranian political project in Iraq.

These local elements possess the strategic and military background to counter Iran and are the most capable of mobilizing a variety of different local groups to resist Iranian influence. They will be most effective applying political discourse that transcends narrow sectarian boundaries and ensuring that Iraq does not become subsumed into Iran’s policy of expansion. Moreover, it is likely that this strategy could expect support from other regional forces—such as Turkey, Jordan, and Saudi Arabia—that would all benefit from the United States wresting Iraq from Iran’s grip.

Dealing with Iranian influence in Iraq requires a comprehensive strategic vision beyond sanctions or the mere maintenance of the current U.S. military presence in Iraq. This should begin with isolation and containment but also focus on building strategic partnerships within Iraq to counter Iranian influence there. And this must be seen as one step in a larger comprehensive plan; Iran has set up its regional influence so that, though inconvenient it could continue its policy of expansionism through alternative corridors were its influence in Iran blocked. United States then, if it seeks to continue its policy of preventing Iranian expansion, must see Iraq as an important step but not the final measure to a policy of containment.

Customize your RSS Feed